30 reviews

Hornbill

Workflow automation software for service, IT & HR teams

4,7 /5 (30 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
97%
recommended this app
30 reviews
Frank R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hornbill Service Manager

Reviewed on 2020/07/21

Hornbill has broadened our horizons of the possibilities. This is particularly the case with automation of processes eg starters/movers/leavers, Sev1's, MI's and other business area processes
There are other paid-for and free modules which enable further integration such as Document Manager, Asset Management, Supplier Manager, Project Manager etc.

Pros

Easy to use and configure. Workflow interface is extremely good.
There feels to be a real energy with Hornbill to develop and move the product forwards.
They are building ITOM (IT Operations Management) for further automation within customer's infrastructure (on-prem) as well as Cloud.
The Customers' Forum is very active and responses from Hornbill are generally quick and very knowledgeable.

Cons

A number of updates are currently causing issues the next day. Hopefully that will improve soon.
Trying to get enhancements accepted can be tricky but to be fair that is the same with any provider - generally we have found it easier to have our voice heard than with the very large providers.
Reporting can take a while to sort but in a complex system that is not unusual - you don't need coding skills but knowledge of SQL expressions/structure is useful.
Migration from Zendesk for all our historic tickets was very painful - we had over 100,000 and this has taken months to complete.

Lyonel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hornbill - A modern platform for a modern industry

Reviewed on 2020/07/13

In the space of 5 years, we changed ITSM solution twice... Both implementations took a long time (at least 6 months) and was never a success among IT support staff, let alone customers: "too many emails, don't know who we are talking too, taking too long, no visibility of progress". Our backlog was out of hand and we were firefighting 95% of the time.
After our go-live with Hornbill, IT Staff was immediately a lot more efficient in managing tickets. Backlog and lead-times reduced by 35% in the first year! Staff was happy with the business processes, the clarity of the interface, the interaction with the customers directly via the portal, etc. Within 6 months we stopped firefighting. We were back in control. We could finally focus on solving key issues and spending more time helping customers. Hornbill is a fabulous ITSM tool, but it is also a platform that has so much more to offer. Excellent value for money.

Pros

The modern interface makes it extremely intuitive and easy for staff of all ages and experiences to get familiar with the tool.
Creating business processes is extremely easy thanks to a great and powerful WYSIWYG engine. The decoupling of business processes and information gathering (aka Progressive Capture) was key for a swift implementation and great customer adoption. The H.U.D on tickets was also extremely useful to all users.
The self-service portal where customers can log their own tickets, search for information or keep track of the progress made on their tickets was a massive step forward for us, and critical to the adoption and success of Hornbill's implementation.
Building dynamic dashboards to display KPIs, trends or messages across big screens was easy to setup and incredibly useful for communication within the company and stakeholders.
Finally, Hornbill has a great community where you can find help and knownledge. Hornbill staff is also very knowledgeable and accessible. They listen to their customers and keep improving the platform providing fixes and new features on a very regular basis.

Cons

Simple reporting is available out of the box and is working great. But most organisations require more than simple charts or tables of data. The advanced analytics side of things exists (at small extra cost) but could be lacking for organisations particularly data driven.
The support staff at Hornbill are excellent! Free support is available via their community forums (a great community I must add). For more direct support, you will need to pay a premium at a reasonable extra cost.

Hannah S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing ITSM for multiple industry usage!

Reviewed on 2020/07/09

One of our major accomplishments is getting all administrative teams on the platform. This has provided insight to workloads and request volume to our leadership team which has supported us to hire more administrative positions. Previously, using only outlook, this volume was hard to capture. We've also succeeded in making our disorganized org chart visible to leadership, showing how more structure is needed with our Operations team. The piece we've been most happy with is the support. On the forums, with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] at Hornbill, with the support from Bittercreek, and even from [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] himself. This has, by far, set Hornbill above any other vendor (ITSM or not) that we've ever worked with.

Pros

The product is easily configurable and supports our many departments including IT, HR, Finance, Payroll, Risk Management, Compliance, BI, Clinical Operations and many more. It offers an ideal "one stop shop" for our employees. As our practice has grown by over 18% per year our staff have relied on reviewing our org chart to navigate for support with the different administrative teams. With Hornbill they now have ONE location to request any support needed!

Cons

The only major barrier is the timezone difference. We've seen multiple issues between PST and GMT time. Luckily the developers are responsive and work very hard to correct this. Though, the issues seem to be complex and take more time to resolve than most other bugs or issues we've come across.

Brett H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hornbill? Try Hornbrill!

