20 reviews

Discuss.io

Online video platform for market research and CX interviews

4,8 /5 (20 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,8
/
5
Value for Money
4,3
Features
4,8
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4,7
100% recommended this app
20 reviews
Eric W.
Industry: Research
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great product, great team

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/21
Review Source: Capterra

I love working with this product, strongly recommend -- especially if you are on a product team and doing interviews throughout the year. If you are a consultant, the pricing makes it a little more difficult, but the tool will impress clients.

Pros

We are a consulting firm, doing research for hire. Sometimes we have up to 15 members of our client team listening to interviews. Discuss.io has a feature that allows them to watch interviews and engage in the chat without the interviewee ever knowing they are around. This is a hugely innovative feature, allowing us to have a large audience without being a distraction to the participant.

Also, being able to highlight portions of an interview transcript then clicking a button to generate a video highlight is amazing. It has saved me dozens of hours in the highlight creation process. We can even allow our clients to create highlight videos.

As a consultant, using Discuss.io gives our prospective clients a better sense that we are a top-notch research firm and allows us to be more collaborative in our work

Cons

I don't have many complaints. When we last used it, much of the scheduling process was manual and error prone, especially when using a third party recruiter like UserInterviews.

The price felt high and clumsy. It feels like it is priced as a service rather than a product. I think Discuss.io offers to be involved in recruiting, project management, and admin. But if you just want to use the product without services, it feels expensive.

As a project-based consulting firm, we struggled to justify signing up for a subscription because we don't know how many interviews we will do in a given month.

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Eric, thanks for your detailed review. We're really proud of what we're able to offer consulting firms like yourselves, and are glad you're loving our features. We appreciate your input into our product development process and are actively working to improve the respondent management and scheduling experience to better serve DIY users like yourself. We look forward to sharing more information about this in the coming weeks!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Mico G.
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Efficient Tool for Market Research Qualitative Interviews

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/07/21
Review Source: Capterra

It is such a breeze to use the Discuss.io platform, and the support team is so easy to work with. They remain patient despite erratic internet connection and are vigilant in addressing our needs. The platform itself has relevant tools needed by market research professionals. We are able to conduct any and all types of studies and discussions, whether it be straightforward interviews or a concept/stimuli evaluation.

Discuss.io definitely became our staple platform we recommend not just internally, but to clients we pitch to as well.

Pros

The backroom chat definitely makes it easy to communicate with clients, bounce off questions and ideas while conducting interviews. The concept presentation tools, as well as other features are all easy to understand and if in any case there are problems, tech support is so easy to reach.

Best of all, the simultaneous translation set-up is great! We used to conduct interviews via the typical video conferencing apps and we often had to make two sets of meetings and patch the translator from one room to another. Discuss.io's translation set-up gets rid of all that, and clients can easily shift through English & local language.

It definitely feels like we have extra hands, project managers who make it easier for us to do what we do remotely.

Cons

Being one of the markets with lower quality of internet connectivity (Philippines), we definitely found the platform bandwidth-demanding. It may be difficult sometimes to keep discussions going as most of the users experience lag. Discuss.io provides a workaround for this through tech checks and dialing in via phone, which is also convenient.

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Mico,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're thrilled that you find the platform a breeze to use, and I'll pass on your praise to the CS team. Regarding lower internet speeds, we understand how important it is to provide a fast, stable experience from anywhere in the world. In recent weeks, we released changes that make our platform and meeting room faster to load, making it easier to participate in low-bandwidth environments. And as you mentioned, our phone support allows participants struggling with bandwidth to continue to participate until the internet connection recovers and video can resume (dial-out, as well as dial-in). We are always working to improve, and these changes are just the beginning.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 2-10 Employees

WE DON'T USE ZOOM

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/02
Review Source: Capterra

It is easy to use, great technical support, flexibility , many features that help you during the discussion, it is protected from external invasions.

