iMIS

4,3 (84)
Cloud-based nonprofit and membership management software

Overall rating

4,3 /5
(84)
Value for Money
4,0/5
Features
4,2/5
Ease of Use
3,9/5
Customer Support
4,1/5

88%
recommended this app
Sort by

84 Reviews

Michelle Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Been Using this CRM for 9+ Years

Reviewed on 2019/01/30

Love iMIS for the most part! Does everything I need it to do and there are user organizations out there that offer great free resources for this product.

Pros

This is the highest-rated association management software out there, which is the reason why my organization went with them. They've also been around for quite sometime, which is also a plus. The software does what you need and can be customized in almost every way possible.

Cons

It is definitely on the pricier side of the spectrum, but is worth it for the most part. Also, customization became much cheaper in the newest version but if you're on an older version, it can be expensive to customize.

Jon L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Endless capabilities, not the simplest EMS but it does a lot

Reviewed on 2021/05/20

Members are easily able to manage their membership status, event registrations, company info, contact info. We are able to offer a member experience with members-only content, event registrations based on membership, etc., which has been great in driving retention. We used to be an association that was based almost entirely on events but now about half of our members each year don't attend any events and are here for the other benefits, many of which we make available through members-only content on iMIS. Great responsive website through the iMIS RISE tool.

Pros

We did not previously have an AMS in place, we were a "data silo" association with many different buckets of information that needed to be imported/exported on a regular basis. iMIS has been a great piece for us in integrating our membership and event management, automated email marketing, mobile app, LMS, SMS texting and other things. Our membership/event marketing has improved greatly due to this. Our membership has more than doubled over the past six years and we would have had to add staff members if we didn't have this in place.

Cons

iMIS isn't the easiest system to configure, we have a consultant to deal with the implementation and setup. Some of the features like the built in email marketing aren't the greatest, we integrated with Informz instead of using the iMIS email (iMIS/Informz integration has been GREAT, but extra cost). Integrations and possibilities with iMIS are basically unlimited, but each has its own cost. With that said, we are doing a lot for our members that we didn't do prior to implementing iMIS.

Reasons for Switching to iMIS

Every other system we considered, eventually a key question was answered "we can't do that" or "it doesn't work that way". With iMIS we could make every business rule work the way we needed it to.
Amy A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

iMIS

Reviewed on 2018/10/24

As a new user, iMIS is overwhelming and difficult to learn. After meeting with long term users they say iMIS is the "devil you know" once you learn the system it's better to keep working with it than try another database software. I am hopeful the iMIS Cloud will be easier to navigate and learn, but I feel iMIS users should not have to have programming background or decades of experience with iMIS to be comfortable using it.

Pros

As a very new user, it seems to have some functionality that eliminates manual work. For those who know how to use and program databases, I believe it has good functionality.

Cons

It is very difficult for new users to learn. Even with education and training, it takes years to get good at using iMIS. Every team needs to have someone with a programming background in order to fully utilize iMIS. Resellers have so many customers it can be difficult to get your tickets addressed timely.

Sarah I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Customizable and Powerful

Reviewed on 2021/02/02

I've worked with iMIS for 13 years, and I'm very excited about iMIS Cloud and the improvements and additions that come with it. I'm able to customize what staff sees depending on their role, hiding information they don't need. The newest reporting tool is exciting, as is the new form builder. We're able to integrate tradeshow, LMS, and app software into iMIS, which allows us to streamline business across the association. The learning subscription and performance improvement program have been worthwhile for us as well. Highly recommend.

Pros

I've enjoyed working with iMIS for 13 years. Once you learn the system it's highly customizable and can handle pretty much anything you need it to. There are many experiential upgrades with the new iMIS Cloud version that create a simpler interface with better design options and functionality for staff.

Cons

I've found the learning curve to be a little steep with new users. The benefits of a powerful system that handles a ton of data work against light users who don't need and have trouble sifting through all of that data. I have staff that don't like using the system and avoid it whenever possible because they have trouble learning it well.

