Auth0

4,6 (54)
Secure login, authentication & identity management platform

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(54)
Value for Money
4,2/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
4,3/5
Customer Support
4,2/5

94%
recommended this app

54 Reviews

Daniel N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Developers friendly

Reviewed on 2021/03/27

I'll keep using in my projects for long time. All plans quota are enough to start for any company.

Pros

Use theirs code sample in many languages to start a project faster or add to your existing code with a few lines of codes, add credentials and start using it in less than 15 minutes.

Cons

Sometimes documentation would be hard to understand but when you got it... You got it.

Alternatives Considered

Okta and Firebase
Bram B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Bram's review

Reviewed on 2020/10/21

I have chosen auth0 for mazda europe several years ago and I have never regretted it.
We have recently switched and moved away from Auth0 due to an alignment at Mazda Global.
We are still rolling out Auth0 for the B2B side now and are very happy so far.

Pros

The ease of use
Practice what you preach at Auth0, so I know it works :-)
Automated deployment and API use possible
Quick onboarding of new security specs and standards
Auth0 is certified on several security levels
Very good uptime and performance

Cons

Domain name support (using our own domain name) didn't work out
The language support in ie. emails etc is not great

Alternatives Considered

Okta and Ping Identity

Reasons for Switching to Auth0

The high level of self service possible and focus on customer facing integration (social provider connections).
Tomer S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Horrible

Reviewed on 2017/09/06

Users management

Pros

The Api is nice when it work , the ui is nice as well - when it work.
The search was good as well - when it worked.

Cons

Their system is not stable, they treat customer not good at all.

It's been 7 days since their system stopped working.
It's been 7 full days where i have no business because of Auth0.
It's been 2 days since Monday afternoon PST, the time were they said on their email last Thursday, that this bug should be fixed.
They forced my to pay them money to get my data back faster, but still even after paying them - no one answer my calls or email.

Please, do yourself a favor - do not start your business with Auth0!

Aleksandar T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best authentication system ever!

Reviewed on 2020/11/03

Authentication is crucial of every SaaS product. Auth0 helped us to bootstrap in days!

Pros

Easy to use! Excellent tutorials! Excellent documentation! A lot of identity and social providers! MFA, Anomaly detection! Reasonable price!

Cons

Building a multi-tenant application is not really convenient. Some missing features in the management console: Search in applications or databases.

Alternatives Considered

Okta

Reasons for Switching to Auth0

Excellent onboarding and at the time they were the best choice!
Chitvesh D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to onboard multiple login mechanism.

Reviewed on 2020/10/15

Pros

1) Easy to onboard
2) All cloud no installation required in machines.
3) No worry of compliance.

Cons

1) certain restrictions create blockers like - character limitations in username field field of users.

Aaron D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid Authorization Platform

Reviewed on 2020/10/28

The Auth0 system has provided our company a solid authorization foundation to build our various external-facing applications. With the variety of Auth0 features, we have been able to integrate an increasing number of applications from companies we have acquired. From web applications to system processes to desktop applications, Auth0 has given us the means to centralize all of our product offerings and provide our customers a consistent unified experience.

Pros

Administration site is fairly easy to understand.
Metadata along with Rules and Hooks allow for flexibility for token generation .
Multiple ways to authenticate (internal and external user data sources, SSO, OAuth2.0 workflow support, etc...)
The active developer community is helpful to resolve issues, and if we can't find an issue there, the Support staff are very responsive

Cons

Management of source and deployment of code and configurations across tenants is not very good.
Auth0 admin users can have either very limited access or have global access to everything. We would like to have the ability to limit certain functionality to sets of admin users.
We were charged for each Machine-To-Machine call (client-credentials workflow), so we needed to be careful how we implemented.

Alternatives Considered

Okta
Richard R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

You have no reason to ever build your own authentication system again

Reviewed on 2018/05/05

Authentication as a service.
Security that is done by professionals.

Pros

Auth0 does a fantastic job of taking all those hard, risky and tedious parts of making your own authentication system off your plate. Developers literally have no reason to create their own authentication system any more, it's all provided by Auth0.

