GalaBid

4,7 (27)
Fundraising & silent auctions for the Australian market

Overall rating

4,7 /5
(27)
Value for Money
4,5/5
Features
4,7/5
Ease of Use
4,7/5
Customer Support
4,9/5

100%
recommended this app

27 Reviews

Darren S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Platform

Reviewed on 2020/10/09

From start to finish [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the team made our journey extremely pleasant, and were extremely helpful and helped us raise a significant sum of money for our charity this year.

Pros

Very easy to use, and easy for the end user to navigate

Cons

Nothing - - it really is simple to use and just works!!!!

Response from CrowdComms

Hi Darren - we're delighted you had such a positive experience working with GalaBid. Look forward to helping you raise more in the future! Best, Team GalaBid.

Kiri D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Galabid

Reviewed on 2020/11/06

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is amazing and always really helpful. We love using Galabid each year for our Gala Dinner. The guests really enjoy using it and it is a very simple piece of software to use.

Pros

Very easy to use
Great video tutorials when you need help
Easy to set up
Great functionality and ability to incorporate Live and Silent Auction items

Cons

It is expensive. Our event is a Gala Dinner to raise funds for the young people we support, and the Galabid bill is always the biggest bill for us. I am able to get discounts and free donations for everything else.

Alternatives Considered

32auctions

Reasons for Switching to GalaBid

Familiarity - we have used Galabid for the last 3 events It was a more tailored offering

Response from CrowdComms

Hi David - thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. It's always a pleasure working with StarJam. Best, Team GalaBid.

Tamara B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

GalaBid

Reviewed on 2020/11/24

Pros

It was easy to use and navigate. The Galabid team answered any questions I had as they came up and were very helpful.

Cons

Visually when set up the auction platform looked a bit dated

Nia O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Galabid Review

Reviewed on 2021/07/05

Overall, we had a good experience. We managed to raise a lot of money through the silent auction, enjoyed working with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], and found the platform was aesthetically pleasing and worked well! We also found it exceptionally helpful to be able to copy and paste from previous years! However, our experience could of been improved if training was more specific to our needs and the platform did not require payment details on set up. Overall, however, it was good and helped us raise more than we expected! Hooray!

Pros

- We really liked how easy it was to use as a guest/user. Viewing the photos and description was straightforward and aesthetically pleasing!
- I like the fact you could have both buy it now and auction items. This is the first time we had someone buy one of the high-priced buy it now items!
- Really great to be able to copy and paste things from previous years. This was a huge time saver and help!!
- In the training, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was kind and helpful. I found the template 'item descriptions' helpful to know what to put in the descriptions
- I liked that you could have a backend for staff and a separate backend for volunteers, as well as guest view
- I liked the amount of features e.g. raffles, fundraising scale, etc. Despite not using them this time round.

Cons

- The training could of been more focused to what we wanted as an organization/event. We spent a lot of time covering 'set up', but we would have preferred to duplicate our previous set up and spend more time learning about notifications and alerts. A lot of the training was not applicable to what we wanted to do at the event. However, was good to learn about functionality, we had too short of a time frame!
- At the end of the night, every total for how much raised was different, with no clear reason to why. This made it very confusing to tell the guests how much we raised and consequently we gave the wrong information about $ raised at the end of the night. In the end we had to manually work this out
- For some reason, this time round, everyone who signed up were required to enter bank details. This put off a lot of guests as they deemed it too much information or too much hard work when they didn't 'plan' on buying anything. If this was easier (bank details on checkout), we are certain we could of raised more money/sold more 'buy it now' items.
- Could of had clearer information on having a silent auction and live auction integrated. This was quite difficult to understand and was not set up until the event start time.

Kim W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Streamlined payments which improved efficiencies at the end of the event

Reviewed on 2021/06/18

Great service, great user-friendly system and great customer experience.

Pros

Having GalaBid set up to take payments for the Silent Auction truly simplified our payments at the end of the night, and although we quickly learnt that guests had to accept the invoice to pay it (or we could do it on their behalf) this definitely streamlined how the evening finished.

We also had to extend the closure time twice due to varying delays, but this was simple to do, and the texts that were sent to guests to advise them of this kept the process clean and effective.

We also used Buy Now for the first time to get donations towards Bedding Packs, Beds and Bunk Beds that could be donated to kids. This was very effective and people found the process very easy.