Alternatives Considered

MemberClicks and Salesforce Sales Cloud

Reasons for Switching to iMIS

iMIS gave us the right combination of affordability and functionality.
Gary M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sports
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

iMIS Has Moved Us Out Of The Dark Ages

Reviewed on 2021/05/19

Our CEO described the project as the best IT implementation he had ever seen and I have to agree.

Pros

iMIS is easy to use and is logical. If you don't know where to find something it's easy to work out. The process automation has been the real game changer for us, saving precious time for both our staff and end users.

Cons

Gift Aid not yet functional but we have found a work around for this.

Alternatives Considered

Salesforce Platform

Reasons for Choosing iMIS

Forced upon us by our supplier, but we are far better off now.

Switched From

Tribe Dynamics

Reasons for Switching to iMIS

Price and ease of use. Everything we need is here with iMIS.
Jean D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

iMIS is customizable

Reviewed on 2016/10/11

We use iMIS for our tracking our members' activities, billing dues, fundraising, AR, and event registration & management.

iMIS is very customizable , however, because of that, out of the box it doesn't entirely manage what we needed as a business. We work with a reseller that has been terrific to help us meet all of our business needs and understand what we needed to do to get there. The possibilities are basically endless as to what you can do with it, it just requires a lot of work to get there. But no two businesses are exactly alike are they?!

ASI has been on the slow side to move the application to a browser-based system, which, when complete, will be welcome, however, once again, will require alot of work to create the site with all the custom data we have. So, even once that transition is complete, we have our own homework to do to set it live for our business.

Attending the NiUG Conferences is very helpful and provides insight to how others are using it and just how large and complex the product really is.

Pros

how customizable it is!

Cons

that we have to customize it to work for us! We have wanted to integrate it with other softwares and it is not always easy to do this, and it is not the end-all be-all product for everything, but it certainly is the base to build on.

Alyssa M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Everything you need in one place!

Reviewed on 2019/12/18

I don't think I could ever see us switching from iMIS, the fact that there are so many functional options under one roof make it a powerhouse product. It also provides a seemless experience for our members!

Pros

I love that there are so many different functionalities of this software. We use it for our membership, for fundraising, for events, for data collection and there is still so much more that we could get out of this software. It's customizable features are really a bonus and I love that I can share customized data with our board directly in their dashboard!

Cons

I find it a steep learning curve, now that I have worked with the software for a while it's easy but it takes some time. Thankfully there is a supportive community and ample training opportunities!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

iMIS Review

Reviewed on 2018/11/05

The best aspects of this product are the fact that you can generate quick queries on the fly using the built in query system (IQAs). Also with the built-in CMS system, developing an integrated website that is dynamic and fully integrated with the database is much easier. It's also good to have a wide network of developers and third party companies who can also provide support for the product.

Pros

Allows for high level of customization
Integrated CMS system for web page development
Integrated query reporting system
Large number of third party options for expanding and customizing the product
SQL access to the database

Cons

Upgrade process is time consuming and expensive
Slow development to make this a fully web-based product
Documentation is not as extensive as it could be and not geared to novice users

Peter K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Still the leading overall product

Reviewed on 2018/10/24

We are using iMIS not only for our core sales functions, particularly publication sales and dues capture, but also to integrate with many best-of-breed applications, such as Informz (Higher Logic), Higher Logic communities, Cadmium CD for conference apps like proposals, booth sales, and conference mobile app. We also integrate with our fulfillment house, job board, advocacy program, plus have custom online applications that utilize iMIS as the central repository.

Pros

The ability to provide SingleSignOn with virtually all of our 3rd-party applications enable us to capture information beyond the core functions of iMIS.

Cons

The awkward linkage between our website CMS and the iMIS online core.

Heather R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Robust AMS that takes time to learn

Reviewed on 2021/07/08

Overall this is a great AMS. I was never involved in the pricing but I understand that it is expensive but it can handle complicated membership models. I work for a smaller association now that would really benefit from the abilities of the system but its out of our affordability range.

Pros

There were seemingly endless capabilities. I used iMIS as my primary AMS for a couple years with a previous employer and used it as a vendor accessing clients systems for many years prior. I have seen many versions of iMIS and they always improve.

