104 reviews

BrowserStack

Automated web and mobile application testing platform

4,5 /5 (104 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
92%
recommended this app
104 reviews
Sujith K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One stop for all testing roadblocks

Reviewed on 2019/04/14

Pros

In the old days, it was rather hard and time consuming to test and upload any Dev changes unless it has been thoroughly tested and ensured all across all platforms. The tricky part was not to test but the availability of these devices and platform to make life simpler for a QA team. With browser stack you can span across OS and browser and even test your app without relying on multiple tester. It has ensured it has covered all the basics as well as cope up with the increasing demand of new OS and browser that people look forward to use and ensure a bug free product

Cons

Since this is one of its kind product it is hard to find a drawback with it

Ilya P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Now you can forget about lots of Virtul Machines with different browsers

Reviewed on 2018/07/09

You don't need to waste time on configuring virtual machines, thinking about licenses and extra devices.

Pros

Allows you to use real devices, different os and browsers
You can easily start to work without any guidance (UX is very good)
You can use developers tools on iOS - it allows you to find errors more quickly.

Cons

Prices are high and rising fast.
Customer support is slow, sometimes you should wait.
Very rarerly you can find out that necessery device is not available

Suzyo N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Cloud Web Developer tool

Reviewed on 2019/02/09

I use it daily when am building websites to test the websites responsiveness across different browsers in realtime

Pros

The software simulates websites built on multiple instances/browsers in realtime, hence reducing testing times on individual browsers on my machine.

Cons

i don't like the fact that i have to pay for it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Decent

Reviewed on 2019/10/31

Pros

Somewhat solid software, with some quirks.

Cons

It's expensive for what it does in my opinion.

Wilco V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The best way to test your websites on multiple devices

Reviewed on 2020/05/27

It is a great tool for marketing bureaus and web developers to test if websites work correctly across all devices, and to debug complaints of issues that occur on certain platforms.

Pros

It has a very large list of devices and browsers of all kinds of platforms. BrowserStack makes it easy to test the working of your website on all of these platforms and browsers. It has a feature to use your computer as a proxy so you can even test websites that you are running locally. It allows you to debug problems on specific devices that you don't own. Free for open source projects.

Cons

There are no Linux/Ubuntu devices available for testing. Also, it is a bit expensive for small companies that don't use it that often, but only once in a while. There is only a subscription plan and no pay as you go plan. The responsiveness of the devices can be a bit slow sometimes, but that may depend on my internet speed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A must for cross-platform browser testing.

Reviewed on 2018/06/05

Ensuring our web experiences lived up to our developers expectations on all devices all without having to maintain our own device lab.

Pros

There is no better way to test your web applications on a variety of browsers, operating systems, and devices. It's incredibly easy to use and works VERY well when testing content on your local machine. For our web developers, there is simply no alternative.

Cons

It's not cheap when you have team members who aren't frequent users. That really is my only complaint.

Tomer D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

the best service for competibility checks

Reviewed on 2019/04/27

good service will use them again in the future

Pros

so if you have a website and you change or update a new feature on the frontend you have to make sure it is compatible with all browsers/operating systems, this is a great tool to do that it allows real testing from that machine and allow to see how your website/frontend looks real time.

Cons

it is expensive, I think if they will lower their prices

Michael C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fantastic Tool!

Reviewed on 2018/11/01

This is THE tool to have if you work in any support role regarding websites, or doing web development and need to make sure that your site works across the board. You'll no longer be limited to the devices and browsers physically present.

Pros

Very easy to use

A complete range of devices, OS, and browsers to test with in nearly every combination imaginable.

Cons

None! This tool has everything you need to test in every environment.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very easy way to test for bugs on multiple versions of software

Reviewed on 2018/06/29

The time saved by using this was my biggest benefit.

Pros

Browser Stack made testing for bugs extremely easy and saves a huge amount of time. Being able to just log in choose my versions and then start trying to replicate is much easier than reverting to an old version of Firefox, for example, and then trying to test for bugs. The time saved by using this is it's biggest benefit.

Cons

The load times can take a bit for it to load. It also has a tendency to freeze and then you will have to restart.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

BrowserStack makes cross-browser testing acceptable.

Reviewed on 2019/09/30

It definitely made our lives easier, I can test various platforms without having to reach for tens of devices.