Pros

the fact that I can talk to the respondents only, to the clients only, to the sim translator only or to all at the same time.
it is easy to use and we don't have to worry since the data are safe

Cons

the fact that for focus groups we cannot have more than 4 participants

Response from Discuss.io

Hi there,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you love our industry-leading chat capabilities, simultaneous translation functionality, and that you value security as much as we do. We are proud to provide a comprehensive product that can take you from project planning to interviews to analysis. Being able to provide all the features on one platform means we're cheaper, easier and more efficient to use than separate tools.
Regarding participant limits, we are actively working to increase the number of users who can be recorded, while maintaining a high-quality, performant meeting room. We hope to have more to share on this soon.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Karen E.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Efective

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/01
Review Source: Capterra

Efective, connection even with different languages in just one platform

Pros

The most I like is that we were able to connect different geographic markets to be part of the session with option to listen in two different languages; the local one and a version in English (at the same time) so everyone else could understand.

Cons

One of the session had connection issues at the beginning but there was a quick comeback from the support team

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Karen, thank you for your wonderful review. We're pleased that you found our integrated simultaneous translation feature to work so well - it really is an amazing thing, and incredibly useful for expanding access to consumers across the team. And we're glad our tech support were able to quickly jump in and help when there was a connection issue.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sinan D.
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Our review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/25
Review Source: Capterra

We have been working with Discuss.io and using their platform for more than two years now and have been thoroughly satisfied with the functions as well as on-time support. Discuss.io is a professional company in the market research field that has contributed a lot to our business operations.

Pros

All functions of the platform are specifically designed for market research purposes which makes the usage quite convenient for us while conducting our sessions. The tech support is playing a huge role by being there live in order to avoid any issues.

Cons

The platform would be much more effective if it would work on mobile devices as well.

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Sinan,
We're glad you found our service convenient that you're thoroughly satisfied, and we'll let the tech support team know just how much they mean to you.

Regarding mobile compatibility, thank you for the feedback. We recently launched mobile meeting rooms for some roles, and expanding mobile support is on our roadmap. We continue to announce new features to our existing customers via email, so look out for that, and you might want to follow us on social media as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Charlotte M.
Industry: Market Research
Company size: Self Employed

Great functionality

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/06/25
Review Source: Capterra

Qualitative research interviews and mini groups to help understand and solve marketing challenges.

Pros

Intuitive and easy to use platform that is thoughtfully designed to help qualitative researchers get the most out of each online session.

Cons

The software is great but the recruiting side of things could be improved.

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Charlotte, Thanks for your review. I think you succinctly hit the nail on the head about our product being about getting the most out of each online session. I'll pass on your kind words about being "thoughtfully" designed to our product and design team.

Regarding how we could improve recruiting, we'd be really keen for your specific feedback.

Respondent recruitment is an important feature of ours, and we pride ourselves on being industry leading in this respect. We recruit in 90 countries, and set a higher bar for letting people in than most companies do, resulting in better respondent quality. We even score people on articulation and creativity - we look for 3 sentence answers and not three word answers.

Having said that, any way we can improve, we'd be keen to know. Thanks again!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Thanyaporn W.
Industry: Research
Company size: Self Employed

Good platform for in-depth interviews

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/06/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This platform serves everything you need for an in-depth interview. It has recording function. Observers can mark timing during interview for short video clips that they may use afterward. There is also a translator’s audio channel in case that the interviews are in different language. The platform is easy to use and the support is very helpful. They check up everything/all parties before starting the session, therefore the interviews are seamless.

Cons

there are 2 chat rooms for moderator (private and public). At first it confused me which room to use for chatting with the observers, so I ended up using the irrelevant chat room trying to chat with the observers during the interview.

Response from Discuss.io

Thank you Thanyaporn for your kind review. We're glad you had a seamless experience with us, and are glad you got the most out of our powerful features.

We're sorry you had some difficulty and confused the private and public chat. We've since released some new support documentation, and have new videos coming out which will clearly demonstrate the difference. There's also the Help button which you can use for support.

You'll be pleased to know we are releasing a private chat feature in the next few weeks that will allow you to select which observers you want to chat with.

