WavePad

On-premise audio and music editing software

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(31)
Value for Money
4,6/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
4,3/5
Customer Support
3,6/5

94%
recommended this app
Sort by

31 Reviews

peter
peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Days with WavePad

Reviewed on 2022/12/08

It has been a wonderful journey using WavePad for my church recordings

It has been a wonderful journey using WavePad for my church recordings

Pros

Wavepad is an easy to use sound recording and editing tool. I like the auto save capability, you do need to be worried when the laptop goes off in the middle of the recording. The sample rate capability is very great, you can actually convert to even a lesser bit so that you save storage. Wavepad also has available plugins from their market and they are cheaper. As a novice in 2013 I was very happy when I realize I could easily cut one old sermon and paste in another sermon. We actually used it to mix some few songs for Chorography

Cons

I think the software can be improved by adding some in-app tutorials for novice

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple and works perfectly especially with VideoPad like tools

Reviewed on 2022/05/24

WavePad is easily accessible on many platforms at a very low price.

WavePad is easily accessible on many platforms at a very low price.

Pros

I am glad I came across WavePad. It works well alongside or rather in integration with VideoPad. Working with WavePad for audio editing such as cutting and splitting is very easy. The split tool is one of my favorite. The split at silences is very handy when I don't have time to split interview files into small audio files that still are sensible and don't have to over listen to the entire long file. It is easier to edit from here later. This has been a time saver for me.

Other times as need arise I just want to create an enhanced audio file MONO. The split into component channels is magical. I am able to quickly separate a stereo audio into L/R channels and use either or use both for an enhancement mono audio. Very effective!

Cons

Not much to complain about. It has worked as and when i needed it.

Frank
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Better than Garage Band for simpleaudio editing

Reviewed on 2023/06/25

Pros

It is easy to select a portion of audio, trim start and end and save to new file and export as mp3. I am still trying to learn Garage Band on my ipad.

Cons

Noise reduction is not that good even in the paid version.

Karin
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The WavePad of the Future

Reviewed on 2023/09/21

I've been using Wavepad Audio Editing software (NCH Software) for at least 8 years. I have to say...

I've been using Wavepad Audio Editing software (NCH Software) for at least 8 years. I have to say it's been a game-changer for my audio-related projects. The interface is user-friendly, making it easy for even non-tech-savvy individuals like me to navigate through various editing options. Wavepad's functionality aligns perfectly with my work as an instructional designer and facilitator. Whether I'm recording and editing voiceovers for e-learning modules or fine-tuning audio recordings for virtual workshops, Wavepad gets the job done easily.

Pros

One of the standout features for me is the simplicity of the editing process. I can effortlessly cut, copy, and paste sections of audio, which is essential for creating engaging content. Additionally, the real-time preview function allows me to make instant adjustments, ensuring a polished final product. I also like the ability to create a CUSTOM menu so I can access my most used tools quicker.

Cons

Cannot really pinpoint anything there is to dislike. It does the job.

Hossamudin
Hossamudin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent, and handy audio editor.

Reviewed on 2022/05/11

Good!

Good!

Pros

I used to use it on everyday basis to record audio, edit it, then create my video on another software like filmora. And, what I liked the most was the simple interface.

Cons

Well, it has too many tools, some you won't even need. So, I wish there were a simple version, and an advanced version to avoid distraction.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Audition

Reasons for Switching to WavePad

price. Wavepad is more affordable.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

One of the best audio editor

Reviewed on 2022/05/18

Pros

Wavepad is a very light and easy to use software. Feels quite similar to Audacity. I have used it for a while now without much need to seek for assistance from support, but I am always pleasant awed by the great and prompt support given. The tutorials are easily available as well.
The menus are easy to customize and fit right into my audio editing workflow. I relied on Wavepad in my early use to convert most of WAV audio formats to MP3 in order to have more audios fit into one CD just for personal use.

Cons

I kept struggling with loop editing and a bit frustrated with lack of multi tracks mixing.

Roan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Motion Pictures & Film
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for quick cutting and converting for most audio file types

Reviewed on 2022/07/09

I'm a happy Wave Pad User and it does a whole lot more than I even use it for so its one of my main...

I'm a happy Wave Pad User and it does a whole lot more than I even use it for so its one of my main backup programs I use all the time and it never lets me down.

Reliability is this programs top selling point. And the fact that its fun to use.

Pros

The speed at which you can load up and cut then convert sound or multiple sounds simultaneously. But My favorite thing about wave Pad is how it actually works better with its Video editing older brother Video Pad. Now Wave Pad and Video Pad can be everything you need to produce a picture with sound, Professionally. Seriously, Video effects integrated with another program that deals with the sound aspect of your work project.