Pros

- It's easy to switch browser while testing
- It manages local websites as well without requiring third party tools
- The browser extension is super handy when you have a lot of browsers to test on

Cons

- It can be sometimes slow in starting up, but that's reasonable
- Remote debugging is still painful and sometimes you just need to reach for a physical device

Steve G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The easiest way to test your app across multiple browsers

Reviewed on 2017/11/01

Before Browserstack, I had to install a half-dozen different browsers on my Mac and phone, and find a co-worker with a Windows laptop, all just to make sure my app looked and worked well across different platforms and browsers. With Browserstack, I can do all that testing from the comfort of a single app.

Pros

Browserstack is super-simple to use. Click on the name of an operating system (mobile, too!) and browser, and within seconds you'll have a fully functional browser on that host with developer tools installed, ready to test any site on the internet. And with the "Browserstack Local" Chrome Extension, you can even test apps running locally in the same way!

Bryan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for Browser and and Mobile Browser Testing

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

Pros

Browserstack allows us to easily test a web app across every browser and mobile browser. It loads fast, and is more cost and time effective than maintaining a bunch of browser and device versions ourselves. The live testing has made it easy for us to check and debug cross browser CSS issues.

Cons

I would like if the live plans allowed me to set a bookmark for each of the sites or apps I tested, and even to specific pages of those sites so that I would be able to come back to Browserstack and test faster.

Brian K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent Tool for Testing in just about any browser or device

Reviewed on 2019/09/17

Being able to test mobile websites and apps to ensure everything appears normally.

Pros

Excellent tool for testing websites, apps, and more in just about any and every environment, browser, and device possible.

Cons

The tool, although powerful and robust, can sometimes suffer from good amounts of lag, which makes use frustrating and slow at times.

Nicolas gabriel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Devices Farm for automation tests

Reviewed on 2019/02/26

I've been using BrowserStack to execute my automation test suite. Response time is very good and feature of logs and capture of images is very useful.

Pros

Great variety of devices
quick connection with remote devices
capture and login features available in live

Cons

It's a little expensive but totally worth it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Used it to test in different browsers and OS

Reviewed on 2018/08/17

Pros

It had a wide variety of browser versions and OS.

Cons

On the older ones, the resolution was not great and the mouse cursor moved choppily.

Rijo J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Cloud Testing Environment

Reviewed on 2020/04/13

Pros

Capable to support a variety of platforms including mobile devices

Cons

Trial Period expires very soon, the ui seems to be very difficult for the user

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It allows me to test any web with any browser

Reviewed on 2019/04/11

Pros

The best way to test a web app with specific browser even if its not accesible from internet

Cons

It requires extensions and it's not very fluid

Amey J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good Tool for Testing app on different devices and platform.

Reviewed on 2021/04/12

Main Problem for testing apps is Limited set of devices in inventory. BrowserStack removes this hurdle by providing developers, testers a platform where they can test apps on multiple devices. It was very difficult to have different sets of iOS devices as they are very expensive and also their simulators are working on only mac machines. But with BrowserStack one can test apps in real environments. It provides the same features like real devices with pre installed apps. You can also debug consoles to find any errors. Hence really handy and useful.

So I would recommended BrowserStack if you want to don't spend extra money on different devices. You can choose BrowserStack and be relax as you don't need to worry about theft :-)

Pros

Variety of devices.
Testing in Real Environment.
Easy to manage with team.
Easy to start and stop Sessions.
Easy to install Applications from different platform. Love that they have Test-flight options separately
Error handling becomes easy using console.
Cost Saving as user don't need to buy multiple devices.Especially iPhones and iPads

Cons

There were few issues I came across.
Sometime Setting app from iPhone didn't work. You need to close session and restart again.
Subscription cost is little on higher side as compared to competitors But it's worth.
Power consumptions is more.
Some time its get slow. User has to restart session.

Ilysse R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Real Game Changer in Website Development

Reviewed on 2020/11/10

We've used BrowserStack for several years while building websites. Our clients trust that we are going to be able to test their website before it launches because of BrowserStack.

Pros

BrowserStack is a life saver in website development, so our team can test across all browsers for desktop, tablets, and all mobile devices. It also helps us to be able to replicate issues that clients may see, even if we don't have their device.

