15 reviews

Undelete

File protection and recovery software for Windows servers

4,7 /5 (15 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,7
/
5
Value for Money
4,9
Features
4,7
Ease of Use
4,7
Customer Support
4,4
100% recommended this app
15 reviews
George B.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A real godsend and time saver

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/10/28
Review Source: Capterra

This product is worth the cost, being able to quickly restore files on demand is nearly priceless.

Pros

The ability to undelete a file or directory on demand. No longer is there the need to go into last nights backup and find a file and extract it. Additionally undelete saves versions - so we can restore prior versions of the file with ease.

Cons

Setup requires detailed attention so as to allot the software enough drive space to be useful but not so much that it fills your drives(s).

Response from Condusiv Technologies

Thank you for the review, we are so glad to hear how Undelete has helped!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Paul J.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Undelete - The Best Time Saver

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

A loyal user for over 14 years, extremely happy with their unparalleled support and product excellence.

Pros

We used Undelete since 2006. The best feature is the network based deleted cache it manages. We have over 800 users. I have NOT HAD TO RESTORE NETWORK USER FILES FROM A tape or disk BACKUP for a network based MS Office folder or file a user deleted in at least 5 years, and then only because I installed fresh on a new data server which didn't have the previous deleted files cache. When a user accidentally deletes a critical file or personal folder on a server protected by Undelete, I use the simple and easy to use Undelete interface to restore it. If a user created and deleted multiple versions of a file like a Word doc, I can even select which one I want to restore, even if it's several versions back. It doesn't take anywhere near as long as it would to find it on a recent backup, load that backup, and then restore the deleted file/folder from backup. Another benefit is that tape/disk backup doesn't let us easily restore multiple versions at once that the user deleted over a period of time. Undelete handles that with ease, allowing you to even change the destination for the files to be restored. Great product,

Cons

Each new version of the product requires some time and attention to install the upgrades, and investigate the new features ... They continually improve and add features to the product, which takes time to learn and absorb. But the payoff for taking that time is well worth it.

Response from Condusiv Technologies

We are so happy to hear that Undelete has been such a time-saver for you. Thank you very much for your loyalty and support!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Julia Z.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Good Product but Expensive

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We like the product and its all features. It is easy to use.

Cons

The annual pricing is more expensive than we expected.

Response from Condusiv Technologies

We appreciate the honest feedback, thank you!!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Megan H.
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Ease of use for a critical business function

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/19
Review Source: Capterra

Every time I have needed Undelete it has been there for me and worked. I am always a little shocked because my experience in the past has been that restoring files is cumbersome or does not work some of the time. I wish I could have known about this product at previous employers.

Pros

Undelete is one of those products that are a dream to a system administrator. Restoring files that users delete is never a fun task. In my experience users are always frantic and and need the file immediately. I try to have multiple ways to restore documents but Undelete is the quickest and easiest way. Upgrades or reinstall of the product are just as simple. I have been in the IT industry for 21 years and normally I run my own show. So I look for products that do not take a lot of time to administer and just work. In my experience this is one of those products.

Cons

It is one of those products that I set and forget. So checking it regularly to make sure it is getting the latest updates or testing it occasionally is key. Also, documents can be stored in various places so Undelete only protects files on my local file servers. If users store their documents in the cloud, obviously other restore actions are required.

Response from Condusiv Technologies

Megan, thank you! We are so happy to hear how well Undelete is working for you!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ricky S.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Undelete Just Works

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/19
Review Source: Capterra

We talk about this software in-house as being the only product we've ever bought that lived up to it's word of easy-to-use and easy-to-setup. We literally installed it, configured how much hard disk space it could use, and we've NEVER revisited it. We do file restores every day without having to go through our backup and recovery system. It keeps file versions as far back as the allocated disk space allows. It's a great product!

Pros

It does everything advertised without any fuss. It was easy to setup, and once it's running, you never have to think about it again.

Cons

There really isn't anything that I don't like about Undelete.

Response from Condusiv Technologies

Hi Ricky, thank you for the wonderful review! Glad to hear Undelete is working so well for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Matt T.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Easy to Use Product

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

GOOD. When I need something it is always quick to get back!

Pros

I like the fact it retains the same folder structure where it came from. This makes it easy to find the data you are looking for.

Cons

There are 2 places to do a search and I was using the wrong search feature and had to contact customer support. I was looking for data a certain employee deleted on a certain date across many folders. Why are there 2 search functions?

Response from Condusiv Technologies

Hi Matt, thanks for your review and great question regarding why there are 2 search functions. Let me help in explaining this.

