8 reviews

Electric P8

Engineering data, circuit diagram and schematics solution

3,9 /5 (8 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3,9
/
5
Value for Money
2,4
Features
3,8
Ease of Use
2,8
Customer Support
3,1
75% recommended this app
8 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

ePlan opinion

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/29
Review Source: Capterra

With this software I spend less time for doing my job.

Pros

This software allows you to create electric schemes easilier than others. Moreover, you can create your own data base with differents articles for making the purchase list automatically.

Cons

You must to have enough knowledges about this special field for knowing how does it works and not makes mistakes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jamie C.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Vastly increased productivity

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/02
Review Source: Capterra

We've seen improvements in time-to-produce schematics.

Pros

My first engineer who we got using ePLAN came from a company with exclusively used AutoCAD Electrical. Within a couple of months, the engineer feels they can work 2-3x faster in ePLAN, access to the parts portal is a massive saving for us, as new products are generally available from the parts portal and do not require us to create a new intelliegent block.

Cons

It feels like there are a lot of "options" which come at a great cost. Full migration to use ePLAN is going to take us multiple years due to the software investment.

Response from Eplan Software and Services

Thanks for taking the time to share your positive experience with EPLAN. It is certainly our intention to streamline processes and save you time and resources. We look forward to continuing to provide you with a successful customer experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kenni D.
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Features I like

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/06/02
Review Source: Capterra

Not happy. Consider it a waste of money

Pros

The one benefit I like is the parts database. Panel layout is a challenge.

Cons

The software is extremely difficult to use and there is no clear documentation explaining the features and methods to setup the software to make it easier to use. Symbols are not correct for NFPA standards and I need to modify them constantly. Parts downloaded from Data Portal do not always have the correct macro or symbol associated with it. There does not seem to be a standard for the symbols regarding size and functions. All symbols seem to be based on IEC which does not work well for NFPA projects.

Response from Eplan Software and Services

Hi Kenni, Proper training is key to using EPLAN effectively, and would directly address much of the frustration you are having with symbols. Our Data Portal contains over 950,000 parts from 300 manufacturers, and is constantly improving in size and quality. Give me a call if you'd like to chat. -Shawn O.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Daniel W.
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Opportunity for a fresh start

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/06/02
Review Source: Capterra

It took several months but now the automation features are working for me instead of against me.

Pros

The Data Portal integration and library of manufacturer provided macros.

Cons

The learning curve is steep and there are many options that are not well documented.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Lance M.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Powerful, expensive

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/08
Review Source: Capterra

EPLAN definitely eases the process of reusing designs. Copying completed designs into new projects is easier.

Pros

1. Getting data exported out to Excel is easy and powerful. We create different types of reports for ordering parts, labeling parts and wires, and machine tagging.
2. Electric P8 makes it easy to upconvert projects to a newer P8 version, but they are not backward compatible.

Cons

1. This is our department's largest expense.
2. Converting from a non-P8 platform to P8 is not trivial. For this reason we do not upgrade EPLAN 21 and EPLAN 5.7 projects into P8
3. Once they stop supporting a version, hope that your databases don't become corrupted.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Tool for making electrical drawings

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/29
Review Source: Capterra

Electric plans for delivery

Pros

I can make electrical drawings, describing the position of each component. There is also the possibility of downloading macros from the well-known brand components such as Siemens, Weidmuller, Omron ...

Cons

Some macros are damaged, and many others are not easy to find. I do not see any more factors against him.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Conrad R.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good product with little to no support and incompetent staff

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/09/17
Review Source: Capterra

Poor service, product is not what was sold to us.

Pros

There is so much you can do with it that could potentially better the way you design

Cons

Cannot use more then 20% of what the software is capable of due to a lack of information shared from the staff to the client due to incompetence or a mind set that once the software is sold, they stop assisting.
The after service is horrific with little to no answers.
Sloppy attitudes towards the client

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Bryan T.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Good software and support

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/06/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It was pretty easy to integrate into our existing database.

Cons

I didn't like switching from the previous software and learning new.

Response from Eplan Software and Services

Thank you Bryan.
Change is never easy, but necessary to keep up with the times. The traditional tools are not enough anymore, and tools that specialized with the tasks at hand are needed to stay competitive in this ever changing market.
Looking forward to seeing you get more and more out of EPLAN and becoming more efficient in your daily tasks. EPLAN is there to help as well. Make sure to check out the EPLAN videos on YouTube that will give you more insight in the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10