Busuu

Language learning tool for schools and corporate businesses

Overall rating

4,4 /5
(15)
Value for Money
4/5
Features
4,7/5
Ease of Use
4,7/5
Customer Support
4,3/5

87%
recommended this app
Sort by

15 Reviews

Mohamed
Mohamed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A wonderful platform to learn a new language

Reviewed on 2023/02/13

A well-designed platform that helped me to improve my language skills.

A well-designed platform that helped me to improve my language skills.

Pros

I love that I have the option to learn more than one language, also I like the tests and quizzes for each lesson.

Cons

It just needs a free trial with full access before purchasing any price plan.

Francisco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A more professional way to learn

Reviewed on 2021/09/28

Learning languages is like learning an instrument, you have to and it comes with great benefits for...

Learning languages is like learning an instrument, you have to and it comes with great benefits for mental work and productivity. Also givin the freedom to choose any offered language is very attractive.

Pros

We all love good apps and services that help you practice languages, but the thing I love the most about Busuu is the interaction with other actual native people, something that doesn't have any other app I know. The cources are complete and you can get certifications from McGraw-Hill.

Cons

I think this is the first time I have nothing to complain about a product.

Alternatives Considered

Duolingo

Reasons for Choosing Busuu

A more professional approach.

Switched From

Duolingo
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Good, not great

Reviewed on 2024/03/25

I like it but I think there are better and cheaper options to learn a language.

I like it but I think there are better and cheaper options to learn a language.

Pros

I like that there is also a community so you can talk to people that speak the language that you want to learn or your native language -to correct or help people who are learning it-.

Cons

I don’t like the platform, it can be very confusing and I don’t like the excessive use of stock photos. Also I tried to learn a language that uses a different alphabet (Russian) and the people corrected me with that alphabet when I was only starting so I didn’t understand anything.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Well structured for learning

Reviewed on 2022/04/11

Very well structured and perfect user interface.

Very well structured and perfect user interface.

Pros

My first user impression on using Bus is how well structured it is. Everything for language learning is perfectly organized and offers a lot of flexibility in how I learn Spanish. I took the placement test at the start which fitted me in the right step. I am able to schedule lessons to fit my daily routine. What I like most is the interactive material and video of local Spanish speakers

Cons

The program is relatively cheaper with a longterm subscription but a bit expensive on a month to month premium subscription. I found that I am able to do more with the basic/free Duolingo than Busuu.

Wonyoung
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Busuu review

Reviewed on 2023/03/17

Pros

Despite having a small number of languages, busuu's content is of extremely good quality. The program is well-made and expertly executed. Busuu is one of the best free language learning applications, but the premium version offers many benefits at a reasonable price.

Cons

The classes are merely lazily translated versions of the same content.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great application for learning languages

Reviewed on 2022/03/27

Pros

The thing I enjoy the most is the easy sequence of lessons that makes you master the content and master the language in all respects

Cons

I did not like that the evaluation of exercises did not receive much attention among the other learners, so I hope that a reward system will be developed to encourage them to evaluate

Orhan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Busuu

Reviewed on 2022/07/03

I can communicate with my students in fluent English now that I have this app.

I can communicate with my students in fluent English now that I have this app.

Pros

People from all over the world and speakers of several languages can be found in Busuu. People who speak the language we want to learn become our friends. These friends have a lot to teach us. For example, in some exercises we write short texts or make sound recordings.Our errors are corrected by our friends. They assist us in properly speaking and writing.

Cons

We learn succinct sentences through the software. I wish the sentences were longer. There aren't any stories on the app, which is a problem because I'd like to read some in the language we're studying. and also we can't talk to friends I 'd like to talk to my friends on app

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quick and Easy Language Learning

Reviewed on 2022/07/01

Pros

The exercises repeat to ensure that you learn words and phrases. The interface is clean and easy to use

Cons

The number of languages is fairly limited compared to others, however it has the popular ones that you need.

