71 reviews

iMIS

Cloud-based nonprofit and membership management software

4,3 /5 (71 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,1
Features
4,2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4,1
89% recommended this app
71 reviews
Michelle Y.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Been Using this CRM for 9+ Years

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/30
Review Source: Capterra

Love iMIS for the most part! Does everything I need it to do and there are user organizations out there that offer great free resources for this product.

Pros

This is the highest-rated association management software out there, which is the reason why my organization went with them. They've also been around for quite sometime, which is also a plus. The software does what you need and can be customized in almost every way possible.

Cons

It is definitely on the pricier side of the spectrum, but is worth it for the most part. Also, customization became much cheaper in the newest version but if you're on an older version, it can be expensive to customize.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Larry S.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Very pleased with iMIS Cloud

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/12/02
Review Source: Capterra

From the date the agreement was signed until we were live was just under 90 days. Overall, very pleased and am glad we switched to iMIS. We have integrated with a conference app that has two way API, making my life that much easier.

Pros

Ease of use, great customer support, ability to create customized reports, integrating reports into our website, excellent - excellent online training on how to use the software.

Cons

The worksheet used for data conversion was difficult to understand - but the implementation team was very helpful. Also, some of the RISE templates had default settings that needed to be changed that I didn't realize until after we were live, but again, support was quickly able to pinpoint the issue so it could be corrected.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Patty A.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Highly Recommended

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/10/08
Review Source: Capterra

I am very pleased and satisfied with the experience in having with IMIS. The software and staff are amazing.

Pros

It's very friendly user. It captures everything I need for my fundraising needs.

Cons

I have nothing but good to say about IMIS.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Amy A.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

iMIS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/24
Review Source: Capterra

As a new user, iMIS is overwhelming and difficult to learn. After meeting with long term users they say iMIS is the "devil you know" once you learn the system it's better to keep working with it than try another database software. I am hopeful the iMIS Cloud will be easier to navigate and learn, but I feel iMIS users should not have to have programming background or decades of experience with iMIS to be comfortable using it.

Pros

As a very new user, it seems to have some functionality that eliminates manual work. For those who know how to use and program databases, I believe it has good functionality.

Cons

It is very difficult for new users to learn. Even with education and training, it takes years to get good at using iMIS. Every team needs to have someone with a programming background in order to fully utilize iMIS. Resellers have so many customers it can be difficult to get your tickets addressed timely.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

David R.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Comprehensive, scale-able and a long term solution to member management

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

Our member engagement, association website and accounting system is all tied together to provide nearly seamless integration of business operations.

Pros

iMIS is build to meet the needs of changing technology. When new technologies come along you don't have to start all over again. There is a large body of third party providers to tie into any additional systems you need and they have an outstanding "independent" user group that is extremely helpful.

Cons

Learning the reporting system can be time consuming at first but as you get familiar with it that too is a very powerful system that lets you get whatever information out of your system that you need.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Peter K.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Still the leading overall product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/24
Review Source: Capterra

We are using iMIS not only for our core sales functions, particularly publication sales and dues capture, but also to integrate with many best-of-breed applications, such as Informz (Higher Logic), Higher Logic communities, Cadmium CD for conference apps like proposals, booth sales, and conference mobile app. We also integrate with our fulfillment house, job board, advocacy program, plus have custom online applications that utilize iMIS as the central repository.

Pros

The ability to provide SingleSignOn with virtually all of our 3rd-party applications enable us to capture information beyond the core functions of iMIS.

Cons

The awkward linkage between our website CMS and the iMIS online core.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Travis P.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

iMIS Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- easy to use software
- lots of different options included in out of box software
- decent third party application integrations available
- IQA's are very easy to use and set up
- Marketing and Process Automation also are easy to set up and use

Cons

- our association needed to build quite a few custom pieces to meet our needs via a 3rd party
- some limits in some areas
- complicated scripts/reports don't transfer over well into iMIS web, need to overhaul reports to make them work

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Tawedzera M.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

iMIS review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

Decision making is now ease. Appropriate dashboards created quick decision making and the availing of any sort of reports which initially was a challenge.
It is user friendly

Pros

Ease of use, flexible in reporting querying, agility

Cons

Difficult to upgrade from one version to another

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Reginald M.
Industry: Wine & Spirits
Company size: 11-50 Employees

iMIS Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/23
Review Source: Capterra

We are in a long financial relationship with iMIS and have no way to simply get out but it does what we need with a bit of help from ISG.

Pros

This is a very tough question for me for several reasons. One is that I have no experience with any other product. Two is that at one point when E-Series failed to live up to expectations we brought in ISGWeb to do many of the functions that I like the most. Three we have not transitioned to rISE yet.

