21 reviews

Bugfender

Bug tracking & log management tool for software developers

4,2 /5 (21 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
86%
recommended this app
21 reviews
Gisela F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nice features but could be improved

Reviewed on 2020/04/06

Pros

The most useful feature of the software is the filtering. It allows you to customize the filtering of the search which makes it easier to find the phone bugs you are looking for.

Cons

The logs are hard to read on the web. I usually download the text file and open it in my machine. It will be nice to have a search bar on the logs. It is nice that you can do the filtering by log level but I think it should also have more features so that we can debug the logs in the Web UI itself.

Response from Beenario

Hi Gisela, thanks for your review! I would love to hear more about the search options you're missing. We hardly ever download the logs to use it, but yet your needs might be different than ours. Would you like to tell us more about it? Please contact me or support and we'll look into it together

David D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Remote Logs

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

I think it’s helped the quality of our game.

Pros

During development, getting information in near-real time about bugs was super useful. And since players tend not to remember all their steps, being able to see what they were doing before a crash has helped a lot.

Cons

UI could be a little more centered towards actual tasks (such as not auto-refreshing an archived log).

Response from Beenario

Hi David, thanks for your great review! If you ever find any issues like the one you mention about auto-refreshing please let us know, we'll be happy to look into it. Actually, if it's not fixed yet, I'd appreciate if you reply to this message or contact us via support to look into it

John M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for hunting down bugs!

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

With Bugfender, we can easily access detailed logs from any user who has signed up or logged into our apps. Getting support requests by email and then looking up the details in Bugfender logs is very helpful when troubleshooting.

Pros

Easy of implemention (took little time to get started) and ease of use (it's very intuitive to use). Their support is also VERY responsive and knowledgeable.

Cons

The pricing is a little bit steep at scale but it's worth it.

Response from Beenario

Thanks a lot for your review John!

André N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Not bad for the price, but log exploration is clunky

Reviewed on 2020/04/06

We use Bugfender to capture logs on our apps, to then track issues in production. The product provides a nice set of features for the price, but the web interface is clunky and search (the single most important feature for a remote log explorer) is quite bad, slow and limited.

Pros

- provides native SDKs
- easy to set up
- nice set of features

Cons

- log exploration/search is limited and not very good
- SDK's lack customization
- web interface is slow and clunky (even the new one)

Response from Beenario

Hi Andre, thanks for your review. I would love to hear about the search options and SDK customizations you'd like to see, so we can add them to the roadmap!
Please feel free to contact me or support any time!

Juan F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Bugfender Review

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

Weighting out the pros and cons I have experienced with Bugfender, the conclusion is that it is getting more in my way than what it is actually helping me.

So, overall the balance is negative, as it is damaging my productivity just because they are too insistent on being reviewed.

Hope you can now stop asking for it for some time at least.

Pros

The fact that I am capable of reading logs from remote devices is great. The product is very well done and easy to use.

Cons

I have been a user for just a week and I have spent more time dealing with requests to review the product than actually using it. It is quite annoying.

Response from Beenario

Hi Juan, sorry if the review came in at a bad time. You were selected because your company has been a customer for several months already and we're interested in what you think. Unfortunately we can not control the review process, as it is done by a 3rd party for neutrality, so I can't be sure how many times you got messages about that. I hope we can make your experience better going forward!

Liam K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

XXXX

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

Pros

Very easy to use and integrate into app
Excellent support

Cons

Loss of ability to see OS and app version on device at the time that logs were generated
Have been throttled at times due to exceeding daily usage but never very clear which specific restriction had been exceeded/

Response from Beenario

Thanks a lot for your review Liam! If you have any questions on how quotas are calculated please contact us and we'll be happy to explain.
The app version at the the time of collection of the logs is available, just click on any log and an information pane will open up. The OS information of the log is not visible at the moment, it's in our roadmap to add it soon. In the meantime, if you download the NDJSON file format, you'll be able to see the OS version there.

Ed P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Useful mobile logging tool

Reviewed on 2020/04/01

Very good

Pros

Very useful being able to see linear logs for a mobile app. Without them you're flying blind.