Cons

The reporting was always a bit challanging.

Larry S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very pleased with iMIS Cloud

Reviewed on 2019/12/02

From the date the agreement was signed until we were live was just under 90 days. Overall, very pleased and am glad we switched to iMIS. We have integrated with a conference app that has two way API, making my life that much easier.

Pros

Ease of use, great customer support, ability to create customized reports, integrating reports into our website, excellent - excellent online training on how to use the software.

Cons

The worksheet used for data conversion was difficult to understand - but the implementation team was very helpful. Also, some of the RISE templates had default settings that needed to be changed that I didn't realize until after we were live, but again, support was quickly able to pinpoint the issue so it could be corrected.

David R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Comprehensive, scale-able and a long term solution to member management

Reviewed on 2020/08/28

Our member engagement, association website and accounting system is all tied together to provide nearly seamless integration of business operations.

Pros

iMIS is build to meet the needs of changing technology. When new technologies come along you don't have to start all over again. There is a large body of third party providers to tie into any additional systems you need and they have an outstanding "independent" user group that is extremely helpful.

Cons

Learning the reporting system can be time consuming at first but as you get familiar with it that too is a very powerful system that lets you get whatever information out of your system that you need.

Barbara A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Magic of iMIS

Reviewed on 2021/02/23

Overall iMIS is what our organization has needed to be able to bring all of the services we provide to our customers together in one software program, before we had several departments working in different software's trying to function as one, now with iMIS all the departments work within the same software which allows the departments to function more as a combined unit.

Pros

I like the fact that iMIS is such a multi functional entity. The capabilities are amazing and to be able to perform so many different task and functions within one system is ideal.

Cons

As with any and many software products there can be hiccups that makes a task you are trying to perform difficult, for me with iMIS its the payment process for events, every now and then there is an error that prevents it from processing .

Greg W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Complex software that in the right hands can provide very rich data and information.

Reviewed on 2018/01/11

Pros

Extremely customizable software solution with hundreds of data fields and related tables. The user support network is friendly and very welcoming. The National user group offers extensive training options. The reseller network is robust. Once you figure out your standard operating procedures, it works very well. There are a lot of standard web site templates and integrating the database to websites gives the ability to provide very highly unique experiences to highly segmented audiences.

Cons

Requires advanced knowledge of databases and SQL reporting. Be prepared to have consultants do much of the maintenance work. To get the web sites working very well, requires knowledge of a proprietary CMS. Finding job candidates with experience using the software can be a challenge and training costs will be higher for that.

Valerie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

iMIS Software for Associations

Reviewed on 2016/10/11

We have used the software for almost 20 years and have recently upgraded to the cloud version. The move from an older version to the current was very easy. Customer Support has been very responsive to our needs.

Pros

The basic functions are included in the general package, but you can upgrade if needed. With the cloud version, as new changes are made they are included at no extra fee. You can access your data and the product where ever you have access to the internet. Works well with most computers as is not actually on your system.

Cons

In using the cloud version if your band wide is not fast or if you have problems with your internet connection you don't have access to your data.

Brenda F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

First Powerful Database I had used.

Reviewed on 2017/05/16

It was a powerful tool but I have found comparable solutions for a lot less expense than iMIS. With a small staff, it is hard to expend the kind of money you'd need for iMIS.

Pros

Easy to use. Powerful. Did most everything we needed it to do. I was the power user in the office for 10 years. If you know SQL queries, you'll be able to run a lot of custom reports to fit your business needs. After moving to another non-profit, I found that there were less expensive solutions which were comparable or better. No need to spend a lot of money to get what you need for your businesses database and website solutions.

Cons

Needed lots of customization for our use. At the time, was not a database/web platform. I believe it is now with the RISE platform.

Kara B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The system is user friendly and customizable allowing us to access and report member data.

Reviewed on 2018/06/13

Pros

It is centralize data collection, storage, and reporting system. We manage multiple state specialty societies and are able to have one record for individuals that are have dual memberships. This also allows individuals to pay dues for multiple organizations, and give voluntary contributions all in one place.

