Showing 66 reviews of 52

PaperCut

Print management solution designed to reduce waste

4,4 /5 (52 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
88%
recommended this app
Showing 66 reviews of 52
Steven C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

PaperCut - small enterprise

Reviewed on 2020/05/12

Installing PaperCut has permitted our organization to restrict usage of our printers to authorized persons only. We can also easily identify instances of excessive printing. Folks are no longer printing out 500 page cookbooks or encyclopedias in full color.

Pros

This software provides our users with the ability to send their print jobs to a default printer and retrieve that job from any printer on the network. That convenience alone is probably the best feature of this application for our users. The software is easy to set up and maintain. It can be configured to draw basic user information from Active Directory and you can manually enter individual accounts for persons who may not have an AD account. The application tracks printed pages for each user which can be beneficial for internal accounting purposes. Users can release print jobs by logging into the printer using the printer's touchscreen panel, or with their employee ID badge. PaperCut provides the badge readers.

Cons

We have experienced issues with with the ability of our users to print documents when different printers have had different versions of PaperCut firmware installed. It seems that the PaperCut software needs to have all printers using the same firmware version which must be appropriate for the specific version of the PaperCut software.

Andy T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Print Management Platform

Reviewed on 2020/02/14

PaperCut is pretty much everything we need in a print service. There are a few features that we don't have on our level of the platform, but it's been great for managing our printing and copying needs among all end users.

Pros

It gives a lot of information about our various print jobs, printers and copiers, and the users that do the printing and copying. There isn't a whole lot of maintenance. It also has a ton of features, even though we don't take advantage of all of them at this time. It's great that you can put up messages to users when they print or create print budgets if needed. It also is a great way to track people that are overusing printing rights like color.

Cons

We had some trouble getting it to work with recently adopted Macs. There are some features that are only available with a client on end user machines, but that's not a deal breaker.

Andre c. S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PaperCut - Feature Rich, Incredible Value

Reviewed on 2018/08/15

Pros

This is the most feature-rich print management and cost recovery solution available. It is easy-to-use, quick to deploy, and simple to maintain. Really helps keep printing costs down and modify employee printing/copying behavior. They offer a free 40-day trial as well!

Cons

Absolutely nothing. PaperCut has an incredible Knowledge Base that helps us find the answers to nearly all of our questions.

Rob T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Does what it needs to but no fun to manage.

Reviewed on 2018/03/25

We know who printed what and can type that into an invoice for them.

Pros

Users are in control of their own expenditure.
Works across printing and photocopying.
Linux, MacOS and Windows for server and users.

Cons

Doesn't catch USB dongle printing on Ricoh MFD.
Made by developers for developers, no thought is given to UX.
Lack of integrations and cloud service.
Google Cloud print integration stinks to set up and so hard to use you won't want to roll it out to users.
You have to be comfortable editing text files to take full advantage of features.
No integration with invoicing software indicates the company's focus is not on administration.

Timothy G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Print Management Success

Reviewed on 2020/03/04

Overall it’s a great experience. The system work well nearly 100 percent of the time. In the few cases it doesn’t, a quick fix is easy to find.

Pros

I like the ease of use most. The paper cut menu pops up immediately after selecting print. I can put in my department code quickly and retrieve the job with my ID card at any available printer. It has saved my college a great deal of money all over campus, especially at our Library.

Cons

The only problem I have encountered using this software is it can be delayed. The paper cut box doesn’t always pop up. However, clicking the icon on the desktop often fixes the problem immediately.

Matt P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Helps us keep track of printer usage

Reviewed on 2019/04/17

PaperCut has reduced our annual print costs by thousands. We have restrictions setup that prevent students from printing in color or from printing unusually large print jobs. People also seem less likely to abuse their printing privileges when they know we can track it. The software has also made the process of installing printers on student laptops so much faster and easier. PaperCut has the ability to bill students for printing as well, though we don't currently use that functionality.

Pros

Easy to use, has great reporting, saves us thousands by tracking and reducing unnecessary printing, and it's very affordable.

Cons

The initial setup can be a bit complicated depending on how you're using it.

