119 reviews

ANSYS SpaceClaim

Cloud-based tool for engineering simulation and 3D designing

4,6 /5 (119 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
119 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This is a wonderful suite to perform precise simulation and get accurate results with multiple...

Reviewed on 2018/07/23

Pros

1.) Its topology optimization in a latest update provides accurate results against shape optimization in old versions.
2.) This saves time when running multiple computes to get your desired mesh.

Cons

1.) It requires a wealth of knowledge and experience including theoretical &
practical.
2.) It costs high for learners and does not provide access to full set of tools.

Syed muneef A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ANSYS for all Engineering fields

Reviewed on 2019/11/15

I used this software for my Master's degree research. it provided me with satisfactory results and helped to save a lot of my time. these results were compared with experimental results and they almost matched.

Pros

First of all this software is not for specific engineering it can be used by every engineering department. it contains different types of tools that can fulfill the requirements of all engineering fields. it is also a user-friendly software and complete user guidance is available. This software has the ability to accept geometries designed in other softwares. this software basically consists of four different steps. first is a Modular design where the user can design his/her own geometry. The second step consists of meshing where geometry is divided into smaller portions to apply the required equation solvers. the third step is setup where boundary conditions are applied. the last step contains results where it can be analyzed through tabular or graphical representation.

Cons

This software is very heavy and requires a powerful computing power for accurate results. it crushes during simulations after which you will have to restart all of your work.

Mert A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Professional Application

Reviewed on 2020/12/14

Im very pleased to use this program because my cad model operations are upon simplfying geometries. Spaceclaim make my job easy

Pros

Geometry modifications are very easy, you can simplfy your cad in a short time. There is no product tree, so you just click delete or "f" to delete fillet etc.. Creating cad models is very easy, you just sketch something and just pull it or modify cad with some tools.

Cons

Sometimes you need product tree for some reason. Spaceclaim have not product tree, but you can apply different methods to do what you want to do with tree.

Tarik A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

3D modeling and simulation CFD

Reviewed on 2020/08/12

Pros

During my engineering, I used several software such as Solidwoeks, Katia or programming on MAtlab and Fortran, but my discovery of Ansys changed and made my work of solving equations for mechanical problems easier. More complex simulations can be modelled with Ansys. Ansys contains several products depending on the application areas. Tutorials of all kinds are available online and free of charge. A free version is available for students.

Cons

The only downside is to provide a computing station in order to take advantage of Ansys products especially in 3D modeling.

Darwin reynell N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An effective, friendly and reliable mechanical component simulation tool.

Reviewed on 2018/08/07

During my mechanical engineering studies, the subjects I most enjoyed were "computer-aided design" and "Finite Element Method". For this reason my thesis was oriented in the line of mechanical design, "design of a pin-on-disk friction machine", you can apply load states on pieces of interest, determine their stresses, deformations, safety factor, fatigue, buckling between others. In the same way, repeat the process until achieving the convergence of results, redefining the meshes on a particular element. It is simply incredible.

Pros

In addition to all the different types of analysis available to apply in the pieces, you have a really friendly interface. Your pieces can be made in the Ansys DesignModeler program or be imported from other 3D CAD tools. In addition, you have refining tools for meshing to focus on areas of interest, either by its state of charge or its particular shape.

Cons

If the size of the element chosen in the meshes is very small, the simulation can take an excessive time. The issue would be related to the processing capacity of the computer.
It is required to have knowledge of the finite element methodology, to conceptually understand what you are applying in the program.

Ali H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

ANSYS

Reviewed on 2019/09/26

It is a helpful software though it can be more user-friendly.

Pros

It gives reliable simulation results before manufacturing a device. At each version tries to solve the software problems.

Cons

Sketching a system is harder compare than similar software. The user's help document is not practical because of lacking enough examples.

Bora D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Makes engineering decissons easier...

Reviewed on 2019/06/19

Pros

Ansys WB is quite complex tool with multiple modules. You can make any of the engineering calculations (simulations) here. It works with finite element method. It has too many modules as I only know solid and fluid modules I use them on my both academical studies and design business.

Cons

It is really complex, deep as ocean! Especially if you are working on the remote areas of engineering, it could be a night mare. Customer support knows basics that is OK however they can not always support you on your deep and complex problems. Also on Fluent module is not really capable for "mass transfer".

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A useful product for many types of analysis

Reviewed on 2019/05/24

I use it in both work & educational studies widely, while solving vehicle system problems coming from the field. Before making any physical changes, I can first run an analysis to see the results which saves time and money.

Pros

It has too many different tools embedded which allows one to perform different types of analyses ranging from structural to CFD, or even electrical and thermal management. One can also create his/her own models and use the meshing tool without needing any other application.

Cons

Some of its tools allocates too much memory of computer while some other tools do not, which appears to be an optimization issue.

Enrico O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremely usefully analysis software for every type of analysis

Reviewed on 2018/02/28

Extremely accurate simulation results

Pros

Contains multiple analysis suite packages for all types of analysis; static, dynamic, structural, thermal, model, flow, etc..

Cons

Not easy to use at first. Need to understand the setup and process of the analysis to actually run a creditable study

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great for simulation and analysis

Reviewed on 2018/12/09

Pros

This gives you the opportunity to program and simulate complex problems. It reduces expensive experimental setup and gives you the ability to outline projects.