Cons

I'd like a couple of additional features. The ability to jump to the beginning of the logs and better filtering. Also there's too big a difference between the pricing tiers. I'd like to add additional users but not at an extra €100 a month.

Response from Beenario

Hi Ed, thanks for your great review!
We're able to provide alternative plans adapted to your needs. I'd also love to hear about the filtering options you're thinking about to be able to add them to our roadmap.
Please feel free to contact us about both things and we can look into them togheter.

Matt M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great way to get remote logs for native apps even if the tooling is slow

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

Bugfender has allowed us to discover why certain bugs occur in the wild that are difficult to reproduce during development, it has been a great tool.

Pros

It is nice to find a tool that will allow you to log everything to a remote place and that you can access those logs from the web.

Cons

The web interface often feels slow and clunky

Response from Beenario

Thanks a lot for your review Matt! We're always working to improve responsiveness of the app, although sometimes we're limited by the capabilities of the browser. But we don't give up, we'll continue to make improvements there!

Carlos M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Trial with Bugfender

Reviewed on 2020/06/20

Pros

I've used for android and iOS and the best thing here was how easy it was to implement. Compared with other solutions it was out of the box to have everything working as expected.

Cons

No big problems here. To be honest I really liked it as an alternative for other alternatives that I was testing.

The reason why we decided not to renew the trial was just to avoid an extra expense on the project.

Response from Beenario

Thanks for your review Carlos!

Lee B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great as a product manager

Reviewed on 2020/04/09

Pros

Gives me insight into how often specific bugs are happening and seeing which specific users are having the issue.

Cons

Could use a better dashboard to highlight major bugs.

Response from Beenario

Hi Lee, thanks for your review! We're already working on better reporting of crashes and issues, thanks for pointing that out, I hope you like it when it comes out!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Does the job

Reviewed on 2020/04/13

Pros

Ease of use and easy to integrate in the workflow

Cons

Could have an extended free trial period

Response from Beenario

Hi there! Thanks for your review. We have a free plan that you can use forever, please contact us if you need help with setting this up

Angelo J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, reliable, and awesome support team

Reviewed on 2020/04/13

They team continuously update the software and listens to their customer.

Pros

Easy to implement and dashboard is very helpful.

Cons

Issues are not currently aggregated and makes it hard to close if there are many instances of the same issue. Our team have automate this since it takes time to close everything.

Response from Beenario

Hi Angelo, thanks for your feedback! We now have a function to open or close multiple issues at once. We're also working on aggregating issue instances so you can do this more comfortably

Matt H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for mobile app debugging

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

Fantastic. It's helped us to debug so many mysterious issues that were happening in our mobile app.

Pros

Real-time logs from a device. Real-time usage of our app. We could watch logs happen in real-time for any given user.

Cons

Hard to search for specific things in logs

Response from Beenario

Thanks a lot for your review Matt, I'd love to know more about the things you'd like to search and why you can't search them. Would you like us to look into it together? Please feel free to reply or send us a message to support and

Hristian A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We love the platform, keep up with new features!

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

Pros

We love the platform, you know your strengths, no need to state again.

Cons

Overall, the delivers what it is supposed to, some additional few features would be highly appreciated:

• Querying the logs in general, not within the context of one selected device/instance would be extremely useful
• Ability to aggregate some of the data - enhancements with minor reporting capabilities.
• Notifications (email, sms) when certain events (logs) occur, or when certain events (logs) pass trough certain threshold

There were few occasions, where the platform crashed all-together, which is highly undesired...

Response from Beenario

Thanks for your review Hristian, I'd love to understand more about the queries and aggregations you would like to do. Would you be open to having a call with me? Please reply to this email or contact support if you'd like to look into it together

Juan manuel O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very good product

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

Pros

The most interesting feature is that you can have logs of the users in real-time, checking bugs etc.
Regarding the integration and the usability is was very to integrate into our apps, and we get good very good support.

Cons

After having been using the product for a long time I can say that it is a good product

Response from Beenario

Thanks a lot for your great review Juan!

Alon R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

General Review

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

Pros

1. I like that I can view my own logs that I placed in the code.
2. The option to "filter by" is great.
3. There is a significant improvement in performance.
4. There is a significant improvement in UI.

