13 103 reviews

WordPress

Website creation and publishing platform

4,6 /5 (13103 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
13 103 reviews
John B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Self Hosted WordPress - King of Blogging Platforms

Reviewed on 2021/03/10

I have been using WordPress since last decade. I have tried in many webhosting providers. Possibly had Installed hundreds of Instances of WordPress for testing and live hosting, even few for customers also. It is a time saver and because of extensive availability of themes and plugins, you can create Unique websites for different business needs. Its really positive and helpful.

Pros

Most loved feature about WordPress.org is Easy of Deployment and Administration. You can simply install this software using single Click button on most of the Web Hosting environments. If you plan to install in your Local Machine, it is also simple. Just install PHP/MySQL using tool like XAMPP and rest is step by step guided.
Next loved thing is the Customization available. Thousands of themes and plugins to extend the capabilities as required. Guess what, you can simply design your theme or plugin with simple knowledge of PHP.
As being the Open Source and long running product, community support is indepth.

Cons

One thing that Frustrates is the resource usage. WordPress uses most resource if compared amount other popular tools like Joomla & Drupal. If you are using in Shared Hosting environment, the performance of the website is slower as you start getting visitors.

Ali K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

WordPress is simply a powerful stable CMS with very high security and lot of great features!

Reviewed on 2021/02/09

I have been working with WordPress for many years and we have used it for many projects in startups and other projects. It has excellent security and a lot of development. It is always in progress and you can always add your own module and plugin to it.

Pros

A complete CMS. You can use it even without installing any additional modules and tools. The open source and readability of PHP code simplifies the possibility of change. It is always updated and has many developers around the world. A variety of free and commercial templates with many free and commercial modules ضand plugins that you can find on the Internet with a simple search. On the other hand, it has many safety and updates.

Cons

The backup and recovery system must be added to the core kernel by default. The rest of the facilities are great.

Iván G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for building websites in a very short time

Reviewed on 2021/02/04

I'll keep using WordPress in my company for me and my clients. It's a great product and simply the best free CMS on the market right now.

Pros

Nowdays getting to the first pages of Google is of great importance. WordPress is very SEO friendly which allows you to set up keywords and good practices very easily. Its template ecosystem is huge and this allows you to build nice looking websites in days, not weeks.
From the user perspective, WordPress is quite easy to use, and the learning curve is quite plain.
Finally, there are plugins for a lot of common functionalities, so if you need something specific not included in WordPress core, there is nearly always a plugin that comes to the rescue.

Cons

WordPress is candy for hackers and you need to put special care into keeping it updated and secure. Fortunately, there are some plugins to help you with this.
Anybody can write a plugin and uploaded it to the marketplace. Some malicious people may use this to build a plugin with a backdoor. You need to put special care into installing 3rd party plugins to avoid this kind of security issue.

Megan J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for bloggers

Reviewed on 2021/04/06

I used WordPress through Bluehost for my first blog. I had zero coding experience when I first started and was able to navigate and use WordPress fine. My biggest issue was just being overwhelmed with how many features and tools come with WordPress. There is a lot to learn but I still would highly recommend it to anyone creating a website.

Pros

There is so much flexibility and freedom with WordPress, you can customize your website exactly how you want it. And it's completely free! WordPress comes with literally hundreds of free themes to choose from and you can search through themes based on type of business so it's easy to find one that suits your needs. WordPress also comes with built-in analytics so it's really easy to track your website stats like page views, website visitors, etc. Another awesome feature is the WordPress post and page builder. It uses a pretty simple yet customizable drag and drop editor so writing articles and setting up pages is simple. I also really like how much free content you can find online on navigating and using WordPress. Because it's so popular there are tons of videos, articles, and tutorials on how to use WordPress. Another perk of WordPress being so popular is that there are endless themes and plugins, both paid and free, for WordPress.

