DaySmart Body Art Reviews

DaySmart Body Art

Software to manage and grow tattoo and piercing businesses

Overall rating

4,3 /5
(44)
Value for Money
3,8/5
Features
4,0/5
Ease of Use
4,1/5
Customer Support
4,1/5

82%
recommended this app
Sort by

44 Reviews

Monica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Nifty app makes it easy to book clients

Reviewed on 2024/03/29

I highly recommend DaySmart Body Art to anyone looking for a user friendly app looking to make...

I highly recommend DaySmart Body Art to anyone looking for a user friendly app looking to make appointments for their clients. Log notes, send automated reminders, checkout made easily.

Pros

Keeps my schedule nice and tidy. When I first started using DaySmart I thought I would have an issue keeping track of my business schedule and my personal schedule, but I have no issues whatsoever.

Cons

Could be a little easier pulling up checkout / payment information, but once you figure it out it’s not that difficult.

Lindsay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good value for money

Reviewed on 2019/08/15

I find it works well enough for what I need but there are many improvements I would like to see!...

I find it works well enough for what I need but there are many improvements I would like to see! More customization options would be great.

Pros

The best feature is that it notifies my clients of their upcoming appointment's

Cons

I wish there was a way, when opening up the schedule to clients booking their own appointments that you could select certain portions of the day for specific services. For example, being able to alot 10 am to 12 pm for consultations only, then 12-6pm for tattoo appointments. If the client has a way of selecting an appointment type category, that would be amazing! I don't get to use this feature at all for this reason, I can't let my clients just have a free go at my schedule or I will have a day of appointments scattered between tattoos and consultations which is extremely stressful. Therefore I have to schedule everyone myself still, defeats the purpose of this feature all together.

Alternatives Considered

Insight

Reasons for Switching to DaySmart Body Art

It was a little less cost wise and offered the same features
Geoffrey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Ok Product but lacks updates for feature and functionality improvements

Reviewed on 2022/09/22

Everything i said above, If I can find a better non cloud base solution I would change, but I am...

Everything i said above, If I can find a better non cloud base solution I would change, but I am stuck with a outdated solution that DaySmart management does not appear to care about improving. This tells me that I need to start looking because it may not be around much longer if they are not making improvements to the software to enhance features and functionality, Example how hard really is it to add the ability to have the ability's to do add a credit card fee or surcharge? Answer Not hard.
There are many other things that need to be updated and added but the requests you put in goes into a black hole.
DaySmart get your act in gear!! You have a good core product but it could be a lot better so get serious about the product!!! It looks like you started off with good intent but just stopped and did not complete it as planned and you do not appear to be putting any development dollars into the product, you are just collecting our monthly payments but not putting any back into the product, it is as if you have it in the Maintain Box instead of the Enhancement or Growth Box!!!

Get it together and do something other than just take our money!!!

Pros

Good basic Tattoo Shop software, fairly easy to use for scheduling and tracking tickets and payroll

Cons

It is like NO one at DaySmart Product development and Management have no interest in improving the product, someone tell me the last feature or functionality improvement that was added that was something needed? I was sold this product as an all in one solution that no other software was needed, that was a lie. To have proper bookkeeping you need to purchase QuickBooks, if you want to properly keep track of your payroll you need third party payroll company otherwise it is a manual process to keep track of all the information needed.
It lags behind in adding new features and functionality, needs digital consent management, improved tracking of taxes and deductions on payroll, needs abilty to collect Credit card surcharges or fees, needs improved bookkeeping you cant even see what is in your general leger accounts. Needs to have remote POS and mobile app to sync all setting from Main system such as ability to disable Walk-in as a client.

Flo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good App

Reviewed on 2020/06/26

Really good, they are helpful whenever I have any questions and answer be back quickly

Really good, they are helpful whenever I have any questions and answer be back quickly

Pros

Text Reminders
How it’s catered to tattoo and piercing industry

Cons

No deposit feature to be taken off the total
On your desktop your not able to see the full month view but you can on your Phone or iPad
Calendar doesn’t integrate with google calendar or ical

Alternatives Considered

Bookedin

Reasons for Choosing DaySmart Body Art

Because this was catered to my profession versus Genbook catered to salons

Switched From

Genbook

Reasons for Switching to DaySmart Body Art

This has an app to use
Samantha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ease to use

Reviewed on 2023/08/31

Over all experience I would say is good . There could be a few changes to make it perfect . But for...