We are constantly rolling out updates to make things easier, clearer, and more intuitive. One examples includes the recent allocation of colors for each respondent, outlining their video, and in their whiteboarding.

We're always keen for feedback, so please don't hesitate to reach out or ask for help if you have any problems.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Natalie V.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Amazing Platform (particularly now)

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/21
Review Source: Capterra

My go-to for video interviews and focus groups. Support is excellent so you are never on your own. They can handle all the recruiting (great quality too) and it's a really great way to gain insights, get feedback on concepts, share materials etc. The save clips is amazing if you want to incorporate videos into your presentation too.

Pros

Easy to use, delivers what you need, saves travel, (good for international research too), seamless projects every time.

Cons

n/a works very well as in, cant even think of an improvement.

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Natalie,
Thanks for your lovely review. We appreciate your partnership. We're glad you're having a great experience with us and that we're your go-to solution for focus groups. We're proud of the high quality of our respondents, and believe our recruiting is something that sets us apart. I'll pass on your praise to our wonderful support team. Thanks again.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Krizia marie sabrina C.
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 201-500 Employees

A great platform for your in-depth and focus group discussions

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/25
Review Source: Capterra

Discuss.Io has been helping me conduct my interviews and translations online in a breeze! This platform is highly recommended especially nowadays where we are all geared online due to the world health crisis.

Pros

I like the fact that they have other options to reconnect the users to the platform right away if in case there are internet connection problems. This is very useful especially in a country who is infamous for having bad internet connection! :-))

Cons

As a moderator, I tend to forget to tick the questions sometimes while interviewing. It would be great if they can do that automatically since they also have the auto-transcriber, if they could identify already which questions have been asked. But this is just an additional feature, so it is still actually a very helpful tool.

Response from Discuss.io

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. The integrated ability to call respondents on the phone whose internet connection has dropped and be able to continue is a frequently used feature which we don't tout often enough.

As for automatically checking questions, thank you for the awesome suggestion. We will investigate the feasibility.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Nice Global Platform; used for first time during Covid Crisis

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/21
Review Source: Capterra

Great experience with awesome communication as the focus groups played out and the tech support, when needed (not often) was excellent. If this platform can scale to handle more focus group participants, I would be inclined to use in every country

Pros

Easy to use functionality, clarity of sound and visuals, real-time (no lag effect) when listening to consumers during focus groups. Nice internal group chat features and communication with moderator and translator for international groups in Japan as well.

Cons

Ideally, this platform will scale. Currently, the system can manage up to 6 participants in Zoom-like format but that includes moderator. In a country such as Japan, that works. In Europe and US, you would obviously want to recruit groups of at least 6 so that presents issues as right now the platform can’t handle that load.

Response from Discuss.io

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you had such a wonderful experience, and we could help you keep running when the Covid Crisis hit. Our tech support team are indeed fantastic, and I'll pass on your praise. Thank you. Regarding our limitation on participants, this is to ensure a uniform, stable experience worldwide and takes into account bandwidth and CPU requirements to provide the best possible connection.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Camille R.
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Best for Research Industry

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2020/09/02
Review Source: Capterra

so far the discuss.io, is good platform in research industry, you can see how the respondent internet ability also the observer and all in one room. also the Tech Support ability in a room. it made easier to the subcriber and the other team. :)

Pros

i like how the Tech Support Ability in the platform. it helps a lot to the team.

Cons

So far i was having difficult downloading the Video files. Because of a large files per video.

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Camille,
Thanks for your review. We're glad our tech support team exceeded your expectations! They really are a massive help. So too is the ability to see respondent and observer's internet speed extremely useful (and great for vetting candidates). Regarding large file sizes, it is true video files are large, especially since our standard interview length is an hour! Our editing tools allow you to quickly and easily edit down entire projects to just the important bits and save them as a highlight reel, which helps with file size and makes sharing learnings with colleagues a breeze.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Athalia charein J.
Industry: Tobacco
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Going Digital to Reach Consumers

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

Going digital in talking to consumers was such a plus especially during the pandemic.