Cons

Because WordPress is so customizable and there are so many features, it can take some time to get the hang of it. There is so much to learn it can be a little overwhelming at first, especially if you are new to creating blogs or websites. There is definitely a learning curve with Wordpress. I would highly recommend taking the time to become familiar with each feature and tool of Wordpress and get a good grasp and understanding of how it works before you jump into starting your website. Even then, encountering any kind of website problem can take a long time to solve because there are so many moving parts with Wordpress. There have been many times where I've spent hours ruling out different potential causes of a certain glitch or malfunction in my website.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent way to get your small to medium sized business online

Reviewed on 2021/02/17

I love working with Wordpress and have made a business around it. My own websites are built on Wordpress and create them for my clients. My team can go in and make most of the necessary updates and it is easy to train people on how to use it.

Pros

By creating sites with Wordpress, you can easily keep your website up to date with fresh new content. Almost any functionality you need can be delivered via a plugin. Chances are someone else needed the same thing and has come up with a good solution, so searching the vast community will lead you the best solution for your own (or your client's) business. If it hasn't been done before, there are plenty of skilled developers that can create a plugin for you at a fraction of the cost of building a custom html site from nothing.
That said, you can literally choose a premade theme and have a decent site launched in a day if you were so inclined (and prepared with content).

Cons

Most of the cons are not due to Wordpress itself, but the theme or plugin developers. If a theme or plugin that you rely gets outdated and abandoned by the developer, you may be out of luck and have to scurry to find a new solution when things go wrong.
I wish revisions were simpler, as well as incremental backups.

Sebastian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best CMS and Future Proof

Reviewed on 2020/09/14

I've been using WordPress since 2010 and haven't come across anything better. I've tried Drupal, Joomla, Wix and studied web development to build websites from zero. It can be easy enough for starters with little to no coding experience, but also offers unlimited possibilities for advanced users.

Pros

The number of plugins and how it offers unlimited possibilities for advanced users. For a new user, it might be hard to choose a theme but your best bet is with Divi or Elementor. You can build anything with them and won't have to edit the theme code to customize things with the risk of breaking it.

Cons

You need to be careful when updating WP, your theme, and plugins. I recommend setting up a staging subdomain to test everything before doing it on the live website.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WordPress for My Online Freelance Business

Reviewed on 2020/08/22

I have built all three of my websites on the WordPress platform which allows me to learn more about the features and plugin but even I am still learning more about what this platform offers the new and seasoned business owners, as well as the serious writer and hobby bloggers. Over the years the amazing features and beautiful themes that are easy to incorporate into the blog or website whenever you need it or you just want to redesign your little site.

Pros

I am really happy that WordPress is pretty easy to use for a brand new beginner or an seasoned expert, which I am not even close to achieving yet. I have experience in building for myself and for clients, but I always have chosen and recommended building a website or blogging site on WordPress. My clients love building on this platform, as well as always using the extremely simple ways to add and delete things from the site quickly.

Cons

Some of the features and plugin provided by WordPress can literally be so complicated that a person may need to take a class or get in and also users can just skip using these items in their new blog. They can learn in their own free time and then add it to their blog as they go. The blog owner can find tutorials that will teach them all they need to know about a feature or plugin, as well as giving them step by step guide to placing in it in your blog or website as active.

Keller T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WordPress is the best CMS

Reviewed on 2020/08/19

We have built entire online businesses using WordPress to market products and services, make sales transactions through the website, and continue to support customers online after their purchase.

Pros

WordPress is the most flexible CMS and website development platform isn't he market. There is a reason that around 1/3 of the internet is built on WordPress and that is because it truly is the best CMS available. I can't imagine a better product backed by a better community.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve for developing complex websites but that is true for any website development platform.

Ron T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best CMS Software

Reviewed on 2020/04/26

I use Wordpress every day, it's functionality is perfect for anyone without a coding background like myself. I love that I can constantly update my site, publish content, and have a cutting edge design without having any advanced knowledge. To be honest, I couldn't live without it and I'm grateful that I can use it daily to work from my computer.