Reviewed on 2020/07/03

The experience has been great. My service has really taken to it, and we have seen a big improvement in the way our service desk is used. It has saved us time and enabled us to identify trends and problems with our processes.

Pros

The user interface is modern and intuitive. The level of customization is fantastic, I really feel like they could accommodate everything I wanted. The onboarding process was extremely easy and I have had a level of proactive customer support during the process that I have not seen in any other supplier of software.

Cons

The project management module has some cool features but it feels very young in its lifecycle, compared to other project management software. I think it needs a lot of work to make it easy to use practically.

Hans H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly recommendable

Reviewed on 2020/08/17

When at first we came into contact with Hornbill we were were intrigued by their 30-day Switch-On trial where they set up your system, train you, and if you are not content you can walk out, free of charge after the 30 day trial period is over. But they really put their money where their mouth is and deliver an easily administered and stable product.
Hornbill Service Manager is frequently updated and Hornbill themselves are very responsive to customer input.
All in all I can highly recommend this product.

Pros

-Total control over you support processes through an easily administered interface.
-Cloud based, runs in any browser.
-Support for multiple languages and service desks through built in translation tools.
-Ease of administration.
-Ease of segmenting ticket flow betwen multiple service desks.
-Scaleability

Cons

-Still a bit immature when it comes to supporting external organisations.
-Since processes are pre-defined, some ad-hoc measures may be difficult to implement.

Tom G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hornbill Review - 13.08.2020

Reviewed on 2020/08/13

Hornbill are a very easy company to work with, particular shout-out to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] who's done a great job with the Hornbill Project Manager app over the past year or so.

Pros

There are a whole host of great things about Hornbill but some of the best features are:
- Collaborative approach to development and enhancement of the software
- Support from the Hornbill userbase and support team
- Ease of use and navigation
- Linkage between different elements of Hornbill (Project Manager and Service Manager for example)
- The amount of time and effort it's saved our business with simplification and automation of processes

Cons

Very few things but there are some elements which could be improved:
- The document library/manager tool is basic and we still use SharePoint as a storage mechanism
- Reporting should be more accessible for the general Hornbill user and shouldn't require an Admin to develop a report. Some basic, frequent out-of-the-box reports are needed
- A visible roadmap of future developments with some rough timelines would really be welcomed

Adnan Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Hornbill Review

Reviewed on 2020/07/07

Overall, Hornbill has been great. The support team has always been readily available to assist. The system is very user friendly and self explanatory.

Pros

The platform is very user friendly and does not require high level coding as other similar products. To create a process is straight forward and can be easily deployed. The support from Hornbill has been amazing, especially the use of the Forums. It's great to see how suggestions for improvements on the forum is picked up by the Hornbill developers and actioned to support its customers.

Cons

There are some standard functionalities you would expect an ITSM platform to have which are missing on Hornbill. Would be great to see new changes implemented so that processes can be fully automated and completely self-serviced.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A Smart End-User Experience

Reviewed on 2020/08/14

It has been extremely positive with a helpful support network to help us implement it and we've enjoyed a good relationship with Hornbill staff ever since implementation.

Pros

We really enjoy how it looks to our end-users and the ability to be able to customise the self-service portal and flows of how Incidents and Service Requests work and look dependent on the service item helps us ensure we get the important information that is relevant to the service affected for our customer.

Cons

The Mobile application is poor, and borderline unusable meaning that this is a Desktop only service for us which doesn't help when we have travelling workers.

Folorunso C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Hornbill - would reccomend

Reviewed on 2020/07/22

Pros

The constant updates and improvements as well as build releases, a very detailed knowledge base and extensive support from community and product specialists.

Cons

it can be fiddly, and some aspects may no longer be applicable by the point of a new update such as deprecated functions

Dave V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Hornbill Service Manager

Reviewed on 2020/08/05

Excellent, good support and help with setup Business Processes and Progressive Captures. We use it on a daily basis for all IT support tickets firmwide.

Pros

Relative ease of setup with good support from Hornbill during the setup. A lot can be customized.

Cons

Just minor things but that is due to our many offices with different languages.

Lauren M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Enforcement
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easily built, easily used

Reviewed on 2020/07/24

Very positive, a helpful company who actively listen to their customers in relation to build improvements and new features. An easy to use system which feels intuitive and can be used in a myriad of ways.

Pros

I like that we can build, edit, and move the system ourselves without having to rely on a company/IT team to do any necessary changes for us. I like the system can grow with us, and we can continue to add services and categories as necessary.

Cons

I dislike the report, widgets, and dashboard functionality immensely. I find it very clunky and cumbersome to pull meaningful graphics out of the system due to not being confident or comfortable with the coding requirements to link tables and such.

