Showing 283 reviews of 264

Affinity Designer

Graphic & vector design software for creative professionals

4,7 /5 (264 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
Showing 283 reviews of 264
Trevor R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Better than the big name alternatives

Reviewed on 2021/02/16

I was able to replace the annual subscription for Adobe products with Affinity Designer (as well as Affinity Photo). As such, I got a much better value since I didn't need to use my Adobe products very often. Also I was easily able learn how to use Designer because of the learning resources they have and the community / forums are large so most questions are already out there and answered.

Pros

Affiniity Designer easily and immediately replaced my existing vector graphics program I was using before it (Illustrator). As such there was no major learning curve or wasted time switching over. Further, even though there is no subscription required, the software only continues to improve!

Cons

Even though it's not a major change from Illustrator, you do have to get used to a few things that are different. Not a big deal.

Philip M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Graphics Design Software

Reviewed on 2020/11/06

We use this for 90% of the design work. The other 10% is Affinity Photo. They are both amazing products that work very well together to cover all of our design needs.

Pros

Affinity Designer has all the features of other, more expensive software options, with a clean customizable interface. It loads faster than other software we have used and are very responsive to customer requests.

Cons

Truthfully there's very little negative about Affinity Designer. Every con I've had has been addressed by the company and fixed or added. If something does come up, I'm sure they'll fix it or integrate a new function.

Rajesh K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ditch Adobe Illustrator. Get Affinity Designer NOW

Reviewed on 2020/10/07

I love this tool for graphic design. The learning curve is short, the tool itself is inexpensive (no recurring cost) and I look forward to use it on a daily basis - it's so intutive.

Pros

The best thing about Affinity Designer is not that it is feature rich, but that it has all the essential features for designing/illustration. This software can be bought for a low price (one-time) unlike Adoble Illustrator which demands you pay monthly license fee. The software is easy and intutive to use and I was able to learn the essentials within a week or so. You get basic photo editing features like selection tools for cropping, blending modes, etc.

Cons

Certain useful features like gradient map, 3D, mockups, etc. that are available in Illustrator may not be available with Affinity Designer. But I am OK with this - too many features make us forget essential ones. Besides, the magic wand tool available in Affinity Photo is not available in Affinity Designer - for precise cropping of people, etc. I wish Affinity Designer and Affinity Photo were a single software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Better than I expected

Reviewed on 2020/04/24

I saw ads for the Affinity suite in the past, but always dismissed them as one of those half-baked knock-offs of photoshop that like to rope you in with "free"trials that don't let you save your files or something. Turns out I was very wrong! Affinity Designer and Publisher are both legitimate and very good pieces of software. They are feature rich, have some innovative features that aren't seen in other software and have ongoing development with regular updates.

Affinity Designer is quite intuitive, can do most things Illustrator can, can open and edit Illustrator files, so the transition was very smooth, with hardly any learning curve. Still had to google some to to figure out how certain operations were done in Designer that were different to Illustrator, and grapple with a few odd choices the devs made, over all I've been pretty pleased with Designer.

Decided to transition from Illustrator because it didn't make sense for us to pay for the subscription model because we only need to use it several times a year for creating product labels, and starting and cancelling subscriptions constantly is just cumbersome. Plus we already have a Photoshop and Lightroom subscription. I tried to move from Illustrator to Inkscape in the past, but that was just impossible, Inkscape can't open Illustrator files properly (even PDFs) and lacks so many features that it wasn't possible to use for what I needed it.

Pros

Coming from Illustrator, it's very easy to adapt to, just minor differences in some workflows, but mostly it's intuitive. It can open and edit Illustrator files if they are pdf compatible, even deal with complex things like knockout groups correctly. It's also has some great ideas that I was pleasantly surprised by that made the workflow better and faster. Affinity devs listen to user feedback and regularly update their apps, so any features that it lacks it will probably get soon.

Cons

Lack of a good font manager, it just takes the fonts you have installed in your OS. No Google fonts integration or anything like Adobe Fonts, so if you're missing fonts you have to manually find them online and (buy or) download them the old-fashioned way.

Some odd workflow choices, minor things that can slow you down. Like no native way to permanently reset the bounding box of an object after it has been rotated, they have a toggle that works for 1 operation and switches back to the (skewed or rotated) original. The align UI and the order of actions to chose what to align to what is strange and can waste time. Other minor things like that that I ran into, but all in all it works well and gets the job done.

