18 reviews

Orca Security

Cloud security platform for AWS, Azure, and GCP environments

4,8 /5 (18 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
18 reviews
Jon R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Orca is a great product

Reviewed on 2021/02/19

It was a great experience.

Pros

I liked the side scanning technology availab.e

Cons

The price was super high for a new to market tool.

Aaron W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Agentless Cloud Security

Reviewed on 2020/08/10

With other tools we struggled with complete visibility into our cloud. Deploying cloud scanners is a hassle as is agents and we had no visibility into our containers. This product provided all of that in the much coveted "single pane of glass."

Pros

The fact that the gaining complete visibility into our cloud workload is agentless and that gives us a complete view into our configurations, VM's, containers and security.

Cons

At this point everything is headed in the right direction.

Idan D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

client-less malware detection

Reviewed on 2020/08/11

Orca provides me with contextual security risk, it can identify a server with PII file which is exposed to the internet and rate it with a higher severity than a server which is not exposed to the internet.

Pros

agentless malware detection and great server/ containers visibility to identify security-related threats

Cons

The one thing that I least liked about this software, is that it's not real-time protection

Owen D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Orca agent-less scanning is best I have seen

Reviewed on 2020/08/10

Wonderful, they quickly identify vulns and we are able to easily generate Jira tickets to get them assigned to the people that can fix them.

Pros

Jira ticket generation, agent-less scanning, Container domination, ease of use and setup, Clean dashboard.

Cons

Lack of on-prem/legacy scanning is a real bummer

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Orca - Scan from the side, 0 user impact

Reviewed on 2021/02/19

We switched to a custom Linux Kernel that agent based VMS could not support. Orca was the only solution that we found that could solve our use case.

Pros

Orca is an agentless approach to VMS. This means there is 0 user impact or performance degradation. Your Operations team does not have to manage agent roll out, it also does not need to manage upgrades/downtime. This saves you operating costs and allows your Ops team to focus on other security items.

Orca is OS agnostic, it does not matter what your development/architecture team decides to pivot to. Orca supports Windows/Linux/Mac/Containerization. It also is Cloud agnostic, have subs in Azure or AWS? Orca can handle them all with a few clicks.

The entire roll out took around 10 minutes.

Cons

There are features missing in Orca from a nice to have stand point. The product is fairly new and a lot of these enhancements are being worked on. The Orca team has been very responsive to enhancements thus far.

Doug G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Lightning Fast Deployment and Accurate Results

Reviewed on 2021/02/19

We've been able to rapidly get our arms around our cloud configuration and vilnerability management and reduce our risk

Pros

Within minutes we were able to deploy this product and begin receiving accurate and actionable insight. There is no performance impact, no agent deployment to worry about and it just works. We were able to integrate this into our devops toolchain and drive results directly to the people who will remediate.

Cons

We're still adjusting to the new UI, but that's just familiarity, there is really nothing we don't like about the software.

Alice T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Orca Security

Reviewed on 2021/02/26

Pros

I really like how simple it was to deploy across the teams and our infrastructure as it is agent-less.
It helps me prioritize effectively and shows me areas that need immediate attention. The integrations are easy to action things into our workflows and delegate to the correct team

Cons

There is a lot of data (we have a lot of infrastructure too) but it can be overwhelming initially but once you get used to the product it provides invaluable insights to all of the data.

Adam P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ease of use, robust results

Reviewed on 2020/08/07

Overall the experience with Orca has been exceptional

Pros

Product is incredibly easy to integrate with cloud accounts; results provided by the tool are accurate and comprehensive.

Cons

Reporting and user interface are immature, but improving

Aaron B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Know your entire cloud sprawl in minutes

Reviewed on 2020/08/25

Product Integration - It's as easy as they sell it. I had it up and running in multiple accounts in no time.

Support - Wonderful support and leadership team that cares about their customers.

Open API - Rich and open API that allows you to extend and build on top of the product.

Pros

The extensibility of the product, and how rich the API is. I can find out almost anything about my environment. Using Orca gives me insight into my entire cloud sprawl. I can get information about malware, open-ingress to EC2 instances, and open source vuln management. The only limit to its use is imagination.

Cons

Creating new alerts can be clunky. However, the Orca team is always improving and is currently working on a V2. Navigating the UI can be a bit of a challenge at times when looking for specific info. This is why I often opt for using the API over the UI.

Jeremy T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Super Easy to Setup and Start Managing Your AWS Risks

Reviewed on 2020/08/30

Not having to deal with agents combined with direct integration with our ticking system has saved us countless hours of precious engineering time. Because of this, we have gained tremendous value from the product since we can effectively manage AWS risks while focusing on creating more features and values for our customers.

