115 reviews

Ansys

Cloud-based tool for engineering simulation and 3D designing

4,6 /5 (115 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4,2
Features
4,6
Ease of Use
3,9
Customer Support
4,2
98% recommended this app
115 reviews
Aruna J.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Professional 3D modeling and simulation tool

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/08/23
Review Source: Capterra

I have worked with SolidWorks for design 3D models. But when it comes to simulation Solidworks have very limited options. Then seniors suggest me to use ANSYS for the simulation purposes. More advanced simulations can be modelled with ANSYS. It is a great tool. Plenty of tutorials can be found online. Correctly following the design steps will lead to successful simulation.

Pros

This tool is recommended by most of the professional experts for the simulation of 3D models. Basic operations are very similar to ordinary CAD tools. Advanced simulations can be modelled and simulated. Lot of tutorials and documentation are available on the internet.

Cons

It requires basic mechanical engineering knowledge there for not much suitable for beginners. Highly advanced tool than other CAD tools. Simulations require a lot of processing power and time. Therefore it is hard to run simulations on Laptops.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Syed muneef A.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: Self Employed

ANSYS for all Engineering fields

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/15
Review Source: Capterra

I used this software for my Master's degree research. it provided me with satisfactory results and helped to save a lot of my time. these results were compared with experimental results and they almost matched.

Pros

First of all this software is not for specific engineering it can be used by every engineering department. it contains different types of tools that can fulfill the requirements of all engineering fields. it is also a user-friendly software and complete user guidance is available. This software has the ability to accept geometries designed in other softwares. this software basically consists of four different steps. first is a Modular design where the user can design his/her own geometry. The second step consists of meshing where geometry is divided into smaller portions to apply the required equation solvers. the third step is setup where boundary conditions are applied. the last step contains results where it can be analyzed through tabular or graphical representation.

Cons

This software is very heavy and requires a powerful computing power for accurate results. it crushes during simulations after which you will have to restart all of your work.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

This is a wonderful suite to perform precise simulation and get accurate results with multiple cores

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

1.) Its topology optimization in a latest update provides accurate results against shape optimization in old versions.
2.) This saves time when running multiple computes to get your desired mesh.

Cons

1.) It requires a wealth of knowledge and experience including theoretical &
practical.
2.) It costs high for learners and does not provide access to full set of tools.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tarik A.
Industry: Research
Company size: Self Employed

3D modeling and simulation CFD

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/08/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

During my engineering, I used several software such as Solidwoeks, Katia or programming on MAtlab and Fortran, but my discovery of Ansys changed and made my work of solving equations for mechanical problems easier. More complex simulations can be modelled with Ansys. Ansys contains several products depending on the application areas. Tutorials of all kinds are available online and free of charge. A free version is available for students.

Cons

The only downside is to provide a computing station in order to take advantage of Ansys products especially in 3D modeling.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Vedabit S.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: Self Employed

Ansys Student Review

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/05/07
Review Source: Capterra

I used Ansys Static Structural during an internship involving FEM Static Structural Analysis and got hands on experience with modelling 3D software on Design Modeler and Space Claim. I also used the Static Structural interface and performed structural simulations. The software is very capable in all respects and I learned why companies enjoy using the product.
Following that, I started experimenting with fluid simulations using Fluent, and was even more impressed. I used Ansys Fluent for a research paper during my final year of University, that eventually got published as well.

Pros

1) It has extremely clean and simple UI.
2) It has a wide range of functionalities. Personally I used Fluent and Static Structural for my purposes.
3) Most Universities are affiliated to Ansys, thus giving access to Students to learn its various functionalities with ease.
4) Extremely innovative software with UDF capabilities that allows for a lot of customization and very complicated simulations to be performed with relative ease.
5) Would highly recommend for academic as well as industrial purpose.