Kyle H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Papercut makes managing print jobs a breeze.

Reviewed on 2018/05/08

Helps us save on paper and toner, and identify problem users.

Pros

As a school district, we go through a ton of printer consumables. Papercut allows us to track and limit print jobs, and to see who our problem users are. We can set quotas to prevent unneeded printing from happening.

Cons

Google Cloud Print integration could be a little better, we have to republish our printers every now and then.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Secure you printers now

Reviewed on 2019/02/01

Pros

Offers an easy to implement way of securing your printers, reducing the cost of printing and improving the printing culture around of the company.

Cons

cannot think of anything. it is a piece of software that just works

Shreshthi M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Print Management with PaperCut

Reviewed on 2020/02/04

Papercut has been helpful in rationalizing the use of paper, printing and resources withing the organization.

Pros

This software helps determine the appropriate use of paper by department and by individual. Any outliers are identifiable easily.

Cons

After implementation, there was some discomfort between employees. They felt like they had limited access to resources. There was an additional step in printing as the employee needed access.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review from Teacher

Reviewed on 2019/07/18

Pros

-you can print from your computer and printer
-release copies once at printer
-reduces paper because you need to be at the printer to get copies
-codes are used to print and track printing

Cons

-if i am printing from my computer and i cant leave my room i dont have a choice because i have to release prints with a code then make the copies
-time consuming

Sam L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Follow me printing

Reviewed on 2019/08/30

I would give this product an 8 out of 10. Does great job with limited issues.

Pros

Ease of use. Very easy to get configured, not a lot of hidden configurations. Works straight forward with existing print servers. The Follow me printing works great with our Badges so you can print anywhere by just badging into the printer. This also provides security with documents holding in the queue until released.

Cons

Badge readers were not easily mounted on RIcoh MF copiers. They also needed to be configured by the copier technicians, so there was billable time involved. End result, everything working as intended.

Jj S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PaperCut

Reviewed on 2019/03/12

Pros

- It eliminates the need to print something off before copying it.
- You can send and copy multiple items from your CPU at once

Cons

- Have to enter a password into the copier to print and sometimes remembering it is a pain
- Requests disappear after 24 hours

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Best Paper Printing Management System

Reviewed on 2020/05/12

It's been fantastic, we hope to continue using it and save thousands of dollars each year.

Pros

We were able to reduce our paper and ink consumption by hundreds of dollars within the first few weeks.

Cons

It's a very complex system that requires their people to come in and set up. You're not allowed to deploy it.

Ian A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2019/10/04

We've been using PaperCut for just over a year, replacing our previous system, PCounter. After the initial setup, we haven't experienced many issues but when we have, their support has been great. From a support perspective it has enabled us to carefully track usage and issues, complete with automatically generated summary reports on a monthly basis.

Pros

Excellent reports
Huge amount of customisation
Support for multiple departments for users
Useful integration with multi-function devices

Cons

Despite having a detailed audit for print jobs, there is no way built in to re-send those jobs if they fail (we wrote our own).

Karen S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Papercut in the School Setting

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

I wish we'd never added Papercut. Whatever we were using before was MUCH more teacher friendly. Papercut has been mostly frustrating to use. Papercut does not have issues every day, but when it does, they make my job very difficult.

Pros

Our school district starting using papercut a few years ago. I suppose, because it was convenient for those who worked in different settings and to track copier usage. It is convenient to be able to use any copier in the building to print something from my computer. This is really the only advantage I've experienced as opposed to being able to print to a designated copier before.

Cons

There are A LOT of things I do not like about papercut and most of them I've sent on to my IT people to share. However, I've not seen anything change in 2 years. There is no work around when internet is down. The copier becomes nonfunctional. This is a HUGE problem in schools because when internet is down, we often need to make paper copies to continue to do the lessons we had planned to do online. Also, the settings are not all functional. For instance, it defaults to 2 sided copies and I cannot print from my computer to the copier for one sided copies. This is an issue if I'm printing personalized, confidential information such as grade reports. Also, my experience has been that it seems to glitch a lot. I will put in for it to copy 35 copies and it runs 1.

