14 reviews
Overall rating
4,1
/
5
Value for Money
3,8
Features
3,9
Ease of Use
3,9
Customer Support
3,7
86% recommended this app
14 reviews
John t. W.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Simple to use and robust CAD

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Having the choice between direct modeling and ordered is perfect. This is a robust CAD tool with many built-in advantages with their standard license such as: FEA, data management, reverse engineering, generative design and advanced rendering with KeyShot

Cons

Eventually, I would love this program to be in the cloud. I think that's where it's all going in the future.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Peter B.
Industry: Design
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great CAD software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/29
Review Source: Capterra

I can quickly provide customer solutions, with great quality 2D drawings, 3D models, Video fly-throughs, machine animations, stress and displacement analysis and reverse engineering. This software is critical to my business.

Pros

Solid Edge delivers great results quickly and design changes are very simple. The user interface is simple and clean and you do not need to sort through a hundred buttons to find the function you need. The software is great at importing and exporting other CAD formats. The drawing options are very good and quality drafts are produced in very little time. The software is more powerful and stable than some other brands and the support staff in Australia is fantastic.

Cons

The software installation and updates are a big drama and require technical assistance every time. When a new version comes out I need to allow at least a day before I will be operating again.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Design
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Solid Edge ST3 Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/19
Review Source: Capterra

Just being honest with ST3 version, there was just to many bugs. It can’t process to many features or large assemblies. This caused so much lagging. I once waited 10 minutes just to turn a DFT file into a pdf because I wanted color. I shouldn’t have to choose between color and time. Just my opinion. I wouldn’t be to proud of using this software year.

Pros

Okay so just to say, this is for the ST3 Version I used to had. Not the new up to date version I now have, ST9. ST3’s strong point was definitely it’s ability to help our manufacturing shop with sheet metal work. I could make a complicated sheet metal part with good accuracy. With sheet metal factors are always causing problems, this software excells in that area.

Cons

Okay so, when I used the software, the thing that absolutely really bugged me the worst when I was creating an assembly in the “ordered environment” all my features and assembles were based off my parent sketch. As you know, things changed in designs. Well when I change/update my sketch, my assembly would either not change with it, or more commonly, it would just blow up. This would cause me to seriously have to update it manually, hours of work. This happened with large assemblies. (12 or more parts)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Ramon V.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Great starter CAD program

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

It was my first step into CAD, and while it was tough to do anything at first, I came away from it with the ability to make all sorts of ideas come to life on my screen. This is a good tool for anyone who needs to get into CAD.

Pros

You can create custom parts in solid edge and have them made and shipped to you with all sorts of different materials to choose from. If you know what you are doing, you can design things of incredible complexity by stringing together part files.

Cons

There is definitely a learning curve, as with any CAD program, and it is going to take time for a beginner to learn how to manipulate things the way that they want to. For example, it took me a long time to figure out how to make a wire that corkscrews around a curved line, and none of my teachers knew how to so I ended up getting somewhere close to what I wanted after watching countless videos on it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Useful 3D designing software for basic designing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/14
Review Source: Capterra

As a freelancer I have used Solid edge for sheet metal designing and the features are very impressive and helpful. It allowed me to design any given model in no time. Recommended for designs with less designing and simple sheet metal designs.

Pros

1. Easy to learn
2. Designer with basic designing knowledge can grasp the features of software quickly
3. Assembly of CAD models is easier and convenient as compared to other softwares
4. Very fast software which helps in quicker designing of models.

Cons

1.3D to 2D converter is moderate with few features missing in comparison with other softwares of this caliber.
2.Supported file formats are also no great in comparison with other softwares
3. User interface with menus are a little too cramped up and completely user friendly

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Kemal O.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A Good 3D Design Tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It has a user friendly interface that doesn't harm your eyes.

Cons

Some command buttons can't be find easily, you have to dig into to find the hidden buttons

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Hasan S.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Design your ideas in minutes!

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent.

Pros

The ease of use of designing from scratch and ending up with a fully featured mechanical CAD design in a span of some clicks.. Definitely one of the best Engineering CAD softwares out in the market. Oh and, it is free to use for students and teachers!

Cons

Finite Element Analysis (FEA) or stress simulation cannot be done in this software. Would have been ideal if these features were also integrated as an option after designing the parts to test in real-time if it it would sustain the external forces in real-life.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Friendly and useful software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Friendly and easy to use for beginners. It has many tools for desing, drawing and somes for modeling.

Cons

I think this software can be used by beginners and not by professional engineers or designers.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Vaibhav C.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: Self Employed

Makes your modelling work easier

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/04/28
Review Source: Capterra

This software allows you to create nice designs only when you know how to operate this software which is not at all an easy task.

Pros

Once you are well aware how to operate this software then you can put all your imaginations into this. This software allows you to create beautiful models and designs.

Cons

The user interface of this software is bit messy which makes its user to get bored soon.
The software is very confusing to learn and operate.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: Self Employed

A well Advanced solid modeling software

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/12/03
Review Source: Capterra

The experience with Solid edge was very at a level of complete satisfaction. Once I got familiarised with this it was very easy to do whatever I want.

Pros

The designing capasity of this software is incredible. The ability to do modifications even afterthe complete 3D model is a really plus point of Solid Edge. Solid Edge is the most suitable software go complete a task at the professional industrial level.

Cons

As a beginner it was little bit hard to go with but still it was manageble for me. At some times I wander here and there searching for some command buttons; familiarising was not much easy to me.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Tharaka D.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

It's all about designing

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/11/12
Review Source: Capterra

I strongly recommend this software for the mechanical design engineering undergraduates and the professionals.

Pros

As an design engineering undergraduate, Solid Edge is the best designing software for part designings and the assemblies.

Cons

It's bit confusing for the fresh users to identify the commands for the first time. There are very few video tutorials available for this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Solid Edge Review

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/03/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

As for my experience with solid edge over 6 months, I have found this software was easy to use for drawing 3D models.
I have seen this software during the early age of its development and I am very sure now it has been improved lot better with additional features

Cons

May be need extra training to know the features

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Easier PLM integrated Mechanical software

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Change process can easily linked with PLM by using this Solid edge tool

Cons

Features can be improved more for user interface

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Mohammad E.
Industry: Design
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

very inclosed software

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/07/17
Review Source: Capterra

not good

Pros

i usually use solidworks for 3d design .. but when i needed to learn cnc the instractor advised to use solid edge ..

Cons

actually i didn't like it in the 3d design... when i tried it i felt like iam on 1990 or something .. i didn't like it at all

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10