34 reviews

Overall rating

3,9 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
74%
recommended this app
34 reviews
Phillip H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Covid-19 - reduction of services applied after 5 years during a pandemic.

Reviewed on 2020/04/10

Over all they are very good at taking your money and over the years have been hard to communicate with. It’s all sales sales sales.

Pros

Over the years this software has been hit and miss, we would spend a lot of time trying to get errors fixed. It was getting better, they also keep changing the sales rep that deals with me. When they call they talk about a different business and advise the customers name and customer to me. It’s happened twice!

Cons

The biggest thing I didn’t like was when they removed remote control from my essential Licence’s. To make it worse it was done over the covid-19 pandemic. they are asking me to buy Licence’s and I have refused. We are social distancing and this has made it stressful for myself and my customers.

Response from SolarWinds MSP

Hi Phillip, I'm very sorry that you are unhappy. Our decision to remove remote control from N-central Essentials licenses was made months before the COVID-19 outbreak. We believe Professional N-central licenses provide the proper remote monitoring and management capability that workstations and servers require.

We understand that remote work and therefore remote control is very important for you right now. Therefore, we have offered SolarWinds Take Control Plus, a standalone remote support solution, free of charge for 90 days. In addition, for a limited time, Take Control Plus licenses also come with 25 additional end-user accounts (for a total of 35) for partners to extend to employees and clients. Simply complete this form before June 30, 2020
https://www.solarwindsmsp.com/products/take-control/trial

You may also be interested in these resources to help you navigate this unprecedented time: www.solarwindsmsp.com/covid-19-resources

Be well. - Shelley O'Brien, N-central PMM

Javier G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

It cost us a client

Reviewed on 2019/10/03

After months of back and forth with support we finally figured out what the issue was and was never issued a refund and they refused to release of from our contract after that ghastly experince.

Pros

Nothing much, the interface was terrible.

Cons

The monitoring agent broke our customer's network

Response from SolarWinds MSP

We're really sorry for the experience you had that sounds like the exact opposite of what we strive to provide to our Partners. If you're interested in helping us better understand where we went wrong, please do reach out to me at [email protected], so that we can take a look at the details of your case.

Tharini D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

API is not fully fledged and needs more attention

Reviewed on 2019/08/02

Overall a good RMM tool

Pros

Efficient RMM tool. Feature rich and mostly easy to use.

Cons

Limited reporting functionalities. The API is also very limited. Specifically when it comes to
1) Tickets- if two tickets are created for the same issue only one is displayed
2)Cannot get details about notification profiles
and many more
They need to give more attention to the API module and Reporting functionalities

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our RMM of choice, for a number of reasons

Reviewed on 2019/04/23

Pros

Solarwinds has made their N-Central product one of our greatest tools as an MSP, the remote support, AV, and backup solutions being rolled into the central product make it a no-brainer for us to deploy the product to all of our managed devices, and for monitoring various hardware points via SNMP. One of the greatest strengths of the product is the ability for the monitoring API to get integrated with our ticketing solution to automatically generate tickets when monitored items flip from Good to Bad...

Cons

While their API isn't bad, there's a number of features I would like to see added to it, mainly the ability to pull some information about clients, sites, maintenance windows and rules... Being able to manage/manipulate and otherwise work with those things would be of an even greater benefit.

Andrew H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

NCentral: Expensive? Yes. Worth it? Absolutely.

Reviewed on 2019/05/23

Efficiency of scale in being able to reliably manage thousands of endpoints and hundreds of servers has yielded immense ROI

Pros

Very mature and stable solution that scales well and is a constantly evolving and growing product. Continually increasing levels of partner engagement to drive the development roadmap have begun to show how much value can be provided to the point where it is starting to stand head and shoulders above other RMM solutions.
Incredible automation capability; if you can do it in powershell, you can wrap it into a custom service/monitoring point, along with a wide variety of native automation objects and logic flows.

Cons

Complexity of setup (which can also be a Pro for flexibility and being customize-able)

The Support experience can definitely use a lot of improvement

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

N-Central - a pretty great solution for MSPs!

Reviewed on 2019/05/22

Pros

Single point of access for so many things. A lot of automation is available. Rules, Filters, Service Templates - they all make stuff really easy to deploy.

Cons

LDAP filtering is less than optimal. No SAML SSO yet. Reporting is difficult and frustrating.

Response from SolarWinds MSP

We're really glad that you found N-central's automation capabilities to be easy to deploy. SAML SSO is a high priority for us - thanks for mentioning it!

Jordan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Package/Freight Delivery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Business Computer Monitoring Tools

Reviewed on 2019/01/01

Pros

Great monitoring tool for SMBs. We have it on all computers and it helps notify us of an issue.

Cons

Quality of the remote log in isnt great but does the trick.

Loay S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

This Not working like intended to do

Reviewed on 2018/12/16

They charge me two month and the month that I request cancellation.

