Dataforma

Field service management tool for plumbing & HVAC industries

Overall rating

4,3 /5
(105)
Value for Money
4,1/5
Features
4,0/5
Ease of Use
3,9/5
Customer Support
4,6/5

86%
recommended this app
Sort by

105 Reviews

Nathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Flexible and robust functionality with great support.

Reviewed on 2016/11/10

We started using Dataforma a little over three years ago when we were informed about it during a...

We started using Dataforma a little over three years ago when we were informed about it during a trade conference. This was a large shift for us and as a roofing company, our end users were not technically proficient to begin with. We immediately noticed how supportive their staff was in making sure we transitioned to the software as smoothly as possible; they even had a company representative visit our offices to help train our staff. The software is fairly robust and there are a number of fields that can be populated in order to retrieve detailed information for reporting and reference as needed. Once familiar with the basics, we were able to speak directly with the Dataforma developers to have custom templates produced for data experts and reporting needs. The stability of the system has been absolutely consistent as they have redundant servers in multiple states. Over time we have been excited to find new ways to improve our operations, scheduling, accounting and basic CRM needs by becoming more familiar with the software and communicating with a helpful and readily available support staff. We now attend biannual super user conferences where the system administrators and various users from different companies can confer directly with the Dataforma design team. The events are very helpful in that we also confer with other users to find new ways to better use and adapt the software to our ever-changing needs.

Pros

The software is very robust and capable of producing reporting from a variety of perspectives and directions. The software continues to improve as the developers actively seek input from the end users. System stability and support has always been first rate. Great value for the investment.

Cons

Initial learning curve can be a challenge to some but the quality support makes this less of an issue. Looking forward to expanded accounting functionality.

kyle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly recommend - Excellent CRM system

Reviewed on 2019/09/18

Excellent. Especially the customer service. this system is big and diverse and has a lot of...

Excellent. Especially the customer service. this system is big and diverse and has a lot of functionality. I am not the most tech savvy person, so being able to talk with a live customer service rep exactly when I need to makes whatever price you charge worth every penny.

Pros

Until we procured Dataforma, we were limited in our growth. We could not get past a limited amount of customers because we did not have a system to manage them effectively. Since we partnered with Dataforma our service department has double in size. We are sleekly, more efficient and uniformed. We are able to communicate with our customers effectively and in a timely manner all through Dataforma

Cons

I do not like the pop-up viewing function of the pictures input into dataforma, it is clunky and inefficient. there needs to be a faster way to view pictures without exporting them. I have to remove pictures all the time and trying to see them before deciding which to include in the invoice is cumbersome and it doesn't seem to be as efficient as all the other functionality.

Erin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/18

Up until this past year I didn't really have too many complaints about the software. Now that...

Up until this past year I didn't really have too many complaints about the software. Now that Dataforma is trying to integrate accounting software, there are many issues. I don't have confidence that modules will work correctly. They should have stuck to what they were doing well.

Pros

The tracking of work at specific buildings regardless of who owns the building, what type of work, etc

Cons

Since the update this past spring, the software is lacking. Information doesn't update and a lot of manual updating has to take place.

Jeannie
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2011/08/11

Our company specializes in commercial flat roofing. Customer service and satisfaction are our...

Our company specializes in commercial flat roofing. Customer service and satisfaction are our primary goals with any roofing project. We struggled for years to create a database that would be at our "fingertips" so we could easily contact our customers. We were using Quickbooks for our accounting and customer database. As our company began to grow, we really needed a database that tied all our contacts and their properties together in one "easy to access" area.

A lead gen company put us in touch with a sales rep from Dataforma, and an appointment was scheduled. Scott came in to talk with us regarding Dataforma. Needless to say, Dataforma was exactly what we needed! We were ready to get started - "Where do we sign?!"

Shortly after signing our agreement, Mike came to our office for "Dataforma training". We were pleasantly surprised how informative the training session was, and how easily the system flowed. Of course, we couldn't take in all the functionality of Dataforma at that time; however, the basic program was easily learned and implemented. Practice makes perfect - so the more comfortable we all became with the system, the better the information input. Mike would check on us every week or so to see if we had any questions. He could even check our input from his computer. The customer support is wonderful. Any time I have called in, someone always answers the phone and has answered my questions immediately.