Cons

1) Only issue I had is with the free trial version. The software is amazing in every respect, but the free trial allows for very few mesh resolution. Despite free trial being for learning purposes only, it hinders the ability of a student to learn useful insights from their simulations, such as verifying the accuracy. Ansys should allow Students especially using the free version, to experiment more with the software by relaxing certain constrictions on their free version.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tharindu J.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Fantastic tool with higher accuracy for CFD and Multiphysics simulations

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/05
Review Source: Capterra

Great tool for CFD and FEA with accurate and correlating results with the experimental analysis. I used this tool when I was an undergraduate for fluid flow studies and thermal analysis and now at my work place I am using it for air flow modeling in Mechanical Ventilation.

Pros

ANSYS Fluent gives very accurate and reliable simulation results in Computational Fluid Dynamic (CFD) analysis. It has an excellent graphical user interface (GUI) where you can easily select the type of CAE analysis and other parameters for most of the simulations while using user defined functions (UDF) to handle complex and customized simulations. Fluid-Structure Interaction (FSI) analysis is another great feature in this software which enables the multiphysics study of fluids and structure interaction.

Cons

ANSYS requires heavy computational power to give accurate results for complex analysis. Creating complex models in DesignModeler is harder compared to other modeling tools.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sachin ganesh U.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Useful and versatile analysis tool for all projects

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/12
Review Source: Capterra

As a student, ANSYS has been extremely helpful for my projects and assignments.

Pros

I used ANSYS extensively for the analysis of mechanical components. ANSYS APDL is easy to use and follows step-by-step procedures. Other platforms of ANSYS like the fluent is also very versatile. The software can be used to analyze simple to extremely complicated processes and structures.

Cons

The documentation is not very good and getting help about projects and analyses is a bit difficult at the start. The software is memory intensive and requires performance computers for smooth operation.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Darwin reynell N.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

An effective, friendly and reliable mechanical component simulation tool.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/07
Review Source: Capterra

During my mechanical engineering studies, the subjects I most enjoyed were "computer-aided design" and "Finite Element Method". For this reason my thesis was oriented in the line of mechanical design, "design of a pin-on-disk friction machine", you can apply load states on pieces of interest, determine their stresses, deformations, safety factor, fatigue, buckling between others. In the same way, repeat the process until achieving the convergence of results, redefining the meshes on a particular element. It is simply incredible.

Pros

In addition to all the different types of analysis available to apply in the pieces, you have a really friendly interface. Your pieces can be made in the Ansys DesignModeler program or be imported from other 3D CAD tools. In addition, you have refining tools for meshing to focus on areas of interest, either by its state of charge or its particular shape.

Cons

If the size of the element chosen in the meshes is very small, the simulation can take an excessive time. The issue would be related to the processing capacity of the computer.
It is required to have knowledge of the finite element methodology, to conceptually understand what you are applying in the program.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Prathmesh R.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: Self Employed

Best engineering analysis and simulation software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it's great software. Once you get your hands on it, you get your problems solved in no time. I'm currently using this software for my BE project in mechanical engineering.

Pros

I loved Meshing tool and graphics shown in modelling. Software has different analysis options like structural,vibration,thermal,fluid analysis and many more. I have used this software for structural and thermal analysis mainly. Great use in Finite Element Analysis. It saves time of experimentation.

Cons

The hard part is to learn all about this software and its features. It's not easy to use and it's bit of expensive software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Beth C.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Get simulation data quickly

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is easy to use and the Ansys customer support is very helpful and responsive.

Cons

Some functionality isn't obvious. It is hard to troubleshoot what isn't working in a simulation sometimes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bekir A.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

TUI is the best way to use all features of Fluent

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

ANSYS Fluent is my primary tool for CFD. It has a better correlation with physical world. Always we see most similar results between CAE and Test.

Pros

ANSYS Fluent is a well-known CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics) Software in the industry. It's using by wide-range of companies from automotive, aviation, defense, marine, agriculture, chemistry, ...etc. industries. It has a well oriented graphical user interface (GUI). You can easily set the type of CAE analyses and boundary conditions. If you need a quick setup for your CAE case, you should use Text-User-Interface (TUI). You should write your commands into a text file and execute on the computing cluster. That's the easy way to run an analysis.