Emirhan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Is it worth your money?

Reviewed on 2022/06/18

It is one of the rare platforms where I learn the language that I enjoy taking lessons in.

It is one of the rare platforms where I learn the language that I enjoy taking lessons in.

Pros

The fact that the courses are carefully selected and act according to a certain level encourages you to be more disciplined and more educational.

Cons

Sometimes the excitement of the lesson is gone. And it needs to be more stimulating.
Unlike other language courses, it may cost a little

Osarumwense
Osarumwense
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Brilliant for learning new languages

Reviewed on 2021/08/09

Pros

I used the free version and it was pretty cool. The user interface is nice. I like that the lessons are interactive, and engaging.

Cons

Their subscriptions for premium service are billed upfront, but the ads say otherwise...that's not fair.
Few times, I encountered some glitches...the app is nice anyway.

Lawrent
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent program with a few shortcomings

Reviewed on 2022/03/27

Busuu allows me to quickly go through the guided lessons and follow my progress. The community is...

Busuu allows me to quickly go through the guided lessons and follow my progress. The community is also great for helping others progress (when you help, you learn too.)
The program also focuses on blended learning and makes learning fun and engaging.

Pros

Its comprehensive learning path, engaging lessons, track report, and goal setting feature. The placement test to know where you should start.

Cons

Three main issues:
1. Sometimes, questions in a lesson do not help with understanding. For example, you have to choose between WILL and IS GOING TO, but Busuu corrects the syntax instead.
2. Non-native speakers. I understand that English does not belong to one variety of English; however, for learning purposes, only native speakers of English should be used in the program.
3. Corrections (community). Poor correction skills can lead learners to make mistakes. Corrections should be reviewed.

Julien
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Bad way to learn a language and very bad customer service

Reviewed on 2021/12/07

Honestly, if you really want to learn a new language, don't use this kind of app.
It can be fun,...

Honestly, if you really want to learn a new language, don't use this kind of app.
It can be fun, you feel like you're improving but you're not.
It's like a social network, they're using different techniques to get you "addicted" to the rewards but in the end, you're just wasting your time.

Pros

The interaction with other students.
You can help others learning your native language and be helped to learn a new one.

Cons

The customer service.
I didn't use this app for 6 month and stopped my subscription before the renewal but it didn't work.
Still, the customer service wanted to charge me for another year.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Meet with native speakers to learn a new language!

Reviewed on 2022/04/16

Pros

I love that they offer live 1-to-1 lessons or group classes.

Cons

Wish they had more language options like Korean

Gianfranco
Gianfranco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Imparare le lingue del mondo con stile e praticità

Reviewed on 2023/04/08

Imparare le lingue curiosando tra i membri della community e esercizi molto utili.

Imparare le lingue curiosando tra i membri della community e esercizi molto utili.

Pros

La funzionalità più importante di Busuu è quella di aiutarti a studiare bene una lingua straniera con esercizi semplici, correzioni e mettendo a disposizione una community di utenti interessati a te e all'apprendimento. Punto di forza di questa app è che mette a disposizione un cocktail frizzante di informazioni, utilità e praticità allo stesso tempo.

Cons

Il piano di abbonamento potrebbe essere un problema per utenti di fascia medio bassa.

Pedro
Pedro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excelente ferramenta para treinar línguas

Reviewed on 2023/01/12

A correção das pronuncias e a aprendizagem de termos coloquiais é o que mais me beneficiou.

A correção das pronuncias e a aprendizagem de termos coloquiais é o que mais me beneficiou.

Pros

A existência de uma comunidade de pessoas nativas do idioma que você quer aprender e aperfeiçoar é excelente. Ajuda muito a aprender vocabulário e pronuncia. As avaliações ao final de cada nível ajudam a consolidar o que foi aprendido.

Cons

Por vezes há repetição excessiva de alguns tipos de exercícios. Poderiam ter maior variedade.