Pros

You can see the respondent and yourself during the interview. Ease of presenting visuals. You have a guide on the side and can chat with observers.

Cons

No concerns, really happy with the software. Only concern is internet connection.

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Athalia,
Thank you for your review. We're glad to have supported you in pandemic research and hope you'll join the growing number of customers who say they'll never go back to face-to-face! One of the many reasons we hear this is the interactive discussion guide you mentioned in the meeting room.

Regarding internet connection, we understand how important it is to provide a fast, stable experience from anywhere in the world. In recent weeks, we released changes that make our platform and meeting room faster to load, making it easier to participate in low-bandwidth environments. Our phone support allows participants struggling with bandwidth to continue to participate until the internet connection recovers and video can resume. We are always working to improve, and these changes are just the beginning.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Manfred W.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great meeting software

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/06/24
Review Source: Capterra

Very good experience, connection is top, all necessary translations are done perfectly

Pros

Ease of use and uncomplicated process and great tech support

Cons

Nothing up to now, would like to have the chance to use it more often

Response from Discuss.io

Thank you for your wonderful review. We're proud of our tech support and translation team, and the consistent praise they receive from clients.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ekaterina K.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

User experience for consumer immersions

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

We did a consumer research: consumer immersions in individual and group mode. It was very convenient and productive to use discuss.io for this task. Especially I appreciate the feature when you can mark important moments in the video.

Pros

The platform was absolutely new for me, but very easy to understand, user friendly and with lots of helpful functions

Cons

A new user will anyway need 5-10 min guidance on the usage of the tools and someone to demonstrate functionality

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Ekaterina,
Thank you for your review. We're glad to bring efficiency and convenience to your individual and group consumer research. Marking important moments is one of our key features, and we're glad you like it.

Our stellar support team is always ready to help with moderator training, or you can take advantage of our extensive library of articles and videos for self-help if you prefer.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dave P.
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Sets Standard for Online Focus Groups

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

Enables me to recommend and execute online focus groups with peace of mind and confidence in delivering first call result every time.

Pros

A platform that is by far the most intuitive, easy to navigate and stable among solutions currently available.

Cons

Simple user interface, excellent 'backroom' functionality for clients and simultaneous interpretation and easy for respondents to participate without being constantly aware of the platform between them and the interviewer.

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Dave, thanks for your review. We're thrilled that you love our product and services, and recognize us as a cut above the rest. I'll pass on your praise to the design, product, development and customer success teams. Glad to be your partner in your research.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Matt M.
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Focus Group Review

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/08
Review Source: Capterra

Discuss.io has been great, and allowed us to continue researching during COVID.

Pros

The product is easy to use, especially in terms of sharing links and accessing the focus groups. The discuss.io team is largely fantastic, and I appreciate them adding new features and innovating often.

Cons

The only problem is that it may be better to have greater consistency across tech support. Technical difficulties obviously abound in this field, but each tech support has different competency levels with solving them, and different approaches. The tech support could be more communicative in general.

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Matt,
Thank you for your feedback and for being part of the Discuss.io community. We strive for quality and consistency across all our live support sessions. We've experienced rapid growth this year and have instituted new training programs and product efficiencies which will help with consistencies across current and new staff as we ramp up new projects and continue to roll out new product features and innovations.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Dalia B.
Industry: Market Research
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Happy to communicate

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/21
Review Source: Capterra

This is a tool that has helped us advance with work and stay in contact and up to date. Easy to administer. A wonderful way to work from anywhere!

Pros

I liked the fact that we were several people working on the platform and everything was clear and audible for everyone. I liked that it was easy to set up for new users

Cons

I cannot day if there is something missing at this time. The set up is pretty easy. No problems from our end

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Dalia,
Thanks for your review. We're glad we were able to get you working from anywhere, and that you find it so easy to set up and use. I'll pass your praise on to the product team. Thanks!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

The next big thing in the market

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/09/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It was super easy to blend the business requirements with this software.

Cons

As such there are no such drawbacks, but if the speed can be improved a little, then there would be a significant improvement.