Cons

1. The crash report "filter by" is very limited.
2. The crashes usually don't say much, it's very hard to investigate, understand the origin of the crash and how to resolve.
3. The overall performance of the logs and crashes can improve significantly.
4. The "filter by" version has duplication and not working as expected, especially in the crash report.
5. Sometimes it takes time until the logs appear in the web view.
6. When you go into a certain log you have to scroll a lot to get more information.
7. When you download a log it's not understandable how much of the entire log will be downloaded.
8. How can I resolve a crash and not see it anymore?
* The most important thing is that I'm working with another "crash report" tool - Raygun, and we have very different crashes there and much less, so now I'm not even sure that everything in your crash report is indeed a crash. for instance, in Raygun, I can get 2-5 crashes in a certain week and your report will say that I've got a few hundred.

Response from Beenario

Thanks a lot for your review! We have lots of improvements planned for the crashes area of the application, I hope you like them. I would love to learn more about the problem you mention of getting too many crashes, there are sometimes interactions when you use multiple crash collection libraries in your project.
I'd also love to learn more about the usability issues you mentioned, maybe if you'd like to jump on a call we could look at it together, please feel free to reply or contact support.

Mohammad F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Normal and friendly tool

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

I

Pros

It's very easy to setup and use
It's very fast and you can see the logs on the server side very quickly and help you to find the root cause.

Cons

you can't disable it in specific ViewController or ... ( imaging the user enter the sensitive information and you don't want to send them to the server ( PinCode and ...) but every time as you are using swizzling and ...
can't disable it per ViewController or other places.
the search is one of the main functionalities on these tools but really it's not powerful and I identified a bug and reported it about search with string + numbers but I waste my time to follow up and it was hard to talk and educate the support team.
also I noticed the iOS/Android logo doesn't show correctly on the dashboard
last but not least, we need search on the contents of the issue too, not only the logs!

Response from Beenario

Hi Mohammad, thanks for your feedback. There is the possibility of disabling automatic UI log collection for the whole app and write your own UI logs, so you have full control on what's logged. Please contact us at support if you need help with that.
Was the bug about searching strings with numbers solved? It looks like you're frustrated with that, I'm sure we can resolve it if you report it.
The iOS/Android logo bug you mention has already been fixed just a few days ago, thanks for mentioning that.
Search on issues is something in our roadmap but not there yet, thanks for mentioning it.

David K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great cloud logging solution for mobile

Reviewed on 2020/04/01

A great cloud logging solution for mobile apps which comes with a hefty price tag.

Pros

Very easy to implement and just works! The dashboard is a great tool to view logs almost in realtime. It's also nice to see what the activity state changes were combined with the logging.

Cons

The price is quite hefty for small app developers. The paid program also doesn't allow multiple team members. Also not being able to turn off the logging from a client side is a pity.

Response from Beenario

Thanks for your review David! I hope soon we can offer other options for a cheaper price, but still hosting, keeping logs and providing support is costly, so it's difficult to provide a solution like ACRA for free (and also the probable reason why ACRA backends are not fully working and discontinued)

Joe K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Straightforward and functional

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

Very happy that I found it!

Pros

Integration was VERY easy, it automatically collects most things I'm interested in tracking, updates almost instantly, and the interface is fairly easy to navigate

Cons

The overall analytics don't always line up with other analytics I use, sometimes I can't find what I'm looking for, and the search/filter doesn't seem to work right

Response from Beenario

Thanks for your review Joe! If you have any questions on how the filters or statistics work, please feel free to contact us, we're always open to check together with you.

Rodolfo J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excelent software

Reviewed on 2020/10/07

Very good

Pros

Simple implementation and very intuitive

Cons

Slow filters on searching in fairly long logs

Response from Beenario

Thanks a lot for your review, Rodolfo!

Pedro V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy way to have remote logging

Reviewed on 2020/03/31

I'd still recommend it's use in every project that has the need for remote logging.

Pros

I really like how it was simple to add to the app, and simples to use for simple cases.

Cons

Searching and filtering logs is not as powerful as it could be.

Response from Beenario

Thanks for your review Pedro! What are the things you find missing in searching and filtering? I'd really love to hear! Please feel free to reply or contact us at support