The system has been a wonderful asset to our company. From lead sheets to projects and work orders, all the information we need regarding a particular customer is just a click away! The Dataforma seminar in Baltimore last fall was so informative. My co-workers and I quickly learned that we were not utilizing half of the capabilities of the Dataforma system. We came away with a new perspective and understanding of Dataforma.

Dataforma is always looking for input and suggestions to improve their system. They have a background in the roofing industry, which is a plus for us. Dataforma has minimized data entry and maximized the tracking of each project to give an overall view of the profitability and performance of our company.

I would highly recommend Dataforma to everyone!

Tyler
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

We use Dataforma for all of our server needs from work orders to bid calendars and document...

Reviewed on 2017/05/16

The software allows for a streamlined method of access to the files we need on a daily, weekly, and...

The software allows for a streamlined method of access to the files we need on a daily, weekly, and monthly basis. It allows for members of our team to access data and information while on the go and away from the office via the server and the mobile app. The compilation of activities and calendars is a great tool to enhance productivity and manipulate communication obstacles to better address the solutions for them. The software is a tremendous tool for coordination with field technicians as well as office staff members.

Pros

DataForma is a great tool for organization of individual jobs/projects/buildings/etc... It compiles all contacts and pertinent documents in one accessible area.

Cons

Sometimes, as with all software for this type of use, it can become bogged down with too much information and things can get lost. Typically they are easy to recover, but it's still possible to lose information.

Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

For better or worse.

Reviewed on 2019/09/17

Pros

Ability to track Bids, Projects, Work Orders, Change Orders, Hours, Employee information.

Cons

Reporting function. Must pay for downloads/templates to be created, no templates to choose from.
Lack of ability to track employee training records.
Cost of use changed from unlimited users to a pay by user basis after we had been signed up for several years.
We are no longer able to pull hours out the way we used to which caused hours of lost time on our end in order to develop a new system.
No ability to track quanities of product installed.
No ability to view plan pages on the mobile app.

Kim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

User Friendly & Robust Software

Reviewed on 2020/01/27

I have been using Dataforma daily for 8 years. I have to train new users and it is always the...

I have been using Dataforma daily for 8 years. I have to train new users and it is always the easiest part of training a new employee due to the ease of use. Dataforma is always helpful and quick to respond when you have an issue or need to add a new user.

Pros

Ease of use and the fact that it can do just about everything we need it to do.

Cons

Unfortunately, two separate customers can not duplicate information. There is double entry. But, the reason you can not makes sense as all the building ID's would have to match. The API's that they are building should help.

Cara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

DataForma has helped Streamline Many of our Internal Functions

Reviewed on 2017/08/17

Been using DataForma for approx 3 years. It's has become (as we have grown with it) a great tool...

Been using DataForma for approx 3 years. It's has become (as we have grown with it) a great tool within our company.

Pros

Linking/building relationships is helpful to maneuver from one platform to another under the same account, search ability, ease of use, entering data.

Cons

It's limitations. Limited fields to use. Custom exported reports have to be created by DataForma. Queries have to be created by DataForma. Searching limitations and information exported across platforms (i.e., trying to combine information from one platform and another at the same time - requires a special query).

Stephen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dataforma Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/17

Great experience, don't feel DF is adapting or modernizing colored to new competition

Great experience, don't feel DF is adapting or modernizing colored to new competition

Pros

Initial industry CRM LEADER
Great Industry Partner
Closed system
Former Roofer designed Roofer system

Cons

Not designed for larger contractors
Closed systems -needs to be API FRIENDLY
Not connected through MS OUTLOOK
CLUNKY to navigate
Focused on accounting not basic core competencies

Alternatives Considered

Dynamics 365

Reasons for Switching to Dataforma

I haven't yet
Michelle
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good software, easy transition, nice functionality.