1. One search is to find files in the Undelete Recovery Bin which captures Deleted and Versioned files.

2. The other search function is to search for deleted files in the Windows Files system. These may be files that were deleted before Undelete was installed or files deleted/purged from the Undelete Recovery Bin. To provide a little more data on this - without Undelete, when files are deleted, they are just marked as deleted in the file system, but the data will remain until it is over-written by new data written to that volume. If not over-written, that 'deleted' file may be recoverable. For example, a user accidently deleted some pictures/files off a memory stick. If that memory stick is using a FAT file system, then this feature may be able to recover those pictures/files from the memory stick.

I hope this helps.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Eric L.
Industry: Plastics
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Something you can't go without

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We have the server base undelete and there are more times our user delete their files without thinking. With Server base undelete we are able to restore file faster then going back to our back up to restore. The time it saves pays for the price we pay for the software in no-time. It also indicate who delete it so the user cannot deny they did it (vs "the files just disappear").

Cons

There isn't much con on the software but if we can manage desktop license with our server license together so we can help our user remotely that will be nice. it is definitely a nice to have and not a con.

Response from Condusiv Technologies

Thank you very much for your review and for being a Condusiv customer! In regards to remotely managing desktop licenses, Undelete 11 Server-edition actually does contain some centralized management functionality. It provides the capability to deploy across your network, but per the point you referred to, it does allow you to remotely connect to any Undelete deployment in your network and manage Undelete on that remote user's system. I hope that helps!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Terry S.
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Review of Undelete version 11

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The most important feature of Undelete is the ability to recover most files that are accidentally deleted immediately, without having to use backup copies. This is especially important when a file has been both modified and then accidentally deleted since the previous night's backup.

Cons

About the only feature that would be helpful to add would be if the product was integrated with Microsoft's Distributed File System (DFS). Presently, it is necessary to check all servers in a cluster to find the one a user was connected to when a file was deleted in order to recover the file. This is not a big problem, but it would be quicker to not have to check multiple servers.

Response from Condusiv Technologies

We greatly appreciate the review. And thank you for that feedback about DFS, that is helpful to know!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bo-ming N.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Undelete Installs Fast & Easy to Use

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Undelete installs less than 8 minutes and we were able recover revisions of documents right away. We are able to recover deleted documents and revisions similar to cloud based file system with our on-premises server.

Cons

The undelete archive takes storage space on the same drive. I wish I can move the archive to another drive to free up space.

Response from Condusiv Technologies

Thank you for the honest feedback and for being a Condusiv customer!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

David F.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great product!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This product was extremely easy to use and provided the end user the ability to roll-back versions of updated files. This feature cut-back the support staff time to recover files.

Cons

none that I know of that would improve my overall experience.

Response from Condusiv Technologies

Thanks for the review, David! So glad to hear that Undelete has saved time for your support staff.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tim D.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Undelete worth every penny!

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

Invaluable to protect users from themselves, at a very reasonable price.

Pros

Easy to install, immediate protection of deleted files on file server, mirrors the folder structure so the deleted files are easy to find, retains a copy at every save operation so can provide the user with multiple file version options for restore, auto purge of saved copies after amount of time you specify.

Cons

I found nothing that was difficult or cumbersome.

Response from Condusiv Technologies

Thank you for the review! We are so happy to hear that you feel Undelete is worth every penny.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Robert G.
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

undelete

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/24
Review Source: Capterra

It been a life saver for some.

Pros

I ignore it until someone needs a file that was deleted or corrupted. Quicker and easier then going through backups.

Cons

no issues. You just set it and forget it.

Response from Condusiv Technologies

We are so glad to hear that Undelete has been a life saver. Thanks for the review!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael H.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great tool for Windows Servers

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/27
Review Source: Capterra

Quick easy recovery, tracking for Audits

Pros

Displays the user information and when the files were deleted.

Cons

Nothing bad to say about the software. It works as described.

Response from Condusiv Technologies

Thanks for your review and for being a Condusiv customer!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Andrew F.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

SAves you from going to a backup

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It works! It's easy to use and isn't super expensive.

Cons

I like everything about it, the files are just a click away.

Response from Condusiv Technologies

We greatly appreciate your review, Andrew!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Shiva kumar A.

Must have software if u have important stuff on your drive

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It always happens that we accidentally deleted files on the PC. We use network in our office, so it happens many times that we delete a file on network and it's gone forever, no recycle bin also. This software is simply great to recover files in that occassion.

Cons

Sometimes difficult to spot the item you want from the list thats available to recover from and it doesn't recover everything

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support