Subigyan P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Affinity Designer is great option in designing market

Reviewed on 2020/05/04

Overall it was nice using Affinity designer. The major problem with it was it lacks some important tools which are existing in other software, which has been cleared out in newer updates. You can just make anything in it from website, app design to vector art and illustration which is a very nice point as this is only a single time payment software.

Pros

These major pros of the affinity designer I found
1. The software is an only one-time payment which makes the Affinity designer much more relevant than other subscription-based Softwares out there.
2. It consists of a lot of tools required for vector illustrations to UI/UX design to even web designs.
3. User Interface is very good compared to other Softwares out there in the market.
4. And at last, the cross-platform support from other software like adobe creative cloud suite makes it relevant for the price you pay.

Cons

There are not many cons you will get from this software actually one major con is
1. It lacks many tools compared to other competitive software in the industry

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent graphics design tool, Illustrator alternative!

Reviewed on 2019/10/15

Absolute pleasure! I couldn't afford the Adobe package but now I have Affinity Designer and Photo and it more than meets all my needs for website graphics and photo editing and design.

Pros

So much cheaper than Illustrator / Photoshop and packs all the features I need. Easy to use, easy to learn. Many tutorials from Affinity as well as other skilled users. Use it for simple projects or very in-depth. Replace expensive and subscription services with this one-time very reasonably priced vector graphics software. They also have an iPad app that is just as powerful and neither suck up resources!

Cons

If you are very used other software like Illustrator, it will take some time to adjust at first. You may have to find different ways to do the same task in Designer, but it is just a quick look-up away from learning.

Pranav S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best software for creating graphics and illustration for those who are new in this field

Reviewed on 2020/04/26

but my experience with affinity is very very positive and it's my first designer software and it really worked well for me. many many thanks to them.

Pros

when i was starting my career as an animator, so i need a program in which i work to create vector designs and illustration to animate. so i have 2 options in front of me adobe illustrator which is very popular and affinity designer. i have seen the interface of both, and i find affinity designer very easy and simple to create these illustration. it is less confusing for beginners. affinity has a better interface than adobe illustrator. i like it's features and they provided 2 different sections like design persona and pixel persona. it is very helpful for me. yes using affinity i have started my career and now i am successfully running my firm.

Cons

there is nothing to dislike about but as the area which they need to focus is exporting and file compatibility with other software's. this is the only one thing which i find little hard to deal with using affinity as i am using adobe after effects for animations and only eps and png files are supported so it's increases the work while exporting and also there is one problem with export. when exporting and submitting to websites like shutterstock it is unapproved because of rasterization problem and if i select nothing will be rasterized then it will remove all the effects like if i have choosen the transparency effect so it will remove the effect and give me solid color. so that's something i can't figure out till now.

Barbara C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Absolutely Outstanding!

Reviewed on 2019/11/13

It been beyond outstanding for us. Super satisfied and I can’t recommend it enough. It was super easy to migrate completely from the Adobe Suite. No hiccups at all.

Pros

It is lightning fast! And not to mention super affordable. Here is a piece of software with great customer support and an amazing community behind it.

It is very intuitive and the learning curve is not steep at all. In fact, far more intuitive than Adobe Suite.

Cons

So far, all good! Maybe how it opens files from the Adobe Suite could improve but it has nothing to do with Affinity as much as how Adobe packages their files.

Glen S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dump Illustrator and use this epically great software

Reviewed on 2019/12/02

Very positive, I like how much power I have over the image I create! And how there are not so many panels everywhere it takes a while to get used to if you are switching from Adobe, but there is an elegance to their thinking!

Pros

Fluid ease of use, very little is a struggle to understand! Compared to Illustrator this is an exercise in brilliant illustration vector software! This is quality software well thought out and a joy to use!

Cons

Nothing, although gradients could be easier to apply! They are a struggle to find, but once you do they are logical and easy to find, just do not expect to find a panel for everything like in Adobe software!

Adam P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best money I have ever spent on computer software

Reviewed on 2019/05/09

I LOVE AFFINITY DESIGNER!!! This software has been the absolute best money I have ever spent on a software program. This is a full-featured vector design tool that can stand toe to toe with programs like Adobe Illustrator which cost 10x more. If you are a graphic design professional that uses vector design tools every day it would probably be worth that extra expense to move up to AI, but Affinity Designer does 90% of what you'd get out of AI at a small fraction of the cost. Overall this program delivers a truly outstanding value! If you're searching for something like this and haven't yet committed to AI try Affinity Designer now!

