1 351 reviews

MySQL

Database management system for recording and updating data

4,6 /5 (1351 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4,6
Features
4,4
Ease of Use
4,4
Customer Support
4,2
96% recommended this app
1 351 reviews
Fernando D.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The well balanced

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/30
Review Source: Capterra

I use MySQL in many personal projects, like my automated house project. It was a very good choice, I'm happy with this. Also, in the past, I have worked with MySQL and PHP in my company's intranet page. It was a good tool, but as the company grows, we need to migrate to another platform. Also, it is important to say that if you use the correct database engine with MySQL, you can have foreign keys and other types of constraints so it is very flexible.

Pros

MySQL is a well balanced product, while it is free to use, it also has many features you can find in corporative solutions, like SQL Server and Oracle. If you ever need help, you will find answers almost everywhere, from their own documentation to stackoverflow and other forums, easily. You will have a very short learning curve with MySQL.

Cons

When you need to deal with great amount of data, like some kind of data warehouse structure or huge amount of measures to analyze, you better go other choices. It starts getting too slow with the same hardware other products will work smoothly. But I guess that is not the purpose for MySQL. In the other hand, if you want it to build a transactional system like an e-commerce platform or even a Blog page, it is a very good choice!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Adonay andres A.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Still good after lots of years

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/12
Review Source: Capterra

I've been using MySQL for 12+ years. It was great then and it's great now. Lots of features have been added and query speed has been improved by a lot.
Since it's a software that has been around us for many years, I insist, the backwards compatibility isn't the desired one, all the needed adjustments to datasets generated in old versions (that are still running in production environments) rely on the dba. Would be great if there could be a utility that handles that.

Pros

I like that it has a community edition which allows to get the software for free with community support. In the case of red hat/CEntOS host, a repository settings can be added and the installation is pretty straightforward.
As long as it is correctly setup according to the server resources and expected demand, it runs pretty fast, it is stable and supports lots of connections.

Cons

I feel that it has been starting to loose its backwards compatibility. If you need to use a previous feature, for example, if you want to use the mysql native password, now you need to specify it when creating a user, otherwise, it won't work straightforward with most CMS software. Also, as some datatypes are being improved (which should be a nice to have feature), when migrating to a newer version, restoring a dump can turn into a headache. The users model have also changed, so, if you had a very large users set, you have to do some work to make it work again in newer versions.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Abdul wahab K.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

MySQL-AWKT

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/12/28
Review Source: Capterra

I am saving disk space. I am experiencing fast database server. I am experiencing the compatibility with multiple operating systems.

Pros

I like most the speed of MySQL and capability to support multiple kind of operating systems on various machines

Cons

I don't find anything to dislike in MySQL till yet in my throughout experience.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

MySQL the default database server

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/08
Review Source: Capterra

We just use MySQL for all of our databases

Pros

It's the default standard for many companies. MySQL has grown into a very stable product that never crashes. We've made the move to MariaDB, but found that the tables sometimes get corrupted when restarting a database server under heavy load. With the recent speed improvements to MySQL, we have decided to actually migrate back to MySQL.

Cons

I'd really like if they would spend a bit more time on their CLI interface. As in, syntax highlighting in the CLI, an easier way to scroll through multiline queries when going through the history. I would also like it if we can specify a color scheme to use for the output.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Filipe F.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

MySQL review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/31
Review Source: Capterra

With MySQL i can sell more software because I can sell cheaper, and the performance is the same than others

Pros

MySQL is a great to database and is very very powerfull
I use it everyday on my work when I develop web applications for my clients
MySQL is reliable and have some great admistration tools with great value
MySQL works very good and uses less system resources than other similar softwares

Cons

MySQL have all that I need to do my work perfect with less cost than others similar softwares
MySQL works great for web applications, with good performance

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ravindu J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

A thought on MySQL

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/31
Review Source: Capterra

As currently I have developed inventory system, clinic system, an backend application for a private company to manage huge no of memberships and ads, and a UK company for manage Business Name , Limited company, trademark and domain registrations and renewals. All of these used with mysql its those are running smoothly. Never had any headaches as through sql queries can manipulate easily and had fast responses for even complex queries and for huge no of data Frameworks used are spring boot and laravel.

Pros

Known and used by most people as most secure and reliable relational database management system. Accompanies 99.99% uptime. Nothing to fears as open source. Can have millions of helps through community. Offers a wide scope of high accessibility like cluster servers master slave replication. Provides high performance even for large volume projects. Growing and improving frequently. Best for cloud applications and big data applications. Supports by huge no of frameworks.