Cons

The cost, now I do not know how much other software is in relation to what we get for our money but It seems pretty expensive to do anything and the license fees are high.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

George R.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Former leader in the field, past its prime.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/02
Review Source: Capterra

Most of my experience has been moving clients off of iMIS onto more modern cloud based platforms. If you have it, that is great, but they are still not ready to be considered a cloud based solution as of 2020.

Pros

iMIS had just about any future you need, and if it doesn't have it, there is a vendor that has built an interface to provide the functionality you need.

Cons

Configuring and using the product can be a pain. Everything goes through a reseller, creating a layer between the customer and supplier. This added layer increases markup, and also encourages consulting expenses by the retailer. Old model that does not work for the non profit industry.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Jean D.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

iMIS is customizable

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/10/11
Review Source: Capterra

We use iMIS for our tracking our members' activities, billing dues, fundraising, AR, and event registration & management.

iMIS is very customizable , however, because of that, out of the box it doesn't entirely manage what we needed as a business. We work with a reseller that has been terrific to help us meet all of our business needs and understand what we needed to do to get there. The possibilities are basically endless as to what you can do with it, it just requires a lot of work to get there. But no two businesses are exactly alike are they?!

ASI has been on the slow side to move the application to a browser-based system, which, when complete, will be welcome, however, once again, will require alot of work to create the site with all the custom data we have. So, even once that transition is complete, we have our own homework to do to set it live for our business.

Attending the NiUG Conferences is very helpful and provides insight to how others are using it and just how large and complex the product really is.

Pros

how customizable it is!

Cons

that we have to customize it to work for us! We have wanted to integrate it with other softwares and it is not always easy to do this, and it is not the end-all be-all product for everything, but it certainly is the base to build on.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Greg W.

Complex software that in the right hands can provide very rich data and information.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Extremely customizable software solution with hundreds of data fields and related tables. The user support network is friendly and very welcoming. The National user group offers extensive training options. The reseller network is robust. Once you figure out your standard operating procedures, it works very well. There are a lot of standard web site templates and integrating the database to websites gives the ability to provide very highly unique experiences to highly segmented audiences.

Cons

Requires advanced knowledge of databases and SQL reporting. Be prepared to have consultants do much of the maintenance work. To get the web sites working very well, requires knowledge of a proprietary CMS. Finding job candidates with experience using the software can be a challenge and training costs will be higher for that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Valerie S.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

iMIS Software for Associations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/10/11
Review Source: Capterra

We have used the software for almost 20 years and have recently upgraded to the cloud version. The move from an older version to the current was very easy. Customer Support has been very responsive to our needs.

Pros

The basic functions are included in the general package, but you can upgrade if needed. With the cloud version, as new changes are made they are included at no extra fee. You can access your data and the product where ever you have access to the internet. Works well with most computers as is not actually on your system.

Cons

In using the cloud version if your band wide is not fast or if you have problems with your internet connection you don't have access to your data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Alyssa M.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Everything you need in one place!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

I don't think I could ever see us switching from iMIS, the fact that there are so many functional options under one roof make it a powerhouse product. It also provides a seemless experience for our members!

Pros

I love that there are so many different functionalities of this software. We use it for our membership, for fundraising, for events, for data collection and there is still so much more that we could get out of this software. It's customizable features are really a bonus and I love that I can share customized data with our board directly in their dashboard!

Cons

I find it a steep learning curve, now that I have worked with the software for a while it's easy but it takes some time. Thankfully there is a supportive community and ample training opportunities!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

iMIS Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/05
Review Source: Capterra

The best aspects of this product are the fact that you can generate quick queries on the fly using the built in query system (IQAs). Also with the built-in CMS system, developing an integrated website that is dynamic and fully integrated with the database is much easier. It's also good to have a wide network of developers and third party companies who can also provide support for the product.

Pros

Allows for high level of customization
Integrated CMS system for web page development
Integrated query reporting system
Large number of third party options for expanding and customizing the product
SQL access to the database

Cons

Upgrade process is time consuming and expensive
Slow development to make this a fully web-based product
Documentation is not as extensive as it could be and not geared to novice users

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Brenda F.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

First Powerful Database I had used.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/05/16
Review Source: Capterra

It was a powerful tool but I have found comparable solutions for a lot less expense than iMIS. With a small staff, it is hard to expend the kind of money you'd need for iMIS.

Pros

Easy to use. Powerful. Did most everything we needed it to do. I was the power user in the office for 10 years. If you know SQL queries, you'll be able to run a lot of custom reports to fit your business needs. After moving to another non-profit, I found that there were less expensive solutions which were comparable or better. No need to spend a lot of money to get what you need for your businesses database and website solutions.