Adrian S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hornbill - great product and support

Reviewed on 2020/07/02

We had to integrate the Service Desks for 3 Hospitals into one using aggressive timescales with limited resources. The support received throughout has been outstanding, and any issues identified are normally addressed in a very timely manner. The support via the Forums and the experience of the Hornbill Family is brilliant.

Pros

One of the best features within Hornbill is the drag and drop approach to building your business workflows. Everyone is familiar with Visio and a workflow, so having this approach integrated into the design of your workflows is easy to use.

Cons

Getting to grips with integrating with the different plugins and learning of any limitations is a challenge. Also the number of roles to assign to a User can be overwhelming at times - would love to see a Role Template builder of some sort to make this process more user friendly.

Gareth N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product and support

Reviewed on 2020/07/30

Hornbill Service Manager has allowed us to implement one support system in all of our regions (we have offices in 27 countries). This has allowed us to take advantage of shared resources as well as cross-timezone support for our customers. Overall, myself and my colleagues have a very positive relationship with Hornbill.

Pros

Hornbill Service Manager is easy to use and customise. Customer engagement from Hornbill themselves is excellent, with quarterly reviews and an annual conference that provides the opportunity to meet with other users of the product. The Hornbill Forum is also a great place to disucuss any issues and request new functionality.

Cons

Without the enterpirse edition we are unable to deliver reports to external customers via email as we did using SupportWorks. I'd also like to see more regular updates to the Customer Portal as this is our external customers only view of the system and so they do not get to see the regular updates we see within Service Manager and therefore their perception of Hornbill may not be as positive as ours is internally.

Stuart T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Automation! Automation! Automation!

Reviewed on 2020/07/08

Our overall experience of Hornbill is of an excellent product with excellent service from them as a supplier.
Our HR recruitment process used to take an average of around 3 months
Automation of this process using Hornbill has reduced that to around 6 weeks.

We have absorbed the (rather chaotic) support functions of around 20 generic mailboxes into Hornbill so that service requests are now monitored and processed in an organised fashion, dramatically improving quality of service and reducing resources required to support.

Pros

Hornbill offers a highly flexible product that very much puts design in our hands, the hands of the customer. We have set it up to automate services, business processes, incident management, service management, resource analysis in a way that suits our organisation.

It integrates easily with numerous well known software systems (e.g. MS O365)

Setting up workflows and request types is relatively easy and code-free. For example, the majority of staff developing services on this platform are business support administrators rather than IT technicians.

It is a very reliable product. We have had minimal downtime and any incidents with the system have been dealt with swiftly and effectively by Hornbill, with proper RCA given in each case. We are very pleased with their service as a software supplier.

Customer engagement is excellent, with regular reviews, free webinars and video tutorials complimenting a comprehensive WIKI site. Their customer forum is also a great way to get support and gain knowledge .

Cons

Very difficult to say what I don't like. The product is ideal for supporting internal organisational processes and services.

It can deal with external customer affairs, but is not the ideal product for this.
It does not have any financial processing capability. This is simply a limitation of the product.

Lee M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

NCC Review

Reviewed on 2020/06/30

more formalised processes for change management and service requests.
enabling users to self service more.

Pros

Clean and non cluttered user interface.
Fairly quick and easy to deploy
Development support (constantly being improved and updated).

Cons

Reporting is pretty limited and not easy to use. (unless you can write your own sql queries).
Not being able to display tasks with other call types means tasks are usually missed or forgotten about meaning can't make the best use of them.

Jeremy D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Product and Great Customer Service

Reviewed on 2020/07/27

Overall the contiuned support that we recieve and when setting up the system has been great, the forum is a useful space to request feature updates etc and the team at Hornbill have always been quick to reposnd and action any concerns or improvements.

Also the fact that other departments outside of the traditional IT teams that have been coming to us asking for a case management/ESM tool is proof that the product can be adaptable to other departments within our organistation.

Pros

Graphical Workflow Editor
Ease of use for users (training takes 15-30 mins for new staff)
Can be used anywhere/anytime
New Portal design is much more user friendly

Cons

The system is not setup for how we want to use the system as this leans towards the ITIL minimal view of services and as we are a large organistation this has lead to us having some problems in managing those services. If there was a services search when logging requests that would be dramatically, but overall the system has been a great benefit to us.

Paul A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hornbill and VINCI

Reviewed on 2020/07/09

Hornbill as a software platform is now an essential part of our day to day operations. If we had any reservations about the software then we wouldn't be using it, and I think that this is the best recommendation I can give that we are VERY happy with it.
Hornbill as a company has been very helpful to us, and we feel that we have a very good relationship with them on a company and an individual level. We like to think that we have been listened to when we have a problem or an improvement suggestion, and we also know that they will often offer us alternative ideas about how to manage our processes etc in a better way.
All in all, we are very happy to be using the software and dealing with them on a business level. We would (and do!) recommend Hornbill to other people and businesses.