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Pros

As a CRM it can manage all of your data and then some, tons of functionality and customization options. Love that it can hold and manage both residential and commercial client information on the same platform.

Cons

If you aren't familiar with using a CRM, it can be a bit clunky to navigate. Itss actually quite easy, just a bit of a learning curve. Some of the more desired functionalities require customization that can only be facilitated through very in-depth training and development from Dataforma in-house customer reps. Which can be a bit of a let down if those features were the ones that sold you from the pitch.

Karissa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dataforma has helped the chaos of our business become more efficient and standardized.

Reviewed on 2018/04/18

Real time information from our men in the field
Creating and implementing our roof inspection...

Real time information from our men in the field
Creating and implementing our roof inspection reports - this cut down 80% of the time I used to spend doing this.
Being able to answer to our clients how many times we have been on a job site
Having access to all documents relating to a building at my fingertips
We are currently utilizing the webinar videos for a new hire and I am so very thankful for those as I am not the best at training
Capturing and following leads from cradle to grave

Pros

It is not only a big filing cabinet but we are able to see everything in real time. It is also very helpful to see the progress each person makes through a sale. We have been able to capitalize on many more opportunities.

Cons

The one difficulty we have had which is also a blessing in a way is that there are numerous ways to do one thing. I have had to create a system for everyone in our office to follow by due to the numerous amount of different ways to enter something in.

William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dataforma has transformed the flow of our business.

Reviewed on 2018/04/24

Pros

I like that it stores all the info about a job in one central place. Before we had pictures and notes scattered all over a job file, now it is in all one place. Also the history on a building is fantastic to have.

Cons

One of my many complaints about Dataforma is that with the expanded functionality, also comes a lot of steps. When you are a smaller contractor it make a lot of steps for one person. For example, there is no accounting functionality but a invoice must still be completed to close out a project.

jean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Expect the Unexpected

Reviewed on 2019/09/18

Loved it when we first got it. I wish the base program was available without them adding the...

Loved it when we first got it. I wish the base program was available without them adding the accounting.
Looking at other alternatives.

Pros

Works great for our Service Department for scheduling, work orders and invoicing.

Cons

Since the addition of Accounting to the "Base" Software that we purchased screens keep changing. We are not going to use the accounting and it makes everything we do with it more difficult. Hard for field employees to master.

Deborah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The system has helped us to more efficiently mange our projects and track work orders.

Reviewed on 2018/04/20

Pros

It has solved many of the issues we used to experience managing the different jobs. We can now collaborate and communicate more effectively with sales personnel and service technicians from the features on the mobile app. Having the ability to change statuses, enter notes and upload pictures from the field has dramatically reduced the number of phone calls we had to make in the past. There are still a number of features we have not implemented as yet but so far we are happy with the functionality.

Cons

The software does not have a full accounting platform so the invoices have to be migrated to our accounting program which sometimes experience issues with the transfer.

Nathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Dataforma is great at keeping our info in electronic file cabinets. Clunkiness is the problem.

Reviewed on 2018/05/09

Pros

The backup system and historical information that is preserved. I like the work order calendar and map interaction.

Cons

Not a good CRM for sales. It takes too many steps to create a correspondence, an event, or other things. When you need to do an event, all the fields are so spread out and you have to scroll down to even enter it. It just feels clunky.

Jaunita
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I enjoy DataForma. I think I do not utilize the majority of its capabilities.

Reviewed on 2018/04/23

We can share files. Dataforma helps save the environment and resources because we just upload the...

We can share files. Dataforma helps save the environment and resources because we just upload the original paper and all the office staff can look at it without using the extras that hard copies require.

Pros

My favorite thing about Dataforma is the ability for job files and information to be uploaded and not restricted to a paper file in a drawer in an office.

Cons

I cant say there is anything I like least about DataForma. It's just about getting in there and learning how to use it and being disciplined in the habit of putting stuff in there.

Cindy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Overall Dataforma has increased our accuracy and efficiency

Reviewed on 2018/04/23

Dataforma has made it so much easier to track work performed, track projects assigned to sales...