Response from Discuss.io

Hi there,
Thanks for your review. We're thrilled that you find our product flexible enough to meet your various business needs. Regarding speed, we are continually working to improve performance, with recent changes released to improve page load time and lighten the meeting room for low-bandwidth connections. We are never done, and look forward to improving even more in the months to come.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Aída M.
Industry: Translation & Localization
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Best platform for remote research from an interpreter's perspective

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/21
Review Source: Capterra

Focus group interpretation from Spanish into English. Communication was seamless using this platform. All in one solution with amazing tech support!

Pros

The product is easy to use, user experience is great.

Cons

Hard as I think, I can't find any downsides to using this platform.

Response from Discuss.io

Thank you so much, Aida! We're so glad that your experience as an interpreter using our platform has been so fantastic. We're glad we can make communication seamless, and yes, our tech support team is amazing. I'll send them your thanks. Our thanks to you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Paola R.
Industry: Facilities Services
Company size: Self Employed
Translate to English
Translate to English

Discuss.io ¡Por favor, no te quedes atrás!

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/21
Review Source: Capterra

Mi primer experiencia un año atrás fue muy buena (desde una oficina, utilizando y compartiendo estímulos, etc.
Este año desde mi hogar, mi experiencia fue media. La parte de moderación fue buena, pero en el debrief, tuve muuucchooos problemas de desconexión y mi participación se perdió! Entiendo que esto se debe a la conexión hogareña.

Pros

Conocí Discuss, el año pasado y me encantó porque sentí que reunía muchos requisitos necesarios para poder hacer investigación cualitativa en línea. Hasta ahí mi experiencia en este tipo de plataformas era sólo con Focus Vision y Zoom.
Lo que más valoro es la asistencia técnica constante durante la experiencia. Es una tranquilidad tanto para el cliente/observador como para el moderador, no tener que estar pendiente de la conexión de los entrevistados.
Otros puntos valorados en ese momento eran:
+ La posibilidad de hablar por un canal privado entre observador y moderador sin intervención de los entrevistados (hoy idem ZOOM)
+ La observación oculta de los clientes (posibilidad de muchos observadores sin incomodar a los participantes) En esto no se si influye en la conexión y soporte de la plataforma como si lo o hace en zoom.

Cons

Hay una gran debilidad de la plataforma y es que consume una gran cantidad de datos y memoria de los equipos en uso. Esto se evidencia en que los asistentes técnicos suelen pedir que no utilicemos otros programas o que los participantes no tengan conectados otros dispositivos a la red.
A partir de la Pandemia surgen dos temas importantes al respecto:
- La necesidad de realizar todo tipo de facilitaciones online, lleva a que se deban utilizar simultáneamente otras plataformas como ser Mural.
- La conexión es hogareña, compartimos un lugar no preparado para que todos los habitantes de la casa estén conectados, con lo cual la conectividad es baja.
En este sentido, la plataforma Offerwise tiene un sistema tan liviano, que se pueden realizar entrevistas hasta con sectores vulnerables, que utilizan datos o el wifi gratuito de las plazas. ESO SI ES UN UPGRADE!!

Otro punto importante es que lo que hoy muchas acciones de co-creación se realizan con la participación del cliente y del consumidor, con lo cual que el cliente esté oculto ya no es un must.... entonces, por qué pagar la diferencia vs. ZOOM? u Offerwise?

Translate to English

Response from Discuss.io

Hi Paola, thanks for your review. We understand how important it is to provide a fast, stable experience from anywhere in the world. In recent weeks, we released changes that make our platform and meeting room faster to load, making it easier to participate in low-bandwidth environments. Our phone support allows participants struggling with bandwidth to continue to participate until the internet connection recovers and video can resume. We are always working to improve, and these changes are just the beginning.
While some research is indeed collaborative in nature, many situations necessitate an unbiased research environment. This is where our observer experience, backroom, and private chat functionality shines. The flexibility of our platform allows end clients to be as involved or as hidden as you like!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10