Cons

It is so hard to debug the TUI errors. You could spend much resource (CPU) for this kind of stuff because it takes so long time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Robust FEA software for modeling and experimental verification

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/21
Review Source: Capterra

Getting past the initial learning curve of knowing how to properly setup a simulation, without over-constraining the system, can be quite frustrating. But when done properly, with help from experts and online resources, the end results can be extremely valuable for research and design applications in engineering, and can help guide future design improvements.

Pros

The numerous features available in ANSYS make it essential for design verification and modeling. As a graduate researcher, designing a new experimental apparatus necessitates knowing the potential loading that will be imposed on the system, and even the flow field analysis (checking for laminar flow). ANSYS provides enough online resources to quickly learn how to create a model, create an adequate mesh, and setup the proper boundary and load conditions for the analysis. The end results have aided in improving engineering designs. I highly recommend learning and being exposed to ANSYS early as an engineer.

Cons

The overall interface is not that user-friendly at first. A lot of the different setup parameters, whether meshing, boundary conditions, load conditions, physical constants, or mesh type, are all often found on their own separate drop-down window, which makes navigating between different settings and properly setting up the model quite confusing at first.

The built-in modeling functions are also not robust enough to model anything complex. It is definitely recommended to import a model from a devoted CAD program.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Essential design validation/optimization tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/30
Review Source: Capterra

It very capable validation software is used for engineering with having complex interface and performance failure.

Pros

Various engineering tools for any kind company are offered by ANSYS. It has a great training/help documents with hyperlinks which you can reach easily what you what. You can also create your own models and run it. Very easy to mesh complex geometry of designs. Compatible with other modeling tools such as Hypermesh.

Cons

It has not a user friendly interface. Sometimes it crashes and causes loss of work. Every tool needs license which may be expensive to get all of them. It can be hard to find the issue with your model in Fluent.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Anthony D.
Industry: Maritime
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

ANSYS Workbench is just amazing

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/04/13
Review Source: Capterra

ANSYS has gone and made a designer's job easier. I mean,most designers will agree that undertaking analysis the conventional way is, lets be honest, way too tedious in this era. Now ANSYS has gone and made things much simpler for us. And with the user friendly GUI of the Workbench, ANSYS has taken ease and reliability of analysis several notches up.

That being said, it is also to be noted that with the above mentioned user-friendliness inclusions has enhanced the potency of the software. The accuracy and reliability of solutions dished out by the software is spot on.

Also for small to medium sized analysis (which is done most of the time), ANSYS does not take a toll on the PC. Analysis times are quite fast.

Overall a great software to have for analysis, simulations, design optimization, design verification, etc. This, coupled with decades of development of this software makes it one of the must haves for any design organization.

Pros

Excellent GUI. Very user friendly. High accuracy and reliability. Has numerous modules for all types of analysis.

Cons

Reading mesh of imported geometry should be worked upon a little bit. Several instances have occurred wherein mesh was not read correctly leading to waste of time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pulkit C.
Industry: Defense & Space
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Well developed software for engineers

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/22
Review Source: Capterra

We were doing the projectile impact, depth of penetration and brittle material analysis in ANSYS. It is a good software for the simulation of plastic and brittle materials. It provides easy tools to perform analysis. The only area it lacks in postprocessing.

Pros

The user interface of the software is very good. It has all the tools to perform Explicit and Implicit Analysis. Mesh generation is easy to use and in the newer version, you can easily create complex geometry.
Good software to analyze brittle materials.

Cons

The material library is not that updated for explicit materials and it could have been improved. Apart from that, there are fewer tools for postprocessing and it could have been improved. Postprocessing is the most important part of the analysis and ANSYS has some limitations in postprocessing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Fantastic software for engineering simulations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/17
Review Source: Capterra

I have used ANSY's for static & dynamic analysis. Tried a lot learn in the beginning correct but then it's now easy to process any analysis at work.

Pros

Any type of analysis can be done for engineering simulations. It helped a lot during college projects and now continues at work. Integration with different modeling programs improved a lot.