Pros

Wordpress is absolutely the best CMS software on the market. It's no wonder such a large percentage of websites use it to publish content. I see people make the mistake of using a competitor over and over and have frustrations. This is especially true, in the blogging and content creation realm. The functionality and plug and play aspect of building a website is the best of the best.

Cons

There aren't many issues I have with WP itself. Occasionally if you decide to go with a theme that isn't updated by the author or developer then you may have an issue with that particular theme, but keeping an eye on the updates and choosing one that is great in design, functionality, and is consistently updated is an easy way to overcome this.

Brent D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wordpress can do it all!

Reviewed on 2020/04/14

I love Wordpress. It's easy to use and visually friendly to your users. It has plugins for computers and for cell phone devices. Wordpress is the way to go if you want to do a daily blog website for your company or hobby.

Pros

What I like most about Wordpress is that it's fully customizable. Back in the dark ages of website building you'd have to use HTML to build a website. Other things like Java, Flash and other scripts came along to make a website more robust. When web 2.0 rolled around. Flash was blocked due to trojan virus. Java is still used and HTML is now HTML5. With all that said and done. Wordpress makes it very user friendly to have a website up and running in a few hours. No more major programming. Tons of plugins to choose from. Wordpress cuts the time in more than half to get your website up and running. Wordpress is free. You will need a domain name, hosting, and if you want a fancy template that will cost money as well. But it's all worth it. Wordpress is amazing when you want to even have get your SEO (search engine optimization) ranking up in google fast! I'll still make some sale funnel pages with HTML but if you need the best blogging platform there is. No other place better than Wordpress.,,

Cons

The one thing I least like about WordPress is that it's the number 1 way to make websites now. So that brings in lots of hackers. Especially if your website ranks high. It's a constant battle to keep your site updated with all the plugins and updates.

Michele B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

That is how I build things.

Reviewed on 2020/03/27

I've been using it for years for any web project, be it personal, company or in-between, friends, colleagues. Anything that i need to do I easily visualize in my head what I'm going to need and I can get that up with Wordpress as a core structure in short time, with little issues. That makes it so flexible and the backbone of a lot of the things I do.

Pros

I can pretty much make it do anything I wish for most of anything that goes out on the internet. It can interact with anything and it can be anything.

Cons

It is difficult to maintain such a big project with so many add-ons, sometimes the official uptake on features is slow, but that is where there are tons of plug-ins, so it's not an issue.

Abid S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WordPress Simply the Best

Reviewed on 2020/02/26

There are lots of other software, but WordPress is really unique and professional. I am using this content management system on my websites and my overall experience with WordPress is really incredible. Just because of professional plugins and themes, I have developed professional websites for myself. I am really satisfied with the SEO result of my websites because with WordPress the all URL addresses of my websites are search engine friendly. All pages and products have been indexed in the search engine and I receive a good number of visitors just because of Good SEO, which has been done just because of SEO plugins of WordPress.

Pros

You can install and use both free and paid themes in your WordPress Website. There are lots of plugins that makes your development life very easy. For instance, if you want to install a contact form plugin, you can install with Contact form 7 Plugin. If you want better SEO then you can use All in One SEO Pack plugin. With the Elementor plugin of WordPress you can design professional web pages. There are lots of components in default builder of WordPress, with the help of these components you can easily add images, videos, text, shortcodes, HTML tags and lots of other things.

Cons

WordPress by itself offers lots of stunning and beautiful themes in the WordPress directory, only there are few websites where you can find paid themes. According to my point of view and experience, the prices of those themes should be a little less, so anyone can easily afford and buy these themes. All other things of WordPress are really awesome.

