9 reviews

Couchbase Server

NoSQL cloud database management system

4 /5 (9 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
78%
recommended this app
9 reviews
Ali K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Flexible NoSQL DB Cloud Base Solution

Reviewed on 2021/03/09

Couchbase Server is a fully managed NoSQL database as a Sevice, From 2020 onwards, everything went online, and the use of the Internet and e-culture became ubiquitous, increasing the need for secure and fast databases for agile cloud processing for developers and service providers. Last year, a lot of work was forced to move remotely, and the option of delivering goods by mail was added to some services, so analyzing and delivering information and fast access and processing data securely with different access levels was much more important than before. So we used CouchBase Cloud to overcome this challenge, both for ourselves and our client projects. Now Everything is Agile via CouchBase!

Pros

There are a lot of great features I like: in-VPC Deployment is great for direct installation of Cluster Database to customers VPS, also with just a few simple clicks during configuration, Microsoft Azure or Amazon AWS cloud storage space can be connected to this platform. At any time, the required services and support can be purchased separately in an independent plan. The transfer of databases to the desired clusters is very clean and smooth. There are different settings for the user access level, which in terms of security can and safety can put users in different categories and even allow access to certain IPs, as well as the ability to create different security certificates.

Cons

Cluster management is a little complicated, development team can also work on the Admin dashboard to make it easier and more simple.

Jose G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Powerful but demands a lot from IT department

Reviewed on 2021/02/05

This is a distributed, NoSQL, JSON document database. Its architecture and parameterization are so complex that the promise of high availability and negligible latencies are more a slogan than a real fact. Supporting a mission-critical system with this product requires lot of work, consultation, and hardware expenditures.

Pros

Easy to install. Free trial downloads for many different operating systems. Support of an SQL-compatible query language is a big plus.

Cons

Resource consumption. Whether in cloud or on-premise installation it is a real memory and CPU hogger - even at idle. Defining a few simple indexes can degrade the performance to a point where the product becomes unusable. Couchbase support and docs are vague in how to get the unmatched performance they advertise.

Gianni F.
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great tool for managing big data

Reviewed on 2017/09/15

Pros

The synch protocol, that allows you to work offline and synch when you came back online. The support for Android is another big feature I like.

Cons

The complexity in making it works. You need too study the doc and principles around the software before you start to see the benefits you can gain from it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

simple and effective noSQL

Reviewed on 2018/01/11

Pros

couchbase is a very nimble and much faster in performance than its competitors and is also supported with a mobile version in addtion to a traditional server

Cons

many a time it goes crazy when a change is made to inter-connected buckets and the system fails to recognize this and also found data manipulation language not to work

Chirag S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Couchbase - powerful schemaless and nosql

Reviewed on 2018/11/16

Faster access to data, that what we are solving with this product. As its schema less, we are not having any overhead for deploying this to any lower environment and production server. And we can focus more on solving business problem.

Pros

Most powerful feature of Couchbase of its purpose. Its NoSql and Schema less data store. Recently we experienced the powerful feature is its Disaster Recovery Strategy. Its really amazing that it has inbuilt support of that.

Cons

Indexes. That really causing troubles for us. Complex query are taking hugh amount of time and requires to have indexes of for all kind of JSON document we are storing.

Jordi T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Newspapers
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Good for managing your couchbase DDBB

Reviewed on 2019/07/25

Pros

- Easy to configure everything (buckets, users, monitors..)
- Lots of monitoring features and charts
- Easy to run with docker

Cons

- No support on community versions
- Small community and documentation on internet

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Couchbase Server

Reviewed on 2020/06/03

Pros

interactive applications and the ways it presents data

Cons

Full text search is limited throwing errors at times (difficult to understand)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Very hard to make queries in document DB

Reviewed on 2020/05/26

Not the best. I like to query my data with SQL and this does not allow

Pros

I like how you can categorize data into separate channels and document ID structures for easier slicing and dicing.

Cons

It is very hard to query for specific items in the database. You have to know the channel id or document ID naming convention and then manually filter and find what you are looking for.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

a customer service that actually exists

Reviewed on 2018/02/18

Pros

Couchbase server is a good product which meets my requirements, I had some issues in the first installation but I got help from CouchBase and resolved my problem.

Cons

A hard learning curve, which makes working with CouchBase very hard, be ready to spend some money...