Cons

Needed lots of customization for our use. At the time, was not a database/web platform. I believe it is now with the RISE platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Kara B.

The system is user friendly and customizable allowing us to access and report member data.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is centralize data collection, storage, and reporting system. We manage multiple state specialty societies and are able to have one record for individuals that are have dual memberships. This also allows individuals to pay dues for multiple organizations, and give voluntary contributions all in one place.

Cons

The reporting feature, IQA, can be very intimidating. Since one may pull reports from a single or multiple sections and data fields within the system, understanding how to obtain the desired data can be time consuming at first, however, with experience it is very easy to retrieve data quickly and easily.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ellen T.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great CRM

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The flexibility you have for customizing. You can create your own business objects, reports, queries, etc, but still fall back on the standard ones that come "out of the box." Very helpful for new users or people just getting started...or if you need ideas on how to do something. Can integrate with other products.

Cons

If you hire someone new, it can be hard to get them trained on all the features...especially if they have no previous database experience. It is also expensive; and different features have to be added on for extra cost. May not be the best option cost-wise for smaller organizations.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Victor D.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Twenty Years on iMIS

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/10/11
Review Source: Capterra

We have used iMIS for almost twenty years and during that time our organization has changed dramatically. The development of the iMIS platform over the years has allowed us to evolve our business objectives and enhance our ability to better serve our members and industry in an ever changing technological world. We have been able to take advantage of the myriad of iMIS features and enhancements to strengthen our operations, while also integrating 3rd party software as needed to leverage our iMIS investment. Looking forward to another 20 years of iMIS!

Pros

iMIS is always evolving and adapting to new technologies and business practices.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Teri B.

Installation and implementation of upgrades have gone smoothly, still on desktop.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software allows is to maintain membership demographic information and organize the data in a way where staff have access to the information they need. Being able to create IQA for some of the requests has been most helpful.

Cons

While I understand everything off the the shelf isn't for every organization, more times than not, we've had to customize or build something totally out of iMIS to fulfill our needs. (i.e. our mandatory CLE tracking for each state is different. There's no flexibility in the iMIS CEU tracking for us to be able to do this in iMIS)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Bridget D.

Overall iMIS has been an improvement in our member management software.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We appreciate that is more robust than our previous system allowing to capture and track additional important data points, as well as keep relationships that we could not keep prior to switching. Although we are not a typical association, we've been able to adapt the system easily for our needs.

Cons

We find that the documentation available can be slight and it feels sometimes like the user end was not considered when doing upgrades. The transition to the staff site has also been difficult as all labels and naming have changed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ashish P.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good membership system for associations or small organizations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/02
Review Source: Capterra

Overall i liked this software which is perfectly designed for the membership management and easy to use. A lot of online training are available and annual iMIS conference is a great place to attend.

Pros

This software is easy to use and frequent improvements time to time. Also regular webinars for keeping everyone up to date with latest functions or features.

Cons

This software sometimes behave weird and hang. It still has some improvement area in terms of automation or artificial intelligence.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Liz G.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Lots of functionality for a small non-profit organization

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

iMIS is a one-stop shop for a membership-based organization. Lots of bells and whistles and good educational support to learn all those bells and whistles.

Cons

iMIS has been around for a long time, and as the company aims to make all functions browser-based, many of its old interface (desktop) remain necessary as they have yet to be adapted in a reliable way to browsers. We're not ready to let go of the desktop and won't be for a while.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Beth K.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Overall I think it is a great product, mostly can be customized to what you need it to do.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/11
Review Source: Capterra

Flexibility and easy to use, seamless integration with website, customizable, time saving reporting

Pros

The system is pretty intuitive and easy to use, to customize and to report out from. Flexibility to customize data collection and reporting, seems to have much more capacity than how we are using it, and each update release captures information and data points pertinent with the changing landscape of today's associations.

Cons

Some missing reporting - it is a membership system yet unlike modules for meetings, orders, etc. it is not able to produce a membership receipt for dues payments through the system.
Also, some compatibility problems with exporting data to other vendor platforms. Can work around the issues, just takes a little bit more time and effort to make it work.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Our company has been using iMIS for at least a decade. Very easy to use and functional!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is easy to use, and takes care of everything we want in a CRM. There's out-of-the-box functionality as well as custom; it just depends on what you want!

Cons

A bit pricey, but sometimes that's necessary. Sometimes wish there were more out-of-the-box features! It can sometimes be annoying having to upgrade all the time to fix small things, but it's a necessary thing we go through for these types of projects.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support