Stefan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great CMS for starters and professionals

Reviewed on 2020/01/05

I'm currently maintaining 10 different WordPress pages in various sizes and setups. The sites vary from personal Blogs to business websites to online stores. Some run out-of-the-box available plugins and templates, some run custom code or are heavily modified. Update and backup management can be achieved through a single, dedicated WordPress site running MainWP for all connected pages. Even disaster recovery or site migration to another hoster is a breeze.

Pros

The easy setup, administration and maintenance as well as the great plugin, template and support options available (free and paid). I also like how most plugins / templates follow the overall system / logic in WordPress and integrate themself logically into the menu structure for easy administration or content creation.

Cons

Due to the overwhelming amount of available plugins and templates the compatibility sometimes suffers. For example each new major WordPress release might break a plugin or template. Or just updating a single plugin might break compatibility with another which wasn't maintained for years and you have to dig into server logfiles or the source code to identify the issue.

Jeremy V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Versatile with plenty of options!

Reviewed on 2020/01/14

Wordpress is extremely easy to use in comparison to some other website softwares. You can make a basic page for a business or blog in a matter of hours and have it up and running. There are quite a few themes that it is very likely the design you want has already been created.

Pros

Wordpress offers the most options and built in plugins if you are willing to pay. With how broad the use of wordpress is there are also plenty of resources online to help you build and expand your webpage. You can edit your site and get it up and running in a matter of hours.

Cons

When you are starting out on wordpress there are features and plugins are are only available at higher priced points. Unfortunately you have to pay for the entire year so there is not much flexibility in terms of trying things out for a short period of time before committing.

Vernessa T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

WordPress Evolves, Adapts and is Lovingly Wrapped

Reviewed on 2019/12/13

Initially I was searching for a way to create and save tech-related notes, then link to relevant others, and search the entire pile. That was years ago (and I found some other software more suitable to that task). WordPress creators listen to the community that develops with it and the end users. So it has continued to evolve and adapt to the way the community uses and wants to use it. Over the years WordPress has served my needs as a blog, front page for a static website, content management system and ecommerce platform.

Pros

WordPress evolves, adapts and is lovingly wrapped around by a caring community of coders, developers, techies, and users alike. I began using WordPress before it was worthy of a full integer (it was like version 0.4!). I was impressed with it then even though I used it as a storage place for tech-related notes. I watched it evolve from a mostly blog engine to an enviable content management system. And adapt from being primarily in the purview of hobbyists to become a serious tool in the business realm. I remain impressed by (and grateful to) the community that creates for it, tweaks and supports it, and teaches others how to achieve the results they're seeking.

Cons

Oh the woes associated with upgrading! I've had a few because while the software will always warn you to backup and backup and know what you're doing, it can't foresee every possible thing that can go wrong. So it will sometimes break things. Or some ill-coded plugins will bork your site when you upgrade WordPress. My other least favorite thing about WordPress is the WordPress Plugin Repository. I don't think it is designed well enough to rule out bad actors (who create crappy pieces of software that causes problems for your WordPress site). Finally, although I applaud WordPress for finally figuring out a way to "edit in place," I don't think Gutenberg is the answer.

Juan pablo A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best website managers out there

Reviewed on 2019/12/05

It has been a very good experience to get to know wordpress and use it. It has granted us a great tool to manage websites, blogs, communities and landing pages. There is a lot of tutorials and information around, you just have to have the will (and/or time) to keep updating.

Pros

WordPress is one of the best website managers and content creators. It has tons of templates, addins and is supported almost everywhere (even if you want to install it locally). We have used our website with WordPress for more than 4 years and everytime we need to update or upgrade it, is as simple as to look for a new template, create a backup, install the template and customize it a little bit and in less than a week (sometimes even days) we have it up and running

Cons

The con I could find on Wordpress is that it can sometimes be difficult to keep an eye on the new versions of everything you install. There are updates for the theme, the addins, the plugins, the connectors, etc. What we have agreed to do is to always look to minimize the addons we select for our website to keep this controlable but there is always some antispam addin or comments addin you will eventually need. And sometimes, with the updates, you can get your site broken.