Cons

It feels like it's compression conversions are not as good as Adobe Auditions final compression options, But They are still good enough to allow you to master professionally mastered audio projects that you actually can't tell the difference between the top 2 or 3 anyway. Not enough skin options to choose from.

Sanjay
Sanjay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Wavepad Review

Reviewed on 2021/06/14

Overall, I can say that you will enjoy working on this software and it is very good for realizing...

Overall, I can say that you will enjoy working on this software and it is very good for realizing your fantasies in audio.

Pros

It has so many options of audio filters like pop removal, high pass filter low pass filter and effects that I can edit the voice as I like. The second thing that I like about this software is its easy looking look which makes it easy to see all the tools while working.

Cons

This software does not have the option of mixing multiple audio files, you can edit only one track at a time. For mixing you have to go to some other software.

William
William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Wavepad for Audio Editing

Reviewed on 2022/08/11

Pros

Wavepad helped me edit audio and create new audio from existing ones.

Cons

All the functions I have used with wavepad have been working just fine.

Rogelio
Rogelio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Lucky I found it

Reviewed on 2022/03/12

I bought this in the middle of an emergency where my previous software died and I had no way to fix...

I bought this in the middle of an emergency where my previous software died and I had no way to fix it.
Wavepad installed quickly without hassles and I was up and running in about 90 minutes of checking the controls.
I also got amazed on how good the recordings sounded and how professional the in-built tools were.

Pros

Wavepad is a complete system of tools for recording and clean your voice recordings which I use the most. It replaced my previous tool completely and does a really good job with the dry-wet mixing when you remove noises. It also has some funny filters I use a lot like a robotic voice or the pitch-changer that allows me to lower the voice tones so all the voices sound enjoyable and not cringy

Cons

If you buy it, you'll be offered 2 options: One with the option of adding master filters, and one without these features. IF you buy the second option, which is cheaper, you won't have a way of upgrading the software. Instead, you'll have to buy it again.

Sarmad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A very handy audio editor.

Reviewed on 2022/06/13

I used it for my all audio projects and I am really happy to have it. It helped me edit massive...

I used it for my all audio projects and I am really happy to have it. It helped me edit massive audio files of several hours in length.

Pros

The best thing about WavePad is that you can get used to its interface within minutes. It's extremely efficient, easy to use yet very professional.

Cons

While running multiple plugins it becomes hard to manage and organize the media.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Audio Editing Software You'll ever Find

Reviewed on 2021/07/15

This software is brilliant. I love it and can hundred percent recommend to try it.

This software is brilliant. I love it and can hundred percent recommend to try it.

Pros

WavePad enables me to convert audio files from one format to another. Although its basically meant for WAV and MP3 formats, it has a lot of other formats you can use. The other feature I love about WavPad is that I am able to split big audio files into small segments. So if I have an Album that is in one file, I can just split with WavePad and have individual songs

Cons

I have used WavePad for quite a while now and I can't say that I have seen anything that needs improvement. Its an awesome software. Keep it up NCH

Sophie
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An awesome, easy software for podcasters or anyone else.

Reviewed on 2022/01/05

It's been wonderful!

It's been wonderful!

Pros

I love what it enables me to do & I love how it integrates with Videopad which I also use. It's super helpful for me, since I record a podcast and sometimes need to edit out sounds from doors in my house opening/closing, footsteps, central heating/AC, etc. It helps me keep my podcast sounding clean and profesh!! I love it!!

Cons

It took me a while to learn in the beginning, but I was a COMPLETE beginner. I had never used any software like this in my life. This isn't even really a con at all, because even if you're also a total beginner it will only take you like 30 minutes playing around with it before you understand how to use all the awesome features.

Manase
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best easy to use DAW on the market !!!

Reviewed on 2021/02/27

I'm using wavepad to clean up my vocals even on my phone and that's perfectly convenient for me...

I'm using wavepad to clean up my vocals even on my phone and that's perfectly convenient for me when I'm on the run.

Pros

I love the auto noise reduction that cleans my vocals in just one click.

Cons

I honestly don't have any problems with the overall usage of this software.

Response from NCH Software

Thanks for your review Manase! We're glad you're enjoying our DAW!

Lucy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The simple and powerful audio editor

Reviewed on 2022/05/31

I have used many DAWs and audio editors which are really premium in features and functions but...

I have used many DAWs and audio editors which are really premium in features and functions but WavePad has always had its place in my work for its simplicity and it is a non clutter.

Pros

I often used Wavepad to edit my zoom video audios. The editor layout is well organized which makes it very easy to use. There is a quick start wizards for any task, access to files, edit functions and effects are all available.

The tools are very intuitive and tutorials are well designed. In my workflow working with zoom videos, I have specific effects that I often use and are easily accessible either under the basic, popular or the pro options. I can apply them to the whole audio clip or just specific points of interest selected.

