SOUND FORGE Reviews

SOUND FORGE

Robust DAW for advanced mastering & restoration

Overall rating

4,7 /5
(27)
Value for Money
4,3/5
Features
4,6/5
Ease of Use
4,4/5
Customer Support
4,2/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

27 Reviews

Jeremy
Jeremy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

SOUND FORGE: A Classic Audio Editor

Reviewed on 2022/06/23

I started using SOUND FORGE in the 90s, and it was almost the only game in town. It was fun and...

I started using SOUND FORGE in the 90s, and it was almost the only game in town. It was fun and easy to use, and I would always recommend it to beginners, especially. But it's fully capable of pro audio editing!

Pros

SOUND FORGE was practically an industry standard in the late-90s and 2000's, and with good reason. The clean, simple interface made it easy to learn how to edit audio, apply effects, and master mixes; all in a light package.

Cons

SOUND FORGE was strictly a PC app until recently, and even then, Mac support has been spurious, and the company has been sold twice since the 00's. I eventually switched to Steinberg Wavelab, as it offers a main mix bus, plus hundreds of more advanced features for professional mastering.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Audition and Pro Tools
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Well kitted and ever improving.

Reviewed on 2022/05/25

SF is very complete in many ways as there are many tools sufficiently provided to handle any audio...

SF is very complete in many ways as there are many tools sufficiently provided to handle any audio editing task.

Pros

I have been using Sound Forge for a while and it keeps on getting better and better with the newer versions/upgrades. Currently I am using SF Pro 16 and many aspects have been improved with added features. One of the recent feature that has been very instrumental in my working with SF is the Vocal Activity Detection (VAD) which uses AI to detect human vocals in an audio file and applies a red color on the audio wave where vocals are detected. This enables me to enhance vocals in many ways by either applying effects or changing vocal dynamics without necessarily having to alter the background music or ambience. I have found this feature quite helpful especially in editing interview podcasts etc.

Cons

There is a lot of small icons in the data windows and general software which gives the feel of clutter and can easily dissuade someone from engaging SF especially in the learning stages. However, the inbuilt interactive tutorials make editing easy.

Deepak
Deepak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Review of Sound Forge

Reviewed on 2022/04/13

Overall, Sound Forge is a good piece of software but I found it lacking in comparison with Audacity.

Overall, Sound Forge is a good piece of software but I found it lacking in comparison with Audacity.

Pros

Sound Forge is quite easy to use, even for the first-time user. It is quite feature rich and even amateurs can use its features quite easily.

Cons

Its noise-reduction / noise-cancellation feature falls far short of ideal. Its noise gate technology tends to distort the recording rather than filter out the noise.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Works great for audio processing

Reviewed on 2022/05/24

Having a time tested platform for audio processing makes me feel comfortable with my production. I...

Having a time tested platform for audio processing makes me feel comfortable with my production. I am glad that I can access Sound Forge both on a Window PC and Mac.

Pros

Sound forge has been a key tool for me especially when I need to work with more DirectX & VST plugins. Using its Plug-in Chain window I am able to experiment with as many effects as possible without ruining my original audio file(s) as this tool allows me to process these plugins in real time with playback within the data window.

Once I am satisfied with the output, I can have it applied by saving the file. That is very key to my use case.

Also the file saving is not limited to available file formats, I can always save the raw file to specify format parameters that work with a specific project/target platform.

Cons

Not much of negatives here. However it is quite expensive to upgrade to a newer version.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quick and very effective way to capture and manipulate an audio file, quickly!

Reviewed on 2021/08/01

Sound forge can be a little simplistic if you look it at a glance, but it does perform very well to...

Sound forge can be a little simplistic if you look it at a glance, but it does perform very well to capture audio and manipulate sound for a quick in and out when I am working on a video project. I like the fact that it's fairly light on my system when I am running premiere and After Effects at the same time. I grew up using Sound Forge, and it helped me several times while on a time crunch.

