4 reviews

Silk Cloud Data Platform

Cloud data management platform

4,8 /5 (4 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,8
/
5
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5
100% recommended this app
4 reviews
Chris L.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Dramatically increased performance at a lower cost

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/18
Review Source: Capterra

We were an early adopter of this technology, and have continued to be impressed by the solution. When we first purchased, we were primarily looking for a cost-effective, high-performance SAN for our private cloud. But, Silk continually added capability, and has anticipated our need to move to a hybrid public/private cloud architecture. The new features should help enable a more seamless transition, while keeping our public cloud storage costs in check.

Pros

Our application had a voracious appetite for IOPs, and Silk provided a cost-effective solution to satisfy those needs. Now that we are moving towards a hybrid cloud infrastructure, Silk is providing a path forward that should minimize changes to our storage environment, and allow the team to manage data through a common interface that they are already familiar with.

Cons

The only con is not really for Silk, but more related to the fact that our technology stack was fairly unique and outdated -- this created challenges generally as we went through a hybrid cloud transformation.

Response from Silk

Thanks for your review, Chris. We're glad that the Silk Cloud Data Platform was able to help your company significantly improve performance, at a lower price point, during your transformation to the hybrid cloud. We are also thrilled that you have found our Customer Success team to be a valuable partner to you during this transformation. We look forward to continuing to work with you!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Aaron M.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Silk Cloud Data Platform - not just for the industry

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of use, ease of integration, versatility of the end-user, it does what it is supposed to do - very well, less time spent on spending money for more time in the cloud.

Cons

It does not make coffee or deliver my paper in the morning.

Response from Silk

Hi Aaron,
Thank you for your review. We're thrilled to hear that the Silk Cloud Data Platform is making your job easier, faster, and helping you save money in the cloud. And believe us, if we could have the platform make your coffee and deliver your paper, we'd add it to the roadmap.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Roy W.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Monitoring

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to monitor the Kaminarios, but our auto replies interfere with Silks auto replies

Cons

Constant false positives of the Kaminarios

Response from Silk

Hi Roy,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that the Silk platform is making it easy for you to monitor your infrastructure. Please also reach out to our Support team at https://silk.us/support to resolve any issues that you might be having. Our Customer Success team is happy to help!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Jason C.
Industry: Packaging & Containers
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Silk Platform really makes our day to day with our SAN so much easier!

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of seeing all of our devices in one, easy dashboard. In the past, I had to login to the GUI on each of our SAN devices which became quite cumbersome. The capacity planning and visibility into our throughput are the items I really like

Cons

It may be a little busy. I believe I can customize the default views, but I have not done that as yet.

Response from Silk

Hi Jason, Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that the ease of use and visibility into your infrastructure is helping to improve your day-to-day. If you have any questions about additional capabilities, please reach out to our Customer Success team at https://silk.us/support. They are happy to help!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10