Cons

Red Hat Enterprise Linux, openSUSE, Fedora, Slackware Linux etc moved to MariaDB.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jose miguel S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Can't go wrong with MySQL (for PHP or Java projects)

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/16
Review Source: Capterra

So far, its been good. MySQL is an easy to use and configure Database, with a huge community and resources.

Pros

The infinite documentation for any OS/Language combination to develop with MySQL is astonishing.
You just need to go to google and search your question regarding a problem or a best practice with MySQL and you will find it, for sure.
Installation is a breeze in any OS I installed on. Just a few clicks and you are done. If you got lost (hardly), google it and have your answer.

Cons

You still need to work with plain text files for advanced configurations.
Stability its been improved with each release, but hurts performance by little.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Great for storing diagnostics and using for data analytics

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/29
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using MySQL daily for 6+ years in my current job. I manage a MySQL database for work which we use for storing machine diagnostics.

Pros

Once the mysql query language is learned, it is an awesome way to quickly query data and get all of the information desired. Functions are also extremely useful for linking data together that doesn't use the same primary key to link the data together.

Cons

Like all querying languages, the language is initially hard to learn, but once it's learned, it's a great utility.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jesús gonzalo V.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Excellent Database program

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/14
Review Source: Capterra

Basically MySQL help to us on complete MVPs or even create a production software in the main time, there is no concerns, if you are trying to find a complete database administrator for less money, you should choose this one

Pros

We've been using MySQL for a while since the MS-SQL Database administrator is too expensive, in MySQL you can choose the free tier version and it will be great for your app, the syntax is pretty straight forward.

Cons

There is no cons in MySQL, well, maybe just the database size that you can use in the free tier and also you can make a programmatically database because some features are not full

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Haim I.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

A great solution with great ROI and TCO

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/18
Review Source: Capterra

MySQL offers advanced features and reliability far beyond a typical freeware project. It can totaly ne the first choise for enterpise DB.

Pros

The best is that's an open source, reliable, cost-effective, and easy to manage.

Cons

Nothing realy. After my DBA team got to know the product, they have never looked back.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Pete N.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Scalable software for simple to complex applications

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/21
Review Source: Capterra

I have had a generally good experience with MySQL. The MySQL RDBMS overall is an excellent software platform. I use it for an auction website that I designed. It takes quite a bit of study to learn about things like the column types and proper table structuring but as a layperson (i.e. not a professional programmer) you can learn the software well enough to make proper use of the program.

Pros

MySQL integrated really well with the PHP scripting language. MySQL is what is called a Relational Database Management System (RDBMS). It is a software system that uses the SQL database query language to manipulate data in a database.

MySQL provides for data handling, storing, modifying, and deleting in a tabular format.

You can design your database so that each table has a key to at least one other table and that each table can access data in every one of the other tables in the database (hence the word "relational"). With a properly designed MySQL database you won't have any orphaned rows or tables.

The database queries that use SELECT, UPDATE, or DELETE are simple and straightforward to use with the PHP scripting language.

As an end user, like myself, you don't have to install and maintain this software. The MySQL software comes preinstalled on most server hosting plans meaning the server hosting provider does the installation and maintenance for the software.

Cons

The MySQL reference manual is not clear enough in describing how to utilize many of the features for MySQL. The manual is too technical and apparently is designed for persons with a high level of computer programming or technical knowledge.

The manual is sometimes confusing when seeking to find the proper column type to use (i.e. TEXT, CHAR, VARCHAR, etc.).

The Date and Time functions for MySQL like DATE and DATETIME are hard to understand and difficult to implement.

The table join features are difficult to understand and use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Carlos F.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 2-10 Employees

MySQL: free relational database manager

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/14
Review Source: Capterra

MySQL is a free relational database manager. I use it daily to manage data for several web applications (most commonly, by pairing it with PHP). It's fast and versatile enough to meet all my needs in different scenarios and for different types of data (e.g. client databases and many others).

Pros

In my opinion, MySQL has the following main advantages:

1. It's versatile and adapts to different use cases. Although MySQL is most commonly used to manage data for web applications (in what's called LAMP: Linux, Apache, MySQL, PHP), it's really a jack-of-all-trades that one can use in different scenarios.

