45 reviews

Directus

An Open Data Platform for managing headless content.

4,4 /5 (45 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
91%
recommended this app
45 reviews
Steve C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Free headless CMS that does everything you need it to

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

I'm using it on several websites as the backend CMS. I also have writers using it who are not hugely computer literate and they have no problems with it at all.
It allows me to build the front end of the site without having to worry about fitting in with the framework of another system.

Pros

The flexibility in that it can be used with our without the api

Cons

It very occasionally has bugs, but the support is fantastic and very quick to listen to users and out things right

Vincenzo L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Potential

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

I'm currently using Directus and working on customizations, sometimes it appears hard to add custom modules or to work on the already existing architecture but I'd say that I'm generally positive about Directus.

Pros

Directus is quite impressive about the potentials it have from a business point of view.
The software is easy to configure and the community is very active continously improving the available functionalities and solving known issues

Cons

Some features are still not fully working (i.e. forgot password and reset password needs some work)
PHP in my opinion is not very flexible for developer, so it require lots of components to be added

Jimmy S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome Project

Reviewed on 2021/02/20

Pros

With Directus I could built an MVP from zero to hero in a few days. It's user interface is pretty friendly and it's community on discord is amazing

Cons

Integrations with existing projects and services like Stripe, Google Drive, etc.

Damien L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A fair customizable CMS

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

Directus allowed me to quickly build up a multilingual CMS for various client projects. It was not so complicated to setup although the overall UX could be improved, especially for the newcomers.

Pros

I really appreciated the potentialities to adapt the CMS to many various environments and contexts.

Cons

It it sometimes cumbersome to understand the logic when discovering Directus. It lacks a comprehensive support for beginners, for usual and advanced use scenarios.

Alex M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love how easy it is to start creating APIs

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

Pros

The documentation was really good and I found it easy to figure things out without needing to contact the support guys all the time

Cons

Not having available plugins to use out of the box and having to build them.

Christian M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Feature-rich and extensible Headless CMS

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

We are a creative agency, which is using the software for small and medium sized projects - mostly mobile app scenarios. We really appreciate the efforts of RangerStudio to produce such a stable piece of Open Source software, which also can withstand production use cases with ease.

Pros

The CMS is quite feature-rich and already provides most of the functions we need for our customers' scenarios. Beyond that, it is fairly easy to extend it to special requirements using modules and custom endpoints; we are now using it for several projects over the period of several month, and the CMS and its functionality gets better and better; The new v8 Admin panel looks great too.

Cons

Since the project is Open-Source and community-driven, it's a bit hard to get support for very specific problems. Sometimes nobody responded to my questions on the official Slack channel.
Debugging errors and custom endpoints is a bit cumbersome, since every change needs to be first deployed to the final staging or production environment.

Michael N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Greate database management content management system

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

Needed a CMS but without interfering in how I set up my database model in any way. Directus helped a lot by having a mature and well made and user friendly user interface and on the other side it didn't force me how to design my database in any way.

Pros

The well designed user interface and how I can plug it in into any MySQL database. One big plus are also the developers of directus who react quickly and helped a lot.

Cons

Sometimes its bugs due to rapid development of the software itself.

Jonathan A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

It WILL be great

Reviewed on 2019/06/28

Using Directus as a CMS for a fairly simple Nuxt site. I've been very back and forth about this review. I want to recommend it so more people use it and it gains more traction, because I know it's going to be a great product, and it's getting better all the time. But for the time being, I don't think it's there yet. Check back in six months!

Pros

Free, open source, self hosted, some docker support. They do listen to community desires (GraphQL recently implemented as well as a repeater field (THANK YOU), among others).

Cons

Lots of fiddly bugs. In the last release, M2M relationships weren't deleted from the database when they were deleted in the CMS leading to all sorts of issues. Just one of many bugs.

It gets better all the time, but I recommend testing it out first. There's DigitalOcean one click install that is pretty simple to set up.

Eslam M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

great cms

Reviewed on 2021/02/19

Pros

it's nodejs based highly customized and a great product at all

Cons

more docs for deploying to other platforms

Liran C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Directus Review

Reviewed on 2019/06/28

Pros

1. helpful community on slack
2. slick UI
3. many functionalities with Directus app

Cons

1. the tech stack - using PHP instead of javascript.

Alejandro B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent headless CMS

Reviewed on 2020/02/13

I have a very difficult multi-platform usecase involving languages from R/Python, reproducible data slicing, on the fly dataset creation all the way to front-end react, pregenerated app (gatsby) in a single build command. Directus is my sole source of truth, what I use to back this whole thing.

This allows me to use the same translations and metadata for everything no matter if I am in R or Javascript consuming graphql, either on production client code or in static pregeneration stage in gatsby.

There are other headless apis that can do this, but I cannot self host them and I need to be able to very quickly generate large datasets on the database as I research and tear them down in the same base as the CMS for the app. That is, I need this to run on my computer first.

This is where directus knocked it out of the park for me. Also, docker setup is touch and go. Nothing needed. It is just great.

Pros

This is Free and Open Source Software at its best. Directus has a great, well tended community, excellent developers, many options and lots of friendly answers to real questions. I have not found any other headless API I can self host in amazon or wherever I want. This makes for a local development cycle, short time to market, very easy to prototybe setup for example for react/gatsby apps.

Cons

The app where you manage the database still needs a bit more documentation. It does not lack features, but some features lack propper documentation. I hope to help on this in the future!

Brian M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product that is still young

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

We had departments using many different CMS's. They ranged from extremely expensive to open source projects. While Directus is not perfect, it has proven to be better than all the others. We have actively tried to improve the product, and we find that the others in the community do the same.
Also, and this is a HUGE value, the response to questions and issues within the Directus-Slack channel is amazing! Actually, the communication and support from this organization is impeccable. Friendly, helpful, understanding. Just out of a sense of loyalty to such good people, I will want to stay with them.

