31 reviews

Veriato Investigator

Employee investigator software with keystroke logging tool

4,2 /5 (31 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,2
/
5
Value for Money
4
Features
4,1
Ease of Use
3,9
Customer Support
4,2
77% recommended this app
31 reviews
Mike G.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The best way to monitor your employees

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Veriato Investigator records everything an administrator or business owner would want to see. The best feature is the ability to play back screenshots, almost like a video!

Cons

Setting up antivirus software exclusions can be difficult, but their support pages document the process very well.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rey C.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Good Employee Monitoring Program

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

This product is being used to monitor employees to improve productivity and minimize unintended data leaks. I'm currently using this product since it was recommended by the IT Director from another branch, but I'm still looking around for a more cost efficient product out in the market with the same functionality and features.

Pros

The program monitors and records the activity on the system while the employee stays unaware of the software due to its obstructiveness to the system processes. It is not cumbersome on the system.

Cons

Updating the recorder version has a little issue. It will not update the recorder on the client even though you push the update. I had to push a re-installation of the recorder with the new version manually.
The product does cost more than the other products from the other companies even though the functionality and features are almost the same.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Charlie W.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Antiquated Monitoring System

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

We've used Veriato since before they were acquired (formerly SpectorSoft).
Our use case: Recording systems ad-hoc for legal review purposes (disgruntled or departing employees).
If an employee does something malicious (data exfiltration, deletion, etc.), the software is only effective to verify what was done after the fact. Alerting is not very good.

That said, it's a great value for the money if you're not intersted in real time user behavior analytics.

Pros

Reasonably priced
Good US-based tech support

Cons

Very outdated compared to peers
No user behavior analytics
Resource intensive - client side
Difficult to deploy to remote machines
Not all features work the way you'd want them to

Response from Veriato

Investigator, while a great product is really designed for temporary or short term directed investigations. Our Recon product does include behavior analytics and when coupled with our 360 product provides a holistic Insider Threat Management platform.

Our AI is advanced and will be looking at devices, files, locations, skype conversations, etc. It will understand the sentiment in the language of the monitored users and identify changes from positive to negative. Our product will review a user's normal behavior over the course of a rolling 21 day period to set the baseline and identify trends moving forward, for activity, then provide alerts if anything exceeding the norm occurs. It compares the dynamic baseline to current behavior. This will raise awareness for the need of best practices education on company policies as well; (such as use of USB drives, uploading documents and where, etc.). Cerebral is able to compare 1:1 and 1:Many.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Jason S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: Self Employed

A good tool for keeping track of the employees

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/20
Review Source: Capterra

This is a good overall product that keeps track of employees online activities and company time.

Pros

I like that I can see what my employees are doing and when they are doing it. How they are utilizing company time and money!

Cons

It can be cumbersome and timely to install. Some of the settings are a pain but a skilled IT professional can overcome those pains.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mary H.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent Monitoring Software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

Safeguarding proprietary material is a must. The Veriato software has added real value to our risk management processes.

Pros

The ability to monitor the activities related to proprietary activities helps relieve the anxiety associated with potential loss of protected material through electronic transfers.

Cons

Nothing to dislike. The software is excellent!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Geof G.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good spy software

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

Sometimes it's necessary to review what a certain worker is doing. This product is unobtrusive, and really does give you the information if you dig for it. Deployment, and the administrator dashboard are quirky, feel terribly old school, and it's difficult to find what you need. But, at the end of the day, it does do the job.

Pros

The software does a great job of capturing what a worker is doing throughout their day. If you have questions on any stats in a report, you can easily review the screenshot footage to find out what was really happening.

Cons

The interface is rather old and clunky, and it's hard to find the information you need quickly, if you're not a power user every day. Also, upgrades are clunky, too, requiring you to upgrade on the server, and hopefully push out to agents. Finally, it's really hard to know what's happening with an agent. The administrator dashboard could show if the machine had been shut down or restarted or any number of things. Also, deploying agents isn't so clear and sometimes it works, and sometimes not.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent product for HR

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/17
Review Source: Capterra

My clients use Investigator to supervise hourly wage employee activities, particularly those who work unsupervised hours, to make sure they are doing actual work rather than surfing YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and alike.