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was lovely to work with, she spent a lot of time going through all the benefits of the system with us before we loaded it and this helped us understand how to best use it for not only customer experience but efficiency.

Cons

We would like to of set an Auction Online date/time like you can to turn it off. The reason being that we had shared this page with a few supporters and donators prior to it going to guests. He had it turned off, but the message which could not be edited said the Auction had Closed. Which was accurate. Having the ability to put a message there saying 'Auction available from Date/Time' and automatically switch on would have been helpful.

John B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fund-Raising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Tool for Charity On-Line Auctions

Reviewed on 2020/11/04

Our expectations have been exceeded and we would wish to work with GalaBid again if and when we run another auction.

Pros

The GalaBid software was very easy to use making it accessible for our group of inexperienced volunteers. This meant more people in our team were confident in using the site from the outset enabling us to spread tasks around the group. Setting up the auction and loading lots was straightforward and intuitive. The structures of the dashboard menus were logically laid out and the inputs required were self explanatory (albeit there are helpful prompts attached to each field). The customer facing site was attractive and its ease of use resulted in excellent engagement and results. The automated alerts to the bidders helped raise additional funds for our charity. Managing the auction with the dashboard, KPIs and reports was made very easy. In short, our expectations were exceeded at every level and we appreciated the support and contact from our account director who took a personal interest in how we were proceeding.

Cons

When registering as bidders, there is an option to use a landline or mobile (cellphone) number. I would only offer the mobile option as the spoken instruction is not as clear as the text instructions - a very minor point in an otherwise excellent product.

Response from CrowdComms

Hi John - many thanks for providing such comprehensive feedback. Is great to know you had a positive experience with so many of the platform features. We look forward to working with you again. Best, Team Galabid.

Kylie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 2020/09/15

Pros

the software is easy to use, we can add in our own products easily, add in donations, mix them up, send out links early to possible users/bidders. The team are great to work with, overall the simplicity is great, text function words well.

Cons

We dont like that it is clunky to set up live projector display, it would be handy to have an honor roll type list of people who had donated, bought stuff. we can upload multiple pics into the gallery would be handy to have video as an option.

Response from CrowdComms

Hi Kylie - thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We really appreciate your thoughts. Great to hear you had a positive experience using the platform. The honor roll is something we're currently looking to implement, along with video options for the gallery. Thanks again and good luck with your future fundraising. The GalaBid team.

Zach T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly recommend Galabid to any organisation looking to fundraise during COVID

Reviewed on 2021/08/27

For the past two years, I've utilised the Galabid platform for an online auction fundraiser at my work (the Werribee Football Club) due to the implications of the pandemic.

As the auction has been a staple of our fundraising calendar for near-on three decades, I was naturally a little concerned as to whether we'd be able to replicate the success online as we had for our physical events.

Two online auctions later and with over $70k raised, I can say unequivocally that the online auction format is a winner and Galabid have been instrumental in ensuring our success. The back-end is intuitive and super easy to use, and the Galabid team are great to work with. It's very easy as a consumer to register, bid and keep an eye on the items you're after which makes it a whole lot of fun - especially in the final hours.

Don't get me wrong, there's a lot of groundwork involved to source, upload items and then manage dispatch after the event (vs. a physical event where people can take their stuff home) and I recommend at least two people be involved with the initial start-up and management of an event if you have over 60+ items. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and co. though have seen it all at this point and will be great assets to help things go smoothly for you..

I highly recommend Galabid to anybody who asks!

Pros

- Ease of use
- Great support
- Easy payment process
- Great communication options to bidders

Cons

- I'd like an 'Save and edit next item' option when editing listings

Ellie L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

First Time Galabid user

Reviewed on 2020/11/11

From the first enquiry I made until the end of the auction the customer service was excellent. Even though we weren't a 'big' customer, they never delayed in answering my questions and always replied within a few hours. They made the whole experience feel very exciting and easy! I would definitely recommend anyone wanting to do an online auction to use this company.

Pros

It was very easy to navigate the back office to set up the auction. Lots of tutorials to help set up. Good lay out, so easy to find everything.
When doing the auction we had really good feedback from the people making the bids. Very professional looking and easy and straightforward to use.

Cons

Setting up the stripe account for our PTA was a little time consuming, but once that was done it was very straight forward how to link that with gala bid.

