Showing 32 reviews of 16

protel Air

Hospitality property management system (PMS) for hotels

3,1 /5 (16 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

3,1 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
44%
recommended this app
Showing 32 reviews of 16
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Awesome product and very user-friendly.

Reviewed on 2018/05/10

Pros

This PMS has been a life saver, it has a vast amount of options and it is very easy to use this platform. It has a lot of data points and all the hotel team members are able to use this efficiently.

Cons

More functions/reports should be added. We have not seen any real changes since we started using this.

Response from protel hotelsoftware

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our PMS product, and for sharing your positive experience here with the community on Capterra.

I can feel the "protel-Love" brimming over, and also acknowledge we can do even better. Although protel has been building successful PMS for nearly 25 years, we have not stood still.
Our product is constantly evolving, due largely to customers like you, who let us know what current and future requirements they wish for.

(More reporting? Got it!)

There are lots of exciting additions in this space due to our new www.protel.io functionality. Ask your protel representative for details, or head over to the marketplace to see for yourself: smp.protel.io)

Again, thanks for sharing your enthusiasm!
Jeremy Armes, VP Marketing, protel HQ, Germany.

Efstratios K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Still under development

Reviewed on 2019/12/13

It’s a system which still needs a lot of development in order to be able to compete with 4-5 stars hotels.

Pros

What is really good about protel is that it gives you reports on almost everything. So for revenue and any kind of analysis it’s pretty amazing. What I also like is the support team which is always there for you.

Cons

Pretty clear to me: Protel is not made for large resorts yet. It doesn’t have any real possibility to do table reservations for the hotel, over-bookings are made easily because it sometimes alert you but sometimes not, it doesn’t have a CTD and is quite complicated in the event department. Most troubling is the fact that while growing they made the backend too complicated with staff from the past version contradicting itself to newer features.

Christine B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Intuitive Technology

Reviewed on 2019/04/09

Love how quick and easy I can access and drill down through screens and information

Pros

The ease and simplicity of accessing my hotels information

Cons

Does not have a lot of group reservation functionality

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Protel Is not a great PMS system

Reviewed on 2018/04/07

No benefits here. Other PMS systems are better solutions.

Pros

The PMS system is reasonably priced. It is a good system for international hotels. The system also has great language translations

Cons

It cannot be integrated with anything. The customer service is also not that great as they are located abroad and they don't get back with us.

Response from protel hotelsoftware

Dear Reviewer,

I'm sorry to hear you have not found a perfect match with protel.
Please reach out directly (e.g. via live Chat on our website) and I will do what I can to help.

Actually, we have well over 1,000 interfaces, for example to POS-, phone-, channel- and yield systems, so I'm sorry it didn't work out for your property.

On a positive note, it is great to hear that you are happy with our pricing, language settings and consider us as a solid system for multi-property hotels.

Have you heard about our new protel.I/O Hospitality Platform? It empowers hotels towards consistent growth, by harnessing all available technological advantages of the moment, regardless of the specific manufacturer tool-set. Vendor-neutral is the new now. I am sure that you will love this game-changing #hoteltech as much as we do, where interfaces become a thing of the past.

Jeremy Armes
VP Marketing, protel hotelsoftware GmbH

Vincenzo M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Server frequently out of order

Reviewed on 2019/07/28

Pros

Nothing nothing nothing. Regret purchase

Cons

All product is not good. Server out of order for very longtime

Job H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

After four months we choosed another product

Reviewed on 2015/04/02

We had many problems with this software. All the interfaces with keycard system, POS and financial packet where not functioning. Both implementation partners HTS/Econostra and Protel Germany could't help or didn't want to help. Another client of this software descripted it well. As long as you have a small hotel with no banqueting and interfaces this product is OK otherwise not.

Response from protel hotelsoftware

Dear Job,
thank you for your feedback. Our systems are used by more than 12.000 hotels of any size and kind in more than 80 countries world wide. We hear with regret that our software was not conducive to your operations.
Best regards,
Manfred Osthues
protel hotelsoftware GmbH
Germany

Karen A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Waste of money, terrible api integration and support

Reviewed on 2019/02/08

Absolutely shocking, if I made my customers wait so long for solutions for a non functioning system and errors I'd be bankrupt. The company need investigating top to bottom.