Tracey R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great Platform but Latest Update Needs Work

Reviewed on 2019/12/04

I've been using WP for a number of years now and, on the whole, I've always had a pleasant and enjoyable experience. I found it easy and intuitive to use when I first started to use the platform and navigate its features. I use it both personally (for my own blog) and professionally, and it gets the job done, so it's a great platform to use if you're a first-time blogger, etc. If you are just getting started with a blog, you can do a lot for free. I would highly recommend WordPress, but I am disappointed with the new update - it really has made publishing content more frustrating, which is sad, because on the whole, it's a great platform!

Pros

I've always been a fan of WordPress. Lots of free features, great themes, easy-to-use (although after the update ... read my comments below!), ability to add in a number of plugins. I've never had any major issues with the platform, and publishing content is relatively effortless. They also have tooltips to help you navigate the platform, but the onboarding process could be improved :)

Cons

Since their latest update, I've found that the platform has come with a number of problems that weren't there before. I also prefer the previous way of composing posts as opposed to the new version. For a more trivial example, when editing hyperlinks, the page will always bounce back up to the top after you've edited a specific hyperlink, and then you'll need to scroll down again, often losing your place, etc. Overall, the UI just doesn't seem as user-friendly to me as it was before, and I've found it frustrating at times to get content published quickly because of small little things that make it more time-consuming to push content out. There also seems to be issues with certain plug-ins now. Onboarding, once again, could be better for this updated version.

Joshua M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

JNM Rise WordPress Review

Reviewed on 2019/12/02

As stated above, I really enjoyed working with this software. I mean truly, web design has now become a great side hobby of mine and using intuitive software such as this makes it a very pleasurable experience.

Pros

I consider myself to be a tech savvy guy, but when it came to web design my creativity seemed to falter. WordPress provided me all the solutions I needed to build a website I felt would attract customers and allow my team and I to build a website that represents us, and how we see our company. It was ease of use like I hadn't experienced trying to code other websites, and to be perfectly honest I was disappointed when our website project had ended simply because I was enjoying interacting with the software so much.

Cons

I can honestly say from my experience working with WordPress and past experience with other software that there really weren't any cons. The tools allow for "drag and drop" functionality which was huge for me as much of what I added were video or pictures of our products. Additionally, the suggestions provided by the software were great to have, and even better was the fact there are so many communities out there with people who use WordPress regularly and who are able to offer some great ideas on site improvements.

Brad R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Blog + Application Framework + Content Management System

Reviewed on 2019/11/26

Using WordPress, we were able to rebuild our public facing website and our staff intranet simultaneously on one installation. And we were about to roll out features and updates at a pace that suited us. In the title, I mentioned Application Framework - WordPress is so extensible and flexible that you can treat it as a framework either apart from or in conjunction with the content management system and blogging engine.

Pros

For starters, the price can't be beat. WordPress is open source, so it's free to use in pretty much any way you need. With most free software, there's no support, but the WordPress community is so massive that you can find help for nearly anything WordPress related. If you're a developer, it's incredibly easy to add and customize features by writing plugins. If you're a designer, you have total control over the appearance of your site with the WordPress templating system.

Cons

There's not much to dislike about WordPress. As a developer, I find some of the older APIs to be a bit unwieldy, but most of those are being deprecated in favor of new methods as updates roll out. The new block editor isn't my favorite thing in the world, but it can be disabled if you need.

Whitney B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Making a Website That You Control Has Never Been Easier

Reviewed on 2019/11/12

I have been very happy with WordPress. I taught myself how to navigate the platform and there are so many great resources out there for people to learn.

Pros

How quickly and easily I can set up a site for someone and teach them to manage it on their own. I hate in my industry that may developers sometimes hold sites for ransom more or less.