Response from CrowdComms

Hi Ellie - Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. Being able to support cause both big and small is really important to us. We're delighted GalaBid worked so well for your fundraiser. Best, Team GalaBid.

Dianne W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fundraising made easy with Galabid

Reviewed on 2021/06/27

Excellent experience two years in a row. Makes the event professional, promotes maximum bidding and audience engagement.

Pros

so easy to load items, and to launch event, and manage the event during the auction, easy to keep people engaged, helped us get through the first COVID event cancellation because we could run the event remotely.

Cons

FOrmating of text is a bit limited. Otherwise it was great.

Sasha C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great fundraising tool - especially during COVID-19

Reviewed on 2020/10/26

Excellent. Great customer support from the moment we starting planning for our online fundraising event. Really happy with the way our information was presented and the way the bidding strategy worked on the night. We received great advice to help us have a successful auction.

Pros

The ease of use both for the back end set up and for the users in the front end. The photos and information in each item looks so professional and encourages participants to bid in silent auctions.

Cons

It could be easier to move lot numbers without having to move things around and change the numbers. Hiding items is great, but it does mean that there are then gaps in the numbering for the items.

Response from CrowdComms

Hi Sasha - thanks for providing your feedback. We're delighted GalaBid could help you run a successful auction for the school. We've discussed your comments about lot manipulation with our dev. team - watch this space...! Best, Team GalaBid

Amy G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Must Have Auction Platform

Reviewed on 2020/09/08

Excellent, Efficient and a pleasure to use.

Pros

This was an incredible platform and i am so pleased that we used it. It was easy to use and upload items and it was easy for people to register and use!
I was fundraising in lockdown for my best friend and i had no idea how i was going to run and distribute my auction. Then i contacted [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] who was amazing and i honestly could not have asked for a better tool. It allowed me to reach a global audience with ease and it without a doubt more than tripled what i would have raised without it!
For me this platform is a no brainer and a must have for an auction! All my contacts found it easy and a lot of fun to use.

Cons

I didn't find any, it was easy to use and had lots of great tools to use.

Tony H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Mallee Eagles FNC

Reviewed on 2020/09/14

First time in the online auction scene - very happy with the Galabid experience. Customer service from [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was first rate, they were both friendly and approachable and answered any questions in a short time frame. Training with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was step by step and easy. (I am not an IT expert, so this was great). Follow up directly before and after the auction was much appreciated as it reassured me that we were on target.

Pros

Ease of Use - Practical menu driven. Well laid out.

Cons

Only small things. Perhaps the wording Auction Closed before the auction had started could be changed to Auction Not Yet Open, or Auction Opens 05/09/20. Some people were a little confused where there are multiples of a particular item, not knowing if there were any left to bid on - not sure of the answer here, but just trying to avoid listed the items multiple times.

Response from CrowdComms

Hi Tony - many thanks for providing your feedback. We're delighted that you had a great experience using GalaBid. Your point about the 'Auction Closed' tag is a good one! We've now amended this field so it's customisable. We're also looking at the multiple item profile to see how we can make the remaining item numbers clearer. Thanks again for taking the time to respond and best of luck for your future fundraising.

Beth W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to Use

Reviewed on 2020/10/29

Customer service from [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was great. Will definitely use the product again

Pros

Easy to upload, easy to set up, eventually got it looking professional (operator errors mostly - me)

Cons

Found it difficult to get the colour options for the main page and the lot items right - it gives several options but none showed.
Invoice was easy to create but buyers couldnt find it when they went to pay. Nobody had a notification to say the auction was over and only a few had one to tell them they were successful but this may have gone to spam.
Stripe was not easy to set up for us and because all bidders were members and we knew them, I didn't need to use it in the end
I set the clock for the auction to end at 19.00 with a 30 second overrun (which ended up being 300 due to my error) but the countdown started again after the 5 minutes was up! I had to physically stop it in the end!

Response from CrowdComms

Hi Beth - thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We're pleased you had a positive experience using GalaBid. We've passed your additional comments onto our service team for review. Best, Team GalaBid

Ann S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent tool for running online silent auctions

Reviewed on 2020/11/03

Excellent service.

Pros

GalaBid is very easy to setup and administer.

Cons

Manual interface to our back-end transactions processing requiring us to enter payments separately.