Pros

I like the front end display, easy to use and with the initial setup we were able to design our own confirmation letters. That is all!

Cons

Where do I start??

API : Dont let them lie to you during their sales pitch that they will support any 3rd party integrations for you to build and connect your own booking system. 18 months down the line and over 200 calls in we are still unable to get protel to talk through their own API (which took 8 months to get hold of). At least 5 days between simple questions and a response of acknowledgement and weeks for an answer. We were told "plug and play integration" it doesn't supply this. We cannot use their own online module as it is inflexible in every way.

QAS System: this is their own address look up programme, after a replacement PC was installed it took 6 months to get protel running on the PC and they are unable to fix their own software QAS still doesn't run.

Reports: Functionality is poor, they tell you TAA is the way to charge everything extra but it doesn't show on overall figures, you manually have to add it up.

Customer Support: this is an absolute joke, dealing currently with UK, several people in Germany and someone in America who have no idea how to programme their own system. You ring when the system goes down and they say it isn't a priority and will get back to you, you are queued for a response and sometimes it can take days for an answer.

Account Manager : absolutely useless and complained numerous times about no call backs... Their answer "no record of this"

Overall I would strongly advise looking elsewhere, hit Twitter publicly if you need help

Toni S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Not suitable for Hostels

Reviewed on 2021/02/05

Old fashioned hotel management system

Pros

Trying to think! Not much after using a cloud based, hostel friendly system!

Cons

It was not suitable for hostel revenue management. At the time it wasn't cloud based.
Not user friendly and radically expensive compared to the cloudbased products that came onto the market while we were using it. The support was expensive too.

Jay D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Terrible system. No Interfaces. Slows down staff.

Reviewed on 2018/06/22

none.
we will pull out of this software and revert to original suppliers.

Pros

not a thing.
the only compliment is that they have an EXCELLENT sales team, who really know how to hide the truth and bend lies around you.

Cons

awful system speed.. and their excuse is "it is a cloud version, so too much traffic". yes, try and tell this to your guests.
NO PCI COMPLIANCE! The system will not log you out and guest data will always be on display
No Groups or MICE possibility.
no payment integration..
in fact, no interface integration. don't let them lie to you about Open API and simple Plug and Play.. challenge them before the sale to build and deliver an interface.. then wait 6 months for a result full of holes and bugs.
No overbooking functionality.. no overriding functionality..
the system date and time is always wrong.. (no, this is not the end of day routine.. this is I make a change NOW, and the system tells me I made it 4 hours ago..)
reservations and guest data disappear from the system like magic..
no reporting that is useful
everything that you can report is in GROSS - not NET.
useless guest confirmation letters and invoices - we cannot pull any guest facing material out of the system and we have to manually build it.
no rate mapping - you must rely on protel support for rate mapping which may take a month - so say goodbye to flash sales or promotions.
and this is just the tip of the iceberg my friends. Stay FAR AWAY from this system.

Lars D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Waiting for a Interface and Protel Germany is unreachable for several moths

Reviewed on 2017/05/16

Pros

Only good thing is that it's a cloud based system. Support from HTS is good but they are depending on protel Germany.

Cons

Protel Germany is unreachable for several months after more than 250 calls to Protel there was no one who was able to give answer to some simple questions. They always promise to call back but it never happened. At this moment we are still waiting some interfaces

Response from protel hotelsoftware

Dear Lars,

I'm very sorry you had a bad experience with our hotel software and support. This is not what our successful hotel software brand has been built on.

Your account shows all issues have been marked as resolved. Some of your 250+ phone calls must have been acted upon! Also, I note that our regional supplier is responsible for your ongoing support and training contracts, getting back to your colleague the very same day he called.

