48 reviews

MariaDB

Database management, monitoring, and load balancing software

4,7 /5 (48 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
48 reviews
Eljakim S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MariaDB as a drop in replacement for MySQL just works

Reviewed on 2019/10/22

We use it to store all of our data.

Pros

It is so much faster than MySQL, especially when we alter the table structure of large tables it just works so much faster. The built in clustering features work quite well as well.

Cons

Starting a cluster is annoying. It's not overly hard, but you have to remember the statements. It would be a lot better if the startup script would say 'cannot attach to cluster, start a new one?' or something similar.
Despite the speed, we have had a couple of crashes where we could not startup the server. This has never happened to our MySQL servers, so that was a surprise. It may have been a specific 10.2 version on Ubuntu, because on our 18.04LTS servers this has not happened again.
Performance of the cluster when using INSERT IGNORE statements with 100,000s of records that are all duplicates is a lot slower than on MySQL.

Joshua R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best DB on the Market

Reviewed on 2020/11/14

I use it for a gaming server where we have tables for items, characters, etc. It's perfect for our use, easy to use, and has never crashed or failed yet.

Pros

More languages supported than MySQL and more functions. I also love that it's open source and totally free.

Cons

It can be difficult to setup for 1st time users, especially the server. But once it's setup, it's easy to use with a client like HeidiSQL.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good

Reviewed on 2019/12/18

Very good to use MariaDB, very easy to configure and with a lot of documentation generated by the user community of the tool.

Pros

An option to the MySQL database, as it is more updated than the free version of MySQL, and its license and its compatibility with Linux allows a low cost in production environment.

Cons

Because it is a good open source option, this means support is through the community, and the vendor is not responsible for data loss.

Jose D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing

Reviewed on 2017/06/07

Excellent performance. We work with this DB solution on most of our sites and even if they receive plenty of visit at the same time, there no sights of delays.

Pros

Blading fast. We switched from MySQL DB a few months ago and couldn't be much more happy with this solution.

Raul M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Improved database server.

Reviewed on 2017/11/09

Pros

It is a community-developed product, easy to use and install, perfect for medium and large organizations.

Cons

Came from Mysql and shares some of the same source code, best server performance runs over Linux distributions.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fast and reliable db

Reviewed on 2019/08/16

Pros

Light, easy to use with standard SQL language.

Cons

It would be great to have a manager instead of a console by default.

Debjit B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My second best RDBMS software and best opensource software.

Reviewed on 2018/09/15

I love the idea of open-source so as opensource this is my best DB software. I love the idea of it and similarity with mysql as it is a fork of it. If you already used any SQL software/server before then you can find this pice of software your next best thing. This fast and light feature of it is the dealbreaker. VPS with 512MB ram can run mariaDB with 1000's of users which I cant think with Mysql or any other software. Love to see this awesome pice of software success. For support you always have it sorted by someone before and you just need to search.

Pros

This is an opensource solutions which is a fork of MySql. I love how light it is compared to other softwares. It is reliable, light, much faster alternative. If you know mySQL then it is just the free version of it.

Cons

I ran into some configuration problem when trying to configure it on my VPS server. It doesn't have lots of tutorials like other, but you can always find a way around of it. You cannot get personalize support for this software like others, because it is a comunity based DB software. Less update and bug fixing sometime make word really hard.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Preferred Database Solution

Reviewed on 2019/12/18

MariaDB is easily our preferred data storage solution, and we use it across most of our applications.

Pros

MariaDB is an excellent, free and open source solution for data storage, with a strong tradition of quality and a high level of support.

Cons

The renumbering of versions (skipping from 5.5 to 10.0) has left some confusing documentation and version tracking problems.

Haritha W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Free Alternative for MySQL

Reviewed on 2019/10/16

MariaDB is a comprehensive RDBMS that can successfully replace MySQL, however, it lacks some of the MySQL features.

Pros

MariaDB is a free MySQL clone with improvements such as faster speed and better replication. It requires minimum resources.

Cons

It doesn't have all the MySQL features and it has delayed compatibility with MySQL versions starting from 5.5.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

100% free and open source database management

Reviewed on 2018/04/28

Compatibility with mysql that allows easier use of the application.
Open source.
Easy to use and safe database management.