Pros

Undeniable screenshots and data for HR make it easy to make a case. Tech support staff have been EXCELLENT!

Cons

Setup can be a little complicated because of antivirus exceptions. Some improvements could be made to the viewer. Licensing should be by computer but should also be relocatable. Pain in the neck to have to physically move the computer from one user to another once an investigation is complete without arousing suspicions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lyle K.
Industry: Computer Networking
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great Product

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Screen Shot Recording so any unsupported software you can monitor
Key logging, web and email filtering
Constant Recorder Updates to keep the integration working
Great Support
Seamless to the user running in the background and hard to find
Tonnes of features to be able to adjust the settings to your Organizational Needs

Cons

- Constant Antivirus Exclusions with every recorder version
- Computer licensing is a bit of a pain as if you want to record a different computer or replace a computer you need to keep the same name as that license is tied permanently to the name of the PC and cannot be changed unless you talk to support

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Caroline B.
Industry: Legal Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

First Time User

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/23
Review Source: Capterra

Although we discussed using this type of software in the past, we finally purchased this, based on our IT's recommendation. It paid for itself, unfortunately, giving us the information confirming our issues with an employee.

Pros

I especially liked the screen shots feature. I thought the pricing was reasonable as well. Although I didn't look for a training section, I thought the software was user friendly and I was able to navigate my way just by the buttons/menus.

Cons

I had a question on getting right to the screenshot feature. I would also like to have had a way to narrow down my viewing time instead of going through the Refresh screen and then putting in my dates. There may be another way but I didn't research that further.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Timothy H.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Works great if you can get it to work properly

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

The customer service is great, every question I have had, they have an exact answer which is really nice when dealing with customer support.

Pros

I like most that I can manage my licenses from my server directly and make changes. The ability to have the software functioning without me having to check on it on a constant basis lets me worry less about it.

Cons

The setup is what makes this software hard to use. I use a domain server and it is tricky to install and get the workstations synced with the server properly. I have gotten it to work, but it is a long process of having to go to the individual computers, install the recorder, and change the antivirus permission settings which is a pain.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Martin B.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The eye in the sky

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/26
Review Source: Capterra

its been 50/50 for me, there were times where we needed to see the activity of a employee and the software was either down or not recording properly. its something you have to keep an eye on to make sure the services for it are running and the antivirus sofware is not getting in the way.

Pros

capability to monitor the activity of our users via screenshots, email, key logging, web site views, application view, file transers and etc. all in one software to know what you employees are up to and if they are doing anything they should not be.

Cons

i have had issues installing the recorders on certain computers and servers. it installs in the background so it does not tell if you it was completed or if something stopped it from completing

Response from Veriato

Thanks for leaving us a review Martin. With regard to the agent health status, this is a feature that is on our road map. This feature was recently added to our flagship product called Cerebral where once the agent is successfully installed on the device, a notification is sent to the Admin.

The reason the recorders stop working sometimes is that users often update to newer versions of browsers or even operating systems that we may not have built a patch for yet. All this feedback will be sent to our Dev team!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Chandler S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Trouble uninstalling, many issues reinstalling and pushing recorders to clients. Steve made it easy.

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/09/06
Review Source: Capterra

Steve V. was a good tech, explained things thoroughly and carefully. I appreciate his help. I have not seen any benefit.

Pros

Personally I do not enjoy this software. The boss however loves it. I'd imagine the features are pretty useful for auditing and productivity. Cool that it can be pushed and controlled from main server, when that actually works.