Dataforma has made it so much easier to track work performed, track projects assigned to sales staff, warranties etc..

Pros

excellent support staff, great record keeping, offers a large selection of uses, tracks warranty very well.

Cons

ability to make address changes to a company that will update all buildings, wish there was greater ease at setting up users

Dennis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Poor Client Service

Reviewed on 2017/02/14

Started using the Data-Forma system in 2009/2010. In a lot of ways it helped us track our work...

Started using the Data-Forma system in 2009/2010. In a lot of ways it helped us track our work orders, provide clients with an easier way to share info versus a DropBox or related service.

However, all the benefits of the service have been lost by failures in customer service, addressing customer concerns and simply even returning a phone call.

Like all vendors in the construction industry, they make all kinds of promises to get a sale and are very attentive until they get your check. Then it's on to the next sale and you are old news.

Pros

Easy to learn.

Cons

Needs to allow you to complete windows before updating after every entry. Boggs down, kicks you off too often requiring you log back in, sometimes several times in a day.

Poor customer service, lack of follow through, privacy concerns.

Johnny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hand Written work orders to 100% paperless during the first big RAIN storm of the year.

Reviewed on 2016/11/02

We are new to using Data Forma field service. So far it has been great and very easy to use once a...

We are new to using Data Forma field service. So far it has been great and very easy to use once a data base is built. The customer service has been great and we never feel rushed or that we bought a product and have been passed off. The hardest thing for us has been not going backwards and resorting back to hand written work orders and reactive behavior vs pro-active when dispatching a repair or an emergency type of call. Change is never easy but it is necessary to grow in a positive manner. This Dataforma is exactly as advertised and as the Data is provided it becomes easier to use and manage. Positive Results are immediate.

Pros

The ability to track everything possible about a job, customer or building is amazing. It is very easy for the field techs to use and get us the info we need so our customers get what they require in a great turn around time. The Dataforma employee who is doing our training etc has been amazing and exceeded our expectation by leaps and bounds.

Cons

Anything negative I have to say so far is on our companies end and accepting change without resorting back to old habbitts.

Scott
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Dataforma has been a valuable addition to our office.

Reviewed on 2018/04/24

Pros

Using the mobile app to send information to our field technicians. Access to historical information for past projects and buildings.

Cons

Still working on adapting our current workflow to match the software processes - formatting of templates can be time consuming.

Karin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dataforma is a great program

Reviewed on 2019/09/23

Dataforma is used in our office as a record filing source on the buildings we service, what was...

Dataforma is used in our office as a record filing source on the buildings we service, what was done, what wasn't and what guarantees are for the building. Service logs and tags and billing.

Pros

Ease of use. All the info we need at our fingertips

Cons

No cons on this product that I can think of

Lorrie
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Dataforma keeps all our records in one place making it quicker to look up client information.

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Pros

What I like most about Dataforma is how quickly I can retrieve information while on the phone with clients.

Cons

The program could be more user friendly. The layout could be more streamlined. Searching for information is sometimes confusing.

Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dataforma Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/26

Basically can run your entire company database and client files, including invoicing, all on one...

Basically can run your entire company database and client files, including invoicing, all on one network.

Pros

Easy to use and learn. Entire team has immediate real time access to work orders.

Cons

Can be time consuming building relationships

Nubia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use and easy to upload information

Reviewed on 2018/04/20

Allowed for everyone in the office to have access to the information that they need.

Allowed for everyone in the office to have access to the information that they need.

Pros

Easy to upload pictures, make proposals and enter customers. We also use it to track sales and commissions with the reports function.

Cons

The Reports section does need some work, we have to edit all the proposals. The proposal pictures do not get upload the the proposal all the time.

Ellisha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

3 out of 5 stars - too much to personally build and customize for a small business -

Reviewed on 2018/04/20

mobile use

mobile use

Pros

Cloud Based Application , allows for quick communication from the field back to the office. Allows for expedited invoicing

Cons

Cant get the most out of it because I am a small business - do not have the resources to build it out, it is not plug and play - very adaptable - if you have the staff or time to dedicate