Cons

There is a learning curve to it but once you learn the basics you are set! I love that they offer so many plug-ins as well. You can do things that used to take a fortune to get coded all yourself.

Jemma C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The only option I'd use for my website for my start-up

Reviewed on 2019/06/09

I used Wordpress to host my start-up Journo Resources and it's been a well functioning and customisable solution. It was easy to set up, I'm able to do the majority of it myself, and I've found it easy to integrate the work of outside developers. As my business is based entirely online, it's important for me to have a lot of control, and this helps me to do this is a customisable way.

Pros

There are a number of features I'm a big fan of on Wordpress.org, mainly centred around ease of use, customisation:

• This is one of the easiest pieces of kit to set up in terms of your website, and they're very good at walking you through how to tie it all together when you're starting out.
• It's intuitive, so you don't have to spend a lot of time explaining to people what they need to do, and there are good (and customisable) permission levels so you can make sure the right people have access to the right things.
• The platform is free! All you need to pay for is your own hosting.
• It's incredibly customisable. There are no shortage of Wordpress developers out there if you're looking for a custom build, and there are thousands of plug-ins and themes which can sort you out if you're looking for an out of the box solution. For the most part, I don't need anyone else to look at the website on a day to day basis, and am able to effectively manage it myself.

Cons

There is a ratings system on the plug-ins, but it would be good to make this more robust. Generally, though, I'm very happy with the service.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for fussy UI people and amateurs alike

Reviewed on 2019/03/28

WordPress is a large part of my business - developing it for clients with businesses. I have also worked on web platforms such as Wix, Squarespace, and Shopify. And the last 2 are pretty good! Once people have those kinds of sites up and running, however, I find them wanting customizations to their sites that are not possible on those platforms. Had they set up their sites using WordPress, it would have. Clearly, I enjoy working on WordPress sites a lot!

Pros

The reason why I turned to WordPress expertise was because basically everyone else started to, too! The benefit of this is that people of all talents are creating all sorts of apps (called plugins) that have great functions and features for it. Same thing for the themes (that's the look of the site). There's nothing that can't be done with WordPress. Basic awesome websites. Amazing multi-functional enterprise-level websites. Even if you're not an expert, and don't have high demands for your website to ... build a rocket ship for you... you can still enjoy using it and getting your business or your artwork out to the people.

Cons

Funny enough, the thing that makes it so great can also be a thorn in the side. Just because your WordPress site can do all these cool things such as connect people from your site to an autoreponder email list, or accept payments via Paypal easily, it does not also mean that removing other keystrokes/steps for other functions is as easy. So website owners who love their WordPress sites and want the sites to be even more efficient, to do more things automatically, often come across this tricky situation where 'customization' is required. And that means testing, time, and money. Sometimes significant amounts. Customization is open ended. The sky is the limit to what your website can do. But just because it offers a whole lot of cool features out of the box doesn't mean that adding to those features is easy. That's something I run into a lot with clients. The other thing is that the high level of free offerings of apps (again, called plugins) means your website will be able to do a bunch of cool things for free. But you have to be somewhat aware of your site on a regular basis to make sure that the plugins remain up to date and don't cause conflicts with other parts of the website. Regular maintenance does not have to be a big deal or cost at all. But if you don't do it, the costs can become huge when you have to clean something up.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use, getting tougher for developers

Reviewed on 2018/11/07

Overall, it’s easy for even a novice to use.

It is one of the most widely used platforms so it also leaves WP sites more vulnerable to hacking attempts - I highly recommend anyone who isn’t a developer to have a maintenance plan with someone who can secure and monitor a WP site regularly to avoid data loss or other malicious intrusions.

The more you use it, the easier it becomes to work with. It’s generally my go-to when creating custom websites for people who need a CMS but as stated above, I’ll be monitoring things closely to see how the new features affect the current development standards and methods.