Cons

It's not an easy software so takes sometime to get experienced. But then simulations, CAE works get really easy after learning phase.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Praveen S.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Ansys used for FEA of Pipelines

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/15
Review Source: Capterra

Overall its a good experience compared to other softwares used

Pros

Ansys is user friendly software to use. I used it for subsea pipelines buckling and walking analysis.
Computation is easy and help page is very useful to find out the application

Cons

It takes more time to compute longer models especially when you have more degrees of freedom and constraints applied to the model

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Shanaya M.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

ANSYS review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/13
Review Source: Capterra

ANSYS has helped me to optimize in the drawing field and make high quality drawings.

Pros

It has a great feature of designing and modelling of your need. It also has online tutoring about drawing if the user don't know how to use the software. This software has very high accuracy.

Cons

Although it is a great designing software, but there can be still some improvement in the structure modelling part. Everything except this is awesome.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Oil & Energy

Great support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

After working with this vendor for years I can say we have had the best support from them. Most requests are handled without issue and always willing to work with us.

Cons

Learning curve is very steep and even with documentation some of the features need support assistance. I also find it difficult to support each release separately for every user. In most cases it is easier to skip the initial and dot 2 release.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Helpful for engineering simulations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/23
Review Source: Capterra

It's a great software for especially engineers that need simulations and calculations to resolve for their problems.

Pros

I'm using ANSYS since college as it helped a lot with my engineering projects and now I continue at work for mechanical and structural analysis now.

Cons

When I get an error for analysis, I can't find the reason easily. There are huge tutorials for the software but it's not so easy to find the problems solutions.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Semiconductors
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Robust structural and thermal simulation tool

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/12
Review Source: Capterra

Ansys constantly develops new tools and techniques for fast & accurate simulations. If you have a team of engineers who need advanced simulation capabilities with simple UI, it's the best simulation tool available.

Pros

Ansys is an industry leading software for structural and thermal similation. It's modular approach to setting up multi-physics simulation makes it easy and intuitive to use even for beginner users. But don't let its simplicity fool you. If you know what you are doing it can pretty much let you adjust every single simulation parameter from meshing to solver settings. Geometry cleaning / preparation and meshing is perhaps the most time consuming aspect of running a simulation. Ansys' adaptive mesh refinement does an outstanding job of meshing the geometry automatically which is great for a first pass analysis. You can pass results from one simulation to other just by dragging and dropping an arrow in UI

Cons

Unlike Abaqus which includes everything in one single license, you will need to purchase different modules for advanced simulations (non-linear, dynamic, fatigue etc.) which can be very expensive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sumit R.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

ANSYS Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/03
Review Source: Capterra

This software is a very helpful software for my daily job. I use ANSYS structural for my FEA analysis. This software provides me a very good result with few errors.

Pros

This software has one of the best hyper-elastic material analysis. ANSYS Structural provides the best FEA result. Curve fitting option is best in this software.

Cons

Transition between tetra and hexa mesh can be difficult.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ali H.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

ANSYS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/26
Review Source: Capterra

It is a helpful software though it can be more user-friendly.

Pros

It gives reliable simulation results before manufacturing a device. At each version tries to solve the software problems.

Cons

Sketching a system is harder compare than similar software. The user's help document is not practical because of lacking enough examples.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Sajed S.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 11-50 Employees

ANSYS and Geometry Optimization

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/12
Review Source: Capterra

I have used ANSYS and its geometry optimization tool. I have been involved in developing software packages which uses ANSYS as the solver.

Pros

I liked the feature that ANSYS has added to the Workbench for geometry optimization.

Cons

I belive the modeling part of ANSYS can be improved to be more user friendly, so that it would be much easier to use the powerfull tools that ANSYS provides.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sameer S.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

this software is very useful.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/25
Review Source: Capterra

Quick analysis.

Pros

The wide availability of elements for any particular usage and the reliable solver are the major plus points. Variety of boolean operations are very easy to use.

Cons

The post processing is not user friendly. The contours and graphs displayed are in old fashioned style. The scriptting is also not comfortable to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10