2. It's rock-solid. MySQL and its featured stability have both passed the test of time; the software was created 25 years ago and it's already in its 8th version.

3. It makes use of current technologies. Although it's "old", MySQL uses current database technologies, like multi-byte characters and different data-handling engines.

4. It's popular. MySQL is in the default repositories of most Linux-based operating systems, and there's plenty of documentation about it.

5. It's free. MySQL offers a fully-functional, free "community" version.

Cons

The way I see it, MySQL has two disadvantages:

1. Depending on the amount of data it handles and on how many clients connect to it, MySQL can use a lot of resources, effectively becoming a server hog and therefore requiring a powerful computer/server.

2. MySQL isn't exactly the easiest software to install and manage; it requires quite some technical knowledge.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ayesh P.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

MySQL for Software Developer

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/08/10
Review Source: Capterra

Overall MySQL is very good data base platform for any one who getting start with programing database software specialy for beginners to get familiar with data base software.Good service and worth for every money you spent on it.Highly Recommended

Pros

MySQL is very fameous data base software.It is a first data base software which I use to develop my first POS system program.It was recommend by my friend and he said that it is very fast and reliable data base program but also it is very simple to understand and work with it.There for I choosed it and he said true.It is very easy to learn and work with it and I simply got familiar with it in a small time.I very like it simplicity and can highly recommend for any one who looking for a data base software to do their software developments.And also MySQL can operate within from many programing languages and I used JAVA to program my software so it need small library to import to the JAVA program and with that it can operate very fastly from using simple codes.MySQL also can operate from many coding IDEA l platforms like Visual Code , NetBeans or InteliJ and it become very helpful feature to make working easy with MySQL.MySQL is the very fast and reliable data base software I ever used and it get well fitted with my programs. There for it helps to work fast your software and there for I think using MYSQL is a good investment for developing a software.

Cons

Mainly MuSQL is my favorite data base software and I havent many drawbacks of it.I think it is better to replace more user ffriendly commands in MySQL library for JAVA.Some times it get tricky to some commands in MySQL from JAVA by using the library.But it is not a big deal.Many Programing softwares are suggest many programing key words ttherefore coding is getting very easy.But when getting to code MySQL commands , some programing platforms were unable to suggest key words and cods ththerefore I think that must be improve more.Considering security I heard that there are many more secured data base software in the feild.So I suggest to improve the security of MySQL data base.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Monish K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Will Developed Relational Database System which supports Transactions

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/04/26
Review Source: Capterra

Had a great experience with Mysql, since it has been the core of transaction systems

Pros

Mysql is Transactional, you can commit or revert a set of actions in a transaction,
it has well implemented all the Transactional feature such as primary key, foreign keys, indexing etc ...
so we mainly use mysql for data collection from realtime interactions with the end user,
Its Hibernate support gives a edge on realtime interactions,

Mysql provides many type of JDBC/ODBC jars, using which it can be integrated to any type of tools and languages,

Mysql has a desktop application called Mysql Workbench for performing all the operations on mysql, it comes in handy if you don't remember some of the commands (like migrations , dumping, updating row etc ..), also it provides schema visualisations,
tables and its columns are listed which can be dragged into the editor, which makes the mysql to be easily used and reduces the developers time involved in operational work and improves development efficiency,

There are lot of other friendly tools such as WAMP/XAMP etc, which can be used for learning purposes,
and Mysql has a huge community support

Cons

Mysql dose not support data transfer between DB and Distributed file system such as AWS S3, which most of the other databases dose,

We had to use different PSQL database for large non relational data storage, since it is not the intended purpose of Mysql, so we have to maintain two database systems, it wold be better if mysql can give non transactional support as well for large data storage and analytical use case , so that it can be one stop DBS solution for all data actions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

James L.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

Stellar platform. A bit of a learning curve when downloading to get the right tools.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/08
Review Source: Capterra

Compared with 20 years of Microsoft SQL database work, the switch to MySQL was far superior. Code level language . Remote administration is vastly superior to Microsoft SQL.

Pros

The platform is stable - always working. Documentation is consistent. Updates are coherent and stable. We use it in 95% of all our projects, and it has been a life saver for our bottom line.