Pros

Since Orca Security does not require any agents to install, setup took less than five minutes. We are also use multiple AWS accounts and since setup was simple, within less than thirty minutes, we had a single pane view of most of our AWS risks. In addition, since Orca Security integrates with Atlasssian Jira, with only one click, we could quick open remediation tickets for high risk vulnerabilities.

Cons

Although Orca Security offers a ton of AWS coverage, I'd like to see more work with AWS RDS and AWS networking services such as VPC and Security Groups.

Shahar D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Orca Security Review

Reviewed on 2021/02/20

Amazing product,
Great support team, helps us alot.

Pros

The features, The security findings, the UI, The support team.

Cons

We're missing alerts to slack feature, everytime a new alert is found.

Jonathan J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wide, Accurate Coverage with No Effort

Reviewed on 2020/08/09

The best I've had with any vendor.

Pros

The agent-less service deployed immediately, with no effort, and replaced three different products. The false positive rate is low. The information presented is easily and immediately actionable. The product has allowed me to reduce effort by 90% of an FTE.

Cons

I would like to feed the raw data to our data warehouse, which is not yet possible, though it is coming.

John R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Orca - A Revolutionary Tool for Security Governance

Reviewed on 2020/08/17

Pros

Orca implements into an AWS account in minutes and is able to assess the risk of all EBS volumes WITHOUT the need for authentication. This revolutionary side-scanning technology allows for total DevOps and Security governance in cloud accounts where some assets may not follow strict IAM standards.

Cons

Orca has a lot of room to do much more than its current feature set. Looking forward to seeing what they do next.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Clean UI, Effective, Robust

Reviewed on 2020/08/10

Easy reporting of (mostly true positives) cloud-related alerts. I can just export the data, brush it up, and share. Alerting on unpatched resources and secrets is very good compared to competitors.

Pros

The Orca UI is clean and provides a good overview, the alerts are relevant, and the export functionality is very useful.

Cons

The compliance functionality is a work in progress.

Colin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good value add

Reviewed on 2020/08/10

We are solving the risk of the cloud security posture.

Pros

Ease of use, user experience, fast triage time to determine risk.

Cons

Features should be added, exporting for example are key.

Paul I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Orca Security Review

Reviewed on 2021/02/22

The first step to increase the security posture of an environment is to understand it. Orca Security instantly gave me that visibility without the hurdles of an agent.

Pros

The ability to get quick visibility into the cloud assets without going through the technical hurdles of deploying an agent.

Cons

I think the UI could use a bit more improvement. I've been using this software for 6 months and not everything is intuitive. I still forget where things are exactly.

Abhinay P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Agent less solution is the future in security vulnerability and container security monitoring.

Reviewed on 2020/08/11

We were trying to solve container security challenges. Actively monitoring what is going on within container. Benefit of agent less solution is two fold, 1) Do not have to install agents on the host machine. 2) Effective in monitoring workloads running in managed containers.
Orca security, ability of side-scanning technology examines block storage out of band via a software-as-a-service (SaaS) platform.

Pros

Agent less no installation required. Simple 3 step process to connect account and start monitoring. Extensive deep insight into installed packages within container. Clear categorization of alerts as Imminent compromises, Hazardous, Informational with color coding for clear visibility. Also builds digital asset inventory for tracking different types cloud based assets ex: S3 buckets, EC2 instances. Easy to connect multiple accounts across AWS, Azure, GCP.
Under Vulnerability management some of the key features to highlight are Asset Discovery, Asset Tagging, Network Scanning, Patch Management,Vulnerability Assessment,Web Scanning, Risk Management and Policy Management.
Couple of the key cloud security features to highlight are Endpoint Management,Threat Intelligence,Vulnerability Management,
Intrusion Detection System, Behavioral Analytics, Encryption and Application Security. Ease of integration was one of the reason to consider Orca security solution.

Cons

Reporting and user interface are immature, but improving, not real time. This is near real time solution depends on frequency of scanning. VM specific details if consolidated as actionable insights will be very helpful to narrow our focus to relevant issues (ex: identified affected packages within a container is great, giving link to specific patches will be very helpful.

Thomas H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Instant cloud visibility and value

Reviewed on 2020/08/07

Very innovative and responsive team, enjoy working with them to improve the product.

Pros

The product deployment was simple, quick and easy. The visibility gained for all cloud services was almost instant. The ability to conduct side scanning is a game changer that does not affect production.

Cons

Operational reporting was good, but executive reporting lacks in the early days of product development. For the value gained, we are willing to wait.