Response from CrowdComms

Hi Anne, thanks for providing feedback. We're delighted you had a positive experience with GalaBid. Best,Team GalaBid

Emma H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software!

Reviewed on 2020/12/02

Pros

Easy to use for both administrators and users, great customer support

Cons

more flexibility with some parts of the software

Response from CrowdComms

Hi Emma - thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. Delighted you had a positive experience with GalaBid. Best, Team GalaBid.

Sarah B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent product, even better service!

Reviewed on 2016/06/06

We have just moved to using GalaBid after being unhappy with the UK market leader, and we are so pleased we did! Their software is the most upto date on the market, it looks wonderful with faultless performance, and our account manager was very helpful offering expert advice whenever we needed.
The night was a success raising just shy of 72k, 30k of which we had already raised prior with the pre event auction bidding feature. The post event support was just the same as before, excellent. Helping us both manage and collect outstanding payments, guests addresses, with regular reconciliation updates, all payments were in and monies transferred by the following week.
Look forward to working with them next year, I thoroughly recommend using them for any of your fundraising events.

S

Ingrid M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fund-Raising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sumptuous Sounds

Reviewed on 2019/01/14

We really valued the phone support, friendly team, assistance with graphics and posters, and having the option of onsite support at our event was a God-send. Managing the software (while relatively easy) on the night while knee-deep in event management would have been additional stress and burden. We enjoyed working alongside with the customer representatives who was familiar with our venue and full of tips and tricks and practical advice.

Pros

-Intuitive and straightforward to navigate back-end
-Uploading photos simple
-Our supporters found it easy to use too!
-Front end very slick and professional, easy to share across socials
-text messages and prompts sent to bidders helped build excitement on night

Cons

Price. We negotiated a reduced rate. Full price for a charity our size would not have been feasible.

Ryan L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GalaBid review

Reviewed on 2020/09/28

Great

Pros

Ease of use. Link and updates to text messages was great.

Cons

Nothing. Overall couldn't fault anything.

Response from CrowdComms

Hi Ryan! Thanks for the feedback. We're really happy you had a positive experience working with us. Look forward to helping you with future fundraising events, Team Galabid.

Anna D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wonderful fundraising tool

Reviewed on 2021/08/31

Great

Pros

Use of use
Great live support
Great email support

Cons

Nothing to report here it all functioned well

Danika T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

I enjoyed using this software

Reviewed on 2021/08/05

I love that these kind of solutions exist! I'm sure it will be a good fit for many events.

Pros

The software had all the features that we needed. Some functionality was a bit clunky for our needs and integrating with live auctioning.

Cons

I found that various lists, items, etc were a bit "buried" and hard to navigate to. We used this with a live element and it was a challenge to utilize it for live updates with the way it was set up for us.

Elisha A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fund-Raising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great fundraising platform

Reviewed on 2020/09/18

Highly recommend Galabid, great platform and support from staff

Pros

Fantastic platform! Easy to use and manage the auction from behind the scenes. Very professional platform and great support from Galabid staff

Cons

The commission taken by Galabid, but we were very grateful for the level of support and training provided

Response from CrowdComms

Hi Elisha - thanks very much for your feedback. The team are delighted you had such a positive experience with GalaBid.

Luisa C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent software to run an online auction

Reviewed on 2020/12/22

Very effective an running an online auction and prize draw. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was excellent at making it all come together. More expensive than others on the market but couldn't' compare functionality as this is the first time using such software

Pros

Easily customisable, excellent functionality, great account management

Cons

Reports couldn't include all the data we wanted although it was on in the system, just not on the report we wanted it to be on

Ian W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Thanks so much Galabid

Reviewed on 2020/11/19

We were supposed to be auction my prints at an event in London that was cancelled duu to Covid and then had to either postpone the idea for ages or do it online. The online option seemed daunting but Galabid made the whole process so easy. Thanks so much

Pros

It was so easy to use and set up and the support was great too.

Cons

Larger photos would be useful so when you click on an item you can see the image bigger.

Jon B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Online Auction

Reviewed on 2020/10/09

First time using this type of software.
easy to use
great support
Meaning the fundraising day was a huge success.

Pros

Ease of use, ability to host an event and raise funds.

Cons

We experienced no problems at all using the software.

Response from CrowdComms

Hi Jon - we're really pleased your fundraiser was a huge success using GalaBid! Best, Team GalaBid