Nebojsa P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Papercut MF School Ambient

Reviewed on 2020/12/23

This is must have software when you need to control user printing in the ambients that have many users.

Pros

This software is one of the most complete printing management software. It help reduce cost in printing, and helps ecological sustainability. It saves lots of paper, and its managment controller helps having control of the entire printing system.

Cons

The initial implementation is not that easy, and adding more devices also. The price is a bit higher, but it pays back.

Winter S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Do not purchase this product!

Reviewed on 2020/03/06

We've realized no benefit from the product. We've only realized a tremendous loss on our investment and continue to do so.

Pros

The product stops working constantly. Since we have had this product the only thing consistent about it, is that it won't work and that we will lose money on lost counts of print/copy charges. The response for repair is slow and often is a temporary fix. I will never be able to recover the money lost on this product. I would absolutely advise a small business owner to avoid this product. There are no pros, only cons.

Cons

If the product worked as advertised that would be an improvement. When the product doesn't work, it also impedes one's ability to use the printers.

Robert F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing Product, Built by Amazing Geeky People, No other product can touch it

Reviewed on 2019/07/18

Pros

PaperCut is clearly built by modern geeks that get it. They understand what users want, and build it. The software isn't some dated stodgy offering - it's fresh, packed with features, looks fantastic, is reliable, flexible, and super well documented. The culture really shows through! I wish all software was this good.

+Follow-Me Printing
+Google CloudPrint
+Apple AirPrint
+Web Print
+Email to Print
+Works with virtually any device, printer, MFP, copier
+Awesome web interface
+Easy upgrades
+Great support
+Constant development progress
+Google Integration including SSO

Cons

-Some MFPs have better support than others

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Take control of your company's printing

Reviewed on 2019/02/04

Papercut has revolutionized the way we handle printing in a K-12 school environment. Gone are the days of wondering who just printed a 500 page document--Papercut keeps track of it all.

Pros

Very easy to setup. Integrates with Microsoft Active Directory and gives you tons of different options to allow your users to print. Mobility printing is a game changer, especially if you have a lot of visitors to your company that may need to print but you don't want to give them the keys to your kingdom. There are many different reports you can run depending on what kind of data you need to look at. Web interface means I can manage it from wherever.

Cons

Lots of sub-menus. Sometimes the thing you want to do is buried under numerous tabs inside of other pages. The software does have a search feature which helps and after you spend some time in the software, you'll figure out where everything is.

Ross W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing print tracking & deployment tool

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

PaperCut has drastically reduced the amount of time spent troubleshooting printing issues, and thus saved us a significant amount of money.

Pros

Very easy to use, can be easily managed in house. Turns printing from one of the most hated IT activities into a breeze to manage.

Cons

Licensing for devices can be expensive, especially for devices that require both server and device licenses.

Nikki R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Giving balances to students for color printing has saved a ton in toner!

Reviewed on 2018/05/09

Students can manage their own print jobs, preventing wasted toner and paper

Pros

Before PaperCut, students would either print to our color printer for EVERYTHING, or we would need to block them from using the color printer. Now we can allow a certain amount of printing per student, which helps them manage their own print jobs!

Cons

Sometimes printing from Chromebooks doesn't work, and IT says it is the link between papercut and google.

Timothy B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Does what its supposed to do.

Reviewed on 2019/07/23

It does what its supposed to do, nothing special.

Pros

Tracking - you can see who's printing what and to where

Cons

Disconnections - if it is unable to contact the sever, you're stuck.

Daniel T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Some connection problems but an overall good software.

Reviewed on 2018/03/19

Quick and painless (once connected) printing.

Pros

Once you get connected it is as simple as can be: connect, hit print, go to the printer, log in, and print. There is an ID card reader that allows students/employees quick and painless access. Once logged into the printer there are a variety of functions.

Cons

I had quite a few connection issues. You must be on the specific WiFi network and if there is a problem logging into that you cannot connect. I was able to see our IT team and fix the error, but later I was randomly removed from the printer network and had the same connection issue all over again. You also must connect separately to the black and white function and the color function on your laptop.