Cons

I am very confident using WavePad. There is nothing i could complain about. The menu bar and tool bar offer a feeling of using Microsoft tools

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software!

Reviewed on 2021/04/24

It is useful software and has all the features I needed to complete my project.

It is useful software and has all the features I needed to complete my project.

Pros

I liked that this software is easy to use for someone who doesn't have much experience using this kind of program.

Cons

I am not able to move the selected section of sound by clicking on it and dragging. Instead clicking on it resets the starting point of the selection.

Mahmoud
Mahmoud
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WavePad Review. That sounds brilliant!

Reviewed on 2022/02/23

Overall, I believe you will enjoy working with this software, and it is excellent for achieving...

Overall, I believe you will enjoy working with this software, and it is excellent for achieving your audio desires. Furthermore, this software is fantastic, and I highly suggest it.

Pros

Auto noise reduction cleans the sound to an excellent degree.
WavePad allows you to convert audio files between different formats.
It has several audio filters, including pop removal.
I can alter the voice with a high pass filter, a low pass filter, and effects.

Cons

Because I don't use all of the software's features, I can't comment on this. I found it tough to be very particular about where I wanted to cut at first, but I grew used to it.

Richard
Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good for cutting and trimming

Reviewed on 2021/06/15

Happy that I have found a free program to do the cutting and trimming that I need to do to sync my...

Happy that I have found a free program to do the cutting and trimming that I need to do to sync my sound and video files.

Pros

Once I found the best way to use the software for MY needs I have found it easy to get the work done. I do NOT use the software for anything else but trimming and cutting out sections. I am also able to use the software for free as I am not using it for commercial use at all.

Cons

I do not use all the features of the software so I cannot really comment on this. I did find that being very specific with the exact place to cut is sometimes tricky, but you get used to it.

Jonathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

J.L. WavePad Review

Reviewed on 2022/09/15

WavePad is a software that allows users from beginner to advanced to be able to record, mix and...

WavePad is a software that allows users from beginner to advanced to be able to record, mix and master audio from the comfort of anywhere and everywhere, and quickly distribute the audio in the format of your choice.

Pros

The ability to export audio (.mp3, .wav) to a video (.mp4, .mov) with varying backgrounds in one place instead of redirecting to another software to export it as a video.

Cons

The processing time to save or export audio files that are very lengthy is very consuming, and can therefore decrease productivity in times of work.

Jill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for audio review & editing

Reviewed on 2020/12/11

I really enjoy I using this app to listen to audio evidence from paranormal investigations. It’s...

I really enjoy I using this app to listen to audio evidence from paranormal investigations. It’s allowed me to catch many things unheard at normal volume.

Pros

I use this app to review evidence from paranormal investigations. It works great and I can enhance, speed up, slow down the speed/volume. It’s fairly self explanatory and I like that I can see the sound waves.

Cons

There’s so many options tgat at times it can be overwhelming.

Response from NCH Software

Hi Jill, thank you so much for your review. We're glad you find the app useful for your editing needs. Thanks for the feedback as well, we do try to keep our software easy-to-use for everyone while providing all-important functionality. We will pass them along to our development team.

Justin
Justin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Music pad nch

Reviewed on 2022/10/10

It’s been a great app to work with over the years.

It’s been a great app to work with over the years.

Pros

I love this software, it gives you the demo to try before investing into something you don’t know about.

Cons

I wish I had access to the full software on the demo so I would know what I was fully buying.

eric lionel
eric lionel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

very good audio analysis tool

Reviewed on 2022/08/16

Pros

it is possible to reduce the noise in the background or to isolate certain audio sounds

Cons

the presentation of the software's dashboard is not intuitive enough and does not have a very nice interface

Smruti
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great free audio editor software

Reviewed on 2022/02/27

Pros

This software is very simple to use and intuitive. It uploads and edits seamlessly. It is fabulous for basic cut, paste, editing type of job, if you are seeking to mix a few music pieces. The visual layout is great and not too overwhelming.

Cons

It allows to upload and edit files only in certain formats. The sound equalization tool when you import sound files from different locations and try to merge it into one isn't the best.

Tiago
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WavePad Free the best recording and mixing software

Reviewed on 2023/07/09

Pros

For recording and mixing is one of the most useful software's available and it's free version have it all that we need to start a new project . Just love it .

Cons

Wave pad have less resources than other audio edition software's but that's not but cause makes everything so simple that even people without basic knowledge can use it in a few minutes .

Jared
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Decent Service

Reviewed on 2022/11/13

Pros

Are you a small-time producer/DJ? This software will get you where you need to be.

Cons

This product feels juvenile when working on higher quality pop tracks.