Cons

The docs could be clearer. It's very easy to get confused or lost.
They could use slightly more user-friendly language in their documentation and management UI.
Could have more/clearer examples of best practices and common usages/implementations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Identity Management shortcut

Reviewed on 2019/12/05

Overall, easy to use, fast to implement, and great user management dashboard makes it a rather compelling experience.

Pros

Absolutely love how easy it is to take care of all things identity. It's a real shortcut: they take care of managing users, security, accounts, and more. Saved me a ton of time.

Cons

Some of the feature implementation code is a bit convoluted, but nothing crazy. Support is available as well, and they know their product well enough to get you through whatever blockers you've got.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Perfect not just for authentication and authorization but also Customer Support!

Reviewed on 2020/10/27

The authentication and authorization part is something you just set up and then it works. But I use Auth0 on a frequent basis for customer support. I can see the necessary information about a user, their sign-up and log-in activities, data providers, password management, and such. This allows me to more easily and quickly answer the questions of users and guide them through a process.

Pros

Auth0 is mainly a solution for authentication and authorization. And it does what it promises in that aspect, but I also find it very helpful when it comes to customer support because I can see a lot of crucial information about user activity.

Cons

I haven't had any problems with Auth0. I am happy with the functionality they offer and wouldn't change it.

Samir Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have been using Auth0 for last 2 years and it works great

Reviewed on 2020/10/15

My overall experience looks great, hightly recommended

Pros

We have been using Auth0 for almost 2 years, only 2 times we saw outage and it is great! Keep Rocking!

Cons

I think one features missing to able customize login page per client as much as possible.

Yoni R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Auth0 Rocks, big time!

Reviewed on 2020/10/14

All in all, I'd say Auth0 has saved us AT LEAST 10 Man Years of development effort (to date) at a cost of a few dozen $ per month. Fantastic ROI.

Pros

Auth0 is an extraordinarily versatile SaaS. We use it for all our IAM needs across multiple and diverse applications and use cases.
We use a whole range of Auth0 features, and have Auth0 integrated with a whole bunch of other 3rd party software solutions that we use.
Never seen any problems (suchbas outages etc.), although setting up some features can be complex.

Cons

I have one small gripe. We use Google as our "Social Login" provider, and use Auth0 Rules to allow only users from authorised domains to authenticate. This works, but not perfectly. Users who authenticate with their personal gmail.com addresses (happens inadvertently all the time when users are logged in to their personal gmail accounts) are blocked by tbe Rules, but don't get a meaningful error message.

Liem D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Product at Great Price

Reviewed on 2020/10/21

Overall auth0 was easy to setup and implement and integrate into our system.

Pros

Easy to setup. Admin dashboard very robust. Reasonable pricing

Cons

Custom login not easy to implement.
Custom properties for users a little hard to implement.

Alternatives Considered

Okta

Reasons for Switching to Auth0

Auth0 provided what we needed at a reasonable price
Priit K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Get your product out fast

Reviewed on 2020/10/15

It has been an extremely pleasant run, because we have had to think very little about them.

Pros

We made a bet on Auth0 to hasten the Go Live date for our SaaS product, while we build manufacturing ERP, we got to focus on manufacturing while CIAM came from Auth0.

Cons

Some parts of configuration options and code examples are confusing to navigate, but there is a system, once you get used to it...

Dan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fast Implementation that Works!

Reviewed on 2020/10/22

Excellent sales experience with hands on experts that assisted with initial configuration. First class support organization. Excellent product and experience overall.

Pros

Implementation time was far less than anticipated. The services are well documented and everything just works as expected. Support has been very good and the detailed examples are helpful. Excellent product.

Cons

Managing multiple tenants is a little complex without features to clone or compare tenants which makes managing multiple environments more difficult.

Alternatives Considered

Okta and Ping Identity

Reasons for Switching to Auth0

Ease of use. Implementation time.
Kirby F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Solves critical business problems but has big gaps for support teams

Reviewed on 2020/10/14

Answers from support come slow and always involve telling me to use an API, or do all this work to install a plugin. The support is *really* slow, and the basic feature gaps sub-standard for the $160k/year we pay. I get that you have all these features that are enticing for Engineers, but you need to focus on the people who get stuck using this product every day --- once the Engineers have gone away to slay another problem.