Pros

MariaDB is an alternative to MySql totally free and open source
Maintains full compatibility with MySQL, allowing migrations from MySql to MariaDB in a clean and smooth manner
When complex queries are received and you have to perform temporary tables, they are cached instead of being written to the disk
Being a very dynamic community and open to developers, MariaDB guarantees the fastest appearance of patches, which can solve any security problems
MariaDB can be used from most existing management systems for MySQL, such as PhpMyAdmin or HeidiSQL, and is compatible with popular applications such as WordPress, Drupal, and others

Cons

The migration of a very tested and reliable system such as MySQL. Although absolute compatibility is guaranteed, and a large stable and powerful system, we must assess whether today a complex system is worth passing to MariaDB

Bradley C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MariaDB is great!

Reviewed on 2019/04/26

Pros

It performs everything we need from a relational database.

Cons

The performance could be better. Some queries could run faster.

Paul T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The better fork of MySQL

Reviewed on 2020/03/04

Whenever some piece of software only works with mysql and not postgresql, I give mariadb a try first. It has always worked so far.

Pros

When oracle bought mysql, mariadb emerged as a good, more open option. It has all of MySQL's strengths.

Cons

It still doesn't follow standards as well as postgresql. And sacrifices data integrity for speed. Possible to not break compat with mysql

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple and efficient database tool

Reviewed on 2019/11/28

I've created and deployed project for a client in MariaDB with very less coding time and effort. It integrated seamlessly with PHP.

Pros

Below are certain pros of MariaDB:
1) Handles huge load of data without any issues
2) Easy to administrate
3) Free to use

Cons

Needs lot of improvement in terms of documentation. Creating new addon features like performance management, data visualizations would help.

Nestor Z.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy and intuitive, the best way to work and it's free.

Reviewed on 2018/06/27

Pros

Every great project is backed by a great community.
MariaDB is not the exception.
The speed of your queries makes it a superior tool.
Being based on MySql has the best of both worlds.

Cons

MariaDb not having a GUI is difficult to administer.
MariaDb not having a GUI makes the administration a bit difficult.
There is little GUI documentation and this makes it difficult to choose the most appropriate for our jobs.

Cindy C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MariaDB Review

Reviewed on 2019/11/05

My overall experience with MariaDB has been very favorable. I like the clustering features a lot, and it's built in already, which is awesome since it saves me time. I like that I can export my entire database in to MariaDB, be it a little hard to figure out at first but once you get the hang of it you will do better with it the next time round.

Pros

What I like most about MariaDB is that if you know how to use MySQL then you will definitely know how to use MariaDB! With some added functionality and features it is much faster and it is pretty stable to use. The database is free to use, but lightweight in comparison to my sequel so it's perfect for starter to medium sized projects.

Cons

What I like least about MariaDB is that you will definitely need some guidance at first if you are not already familiar with this kind of software, especially when it comes to things like creating a new cluster. If you do run into a snag though the MariaDB community is very helpful and usually answer quick if you need a few pointers. There are also tons of forums and help guides you can refer to if need be.

Justin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great product, but MySQL is still the standard

Reviewed on 2021/04/06

MariaDB is easy to set up and use, but I worry that its community support isn't where it needs to be in order to be a top contender against MySQL.

Pros

MariaDB has picked up the community-oriented development mindset where MySQL left off since being acquired by Oracle. I've had virtually no problems with stability, and MariaDB seems to be actively developed.

Cons

Unfortunately, the majority of the community still seems to use MySQL, and that will become a problem as MySQL and MariaDB continue to diverge. How many developers will want to support both platforms? It's difficult to say.