Although the UI can be a little too bland and simplistic, you can quickly manipulate audio and get back to your work without too much effort. I alway keep Sound Forge on a click away, even tho I find myself using Mixcraft more and more these days.

Being a Magix software, be prepared to be asked to upgrade to a newer version when you fire you software, but not that big of a deal. there are several versions of the software, so make sure you chose the one that will tackle your audio needs. Overall, give sme piece of mind that I can access a great audio editor when I need to.

Pros

Fairly light software to run simultaneously while you need to fire it up and do a quick recording. Very powerful and versatile.

Cons

Can be a bit restrictive to some people looking for a full feature DAW, so not a complete solution for audio producers

Irfan
Irfan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sound Forge is Awesome for Music Producers

Reviewed on 2021/07/03

Overall, it's good for audio editing. It has simple controls and easy to learn. It supports VST...

Overall, it's good for audio editing. It has simple controls and easy to learn. It supports VST plugins that is a strong point. I have done a lot of my early radio projects on Sound Forge and I thank the company for its great support.

Pros

I like Sound Forge for its powerful editing tools. It is simply a top-notch software when it comes to audio recording, editing, mixing, and mastering. I work in a commercial radio station and I'm confident to say that Sound Forge has been a great help over the years. It has enabled us to maintain crystal-clear audio quality and improved audio production. Multitrack recording, batch conversion, high-quality audio, many different file formats support and hotkey functions are my favorites.

Cons

It doesn't a lot of options for noise reduction. I work with noisy voiceovers associated with a lot of outdoor noise and sometimes studio ambiance. It doesn't clean up the Vos to a level that other competitors like Adobe Audition can do. There's another thing that I kinda hate about Sound Forge and that's the speed to load large files. It lags and takes a lot of time to process.

Michelle
Michelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Inexpensive Audio Power House

Reviewed on 2022/11/12

I integrate Sound Forge into all of my DAWs as my audio editor of choice, for times when there is a...

I integrate Sound Forge into all of my DAWs as my audio editor of choice, for times when there is a need to directly edit the sound file in a track on a project I'm working with.

Pros

Sound Forge continues to be one of the most effective audio tools in my toolbox, and newer editions of the software have added a video track as well, all for under $50.

Cons

The only issue I experience with Sound Forge is my fault - I have collected probably close to 2000 audio plugins, from synths to sound effects. All audio software has to scan the computer for available plugins and this takes forever. The only way to prevent this interminable wait at start-up is for me to move all but the essential plugins I predict I will need into a standby directory. I wish audio software offered me a way to choose which plugins to load on the start up screen but none of them do this.

Wendel Costa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Indispensable

Reviewed on 2022/04/28

I wouldn't do the work I do so well if there wasn't Sound Forge. It presents a simple, objective...

I wouldn't do the work I do so well if there wasn't Sound Forge. It presents a simple, objective and dynamic functionality. I highly recommend.

Pros

I've been working with Sound Forge for about 15 years, I keep my profession as an audio editor thanks to Sound Forge. I can do my work with great efficiency and quality.

Cons

The tricky thing is just the activation, apart from that, everything is perfect.

Sangramsingh
Sangramsingh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the oldest and best audio editing software.

Reviewed on 2022/04/26

Overall its the one stop shop for all audio editing and recording needs. I have been creating...

Overall its the one stop shop for all audio editing and recording needs. I have been creating extended versions of songs, mixing audio tracks for videos, recording and cleaning audio files recorded from Vinyls and cassettes, enhancing audio low quality audio files for more than a decade now.

Pros

I think sound forge has been the go to software for audio editing and recording for the past 15 years or so. And it has aged well I must say. The interface is intuitive and you can pretty much work your way around on your own, by using the extensive help section for each tool.
I remember getting a 10 minute orientation on the software for the first time and I was on my way. The quality of edits and previews is top notch, and it also works according to your system configuration which is a great feature.