Over all experience I would say is good . There could be a few changes to make it perfect . But for the most part anytime We have run into complications DaySmart team have been able to help use

Pros

I appreciate how new user friendly it is .

Cons

The payment section , only allows 3 different payments under one client . In the tattoo industry it’s not uncommon for clients to spread the large payments over multiple cards . I think it would be best to remove this limit .

Lindsay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Wish it had more features

Reviewed on 2019/12/18

It's ok, to be honest I am looking for an alternative software to switch to that gives me better...

It's ok, to be honest I am looking for an alternative software to switch to that gives me better control of when people are booking their own appointments.

Pros

I like that it texts and emails my clients ahead of time to remind them of their appointments

Cons

I wish you could have a list of services dedicated to certain time blocks that people can only select that specific service for that particular appointment time. For example, if I had a service called "consultation" and wanted consultations to be available only on certain days and certain times of day when people are booking their own appointments. That would give the administration full control of their schedule.

Alternatives Considered

Insight

Reasons for Switching to DaySmart Body Art

I thought it would be better for my business being a tattoo shop, I'm.learning now that it was just really good marketing
Kristen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Inkbook Review

Reviewed on 2020/01/02

Overall we are pleased, but are reluctantly looking for another software that will solve the...

Overall we are pleased, but are reluctantly looking for another software that will solve the inventory control nightmare we are currently experiencing since Inkbook has no plans to upgrade this feature within the product. We would prefer to work directly with Inkbook to solve this one feature that could make their software amazing instead of just great and set the industry standard hand in hand with them. Our industry is only growing and the demand for a full service software would put them apart hands down from all competitors if this once aspect was addressed.

Pros

This product is a wonderful scheduling and management tool for tattooing. There are many great features that have streamlined our high volume studios. Support is always helpful, friendly and fast.

Cons

This product has not taken into consideration that tattooing and piercing go hand in hand. The inventory management for piercing with thousands of line items of jewelry is cumbersome and antiquated requiring other software for inventory control. Multiple locations require duplicate and triplicate data entry with no cohesion between the individual databases. Inventory is currently written as if we are a beauty salon with generic parameters for low volume studios. We've been told that there is no plan to rectify this and we would be better served finding new software. Support is not open 7 days a week and we are.

Darabeth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The system is glitchy & expected features are not on there

Reviewed on 2022/07/05

Pros

It gets the job done for the most part.

Cons

At least once a week, it seems to crash, and multiple people call in, and by the time we get through, it’s already resolved. Secondly, we are constantly having the system buffer and needing to refresh it. We thought it could be an Internet issue but we’ve had her Internet checked two times and upgraded within the last month. The problems still exist. Next, any request that we’ve made for changes, or suggested changes, have gone largely ignored or without reply. The few times that we have received a reply they’ve not been to our satisfaction. All this is considering that we rely 100% on the software to take care of 13 artists, one guest, three Admins, the manager, and an owner. Common sense upgrades like switching to a drop-down date when putting a client profile in, have not been upgraded, and we’ve activated features that do not seem well thought through and are of little benefit to us. Lastly, every time we get notified of an update, it does things like knock our schedules and holiday closure dates out of the system, and then we have to waste time going back through and putting them back in.

Amy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great!

Reviewed on 2019/09/09

We like having everything in one place, and the ability to see schedules from our phones. We are...

We like having everything in one place, and the ability to see schedules from our phones. We are slowly working on cleaning up our client list it got massively messed up due to the system we imported from. Looking forward to using the marketing e-mail tool. We like the text reminders sent out saves a lot of time in studio. We are also working toward having all inventory in the system as well as checking out clients through the software as well. We dislike that pervious appointments don't show up if the ticket was not closed but hopefully this will all be solved when we can everything in Inkbook.

Pros

I like that the software is easy to use. It is great for scheduling appointments, and tracking customer history.

Cons

I dislike certain limitations because we use Mac, so we are only eligible for the cloud version. I wish all features were available no matter where we are logged in. It would make it a lot easier to work from home.

Jeni
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Many hands make for light work!

Reviewed on 2019/12/20

Cohesive POS processes no matter whose working. It's great to have a flexible system that allows us...

Cohesive POS processes no matter whose working. It's great to have a flexible system that allows us to change things and develop as our needs change.

