TalkEHR

AI-based electronic health record (EHR) tool for doctors

Overall rating

4 /5
(8)
Value for Money
3,8/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
4,1/5
Customer Support
3,8/5

63%
recommended this app

8 Reviews

Rachael S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent

Reviewed on 2020/11/17

Great

Pros

Ease of use
Everything on the same page
Access to patient data via multiple ways (DOB, last name, first name)
Viewing charts
Access to claims
Telemedicine access
Secure way to communicate with patients
Communicate with other doctors
Fax capacity
Easy Pharmacy access

Cons

Nothing seemed to be a problem at this point

Alternatives Considered

Kareo Billing

Reasons for Choosing TalkEHR

Telemedicine Easier access

Reasons for Switching to TalkEHR

They are jerks
Mulchand C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent

Reviewed on 2020/11/02

Good experience and will be joining soon.

Pros

Easy to you, smooth work flow, faxes, uploading patient documents, Telehealth, appointments, SSCM, customer support.

Cons

All the features were excellent and easy to use.

Peter H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Software getting worse over time with more bugs accumulating

Reviewed on 2021/02/15

Originally used MTBC as a billing company from about 2010 when they installed a different client-server software on our computer locally. They later switched us to a cloud version that worked okay and then forced us to switch to talkEHR which used to work well. I stopped using them for billing because they started to suck at billing and feel married to the talkEHR software as switching would be painful. But bugs are becoming more common and the rate they are fixing them (months) is slower than the rate at which they are appearing. eRx are being sent and not properly recorded in the EHR, false warning messages appear when I create new encounter notes, I can not send patient portal email invites to patients on occasion, and even sending helpdesk messages produces error messages. Then they will call me to say the problem is fixed when it is not fixed so I have to waste more time showing them the same errors. I don't use their televideo as early versions had no chat and no virtual waiting room. I use doxy.me instead as it does not require setup for patients - much easier to use.

Pros

It used to be free and it used to work without errors for good stretches.

Cons

Bugs are becoming more frequent and the rate at which they fix them is slower than the rate new bugs are appearing. Client Relations would rather waste time calling me than actually fixing the bugs. Just as the quality of MTBC's billing service dropped over time it seems the quality of their software is also dropping over time.

Alternatives Considered

Practice Fusion and Kareo Clinical

Reasons for Choosing TalkEHR

MTBC forced the switch by discontinuing their previous webEHR.

Reasons for Switching to TalkEHR

Porting the chart notes over would be an ugly process and practice fusion looks limited in EHR functionality. I may switch to Kareo one day. TalkEHR used to be free and now it is not and some key EHR bugs are creating omissions in the prescription records and it is over 2 months and they still have not fixed it.
Narakanti R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

talkEHR Review

Reviewed on 2020/11/12

overall It's been very helpful to manage our work.

Pros

Very easy to use and it is very professional and help us a lot to manage our office work.

Cons

It almost everything for our practice work.

Murray R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

TalkEHR is cutting edge EMR

Reviewed on 2020/10/28

My overall experience is very positive and I would recommend it to any physician or medical clinic.

Pros

The features I like the most are the ePrescribe, including control substances, and telemedicine component.

Cons

We initially had problems with the ePrescribe, but tech support was on it and stayed with it until it was resolved.

Daniel H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Difficult transition from MTBC-WebEHR

Reviewed on 2020/12/05

We were pretty happy with the prior MTBC product, had to switch to Talk EHR. Really a disaster. Extraordinarily slow; we upgraded all of our computer, etc., with only minor improvement. Spend more time watching the wheel spin than we do seeing patients. We do many of our visits on paper and scan them in. Tech support is completely worthless. I don't even talk to them anymore after spending far to much time arguing with complete idiots who insist a problem is fixed, while being unwillingly to look at the evidence that shows it is not. Escalating the issues didn't help at all. Will be switching to some alternative once I've vetted some products. Really disappointing, we'd been with MTBC for 13 years, will never use them again.

Pros

Built-in voice dictation. Would like it better if it actually worked.

I really don't like ANYTHING about TalkEHR.

Cons

Way too slow. So slow it is unusable much of the time. Far too many mouse clicks. Many modules completely nonfunctional--templates don't work, etc. Multiple glitches in almost every component of the EHR, and they never get fixed. Technical support is worse than completely useless.
eRx is so excruciatingly slow it's painful. Takes most of a 20 minute visit just sending a handful of Rx, so the documentation is often put in hours later. Templates don't work, dictation is variable in its usefulness.
No health maintenance module.
EVERYTHING with this stupid system requires a workaround.

Telemed system doesn't work at all. We use Viber as a bolt-on instead.

Billing support has deteriorated significantly over the past couple of years as well.

Company higher-ups make lots of promises but don't fix anything.

Matthew E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Awful experience with their billing service.

Reviewed on 2018/09/26

Hired them to do our PT billing. It was nothing short of a disaster, felt like a beta-tester or guinea pig the entire time. Had to walk them, the billing company, through how to properly bill worker's compensation. Had literally 32 medicare bills denied on the grounds that the claims were improperly filed whether it be because they didn't scrub for g-codes or applied the wrong modifiers or used the wrong form. They mean well and are nice people but the experience and communication is just not there.

Pros

They were receptive to feedback, but read below to find out why.

Cons

They literally did not know how to do the one thing we hired them -- medical billing. Automation was always full of errors and bugs, with their rule based system always scrubbing bills the wrong way. Tech support was not in the US, took sometimes weeks to respond, and often had zero solutions other than for us to keep waiting.

Natasha O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 2020/11/13

Help via telephone and the messages system are both very easy to access, always friendly, professional, and very helpful.

Pros

Very easy to use & flows well. Items are arranged via common sense. Love the efax feature.

Cons

While in the learning stage, if one accidentally signs an encounter, one cannot delete it.