Cons

Tough to learn and expertise. User interface is not very friendly for initial learning.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for Non linear structural analysis

Reviewed on 2019/05/12

I liked this software

Pros

Non linear Structural Analysis, Wear Analysis

Cons

XFEM capability. Thermo mechanical capabilty can be improved

Hassan N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Promising technology for all engineering field

Reviewed on 2020/05/09

Pros

ANSYS is one of the best software to validate the material model proposed for the simulation of any material. I used ANSYS to model a new type of concrete material that has a complex nonlinear behavior and compared with the experimental data. I got a pretty good agreement between experimental and ANSYS results.

Cons

I have used both ANSYS and ABAQUS for my doctoral research and I think ANSYS is better to be used in industries and ABAQUS could be better in academics. ANSYS has limited option in comparison to ABAQUS for structural analysis.

Samia M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Semiconductors
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

EASY USE

Reviewed on 2019/07/04

Pros

It has so many option for simulation. Lots of tutorial available

Cons

Sometimes some simulations are not run for boundary condition error.But it does not say exactly.

Tan d. T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intiutive and Strong Multi-Physics Software

Reviewed on 2019/04/12

I have used ANSYS to simulate deformation and thermal protrusion in nanometer scale in the presence of an embedded micro-heater elements. The simulation results show good agreement with experimental results.

Pros

The software allows to solve multi-Physics problems from mechanical deformation, heat transfer, to computational fluid dynamics. ANSYS Workbenchs is a great platform for pre-processing, meshing, and post-processing procedure that makes the software very intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

Too expensive and it has limited number of nodes/elements for students.

Cesar P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best and more innovative simulation suite. A lot of possibilities and tools

Reviewed on 2018/06/14

Pros

The Ansys mechanical Suite allow to analyze complex systems in a easy way, with a lot of possibilities and materials library. Is powerful, easy to use, and easy to integrate with other solutions in and ouside of the suite

Cons

Maybe the price, and web or mobile app for sharing data and export data results. Also if you need to use muti core solver you need to paid for it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great experience using ANSYS

Reviewed on 2019/09/18

ANSYS is a great software that can be useful for simulations

Pros

- Great software for simulations that shows visualisations for the user
- Easy to use functionality and tools for multiple industries

Cons

- UI needs improvement to navigate between tools easily
- System comparability issues when suing different platforms

Victor R.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It allowed me to simulate different conditions to understand the mechanical behaviour of...

Reviewed on 2018/03/20

It allowed me to develop an important part of my university thesis, serving as a professional tool to study the mechanical behavior of the material studied and validate my previous simulations.

Pros

It forms part of the workbench interface, which allows this module to be linked with another tools without problems.
It offers the possibility of evaluating stresses and deformations under static and dynamic loads that can present both linear and non-linear effects.

Cons

It has an outdated graphical interface that does not facilitate the use of the program.
The complexity of the problems studied in this program requires that the user dedicate some time to learn how to use the software well.

Renny P.
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I used the application for my degree work and got excellent results. I used Ansys mechanical...

Reviewed on 2018/04/05

confidence in the results. Simulations easy to program. For basic simulations the response time is fast. This helped me in my degree

Pros

Easy program to use. Various engineering topics. Fluids, stresses and deformations, static systems and dynamic systems.

Cons

This is a difficult program to learn. It is a bit expensive program. Many options must be configured.

Pardeep S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good experience. I made several projects over it. I recommend it.

Reviewed on 2018/03/23

I make different projects in this and recommend it.

Pros

I really like it's different modeling tools, easy to use and understandable. Good capacity for handling large data.

Cons

It's user interface is little bit complex compare to its competitor software's like solidworks and catia

Justin J.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We use ANSYS to model combustion systems exported from Solidworks

Reviewed on 2017/09/05

Pros

The solver is robust and the user interface is easy to understand and manipulate once you are familiar with it. Our results have been highly successful when validated in the field.

Cons

For a new user, it can be difficult to learn. It is also quite expensive, but you do get what you pay for.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The best finite element analysis software present

Reviewed on 2020/02/04

Overall I like ANSYS and I am comfortable using it. I am sure anyone who uses it will agree with me.

Pros

The user interface is extremely intuitive and easy to understand. Although there is a learning curve it is easier to use than other finite element analysis software's.

Cons

This software does not have extensive documentation. It would have been easier to learn if it had easy to access and updated documentation

Balakrishnan N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Ansys review

Reviewed on 2019/01/09

Helpful and lots to learn

Pros

enables inputs from multiple cad softwares, particle loaded material analysis inputs

Cons

Analyzing mesh sensitivity can be tedious with desktop machines as i have experienced software crashes

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great for FEA, Decent CAD Software

Reviewed on 2018/04/04

Pros

If you can simplify models into easy shapes, the FEA software can simulate very effectively. Ansys can even extend into Heat Transfer FEA which has been specifically useful to me.

Cons

The CAD side of Ansys feels clunky and confusing. If you can learn where the tools are, then it's not too bad, but the learning curve (as with any CAD) can be pretty steep.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review for ANSYS

Reviewed on 2019/04/19

Simulation results are very accurate and helpful. Littlebit difficult to learn but after learning the software it is easy.

Pros

This is very good software for engineering simulations. Lots of critical simulations can be done using this and can get the idea about the model and the parameters of model before implement the design.

Cons

If there is more variables, simulation takes more time such as more than 2 hours with computers with lower size RAM.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A best analysis tool

Reviewed on 2019/07/18

Pros

Provide more engineering tools to analize design features.

Cons

Required more processing power and RAM.