Pros

There's an intuitive quality to most things about using this software. Even when I'm popping in only one or two days a week I don't get lost in overly complicated processes, that's a great quality for part time employees. When you have multiple part time workers things can get lost and turned around within the POS. Many hands makes for light work but too many hands in an unorganized kitchen just makes A MESS! That's not an issue with this software.

Cons

I wish I utilized the reports more effectively and the information about our client. In a perfect world this software would link with software on the ipads that took in tattoo client documentation required by the state of Michigan.

Christopher
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Not Worth The Hassel

Reviewed on 2019/06/18

Pros

Its good for booking and thats all.
Looks nice.

Cons

Customer Service is horrid
Setup is extensive
Price is not constant
free trial is not 14 days its for how long they feel and will cut you off before 14 days.

Alternatives Considered

WellnessLiving

Switched From

WellnessLiving

Reasons for Switching to DaySmart Body Art

More tattoo orientated

Response from DaySmart Software

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, Christopher. The trial is, in fact, 14 days for everyone. Your trials were truncated because you had started five different trials, many assigned to the same email address, which is not something we support, as that's obviously not what the free trial is all about.

The "setup" is as extensive as your staff, schedule, products and services are - obviously those need to be loaded into the system. After the trial, the price is constant, with the possible exception of messaging overages, for which we offer different consumption-based packages.

I'm sorry that your "hassle" with so many of our free trials led you to feel this way. Stranger still that your shop has now purchased the software. We wish you the best of luck with your new system, and certainly hope that 12 Tattoos is spared similar spurious reviews.

Jay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

InkBook software

Reviewed on 2019/12/17

Overall I’d rather use this software then another

Overall I’d rather use this software then another

Pros

It integrates well with my type of business. And has plenty of options to help me keep track of all my services and products

Cons

It doesn’t have a deposit option any longer

michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Works ok, better than some, not as good as others. just depends

Reviewed on 2022/07/14

Their customer service is hit and miss. Sometimes its good as long as they are open and you dont...

Their customer service is hit and miss. Sometimes its good as long as they are open and you dont call too close to closing time. They run bankers hours which is really annoying. Tattoo shops are open double the amount of time that daysmart is. if you are going to offer a product to a certain industry then you should be available for support during the industries normal hours. Don't even try to get them to do anything on the weekends or within an hour of closing time. i have been yelled at, talked down to and treated like garbage. Telling me that they need time with their families and free time and we can expect service on the weekend or after 5pm.

Pros

being able to access it on any computer.

Cons

Its not the greatest at checking customers out. it is very time consuming and confusing for some employees. they constantly screw it up

bryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software!

Reviewed on 2020/01/02

The artists love using the Inkbook app. It's help keep all clients information stored properly and...

The artists love using the Inkbook app. It's help keep all clients information stored properly and that helps us tremendously

Pros

Inkbook makes it super easy for me to book appointments and also reach out to our clients. Inkbook has made scheduling tattoo appointments simple! We love it!

Cons

Somehow the software isn't automatically sending the reminder texts. The client will get the initial text when booking, but wont get a confirmation text message automatically. It has to be manually sent and retrieved? I used to have a little bar on the bottom right of my screen telling me when the messages were going to be sent. Now it's not there?

Kate
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The right tool for tattoo artists

Reviewed on 2019/12/20

Overall we've had a really great experience with Inkbook. The customer service is very good and the

Overall we've had a really great experience with Inkbook. The customer service is very good and the

Pros

The software is clearly designed for tattoo artists - booking appointments, client info, ticketing, gift certificates, scheduling, etc can all be done with ease through Inbook. The comprehensiveness of the software is our favorite feature.

Cons

I would like to see the marketing features built out more. Open rates and click-through rates for emails and/or SMS would be so helpful!!

The online booking is becoming a must-have and I feel it's very clunky and not very customizable right now. I would like to see this feature improved.

Kat
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product for Artists and businesses alike

Reviewed on 2022/07/15

It's been absolutely heaven being able to streamline my process, especially while working 60-80...

It's been absolutely heaven being able to streamline my process, especially while working 60-80 hours a week

Pros

Going from having 8 million sticky notes, 3 physical and one digital calendar, etc to one program that keeps immaculate records, has been a blessing.

Cons

The only thing i could even complain about is the constant need to log back in/disconects too often, but it's one button so barely an issue.

Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Has so many good features.