Aníbal M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great experience a fast database and without many novelties

Reviewed on 2018/07/07

Currently I am carrying out a project independently for one of my clients and we have chosen MariaDB as a database, which gives me the advantage of being able to offer a simple and stable service without recharging the price of the licenses, although the time in what I have tried is little. I hope that this software is maintained over time and continues to grow. With MariaDB I have grown personally and professionally

Pros

MariaDB is something new in the market and at the beginning I was not sure about making the migration, but it has been very easy to use and has shown a lot of stability and speed, I really like it to be OpenSource with the software under the GPL license. This reduces many costs which gives a point in favor when choosing it, I like that it has a large community where there are always people willing to help in any problem, its configuration in the servers is quite simple and with very few resources can have the service operational, I like that the hosting providers have added it at no additional cost, which makes me consider it a lot when I'm going to implement a content manager or an electronic commerce system. New tables are an advantage in INFORMATION_SCHEMA

Cons

Although the community has tried to guarantee 100% compatibility with MySQL the reality is that it is not quite true when migrating to MariaDB it is necessary to change some data types that are not available. I did not like that it is necessary to uninstall MySQL on my development servers in order to install MariaDB. This software is fine for small and medium projects but it is limited when you need a robust database and with many long and frequent queries so for large projects it is not a good option.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Everyday RDBMS

Reviewed on 2020/08/31

Being open source you can easily self-host it and you never have to worry about who is looking in your data.

Pros

It's a great drop-in replacement for MySQL. I have been using in my dev, test and prod sites and never really had any issues other than obvious identified bugs.

Cons

Sometimes it's slow on merging upstream from MySQL which becomes pain because you can't use the same feature which already exists in MySQL.

Martin E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful, flexible and reliable database platform.

Reviewed on 2018/09/05

I use MariaDB for a wide range of services, and it has become my 'go-to' database platform. It operates well out of the box, and with some configuration has proven to scale well (through load balanced servers). It integrates well in Linux environments, and I rely on it every day to handle millions of requests.

Pros

I have used MariaDB in small environments, and production environments handling millions of transactions. It has proven very reliable, robust, and I have come to rely on it.

Cons

Sometimes the configuration can be quite terse, but it is very well documented, and there is always somebody out there who can help!

Eyamir U.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It is an easy-to-use DBMS, and its functions are very helpful when handling the BD

Reviewed on 2018/05/02

Pros

The new system tables, which keep statistics that are of great help for the optimization of the Database. Its new ARIA storage engines that replace MyISAM and XtraDB that replaces InnoDB and are fault-proof, and the PBXT engine: which is a transactional storage engine with a lot of new and beautiful features. On the other hand its speed improvement especially in complex queries when using the Aria storage engine, since Aria caches data from temporary tables in memory, which is a performance against the use of the hard drive. In the replication substantial improvements have been introduced, for example the "group commit for the binary log" that accelerates replication up to twice as much. Its ability to handle more than 200.00 connections.

Cons

I really have not got something so far that I do not like the driver. For which I recommend its use

Hunter B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Useful Database Server

Reviewed on 2019/08/29

This works well with Django. It's also useful for other applications that need a database to store information like accounts and their usernames/passwords/addresses and many other details.

Pros

This was easy to set up for use with my Django website. Haven't had any problems while using it related to the database. It was also easy to get in by using sudo when I forgot my password.

Cons

I had some problems where I couldn't actually login as the root user even though I set a password for them. The only way I've been able to is by using sudo.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

nice mysql alternative

Reviewed on 2018/03/12

Pros

MariaDB has better performance, more open development, compatibility with MySQL, supports additional storage engines, and has quicker security releases.

Cons

Might become incompatible in the future. I haven't run into any incompatibilities in my own deployment, but it's worth noting that MariaDB and MySQL have begun to diverge

Ferry D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best free DB

Reviewed on 2016/04/07

I use MariaDB for my website that handles a lot of traffic. Never had any problems, and the best part, it's free! Could have more nifty tools to optimize speed, but that's a matter of knowledge.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast database - good features

Reviewed on 2019/04/29

Pros

Free and fast Database that can handle data well.

Cons

Limitations with MySQL and struggles with large amounts of data.

Jishnu V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

RDBMS at its best.

Reviewed on 2020/11/16

Pros

1. High Performance and availability
2. Has an active open-source developer community.
3. Robust Transactional Support.
4. Availability of many Storage Engines.

Cons

1. MariaDB is no longer completely compatible with MySQL. Which makes migration a tedious process.
2. Needs improvement in caching.
3. It doesn’t support full outer joins.