Cons

The best noise reduction available is on Sound forge and it is very expensive as well, and available as a separate plugin.

Emmanuel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sound forge is great tool for mastering

Reviewed on 2021/07/31

Pros

Gaining in mastering, and sound dithering

Cons

Equalizer, talking about parametric and graphic equalizer

Denis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

my opinion Sound Forge

Reviewed on 2022/12/20

the software is light enough to work easily.

the software is light enough to work easily.

Pros

Sound Forge is very easy to use, even for the first time. It is rich in features. Even amateurs can use it easily.

Cons

not many negative points for the moment just that I think Sound Forge needs to rework some features

Aamir
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great Software For Audio Recording

Reviewed on 2022/04/13

Pros

I have used Sound Forge for audio recording and editing. It has great features and functionality. The installation is easy and the controls are user-friendly. Audio mixing and mastering can be easily done. It has a great library of audio effect. Overall, it has a great value for money.

Cons

When I first started using it, the windows would froze some times. However, I figured out that the problem was my RAM, which I upgraded and the problem was gone. All in all, I don't have a lot to complain as it didn't give trouble.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Gold Standard

Reviewed on 2021/06/24

I have no bad experiences with Sound Forge whatsoever. I have used it in many different situations...

I have no bad experiences with Sound Forge whatsoever. I have used it in many different situations and on both Mac and PC. During college, it was a "new" software that they were testing out with my class. I had been using it for a few years prior so I ended up showing them how it works to get it accepted as part of the curriculum.

Pros

Sound Forge has always been the Gold Standard for my audio recordings, no matter the input source. I became a user in the late 90's and have been using it ever since. It's a VERY lightweight program and can read/write just about any possible file format you throw at it.

Cons

Sound Forge has continually added new features, however it can sometimes be hard to tell if anything is new between updates since the basic interface has remained largely identical today as it was 20 years ago.

Roan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sound Forge is pure quality and it's fast.

Reviewed on 2022/07/23

It's a fast loading audio capture program that is reliable and easy. It's top 2 for me. I rely on...

It's a fast loading audio capture program that is reliable and easy. It's top 2 for me. I rely on it heavily for my sound editing projects.

Pros

Very easy to use and user friendly. It's a great medium to large audio program. The editing and manipulation options are amazing.

Cons

Compatibility between old versions and new versions was sometimes frustrating.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sound Forge - Audio Studio

Reviewed on 2022/05/05

I use this software for all audio requirements. Very good software. I've been using this software...

I use this software for all audio requirements. Very good software. I've been using this software for decades and have upgraded it regularly.

Pros

Very good audio software. No problems recommending it.

Cons

No cons encountered. Very good audio software.

John
John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Everything I need to master my recordings!

Reviewed on 2021/02/06

Great experience every time. I can pull it up and edit quickly, everything is very easy to use!

Great experience every time. I can pull it up and edit quickly, everything is very easy to use!

Pros

I use the Normalize feature every time I use Sound Forge. I like to get my sound files normalized to the same volume. I also use the Pitch Shift feature quite a bit. It comes in handy When learning songs that may be in a different tuning (Eb for instance). I find it easier to tube the song to standard rather than retune my guitar every time.

Cons

Can be somewhat difficult to set up to record audio that is playing back on your PC. I think this is more of a learning curve for me though, not necessarily a problem with Sound Forge.

Jose
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

great product

Reviewed on 2021/08/12

I combine sound forge with adobe audition and its amazing what you can get. Both are good but I...

I combine sound forge with adobe audition and its amazing what you can get. Both are good but I think sound forge its a little bit better quality in a professional way. They have been improving the program to be the better plataform for audio editing

Pros

easy to use and super intuitive. Also it has different tools and filters that you can combine with other programs

Cons

I don't know if is only me but some filters does not work as good as I expected but is not a big deal

Ghazal
Ghazal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good For Voiceover Artists

Reviewed on 2021/07/17

Overall experience is good. It holds solid ground in the line of audio editing software. It works...