Reviewed on 2022/07/05

It's been fine. Customer service is helpful too.

It's been fine. Customer service is helpful too.

Pros

I only use a small handful of what there fully is to offer. I use the quarterly tax breakdown sheets and the daily reminders for my clients. That is what I got the whole program for in the beginning.

Cons

When clients come in, I can mark them as simply checked in, which is important for consults. But if I forget to do that and a day or two passes and then I try to go back to check them in simply for my records, the check in option is gone.

Kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Inkbook/Daysmart

Reviewed on 2022/07/14

Pros

Easy to use, scheduling clients, moving/canceling clients.

Cons

Card processing and group checkouts are constant issues. Back office coding for this needs improvement. Can not send images to clients through system, can only receive images. Appointment reminders are sent to employees 24 hours after the actual appointment which is useless. Text through the online software is limited to 160 characters but using your phone you can text a novel if you wanted to. It sucks that we have to send multiple messages just to say what we need, then are charged per text for any that exceed the 1500/mo we get.

Trina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Tattoo shop abroad using Daysmart

Reviewed on 2022/07/07

Pros

I love the calendar feature and ability to manage clients and bookings...especially with the autoreminders.

Cons

The biggest issue we have is the waiver. We wanted all of this to be online but many clients with android phones have issues with the functionality. Some can't complete the signature. I tried having a tablet based at the front but using our own tablet means that we can't enter the waiver onto the client record. They seem to link to the device. I'm also struggling to get the artists to adapt to entering and checking out their cleints on the software.

Al
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The complete package

Reviewed on 2023/05/11

Marketing is simple, I can see everything I need to know about my business using their reports

Marketing is simple, I can see everything I need to know about my business using their reports

Pros

Easy to use marketing and fabulous reports. Everything you could want in one package

Cons

Takes time to fully integrate. Do a piece at a time until you have the functionality you want

Mina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Overcharged - Billing Dept Wont Reply

Reviewed on 2020/06/09

Overall, the app works great for me. It’s just frustrating how I’m being overcharged double, and...

Overall, the app works great for me. It’s just frustrating how I’m being overcharged double, and I’ve contacted customer service and the billing department multiple times about it and haven’t gotten a reply. Customer Service will just redirect me to billing, but I never get a follow up from CS, nor do I ever get contacted by billing. I’m about to cancel my membership because of this. Which is sad because I enjoy this app.

Pros

I like how I can see all my appointments streamlined into a week and how I can switch to month view and see everything for the month.

Cons

The Appt Notes section is limited to a certain amount of characters and it’s hard to detail what my clients want in their tattoos while being limited.

Shay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Daysmart Product Review

Reviewed on 2022/07/07

Overall Daysmart has made my job much more efficient.

Overall Daysmart has made my job much more efficient.

Pros

What I enjoy most about this product is the fact that it is developed specifically for my line of work rather than for a general all around purpose

Cons

What I enjoy least about this software is that I don’t have the option to select multiple photos at a time to add to a persons profile. As i tend to need to add multiple references for each person and it becomes slightly tedious.

Ken
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome software

Reviewed on 2019/08/28

This product has kept me more in touch with my clients and kept my client more on top of showing up...

This product has kept me more in touch with my clients and kept my client more on top of showing up for their scheduled appointments.

Pros

My customers love the notifications and the way the app constantly reminds them of their upcoming appointment. Visibility and ease of scheduling is a nice feature as well.

Cons

The program sends out too many individual text messages to the client, I had often heard of their overall dissatisfaction with the amount on inbound messages per notification.

Summer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

On the fence…

Reviewed on 2022/07/06

Honestly I’m looking at other software options that offer the same or comparable features at a...

Honestly I’m looking at other software options that offer the same or comparable features at a considerably lower price per month

Pros

The ability to keep client info and consent forms in the same place with reference photos and appointment history is great.

Cons

The ability to manage studio inventory is basically non existent. Their in house payment processing is a nightmare and calendar syncing isn’t functional

William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Stay away or run if you can!

Reviewed on 2022/07/14

Chain of command failure on DaySmart, does their upper management even know how bad they are...

Chain of command failure on DaySmart, does their upper management even know how bad they are failing or do they not care???

Pros

Reports until the rest of the software that ties into my reporting started failing.

Cons

Software failing to run credit card information for deposits. Same problem going on for months. All we hear is they are working on it.