Pros

Hornbill Service Manager is used on a daily basis by our IT, HR, Health and Safety, Digital Engineering and Supply Chain teams to help track and monitor their workload. It is safe to say that, without Hornbill, these services would find it very difficult to know what their current tasks consisted of.
We have found that the software platform is very easy to use and very innovative. It has taken a minimum amount of training for all of our users to be able to pick up how to use it, and it is great to know that, if someone has an improvement request, we can talk directly to the developers who will either let us know of an alternative way of doing things, or they will take the idea and get it added as a feature.
We like the easy way that we can create and change processes for each team, and that the users can set out their screen to make it work the way the individual wants it to.
Overall we enjoy using the software and it is easy to recommend that other teams in our company should use it.

Cons

Any questions or improvement requests that we think would be desirable are always communicated through the online forum. Whether these requests get added or not is decided by an online discussion between developers and other users of the software, so I honestly can't think of anything that I dislike about the platform enough that I would complain about it!

Darren R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Hornbill Service Review

Reviewed on 2020/08/19

Very positive with good customer focus

Pros

The ease at which it can be deployed and the no-code environment for building workflows

Cons

Reporting is still a gap in the features

Keith B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Application from a Great Vendor

Reviewed on 2020/07/09

I have been very happy with the selection of Hornbill, both from a product and a company perspective. The product is developed at a healthy pace with new features implemented regularly. The product has been easy to use and configure.

Pros

I liked how intuitive the product is to use. There is no steep learning curve allowing you to get off the ground quickly with a very sophisticated implementation. Key for me is the ability to configure everything myself and be completely self-sufficient while knowing that help is close at hand whether through the excellent user forum or via the customer success team.

The pace of development is good and I really appreciate the ability to give input to feature requests via the user forum.

Cons

Dynamic reporting capabilities - While there are several layers of reporting within Hornbill including several types of dashboarding, list reports, measures etc I would still like to see this area of the tool improved upon. The My Dashboards functionality is excellent for day to day individual reporting but I felt it necessary to use Power BI when I wanted to really dig deep with the flexibility to dynamically pivot based on any criteria I defined.

Joyce A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to customise to your requirement

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

Good overall experience in designing the back end, and implementing most of our ITIL Process within IT department and the business as a whole.

Pros

Easy to customise to follow our processes, and be able to use it beyond IT Service (provide Enterprise service to other department in the organisation).

Cons

Limitation in some features. Not be able to correct a wrong BPM once the ticket is resolved.
Not being able to localise changes

Patrick W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Implementing Hornbill

Reviewed on 2020/07/14

The product was initially rolled out to just IT, but we've expanded it to all of our administrative and support departments since then. Whenever we ran into a question or issue, our local support team would help us through it and if they needed help, they would bring in others. I don't know of anyone, in the 25+ years I've been in IT, that has found a piece of software that will everything they want. But until Hornbill, I've also never found a company that will actually be a "Partner" and work with you to either find the solution or work around. It has also been rare for me to see a software company listen to our suggestions, put them in their development queue and then implement those in future releases. They have truly been a Partner for us!

Pros

The intuitive GUI and the speed of which it was implemented.

Cons

Unable to change the ticket type one it has been created.

Will D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review of Hornbill Service Manager and Project Manager

Reviewed on 2020/07/09

Overall I was very impressed with my experience with Hornbill.

The on-boarding was well structured and product specialists extremely knowledgeable and supportive during the whole process.

For anyone well versed in ITSM tools, the product is very intuitive and easy to learn. I was developing complex business processes with little to no support within a month or two or immersing myself in the product.

Although we only use the community / forum support model rather than dedicated tech support, the product specialists and develops are active daily in the forums and respond quickly to queries.

The platform has been rock solid and only impacted briefly (a few minutes) in the last year we have been using the product.

Software updates have been frequent, well documented

Pros

The clean user interface, structured business process and progressive capture engine. The general ease of use, ease of deployment and low time investment to learn the product.

The support from product specialists and developers is excellent even on the community / forum supported model.

The openness to feature requests and evolution of the product are excellent, even in the short 12-13 months we've been using the product.

Cons

I think Project Manager has some room for improvement. It works well for smaller fenced projects but when you start adding larger more complex projects there are some limitations, particularly the way projects tasks and milestones are linked. Not many of my projects flow smoothly from milestone A to milestone B so I have to get more creative (e.g define multiple smaller projects and use the programme functionality). I have confidence that the team will evolve the product in coming months however.