Cons

Its pretty much a keylogger + spyware. The viewer doesnt seem to work over the network although everything is connected in workgroup, hence the issues. The clients stop checking in randomly. Setting up AV exceptions with RMM is surprisingly difficult. I am unsure of the necessity of a program like this for a small company. The installation fee is sort of a bummer, as in its lame that you have to pay for someone to fix the software. Some of the tech's I spoke too (not Steve V. he was wonderful) were not very helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Barbie S.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

VERIATO SOFTWARE REVIEW

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

MY EMPLOYEES NOT PRODUCING EFFECTIVELY FOR MY COMPANY THIS WAS THE ONLY SOFTWARE COMPATABLE TO EBLASTER

Pros

THAT I CAN CHANGE THE DATES TO MAX OR MIN VIEWS

Cons

THAT IT DOES NOT SEND ME NOTIFICATIONS THE EBLASTER USE TO I LOVED THAT PRODUCT IT WAS EASY TO READ BRIEFLY THRU AN EMAIL VS TRYING TO NARROW DOWN TIMES

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ilan T.
Industry: Online Media
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Veriato review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

Technical support is unable to problem solve these issues leaving an unfavorable experience.

Pros

Screenshots are fairly clear
Email activity works fairly well

Cons

After countless call with Technical Support there are still problems with:
Tracking of websites do not work for users of Chrome
List of Recordings by Computer contain older irrelevant recordings
Cannot rename computers
Online Searches feature does not work
Websites Visited does not work
File Transferred feature does not work
File tracking is not detailed enough

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Sergey T.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Review of software: Nice functionality but poos quality

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Recording and the screen recorder. Easy to Use.

Cons

Constant blue screens and crashes. This happens on a regular basis. The problem is you are not a partner of Microsoft or any of the anti-virus companies. The solution resembles a bolt on system, and is great when it works but continues to experience a lot of issues. The software does not keep up with updates of operating systems and anti-virus's and is re-active when there are problems and not pro-active.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Mustafa A.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Protect your company and your data

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Love the ability to track multiple parameters at the desktop level. We can easily gather enough information on a specific user and see what their daily work habits are across the network and the Internet.

Cons

Some portions of the user interface tends to be a little confusing and not as intuitive as we'd like but overall it gets the job done. I'm confident future software releases will provide us with enhancements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Leon B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Tells you everything you need to know.

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The reporting is very descriptive. Used the software many situations.

Cons

Sometimes the initial server setup is a little overwhelming. Having to setup the virus scan exclusions can be daunting, but that isn't the software's fault.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Investigator Review

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience is great! Kept an eye on select/suspicious employees. End result made the company easier to work with and more efficient.

Pros

Veriato Investigator is very easy to use. It does everything you need to keep an eye on your employees and make sure they are staying on track.

Cons

Investigator could use a UI/UX update to make it a but more user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jean pierre L.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Ease of use

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

configuration was easy to do and very good support for your team

Cons

I did not see anything I did not like, I recommend this software to my contacts

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Bess D.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

computer investigations made easy

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

We have used this software several times with excellent results. The reports are professional and exactly what legal is looking for.

Pros

this software captures everything without the user knowing anything is being tracked. You can set it up on the computer and just let it run. Works great!

Cons

A little pricey but worth it when you need to know what's going on.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alex L.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Overview

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

fast, reliable, easy to use.
Never had problem using toe software.

Cons

the need fo a dedicated PC, instead of a Virtual Hardware.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Antranik B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great software m

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of install. Ease of use. Support was great.

Cons

Initial installation was troublesome,bht eventually worked.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Adam L.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Veriato Review

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use and install. Provides very good insight into use of assets.

Cons

Sometimes requires reboot to take hold. Also, the UI is a bit dated.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Trace R.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

State of Colorado

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Very powerful and reliable tool

Pros

Ease of use and user interface, low learning curve.

Cons

Nothing, very satisfied with our experience

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ryan F.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Review

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Great experience very feature enriched

Pros

Features and functionality, has great monitoring features for management to review employees computer habits

Cons

You can't transfer a license to another PC with out calling support

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10