Cons

Choosing the right tool to download was confusing. Obviously written by developers instead of management. I'd suggest a 2-4 step process to help in choosing the right packages. The setup process could use a bit more explanation and be more lucid.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ryan M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: Self Employed

MySQL is hands down the best free database software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/30
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, MySQL isn't always the right choice, but for startup applications and smaller projects, it's the best. Over time you have to learn when to use certain database software, but as a general rule of thumb, MySQL absolutely can handle anything with some configuration and the price is incredible (free). Personally, I've done research on JSON based databases and they lack structure and make things a pain in the long run, which is why I'm only mentioning MySQL and SQL Server in this review. There are other similar acceptable alternatives such as postgres but I've never had reason to use them over MySQL.

Pros

- If you structure your database correctly, it's very stable
- It's free, and there are MySQL derivatives (MariaDB) that are even more powerful
- The xtradb database engine in MariaDB (a derivative of MySQL) is incredibly fast
- You can do things quickly and have some data integrity risks on small projects, or you can do things properly and have virtually no risk on mission critical applications
- VERY easy to scale and setup database clusters and replication, especially in all of the cloud providers

Cons

- The barrier for entry is too low, causing MySQL and MariaDB to get a bad rep because inexperienced users take advantage of its simplicity
- Performance isn't on par with MSSQL/SQL Server without a ton of configuring

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mitul S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Robust and easy to implement

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/28
Review Source: Capterra

Robust, easy to use, fast and reliable. Easy to develop stored procedures and triggers

Pros

One of the best features of MySQL is that it's easy to configure and start using. I found less of connectivity issues as compared to sql sever or Oracle. Also its platform independent

Cons

Terms used for components and features like schema and database is different than what is used in other dbms. If someone is new and migrating from SQL server or Oracle to this software, they will find the nomenclature a little confusing

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lilantha R.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

MySQL Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/04
Review Source: Capterra

We resolved over DBMS issues with MySQL. It is free therefore We resolved our cost issues. It has the best community. We resolved our all issues very easily. Queries are very easy, Therefore we saved over time. If we think to use relational database MySQL is the best. We can recommend for anyone. Drivers are there for any programming language.

Pros

MySQL is a powerful database management system. It is free. Easy to learn and use. I someone new to DBMS. We can recommend that person to MySQL without any trouble. It is supported to any environment. If your server/PC windows, Linux or Mac. It doesn't matter. MySQL support for all Operation systems and very easy to set up in any environment. We can tall like this if we think about the setup and configuration process "MySQL is the most easiest DBMS system to set up and configure". We can create databases and tables very easily. As well as It is a relational database. We can keep up table relations. It supports many data types. Int, Double, Flote, Varchar, Text, Date,Timestamp...etc.We can create table, views,functions,procedure,trigger..etc. It support many character sets. We vey easy to take backups. We can use text files, CSV file, excel files to data upload. bulk data upload support. MySQL queries are very easy. It supports joins, subqueries,union,group,order and so many things are there. Many free client applications are there for MySQL like MySQL workbench, sqlyog, phpadmin. We can run mysql in custom port. We can limit privileges by user roles. Best thing is support. And also MySQl drivers are there for any programming language. If It is Java, PHP, Node...etc doesn't matter. There are many resources for MySQL. MySQL is a world most popular, powerful, easy, wonderful DBMS.

Cons

Actually, It is a relational database. Therefore before the database creation, You want to create ER-Diagram otherwise you are in trouble. When the relationships are increasing. Hard to insert data. As well as. MySQL is not good for large databases. If relations go very hight. data retrieving speed is going down. If table storage is hight, data retrieving speed is going down. If connections are going hights. It returns too many connection errors and MySQL down. We want to restart.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jim T.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: Self Employed

Stable Database for Every Project

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I came from programming background who used PHP as primary language and naturally MySQL was the database for the backend. One feature about MySQL is how easy it is to setup and use and how flexible it is to operate. I have used both the CLI (Command Line Interface) and GUI (Graphical User Interface) to interact with the database to create tables, add records, update and remove records, all seem really fast and stable. I used MySQL on my Windows, Mac, and Linux machines without any hiccups. It follows the traditional Relational Database Management System structure with you first create the database, then the tables, then add records to the tables before you can query them. The client used to interface MySQL include the web-based tool like PHPMySQL, and Windows tool like HeidiSQL or MySQL Workbench. These tools all connect to the database very easily. These tools also lets you backup your database for offline storage.