Pros

The interface is very friendly, and as the product matures, the installation is becoming better.

Cons

This is not an enterprise-level application, yet. It has a number of tiny gotchas that one has to learn about. One can still do most anything they desire.

Alan T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the greats

Reviewed on 2021/02/19

Pros

I'll start with the flexibility, you can create and edit every table in real-time and in an easy-to-use GUI. Best part is this can be clamped onto any SQL database and it will just start working then you can setup the table existing into the software.

Cons

Well I mean it's not quite and intuitive as something like WordPress but point people in the correct direction and they soon get the hang of it

John K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Beginning with Directus

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

Pros

The best thing about Directus is the community. It is great to be able to ask questions and get a real person to walk you through a solution.

Cons

Difficult to get started. Documentation is a bit lacking / confusing.

Benjamin K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

THe first headless CMS that truly can claim the name headless CMS

Reviewed on 2019/11/19

I love having the ability to create EXACTLY my Interface in the Backend as i needed. I can easily extend it, and if i got problems the Team is made up of really great people. I would not ever think about using any other CMS currently as this is, as a Developer, a real heaven.

Pros

- Data is 1:1 mirrored for the End User and you can implement DD interfaces as a dev yourself.
- JSON REST API
- User and Groups

Cons

- There are still some rare bugs. (But the team will squish them afap as soon as it is reported)

Esther R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

a great tool

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

It´s a great experience to work with directus as it is a free tool that can be used for clients as well as developers in a friendly way.

Pros

it's for free.
You can customize any data.

Cons

whenever there is a new version some of the items some functionalities doesn´t work.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Nice Headless CMS

Reviewed on 2021/02/19

Easy to use. I use it for customer projects whit a lower budget. I can save the time for backend development.

Pros

- Free
- Easy to use
- Faster Development possibilities for Mobile Apps
- Support on Discord

Cons

- The documentation is not the best, I hope it will improve
- No Spatial Data Types (searching by distance is not possible)

Jolomi O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why use Directus

Reviewed on 2019/06/28

Useful for API Management as well as Content Management for Web Apps.

Pros

Open source and non opinionated.
Easy to extend.
Flexible.
Customer service on Slack.

Cons

Documentation could be a bit more in depth for developers looking to extend the open source code, but some help is provided on Slack.

Linton C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Pain Free Headless CMS

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

It works as our content management service in the back end of a mobile app, non technical people are using it and are not struggling. Extensions are working seamlessly.

Pros

I really appreciated the ease of installation, set up and the final integration with your existing database.
I also found a way to write a small extension for the software very easily. I had to use the documentation very rarely, and when I did it was at worst adequate, but generally good.

Cons

I can't think of a complaint yet. All has been well

Jan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very simple headless CMS with ready-to-use REST API

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

We are moving multiple web applications into Directus, and managing our data within that system. This makes data-maintenance much easier for our data managers, and enables our developers to focus on the frontend development.

Pros

Quick to install and upgrade, just clone the GIT repository. Bugs get fixed quite fast, and there is an active community. The software brings a ready-to-use REST- and GraphQL-API and permission management.

Cons

While the community is quite active, there is an initial delay when asking questions in the Slack space.

Pascal P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

My directus review

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

Pros

- Very flexible
- big community and support

Cons

- many small bugs in depth
- often new bugs in new releases
- many things missing in the documentation

Nils T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fast, simple and easy to setup.

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

Pros

Getting started with Directus is pretty easy because the documentation is very beginner friendly.
Due to its simplistic style, it's easy to understand, but not restricting in any way. Its easily expandable and customizable and can be used anywhere.

Cons

There are only a few people working on the project so progress can be slow sometimes.

Eloy R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome piece of software

Reviewed on 2021/02/19

I've had to learn express and knex to implement custom endpoints and I really enjoy doing things this way. I also started using it's javascript sdk client and it's simply awesome!

Pros

It's really easy to setup and encourages to learn new technologies

Cons

It's not really done yet, I mean Directus is switching from PHP to Nodejs and this is a long proccess that is still happening and the documentation is not complete yet.

Vladimir M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Slick looking and easy to start with

Reviewed on 2020/02/06

Overall impression (on our initial evaluation) was that someone really invested lot of time and thought into it.

Pros

CMS looks very mature, with lots of functionality already there. No need for installing tons of plugins, modules, extensions... Open source and i18n were our main perks when we chose Directus over others.

Cons

We've pinpointed bad time to start with it. Directus Team just started rolling out v8 where available documentation was for v7. Some small issues were visible, but quickly ironed out with swift releases. On the other hand - Slack support + Git issue tracking worked for us very well.

Lazer P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Feature-Rich Admin panel

Reviewed on 2019/06/28

I have created a headless API that serves JSON metadata about podcasts, including a link to the MP3 file (in an S3 bucket), the name of the presenter, the series of talks to which it belongs, and a boolean isPrivate.

I have created related collections in the Admin panel, and now the 1 or 2 admins who add new recorded alks can add a series easily, add a speaker easily, add a category easily, and then add a lecture - using a dropdown to select which speaker, topic, category, and series this lecture belongs to.

Now the management of organizing these assets can be handled by anyone who knows how to use a web browser!

Pros

The admin panel has an intuitive interface for managing database relationships (collections), users, fields for your data types. I feel excited to present my non-technical media producers with a way to add their media files, tag them appropriately by creator, relate them to 'topics' stored another table, and be able to update and add new topics with no technical expertise.

Cons

I had some challenges in setup that came down to outdated or incomplete documentation, but that may also be lack of experience on my side. Perhaps some things that were not explicit were actually expected knowledge that I was lacking.