Pros

Affinity Designer delivers an unbeatable feature set for the price.

Cons

Missing some more advanced features found in AI

Rick P.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Not really an Illustrator replacement, it still might be all many designers need

Reviewed on 2018/06/26

Pros

Adobe isn't exactly the most loved software company in the world right now, not even among designers who depend and even like its products. So if you dislike Adobe as much as I do, Serif's Affinity Designer has at least these things going for it: No subscriptions! Great, personal support! Engaged-with-the-community developers! Not built by a boring, unresponsive, impassive corporation that ignores its customers! But thankfully it's also a powerful and incredibly inexpensive piece of software. Stuff I really like:

1. Doesn't crash. I'm guessing that's because of good memory management, something I'm not sure Adobe has ever cared about.

2. Unlimited artboards! Yup, unlimited.

3. Split-screen and outline views with a keyboard shortcut. Nice!

4. Much, MUCH easier to work with pixels and vectors at the same time.

5. Did I mention that it's not Adobe?

Cons

Not as power-packed as Illustrator so some task still need Adobe, particularly for prepress. (For prototyping, you probably want Sketch.) Not as impressive as its sister application Affinity Photo. Proprietary format is obviously not an industry-standard like Adobe. No iPad app yet.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Must-Have App for Graphic Designers!

Reviewed on 2018/04/24

The fastest proffesional graphic design software, with great results and amazing speed using symbols.

Pros

It's an incredible app that has everything you need for designing, sketching, drawing and more! I't one of my favorite apps of the decade! All the features are amazing: the infinite zoom gives you precision, the smart guides are really smart, the layers panel, the tools, the view modes and more.
Serif really have achieved a masterpiece that competes directly with other vector graphics platforms.

Cons

It's a little limited on typography tools, and object effects as blending between shapes, gradient mesh and others are on my wishlist.

Michael W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent software to replace the bloated cost of Illustrator subscription

Reviewed on 2020/05/21

Great program for generating figures for scientific papers and grants.

Pros

Software is intuitive and can do all the things other brand name competitor software programs can do.

Cons

Sometimes high-content images are slower to manipulate and edit. However this doesn't occur on a frequent occasion.

Christopher michael S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The illustrator killer.. almost

Reviewed on 2018/10/16

All of Serif's software is amazing, and Affinity Designer is easily the best graphic design program I've ever used.

Pros

It's a lightweight, super functional graphics design software for the ages. It has 99% of the tools I need for vector and pixel art creation, all in one program. In some ways, it's like a hybrid of Illustrator and Photoshop.

Cons

There's not much I don't like, but it is missing a few features that make it hard to completely abandon adobe products. However, those are in the development roadmap, so it's only a matter of time.

Bryan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A full featured and modern replacement for well known illustration and photo editing tools

Reviewed on 2018/07/02

Pros

Affinity designer is fresh, affordable and easy to use. It has the features one would need from an app like Illustrator and it doesn't feel like too much was crammed into it. Some of the way the interface works reminds me of CorelDraw which I really enjoyed using, but has become a bit dated and is not available on Mac. This is a great app for illustration work, and for print design like business card design. The separate vector and pixel personas keep tools organized well.

Cons

Affinity Designer isn't specifically designed to be used for UI design, while I'm fine with this, it would be interesting if in the future it could handle some of the features that applications like Sketch do that make it great for UI design. That said, I wouldn't want this if it made the app cluttered. Right now Affinity Designer is great because it is easy to get around.

Ronald A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Design Like a Graphic Designer

Reviewed on 2020/07/30

For the first time in a long time I was able to design brochures, logos, and cutout masks for some photos where I needed to remove the backgrounds. Sometimes the backgrounds were too busy to use other software so I started trying Affinity Designer and now I'm working like a pro with it. I just love it.

Pros

It's easy to use and mostly intuitive. I like software that I can just jump into that's not too complicated. This is it.

Cons

In the beginning I looked for videos to learn certain things but eventually I came right on my own.

David C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Using it quite every day to work on designs, photos and websites

Reviewed on 2018/04/27

Pros

The price, of course and the fact that it's easier to manipulate and more robust than other vector drawning programs. I tested it as a replacement of a well-known vector software, and fell in love with it. I use it every day, to nearly all the use you can imagine a such a tool. Really one of the best value you can find !