Cons

The reporting feature, IQA, can be very intimidating. Since one may pull reports from a single or multiple sections and data fields within the system, understanding how to obtain the desired data can be time consuming at first, however, with experience it is very easy to retrieve data quickly and easily.

Ellen T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great CRM

Reviewed on 2019/11/22

Pros

The flexibility you have for customizing. You can create your own business objects, reports, queries, etc, but still fall back on the standard ones that come "out of the box." Very helpful for new users or people just getting started...or if you need ideas on how to do something. Can integrate with other products.

Cons

If you hire someone new, it can be hard to get them trained on all the features...especially if they have no previous database experience. It is also expensive; and different features have to be added on for extra cost. May not be the best option cost-wise for smaller organizations.

Victor D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Twenty Years on iMIS

Reviewed on 2016/10/11

We have used iMIS for almost twenty years and during that time our organization has changed dramatically. The development of the iMIS platform over the years has allowed us to evolve our business objectives and enhance our ability to better serve our members and industry in an ever changing technological world. We have been able to take advantage of the myriad of iMIS features and enhancements to strengthen our operations, while also integrating 3rd party software as needed to leverage our iMIS investment. Looking forward to another 20 years of iMIS!

Pros

iMIS is always evolving and adapting to new technologies and business practices.

Teri B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Installation and implementation of upgrades have gone smoothly, still on desktop.

Reviewed on 2017/07/18

Pros

The software allows is to maintain membership demographic information and organize the data in a way where staff have access to the information they need. Being able to create IQA for some of the requests has been most helpful.

Cons

While I understand everything off the the shelf isn't for every organization, more times than not, we've had to customize or build something totally out of iMIS to fulfill our needs. (i.e. our mandatory CLE tracking for each state is different. There's no flexibility in the iMIS CEU tracking for us to be able to do this in iMIS)

Bridget D.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Overall iMIS has been an improvement in our member management software.

Reviewed on 2018/01/16

Pros

We appreciate that is more robust than our previous system allowing to capture and track additional important data points, as well as keep relationships that we could not keep prior to switching. Although we are not a typical association, we've been able to adapt the system easily for our needs.

Cons

We find that the documentation available can be slight and it feels sometimes like the user end was not considered when doing upgrades. The transition to the staff site has also been difficult as all labels and naming have changed.

Travis P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

iMIS Review

Reviewed on 2020/10/23

Pros

- easy to use software
- lots of different options included in out of box software
- decent third party application integrations available
- IQA's are very easy to use and set up
- Marketing and Process Automation also are easy to set up and use

Cons

- our association needed to build quite a few custom pieces to meet our needs via a 3rd party
- some limits in some areas
- complicated scripts/reports don't transfer over well into iMIS web, need to overhaul reports to make them work

Ashish P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good membership system for associations or small organizations

Reviewed on 2019/12/02

Overall i liked this software which is perfectly designed for the membership management and easy to use. A lot of online training are available and annual iMIS conference is a great place to attend.

Pros

This software is easy to use and frequent improvements time to time. Also regular webinars for keeping everyone up to date with latest functions or features.

Cons

This software sometimes behave weird and hang. It still has some improvement area in terms of automation or artificial intelligence.

Stephanie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

iMIS is the backbone for our association

Reviewed on 2021/02/02

I have been a user of iMIS for over 13 years and I'm in it daily. The overall experience has been wonderful with iMIS. I have been involved with NiUG, the user group for iMIS and I've attended various events.

Pros

All of the features and functionality. iMIS has continued to improve as needs of associations have changed over the years.

Cons

iMIS is moving to the Cloud and for our association this is not an option at the moment due to customized billing and customized views to the database.

Liz G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Lots of functionality for a small non-profit organization

Reviewed on 2019/01/29

Pros

iMIS is a one-stop shop for a membership-based organization. Lots of bells and whistles and good educational support to learn all those bells and whistles.

Cons

iMIS has been around for a long time, and as the company aims to make all functions browser-based, many of its old interface (desktop) remain necessary as they have yet to be adapted in a reliable way to browsers. We're not ready to let go of the desktop and won't be for a while.