Pros

I don't like anything, not working correctly

Cons

This software keep buffering and then request time out when I need to get access to any nod, ny internet speed 150MB.

Devon F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IT engineer review

Reviewed on 2018/10/12

Has helped me immensly as an IT engineer and allowed me to maintain and improve my environment

Pros

Great control of an entire network. easy RDP tools and detailed stats. Great customised reports.big fan of the product as a whole and many functions to use within an IT industry

Cons

difficult to implement at first. the support is good but i would like a more interactive support like calling in as the IM is abit tedious. the patch management needs to be simplified abit more. license compliance report is extremely confusing. Just an overall easier UI. Would be nice if you could integrate live graph monitoring to drill down into devices and IPs over a firewall etc. essentially you do have the NPM but that needs to be intergrated in nCentral then i would procure it. thus we can have a monitoring team and throw it on the screen. right now the alerts from SNMP is great but is difficult to drill into and shut down rogue devices etc

Elias P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful RMM Tool, Reporting Can Be Improved

Reviewed on 2021/04/07

Overall, we have been very happy with the product. It does require some investment in configuration, but that investment allows for a very powerful product. I have been extremely impressed with N-Central management's willingness to help ensure our deployment is successful.

Pros

N-Central is very powerful and customizable. Configuration is very granular and allows experienced administrators to configure almost limitless monitoring. N-Central staff has gone above and beyond what was expected to make sure our deployment is successful.

Cons

Reporting could be improved. The reporting interface is very basic and requires a separate Microsoft Windows SQL server to use. From speaking with contacts at N-Central, this system is planned to be replaced in the very near future.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Product

Reviewed on 2019/05/21

Overall I would recommend the product as it has been very beneficial for our company. To get the full use of the product, you'll need to dedicate a resource to managing the platform so that they can learn the various ins/outs of the product.

Pros

It's a good product once you get through the learning curve. The product admins are eager to make the product more effective and efficient at helping you manage your client's networks.

Cons

Support is frustrating to deal with at the initial levels. If you can get past the L1 technicians in your support case, it is usually pretty good but it will take some work to get the case escalated.

Product development is pretty slow as it often takes several releases that are 'coming' to make it into the product. And then the first iteration of the new feature usually isn't fully developed and will take another release or two to be fully functional.

Al B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Coming from a break fix one man show consulting business model, N-able was a game changer

Reviewed on 2016/04/03

As a novice to the MSP world N-able gave me the tools to make a successful start. We have been using the system for a year and just renewed our licensing tripling our original license levels. I could have used some help on the business side marketing these new services to my existing client base which might have made the transition happen more quickly and smoothly. I found the on-boarding schedule of 5 1hr. sessions helpful in exposing me to the extent of N-Central's capabilities. Support has been probably the weakest attribute of this organization and we hope that N-able follows through on their promise to improve this part of their business. I recommended any consultant or organization still doing break fix to look at this software.

Jerry H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

N-Central is the core application to our service delivery.

Reviewed on 2016/04/18

We have used N-Able's N-Central product for over 10 years and it has become the central application in our service delivery and support model. As we have continued to grow in clients and supported network devices, N-Able has continued to improve and add features to N-Central.
Over the years we have evaluated other RMM tools, but have found that N-Central is a competitive product and in most cases is setting the standard for RMM tools. Now since N-Able is part of SolarWinds, N-Central has remained a valuable tool that has seen some very cool enhancements.

Karl B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Lack of support

Reviewed on 2016/03/22

I have used this product for over a year. Not what I had hoped it to be. We just moved from the cloud option to on premise, and over 2 weeks and we still can't get the report manager installed and working. It takes 6-8hrs before they get back with us. Looking for other RMM now to replace N-Central.
Karl Backs

Simon M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great product, but some limitations

Reviewed on 2019/03/17

I have used many RMM tools over the years, and found that N-Central is a great product, but it has some limitations in that the remote control happens through a cloud service and not directly to the server, and configuring monitors to monitor logs doesnt work as expected or is not available.
Support is great and responsive and the staff know the product well.

Pros

Nice interface with LOTS of features. Fast remote access with lots of control options.

Cons

Sometimes the Take Control access intermittently doesnt work for no reason. Event logs and log parsing is difficult to configure and doesnt quite work as expected.

John W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Powerful

Reviewed on 2018/10/24

At first we mainly signed up for anti-virus deployment and monitoring (so users could not turn it off). We have slowly started to use some of the other features, but again, just starting to scratch the surface.

Pros

This software does quite a bit for an IT Department. Inventory, patch management, application deployment, help desk, etc. We have used it for a couple of years now and really have just scratched the surface of what it can do.

Cons

Can be a little intimidating. There is a lot going on in this package. Make sure you have some time to learn.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Feature packed software that makes monitoring easy

Reviewed on 2019/02/16

It's a great monitoring tool that saves a lot of time and gives fantastic visibility of your business IT.