Cons

Nothing really, maybe, and that's a maybe, a lack of typo tools that other package have form a long time.

Brent R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best Illustrator competition, but a clear second place

Reviewed on 2018/11/30

I love a lot of things about Affinity Designer, and even though I have an active Adobe subscription, I will be keeping Designer around to use for icon work and some non-text logo work. It's very flexible, extremely affordable, and hash probably 75% of the functionality of Illustrator. Most people will get by fine. But if you need file compatibility, you'll be disappointed as I was.

Pros

I love how Affinity Designer was built from the ground up to address workflow and performance issues that Illustrator has suffered from. Designer is innovative and is very clearly the next closest competitor for Adobe Illustrator. Some things, like managing gradients, text, and shapes, is very well done and very slick.

Cons

Importing and exporting files to be used with Illustrator is not fun. If you're working in this industry, you're going to interact with others who use Illustrator. So the files need to be compatible. But with Designer, while you CAN import and export these files, you lose a lot. Layer effects don't translate well, font layers are turned into paths and no longer able to be edited as text, and you just end up having to redo a lot of work.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome prodcut costing little

Reviewed on 2019/06/28

Pros

It's really easy to use, modern and beautiful UI. Almost all tools to make a digital vector art is present. And really, it's easier than Illustrator.

Cons

I don't like the way bleed works, we can't see the bleed area.

Paul K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Anything you need to do with all the money you'd LOVE to save!

Reviewed on 2019/02/24

Pros

No garbage monthly subscription. One of my associates said it perfectly: It's the Illustrator Killer.

Cons

Couple display bugs; just needs a reset every 20-30 hours (yes, I use it for that long at a time) Don't judge me, or the software for it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great, but lacks intuitiveness of use

Reviewed on 2020/09/16

Seems comprehensive and great functionality. However, it is not intuitive for the more novice user.

Pros

The software is fully comprehensive of what it can do. Full funtionality and great options. It has works seemlessly across mutliple platforms.

Cons

It's not intuitive for the novice user. So simple tasks are just not that simple to figure out. Will need to set aside a few hours to learn some more basic features.

Brian J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Affinity Designer is Best Alternative to Other Expensive Design Tools

Reviewed on 2018/08/12

I use Affinity Designer every day to created and edit images. One of the best purchases I've made in a long time.

Pros

One of the best things about Affinity Designer is the price. It's a one-time payment and the software is just as good as Adobe Illustrator. Also, all the shortcut keys you're already used to simply work.

Cons

Has a small learning curve, but not as much as you would think. It's very similiar to Adobe already.

Alexander A.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Don't even think about using Illustrator anymore

Reviewed on 2018/03/06

Pros

Affinity Designer is high-class software. It has every feature that you would ever need for designing vector-based artwork. Unlike Illustrator, Affinity Designer *also* has a powerful raster-art mode (called a "persona") that allows you to mix vector and raster art effortlessly. It's really a joy to use.

Cons

As with any complex software, there is a learning curve. Affinity makes it easier to learn Designer by way of several videos that you may watch. They also have a workbook that you can buy, if you'd like to follow along with a project-based approach to learning. Lynda.com also has a nice video series on Affinity Designer.

Ann M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for the price

Reviewed on 2019/10/11

Overall I am impressed by the quality of the program in comparison to the price

Pros

Affinity designer has a lot of capabilities and can do almost all of what you can do with Adobe Illustrator. The shortcuts are similar to the Adobe products and Affinity makes it easy for the files to be compatible with all their other software

Cons

The program has a lot of functions but if switching from Adobe products, it can be a bit frustrating because the commands are located in different locations or there might be different ways to access the commands. It's also not as intuitive as other programs to use but not that difficult to learn

Flavio A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

An interesting alternative to Illustrator

Reviewed on 2019/07/28

Pros

When compared to the ubiquitous Adobe Illustrator, Affinity Designer is a more affordable vector software and the learning curve is minimal. If you're familiar with the Adobe Suite you will recognise tools and elements that are quite similar to Illustrator and even Photoshop, so getting started should be really straightforward. It also allows you to import Illustrator files, which works surprisingly well.

Cons

- Occasional crashes when working with larger files.
- Lacks some advanced features that are found in Illustrator