Cons

The recent trend of database has gone from the traditional Relational model to NoSQL, which is a SQL platform that uses mostly JSON format to store data instead of the traditional database tables and records. This is where MySQL lacks, MySQL doesn't have the ability to run as NoSQL so if you intend to use a NoSQL database, MySQL is not for you. One other thing I noticed about MySQL database is if you have a large collection of data and IF your SQL query is not very optimized, the speed to return the data set can be very very slow. Of course, the only way to fix it is optimize or change your query.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Austin K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

MySQL, a Great Free Database Option

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/18
Review Source: Capterra

I created a custom database from scratch that tracks inventory assets for the company of which I am currently employed. I also created a couple others that track IT tasks and admin activities.

Pros

Easy to use, syntax is easy to remember, database structure can be built quickly and there is a plethora of tools available to help

Cons

Syntax took some learning, syntax errors sometimes unclear as to what the error actually is. Not a problem if using Workbench

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Caleb J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

MySQL - One of the best FREE sql DB

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

I believe your experience with MySQL will vary based on the option(s) you choose to interact with it. As mentioned before, you can use the CLI which is used mainly by power users; however, the average Joe can simply use a open source GUI which will make life a whole lot easier. Just to name a few of the FREE GUI software on the web:
* HeidiSQL
* PhpMyAdmin
* SQL Workbench

All are excellent options to make the user experience absolutely the best.
Ever since I began using the software, I felt this bond with the ease of use, ease to remember commands and a large community support backed by tons of online documentations and tutorials. I would say this is one of my best experience using any software and would highly recommend for beginners and power users.

Pros

Currently we have many different types of DB on the market (No SQL and SQL). I spent the past 3 years working with MySQL and completely feel in love with the many of its' feature.
* Once you become familiar with the features and the commands, you will find it is super easy and flexible to operate. I interact with it via both the CLI (Command Line Interface) and GUI (Graphical User Interface) and just love the experience.
* It has some easy to use commands that are human readable.
* Ton loads of useful documentations on the web.
* It is an amazing open source RDBMS (Relational Database Management System).
* It can be found bundled with many current software stack (LAMP, MAMP, XAMPP) etc., just to name a few.
* You can create and cutomize databases, tables, routines, procedures which will all make the workflow super easy to manage your data with many advance tools available at your disposal.
* There is the CRUD (Create, Read, Update and Delete) features that are simple to learn and master in your everyday workflow.

Cons

Looking at the NoSQL DB (MongoDB) which uses a document type format to save data in their DB, I would say one of the feature I believe is missing or could be improved, is the way data is stored. What I mean, is that currently in MySQL, if the field is not created, you can't insert data as it will not automatically create necessary fields, while with MongoDB, if the particular field has not been created before data was inserted, it will be done on the fly while uploading or inserting data.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Deba O.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 51-200 Employees

lightweight but reliable and effective.

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/07
Review Source: Capterra

MYSQL saved my company money on longtime basic and have also resulted in faster processing time from database call and query while its ability to work well with third-party interface application meant that I do not have to work from command prompt screen.

Pros

I used MySQL in a project that was covered under the GPL license thus it was free. This helped My company save a lot of expenses compared to when we were using another DB software.
My adaptation to MYSQL was quick based on my previous use and knowledge of MSSQL which have similar Coding structure and many parallel functions.
MYSQL, been open sourced means that there are tons of thousands of supports and help is available on the internet. I have found this to be particularly very helpful in sorting out otherwise difficult situations.
Reliability of MYSQL is the reason MYSQL is the most used database client and I cannot agree less! Been a witness to its reliability, I can say that MYSQL does what it was designed for effectively…and to think it is always been improved upon.
I have used MYSQL with Apache/Tomcat JAVA, Perl. , PHP and JSP and it Worked seamlessly with them. I have observed that MYSQL works best for me when called from Spring Web Flow either through a Hibernate layer or JDBC though.
MYSQL is flexible, easy to install because of its lightweight and can scale to very heavy DB without the need for additional support. So far, there has not been a need to change to a new database management application for us. The only downside I have noticed is on query time speed. for instance, a query that use to call for 0.18 seconds now does 0.23 seconds due to DB expansion over the period of 1 year which is still acceptable.