The new interface you refer to is non-hospitality specific and subsequently an exceptional case and can not be compared to the 1000+ interfaces protel already provides. This might explain (not excuse) why the process takes longer as usual. Our development team here in Germany was in frequent contact with your developers, supporting them with any technical questions.

Your local support partner is managing your project, and are your first point of contact.
Thanks for bringing this issue to our attention.
Jeremy Armes, VP Marketing

H S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Customers service dramatic

Reviewed on 2016/03/08

Nice product but lots if downtime.
Especially the banqueting module mice, is far from operational and our sales team is down for 6 days now and still no answer from out reseller hts and protel germany itself.
Bad support...

Response from protel hotelsoftware

Hello Mr. Schilder,

Thanks for liking our product - especially during the stressful time of the technology transition, earlier this year.

I find it hard to imagine that you were left for 6 days without an answer - and would like to apologise on behalf of all of us, our partners and the team here at protel HQ, Germany.

We are aware of certain communication issues which sadly do affect the perception of our services, from time to time.

We are doing all we can to address these issues, and improve upon our communication. Without the continued support of truly amazing hotel customers like yourselves, we would be doing our own brand an injustice.

We pride ourselves in delivering that special, personalised spark, which helps you streamline the individual processes in your own hotel business.

Obviously, something went very wrong here.
I'm glad to see you are still a protel customer, though!

Reach out anytime [email protected]

Jeremy Armes
Marketing Director

Hamid A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Protel is the Best

Reviewed on 2014/07/17

a simple comparison between the most best Hotel Software solutions, shows that Protel is the best from the both technical and pricing point of views.

Younis H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

After reading all the review I thought I need to add one

Reviewed on 2018/11/02

I still think Protel is an amazing system the team is always there to help and this is the most important thing, its not the cheapest in the market I must agree, but overall I'm very happy with it.

Pros

People are saying customer service is abroad, it is not true the team are based in UK and they are amazing team, CSR is great, regardless when you calling there is always someone to help.

Cons

I agree on certain things new interface might take months, had this issue with ReviewPro despite being promised that they have the interface but its been over a year now and still waiting for an answer.

Wolfgang B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

What we needed!

Reviewed on 2019/06/01

Pros

Protel Air offers everything our small Resort needs - the Cabin planning is easy to use and the Support is responsive and efficient. It is cloud base and this was one of the main reason to decide for it.

Cons

As we do not need the invoicing, it should be possible to disable this feature.

Dim V.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good ,solid software with a lot of options , tons of reports and a lot of add ons.

Reviewed on 2017/10/06

Pros

Highly customisation in almost every feature of the software.
Solid performance in sales, reservation and front office department . Restaurant POS operates well .
Highly recommended for medium-larger hotel units who want to use the reports ...Lots of reports for revenue and not only ..
Ease of use is not that good but it can be learned without much effort.
Connectivity with third party software .Powerful add ons.
Good costumer support
Stable.

Cons

Price of the software could be more competitive .
If you wish to get the proper value of the software add ons are compulsory not optional .So be ready to pay if you want the full range of "goodies"
Interface bit dated , needs an update .Also the reservation module needs to show more information .
In some new PC's sometimes the software crashes ( weird but unacceptable issue,)

Response from protel hotelsoftware

Dear Dim,

Thanks for taking the time to share your valuable experience of working with our software. I'm really pleased to hear you're getting so much out of it.

As for the downsides you have mentioned, we, like any other top #hoteltech vendor, are working hard on delivering even better value.

Have you seen what the new protel.I/O can do? It addresses the interface/add-on conundrum; opening up our software to engage more freely with other vendor's products.

Google what our CEO Ingo Dignas said 2 weeks ago at the HITEC Dubai - I'm sure you'll like it!

Again, thanks for choosing protel.
-Jeremy Armes, VP Marketing, protel hotelsoftware GmbH

Damien B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great PMS

Reviewed on 2019/03/14

Pros

We recently changed from Portal on prem. to the Air version. The possibilities are amazing. We had great support from their partner "Flow".

Cons

We would like to have the "pickup repport" option.