Pros

Easy to use UI that allows me to answer 80% of questions about why a client's SAML integration isn't working, or why a specific user is having trouble logging in.

Cons

I'm a business user, not an Engineer. Every time I ask a question to Auth0 support about "How do I do X?", the answer is "Oh, easy, just use this API" - I don't want to learn how to program against an API to do basic tasks like export all the active Connections.

Alex A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Auth0 is great

Reviewed on 2020/10/22

Excellent. Would recommend it.

Pros

+ Developer-friendly
+ Lot of documentation
+ Easy integration with other services with SAML and other plugins
+ Authorization extension is very useful

Cons

- Support team is very slow
- Pricing is not clear for big user base

Alternatives Considered

Okta and JumpCloud Directory Platform

Reasons for Switching to Auth0

Price, documentation
Anouk V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Expensive for us but suits our needs

Reviewed on 2020/10/22

We are able to store all personal data about our users in their auth0 profile, and use it in our app.

Pros

Easy to integrate with standard libraries and the Auth0 team was very helpful with the initial setup.
Auth0 was flexible enough to implement our very specific use cases.

Cons

The pricing doesn't really reflect our activity, we are missing key features for our customers like the ability to choose from email/password or SSO on the lock.
Management API is too limited, especially for the exports and imports.
Calls to the Auth0 API sometimes take a lot of time and are slowing our app.

David B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Identity services need to be secure and keep high availability

Reviewed on 2020/10/14

They have prompt and responsive account reps. They provide support services worth paying for.

Pros

Our industry provides multiple services to our membership, and we need a reliable and performant solution. Auth0 provides that.

Cons

The product line is available for so many different platforms that navigating the support site takes some time to find the right page.

Devin E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Overall Experience

Reviewed on 2020/10/28

The customer service and responsiveness has been great.

Pros

I was onboarded to this software only a few months ago and it has been extremely easy to learn. It's very intuitive and takes me no time at all to find what I'm looking for. It also manages our alerts which has been super helpful.

Cons

There isn't much to note here for me. I primarily use the software to track stats and manage users, and these features work perfectly fine.

Yogesh R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly reliable and great support team

Reviewed on 2020/10/14

Pros

Product Reliability
Feature/Product Documentation
Great customer success team
Evolving administrative feature capabilities/enhancements

Cons

Lack of support for Disaster Data Recovery (e.g., Bad code on customer side messing up several thousand Auth0 records)

Hugo C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Robust but not perfect

Reviewed on 2020/05/13

We have Zumo tap in to all messaging from Auth0, this helps significantly when troubleshooting and ease our administrative load.

Pros

Auth0 has been very reliable in term of up time. It is probably one of not many out there can enable SSO between Lithium and Salesforce.

Cons

External user management has been a challenge especially when it comes to customer user changing their email address, which often breaks the authentication.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great authentication and authorization management service for any type of product.

Reviewed on 2019/05/29

The overall experience with Auth0 has been very satisfied. The integration process was thorough but easy. Customization options are ample.

Pros

The thing I like the most about Auth0 is the ability to connect any API or application written in . any language or technology to Auth0 with ease.

Cons

The pricing is very expensive compared to other solutions. Also, the API is changed frequently leading to frequent required code changes.

Caio M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very Good Service

Reviewed on 2020/10/14

Pros

Handles your identity management and let you focus on building the business solution.
We were able to significantly reduce our time to market.

Cons

Could have more options for handling roles and easier/clearer multitenant setup/best practices.

Kazuki M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The easiest service to achieve authentication and authorization

Reviewed on 2020/10/14

Pros

You can easily realize SNS connection.
It will be possible to provide services without managing any ID and password

Cons

It is difficult to understand the charge system. It is difficult to secure a budget in advance

Rashid A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cutomization Feature.

Reviewed on 2020/02/24

Well, overall it's worth the price. It provides brief analytics. The UI customization and branding feature are also great.

Pros

I would if you guys can offer the MFA customization feature. Because one of our clients wants to implement MFA but using his/her own second-factor authentication directory instead of using the default.

Cons

Bulk import management API efficiency. Because it only supports max 500KB file which is exhaustive when you have users in millions to migrate.