Overall experience is good. It holds solid ground in the line of audio editing software. It works well with keyboard shortcuts. Easy to install and work with.

Pros

I primarily use Sound Forge for audio recording. I'm a radio jockey and a voice-over artist. Occasionally, I have to record my show and send it over to the production team. Other than my show, I do commercial voiceovers and Sound Forge helps in recording the audio and mastering it. I can easily record, remove long patches, extra breaths, unwanted clicks, and also apply some effects to improve the voice.

Cons

It's pretty good to just record but sometimes when I do the outdoor voiceovers and it is associated with some ambiance, noise, and extra voices, I don't find a lot of options to filter the noise.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Digital Audio Editor

Reviewed on 2021/03/03

Pros

One of the best feature I likes about it that you can edit the empty pauses from your audio which I haven't really seen in other softwares.

Cons

It has not been updated from quite a while. I've used audacity for editing audios and it works better than it and provide better features and functionalities.

Ruban
Ruban
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Sound editing software in the market

Reviewed on 2022/04/20

Pros

Easy editing of audio and the quality of the output. I can do mastering, audio manipulation, audio mixing in one hood.

Cons

Licensing and pricing is bit high. Sometimes I feel performance is bit low when I work on a huge file.

Robin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sound sculpting at its best for less.

Reviewed on 2022/07/28

For me, the smoothness of operation, its intuitive UI and remarkably reasonable price, make Sound...

For me, the smoothness of operation, its intuitive UI and remarkably reasonable price, make Sound Forge hard to resist. I'm addicted and look forward to many happy hours exploring what it can do.

Pros

Sound Forge handles just about any task you can throw at it when it comes to audio editing and mastering. With its intuitive UI and professional toolset, it hard to believe this software is now under $40! A bargain!

Cons

There is little to complain about with Sound Forge. It just gets the job done. No Cons at all.

raulton
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An easy to use but powerful

Reviewed on 2021/03/11

Pros

Product is easy to use, straight forward audio editor. Good results with little time

Cons

Program lacked altering layouts which would be nice.

Elliott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SOUND FORGE you really Rock!

Reviewed on 2022/04/17

For Audio I will stay forever with the SOUND FORGE! because, of the stability, confident and GUI.

For Audio I will stay forever with the SOUND FORGE! because, of the stability, confident and GUI.

Pros

The best application related to the features included in both versions.

Cons

There are no Cons reported or suspected at the moment.

Silvio
Silvio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Um Ótimo Software para Gravação e Edição de Áudio

Reviewed on 2023/01/25

Pros

A edição de áudio no Sound Forge é Excelente Os plug-ins são muitos bons, principalmente os "graves, agudos e reverbe".A gravação de áudio também é ótima.A captação de stereo e mono muito boa. Na manipulação de áudio Os plug-ins são muitos bons, principalmente os "graves, agudos e reverbe". Recomendo o Sound Forge para quem precisa de um áudio com uma boa qualidade de gravação e edição.

Cons

É um software muito bom, mas deveria melhorar a forma como as funcionalidades e recursos no sistema são disponibilizados. Não é tão fácil trabalhar com ele, principalmente pra quem não conhece, mas é um software excelente para profissionais .

Andry
Andry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sound Forge pour avoir un traitement audio professionnel!

Reviewed on 2023/09/11

J'ai utilisé Sound Forge pour des traitements audios et les résultats sont amplement satisfaisant.

J'ai utilisé Sound Forge pour des traitements audios et les résultats sont amplement satisfaisant.

Pros

Sound Forge est le maître du traitement audio. Il permet d'avoir un son de qualité professionnel grâce aux nombreux effets fournis avec le logiciel. Ce logiciel permet aussi de nettoyer et de restaurer les sons.

Cons

Ce logiciel est plus axé au traitement audio et au mastering qu'au mixage audio. En effet, afin de procéder au mixage de différentes pistes, il faut les superposer en appliquant quelques réglages.