Cons

The need for technical support is overwhelming even though you will most likely find help on the internet.
It is difficult to get your actual database performance base on your system specs adaptation like memory utilization and usage during different calls.
There is a shocking lack of documentation for many functions embedded within the program and I had to resort to the internet to uncover their uses.
You are going to have to learn MYSQL irrespective of your previous knowledge of query languages. This can be more difficult if you are totally new to structural languages and querying tables.
The fact that MySQL does not support ARRAY data types means it cannot be adapted to certain situations and projects. I advise you get detailed need analysis before jumping on MYSQL to avoid data type mismatch and project regrets.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Outstanding Database System

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/23
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using MySQL for years now to design and deploy dynamic websites and online software. It is one of the easiest and best database systems I have used. It does have a few quirks and things that can get a little frustrating from time to time, but all in all it is an amazing system and I don't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Because it is free there really isn't a lot of direct support for it. That said there is a huge community of users and it is normally very easy to find an answer to question or get help when you need it. This is truly one of the best database systems you can use.

Pros

- First off it is free and open source
- Excellent scale-able database system
- Works perfectly with Linux or Unix servers
- When paired with PHP MyAdmin you can easily work inside your databases from anywhere
- Excellent storage capacity and retrieval
- Can easily store millions of records without issue
- Did I mention it is FREE!

Cons

- Unless you want to be working in a command prompt you need to install 3rd party software like PHP MyAdmin to administrate the database; that said most hosting companies install these by default for you already.
- Some built-in functions to MySQL actually slow down queries to a crawl and ignore your indexes; for example using the DATE() on a datetime column ignores any index in that column.
- Not as robust as Oracle or SQL for large datasets; it will work but it does slow down performance as your data pool grows. Normally this does not happen until you get well into the millions of records and even then there are things you can do to speed up performance but it is worth noting it is not as fast out of the box as other enterprise systems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

John A.

MySQL is a super database program and it's free!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/25
Review Source: Capterra

First, I pay nothing for this software, its open source and freely downloadable on as many computers as you want. Second, it is reliable. Backups are a breeze with mysqldump statements, and restores are just as easy and quick. Third, it is very fast. Do yourself a favor. Take the time to learn this database software. You won't regret it.

Pros

When I first started keeping a customer database, I started with MS Access because it seemed the fastest and easiest option and I had MS Office already. Then I discovered the Linux operating system and decided I wanted to use open source software whenever possible. And the first program I found was MySQL. I converted my ACCESS database over to MySQL and haven't looked back since. This was in 1998. Soon thereafter I found that I could write PHP web pages to display my customer database records in a lot of neat ways, so I learned to how to write PHP pages. I've been using MySQL and PHP pages ever since. MySQL is fast, it has all the features you want, and don't worry about number of records in your databases it will handle all you need.

Cons

I was familiar with the linux terminal when I started using MySQL so that wasn't completely foreign to me. Of course I quickly realized database language is completely different, so I had to start learning select statement, insert delete etc. But since there weren't many complicated things I needed to do (mostly just select statements insert delete update statements) it didn't take me long to be able use the MySQL cli. Although there are GUI tools for MySQL, I never really spent much time on them, other than phpMySQL, which is a great tool for MySQL. The downside of MySQL is you have to learn its language. And that takes time. But then again that's the beauty of MySQL.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Carlos aogusto M.

Excellent database management system

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

I am a developer of systems under web environment, and in many opportunities I use the MySQL database manager, it is a fundamental tool in my team for a long time.

Pros

MySQL is open source software that allows anyone to use it and modify it. Anyone can download the MySQL source code and use it without paying. Anyone interested can study the source code and adjust it to their needs.

MySQl is a relational, multi-threaded and multi-user database system with more than six million installations and is widely used in web applications, such as Drupal or phpBB, on platforms (Linux / Windows-Apache-MySQL-PHP / Perl / Python)

Its popularity as a web application is mostly related to PHP, which usually appears in combination with MySQL.

This database manager is one of the best in terms of performance since the speed of opreciones is very good.

You can be executed in low-resource machines since the consumption of requirements for its execution is very low.

It supports several opertative systems and is very easy to install and configure.

There are a number of good quality software tools that provide management and development workspace functions. MySQL Workbench and TOAD for MySQL are good examples.

Being open source there is a large amount of help on the Internet and this should help to reduce, in a production environment, incident handling times. Also, a lot of information so that your development team can read.

Cons

A large percentage of MySQL utilities are not documented.

The support for triggers is basic so there are certain limitations in what can be done with them.

By handling referential integrity with non-transactional MyISAM tables.
It does not treat them differently from the rest of the fields.

Privileges for a table are not automatically deleted when a table is deleted.

A REVOKE command must be explicitly used to remove privileges from a table.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10