The Hornbill reporting engine is limited and without the advanced analytics the dashboards are also limited. Whilst Power BI integration supported there doesn't seem to be support for shared data gateways at this time (only personal data gateways).

With a lot of companies adopting Microsoft Teams for collaboration I can see the Hornbill Collaboration engine falling by the wayside, and whilst it underpins the rest of the Hornbill experience.

Within a small team who cover support, design and implementation and projects across all team members, I find I spent 90% of my time in Service Manager itself. It would be useful to display things like tasks (currently in the Collaboration component) moved into the Service Manager component (or at least have the option to).

Samuel W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A modern solution that is easy to configure and use

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

Hornbill is my first foray into ITSM, starting over 5 years ago, so I cannot really compare it to anything else apart from what I hear from others, but I can honestly say I've never come across a system that is modern, easy to use and very intuitive, especially when it comes to designing you own Forms and Business Processes.

We use it for logging Incidents, Service Requests and Change Management process. There are various teams configured in Hornbill and depending on which Service and Catalog they customer/user logs a ticket under, will be assigned directly to the correct team via the Business Process.

We utilize Asset Management and have regular imports from SCCM into Hornbill of any new Assets, and the information is managed with Hornbill manually. We have a PowerShell script that picks up information from the logon info file and updates the asset accordingly with the user who logged in last and what time they logged in.

We also have a Team from another Department entirely using Hornbill for managing incidents and requests for their Services.

Overall, I can say that my experience with Hornbill is a positive one.
- The Hornbill Community Forums is a great resource, the people are nice, Hornbill themselves have been exceptionally good with our queries or if we need any assistance.
- We've made requests for enhancements/features and with the right amount of interest, some have been added to the Hornbill roadmap and delivered.
- The solution is extremely easy to use

Pros

> Once you get into it, the configuration is a breeze. It's easy to configure a new service and catalogs extremely quickly.

> Progressive Capture Forms and Business Processes can be built with no-coding involved at all. These screens are presented in the style of Flow Diagrams which are extremely easy to configure and visualise, and can also be converted to a PDF for printing.

> Hornbill can integrate with many different Services within the Business Processes. You could have a request for a New Starter create an Active Directory Account in Azure automatically for example.

> Regular updates and new features (that you can choose not to turn on immediately) keeps the solution in tip-top shape

> The social media look and feel

> API's - it is extremely easy connect to the Hornbill API using PowerShell or any other languages that has the capability

Cons

> Complex reporting can be difficult within Hornbill without having full control of the SQL query, but as an alternative API's can be used but will require knowledge

Greg F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

If only all ITSM Platforms were this good!

Reviewed on 2020/07/14

The team at Hornbill were excellent from the outset, we had a great working relationship with the team, they were always quick to respond to our needs, responded to support calls promptly, the community forum is a wealth of knowledge this worked for us really well too. I really would recommend that you review Hornbill if you are thinking of migrating your ITSM toolset, I've never worked with a more customer centric supplier than Hornbill, friendly helpful, just brilliant overall.

Pros

The switch to Hornbill Service Manager was a no brainer, the implementation process was simple and delivered the main ITIL process out of the box, our consultant was brilliant and the knowledge transfer and community forum and support from Hornbill allowed us to expand the use of toolset with ease. Hornbill make it so easy to adapt the workflows to meet the business requirements. GOSH had a specific requirement for our EPR deployment, Hornbill worked with us to adapt the system to meet our needs. There really isn't much Hornbill cannot do!

Cons

The CMDB could be a bit better, dynamic discovery would really help, although I think this is in the pipeline.

David B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Service, a few bumps

Reviewed on 2020/07/15

Our previous solution was exclusively an ITSM service for the IT department, since moving to Service Manager we've organically grown adoption, increasing users by +80% and grown into 4 other departments across the university. This has not required top down dictate, or 'selling', the new users have come to us.

Pros

On the whole the service is reliable and fairly intuitive. Training new users takes 15-30 minutes, and much of that is around how we want the product used, rather than how it works.

Cons

There was a period of 6 months with more than a few outages, and some periods of slow down since, but they are thankfully fairly rare, and certainly don't negatively impact the overall service.

The main Con for us, is as a largish University, we support 100+ services, and Hornbill Service Manager appears intended to have a dozen. For example there is no Search functionality in the service picker (when logging a job), the self service portal requires you to list ALL services if you want customers to see their raised tickets. The self service portal is much improved since the recent update, as there is a great deal more flexibility.