Pros

I love the interface and simplicity of working on the back end. It’s intuitive for the most part and without having to look things up, a user can generally figure out the basics. Developing for custom WP sites has been great as there is a huge WP dev community and a lot of help and support to be found around the web (or courses).

It is free to use especially if self hosted and there are a million ways to customize a sote to be more unique from the standard templates (mostly geared towards developers).

Cons

The most recent changes including the customizer & Gutenberg (releasing soon) are becoming a huge roadblock for many developers. There are ways around them which include disabling them via code or plugin but the way things are going, it will be harder to ensure these features won’t interfere with custom WP developers.

The customizer is versatile but I find it sometimes interferes with the way a custom coded site works and can cause issues with intended styling and functionality.

Gutenberg is still new so it remains to be seen just how much interference there will be once it’s part of the core framework, especially on sites developed before this release.

Dianne V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wordpress is perfect for your first website

Reviewed on 2018/11/05

Overall, I am going to put a lot more effort into learning in-depth learning of module development, and custom field design and display. I am also excited about the Gutenberg new connection, and perhaps because I don't have a lot of old Wordpress site, it will be easier for me to take advantage of this new direction.

Pros

I returned to Wordpress after a break of about 10 years, and was pleasantly surprised to see just how far the software had come. The early "blog" has evolved into a framework that I can build smaller sites quickly and easily, with all the sophisticated graphics and mobile-friendly design features that take hours to programme manually. In particular the choice of themes is impressive, and the top themes have free versions that are more than adequate for many small entrepreneurs. The page builders allows some sophisticated designs, especially for one-page websites.

Probably the most important benefit is how easy the initial installation is, and how easy one can migrate form a production server to the final host. This is not easy on most frameworks, as there is often a change of platform.

Cons

The constant updating of plugins is tiring, although well handled. I have had a few issues with the sites not switching out of maintenance mode (you have to check every time).

I find hunting down the right plugin a nuisance - so many are weak and it is only after installing them you realise. Some leave behind "junk" files and database entries, that are then carried over forever. I would like to have a little more reporting and display flexibility, without having to use Pods (very manual) or a paid plugin for database fields.

Perhaps the most irritating thing that would be VERY easy to change - on the plugin downloads page, when you do a search the items don't have an order - it would be nice to be able to get the most popular downloads first - I keep getting offered plugins that are brand new or almost unused first. Finally after 3 pages I find one of the most popular plugins for doing this particular task.

Declan D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Wordpress is still the best blogging platform

Reviewed on 2018/09/17

I run all my sites on Wordpress, ones generating millions of visitors a month to ones with much smaller niche audiences. As long as you don't try to over customize it, meaning having a developer do all these things you think are cool but break Wordpress with updates, it's powerful. Working within what Wordpress offers, and focusing less on technical breakthroughs and more on content and development, I love Wordpress because it's easy to use, affordable, and I can find people to help me easily because tons of smart developers, designers, and writers use Wordpress daily.

Pros

Wordpress as a blogging platform still outperforms all the others. Yes you can get easy tools like Squarespace and Wix, but they all limit you to ultimately what you want to do, grow. With Wordpress you can start small, grow it gradually, and add everything you need to run a thriving business online, while controlling it all and owning it. I also like the fact that I can find good Wordpress developers and plugins because it is so widely used, making it convenient to get help and not get stuck with a platform that lets you publish and does little else. Sure you need to learn a few things, but ultimately Wordpress is a great value.

Cons

For some it's a bit more technical, requiring a bit of knowledge how it works. The endless updates of plugins and Wordpress itself are challenging to some, but this is a minor problem as long as you know not to use too many plugins and try to overdesign. So if you are not a disciplined user and try to throw all sorts of things around without thinking it through, go to a platform that limits your ability to do that. Wordpress can drive you crazy with its changes, but those changes are indicative across the digital world, and once you basically work it and treat it like a business instead of a hobby, there's no better platform to use.