Pros

It's a very flexible piece of software, you can specify it with a number of different add-ons to suite your business purposes. Antivirus software is easy to monitor and remote support seems to be really reliable. It also seems to scale well to larger numbers of users.

Cons

The web interface can be a little slow at times and early versions of the monitoring software dropped out occasionally although more recent builds seem to be much more reliable. It's also not the cheapest option out there.

Jonathan G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Solarwinds N-Central

Reviewed on 2019/10/07

Solarwinds has so far been working great for my network administration needs. I kinda miss the old days!

Pros

N-Central is a great administrator tool to provide maximum network solutions for your environment.
This tool does it all remotely manages everything.

Cons

Some things could be changed on the interface but its fine. Cost of course.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best RMM Tool for MSP's!

Reviewed on 2018/10/10

Getting Solarwinds N-central setup can take some time if you want more than just out of the box. I recommend learning about all the features and functionality before engineering your N-central setup. Overall, another great product from Solarwinds!

Pros

We switched over to Solarwinds N-central several year ago now and could not be happier. The web interface is filled with tons of features. It has helped us streamline our managed services processes. Their custom automation manager allows for us to create custom monitors and custom auto-heal actions for our monitors. The patch management feature is far superior compared to any other platform I have used. They are partnered with BitDefender offering an integrated AV solution providing a true complete RMM solution. Their remote connect tool called MSP Connect has been the best and smoothest tool I have used for remote access. The possibilities are endless with how you can configure and setup N-central.

Cons

I have no complaints about Solarwinds N-central!

Joshua G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A solid RMM tool that represents a great value option

Reviewed on 2019/03/12

NCentral slots well into its place as our RMM and allows us to manage and monitor most of what we need for customers.

Pros

Having come from one of the more expensive competitors in the RMM space, not only was I sold on NCentral's features and automation capabilities, but the pricing for perpetual licencing was quite attractive.

Cons

Custom reporting requires expertise and may not be accessible to everyone. We also do need to use additional tools outside NCentral to get a full picture of Networks.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

After using it for 3 years, N-Able was a frustrating experience

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

Easier control of our client's PCs, and easy management of thousands of devices. Increased efficiency in the office.

Pros

N-Able/N-Central gives you the ability to remote control devices and perform scripts and tasks without disrupting the end user. Additionally, you can deploy antivirus, schedule installations for off-hours, and many other useful tools.

Cons

They claim Mac monitoring support, yet it isn't updated to stay compatible with newer Mac OS's. Also, scripts on Macs were unreliable, and many features that applied to PCs are missing. Not just a couple, but most. It seems like you can only do SMTP monitoring on the mac, at least in the version I used which was 9.5.

Also, the support was really poor. It took days to get to resolution on critical alerts or monitoring issues.

Also, I want to warn any potential buyer that when N_able performs agent updates, it's possible to lose all of the connectivity of your agents. This happened to us, and it took 3 days for support to help us with it. We had a backup, thankfully, and eventually they pushed out a hotfix to allow that update to work.

I also had the on-premise server, but we had no way to log into the server or monitor it in any way. It was a Linux server. But, it was our server - we owned it. The risk of failure seemed much too large for a system built on an OS that we don't know very well.

Finally, the sales tactics are incredibly strong. Every time you talk to your account manager, which feels like it's weekly, you get pushed into watching a demo, and they don't really leave you alone.

Francois B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Better front-end then back-end

Reviewed on 2018/09/18

Used on a daily basis for monitoring, very useful.

Pros

Great tool for network monitoring, good at what it's built for.

Cons

The back-end structure is horrible, adding indexes barely helps because new tables are added on a per-day basis instead of being merged all together with a date field for filtering (Looks like a bad case of textfile port to SQL, ridiculous and not so great for performance).

Jonathan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very powerful device management system.

Reviewed on 2018/11/02

Overall we are very happy with this solution.

Pros

This solution does everything we need and more. We haven't even made it too deep into its feature and already are glad we purchased.

Cons

It is very time consuming to get it working the way you want but once you do it is great.

Danny P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Need a RMM for managed services? This is the tool to use

Reviewed on 2016/03/17

Nable (now backed by solarwinds) understands the manage it services business. They understand the business side as well as the technical side. As a user who came from 2 other platforms, we think we found a home.
Asset management, AV, patch management has greatly improved, and they are only dumping more research and development into the product. in 2015, they grew and support did suffer, but they have made a tremendous effort in improving it.

They listen to their partners and do the best to accommodate everything they can. I would recommend this product to other MSPs.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SolarWinds Monitors Your Stuff

Reviewed on 2018/12/19

Pros

I like the easily setup ability to monitor systems and send alerts when things go awry.

Cons

There are some features missing that other product offer like calling or texting you when there is an alert.