Cons

We can currently only have one user logged into BrowserStack at a time. There may be an upgraded plan for more users.

Nehal Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cross-Platform testing made simple!

Reviewed on 2021/03/26

Pros

1. In our organization, we are using to test the mobile applications and web applications and it is a smooth seamless tool for testing at different browsers
2. The best thing is we can test apple based safari browser on Windows too
3. We are testing from a single control point for all the browsers which saves a lot of time and effort!

Cons

1. It gets tough for us to take screenshots while testing on this tool and share it within the group
2. It is a bit slow
3. Automation scripting is not available

Jayathi R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Get done your executions with 'less effort' and 'higher efficiency'

Reviewed on 2018/09/03

Pros

In past two years this is my primary cross browser testing tool.User friendly UI and easy to understand. It's easier to work with this tool and it provides various features to fulfil your testing purposes. If your looking for to get done your executions with less effort and higher efficiency, This tool is the best solution. They provides more than thousand devices to deploy your executions. This is very stable and reliable application. Highly recommended for anyone.

Cons

You need a better network connection to get more efficient results. Other than that there are no any cons to mentions. It's very perfect tool. Cheers !

Dan O.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great for manual or automatic testing, but expensive

Reviewed on 2018/03/22

Whilst using live devices has been updated frequently, the screen capture functionality doesn't get the same degree of love during updates.

During a major website redesign and new CMS integration recently, I needed to ensure that the slicing of the website design into code performed as intended across all modern devices/browsers.

Pros

It's an efficient way to test out a website across multiple devices and operating systems, testing out that all important adaptive or responsive design. It's fast to grab screens across multiple devices or to test live on a multitude of website devices running different operating systems and different browsers.

It's quicker, and cheaper, than testing across tens of different devices. When compared to real devices, it provides an accurate representation of how the device/browser sees the website.

Cons

Price. It's not cheap, it's expensive and they constantly are pushing the prices up.

The enterprise that I work with is not keen on providing an annual membership, as such, I find myself purchasing a monthly subscription ad hoc as required to ensure that I continuously deliver a robust website across multiple platforms.

I wish there was an alternative that was equal in weight.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Full featured testing on both mobile and desktop

Reviewed on 2019/09/03

Pros

Originally, the killer feature was that you could develop in a localhost environment but still use browserstack to test on various devices. Then they added IP spoofing and geo-location testing which elevated the usefulness that much more since we were looking for solutions that would easily allow us to test and confirm issue that we were getting from international clients and now it's all in one place.

Cons

There's an optional download that aims to speed up usage of browserstack. While this is nice, it'd be good to somehow work this into the main application. This is because although the speed up is beneficial, it would be hard to install on end-user devices of nontechnical internal testers who are the ones who most often complain about the speed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The ability to pull up browser pages from multiple environments and devices is a huge help.

Reviewed on 2018/03/30

The ability to view code that I've written on different platforms and formats is a huge help. It takes the guesswork out of hoping that a browser or device will act a certain way when rendering the code.

Pros

With BrowserStack, you can choose which devices and operating systems that you want to display your pages with, to ensure that things are rendering correctly. In HigherEd, students (and faculty) frequently trade devices, operating systems, etc., so to be able to verify that the code we write is going to be appropriately viewable for a wide variety of devices is a necessity.

Cons

The only real "issue" with this software is that there is no real "step"/usage tier -- you either must have the full-blown version, or none. In HigherEd, our projects wax and wane. It would be helpful to have a subscription where you could view XX number of different web pages, so that if we are not in a big production year, we can still test and verify the smaller number of pages that we produce.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Useful tool for cross-browser and cross-platform web testing

Reviewed on 2018/06/19

Being able to test on nearly any configuration (operating system, browser, device...) without having to set up virtual machines and all the complicated stuff behing.

Pros

BrowserStack can simulate nearly any browser on nearly any operating system. It's really useful for web agencies for testing their websites against targeted and/or old browsers. Sometimes you just don't have an Internet Explorer browser available on a computer somewhere, that's where BrowserStack come to the rescue. Since a few years, you can also test mobile devices and browsers, and with a partnership with Microsoft, you can now freely use any Edge browser testing. The UI of the tool is nice and well engineered.

Cons

BrowserStack powerful features come of course at a price, which is relatively high. But for most agencies, paying such a fee for such a tool is really worth it.