Lightyear

Intelligent Purchasing & AP Automation Platform

Overall rating

4,9 /5
(151)
Value for Money
4,8/5
Features
4,8/5
Ease of Use
4,9/5
Customer Support
4,9/5

99%
recommended this app
Sort by

151 Reviews

Megan
Megan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Time Saver

Reviewed on 2020/06/16

Using Lightyear eliminates the overhead of a staff member and risk of manual data entry errors....

Using Lightyear eliminates the overhead of a staff member and risk of manual data entry errors. Saves time and money for the business

Pros

- Ease of access for different managers to approve their own departments invoices
- ability to bring up old invoices as a click of a button
- quick turn around from customer service team
- Data interpretation to avoid data entry errors
- Access 24/7 anywhere in the world

Cons

Phone app does not have all the same capabilities as the website, waiting for further updates.

Jane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

This software took away our headaches with accounts payable

Reviewed on 2020/05/27

We love using Lightyear. It provides a fast, smooth process for auto processing and two-step...

We love using Lightyear. It provides a fast, smooth process for auto processing and two-step approval. This saves us time and gives us the control process we need with administration staff checking mapping and accounts along with Directors approving the bill for payment; all before getting exported to Xero.
Customer support is helpful and timely , especially during the set-up process.

Pros

Integrates seamlessly and easily with Xero - our accounting software

The option for single, double or exec approval process within Lightyear - meaning bills can be directly exported to the payment tab in Xero rather than draft.

Ability to file statements within the software - very handy with suppliers that send multiple dkts then ask you to pay on a statement

Cons

Minor wish list item:The archive tab for completed bills would be handier to search if located on the horizontal tab area where reviews, approvals are shown - rather than only accessible from the left-hand menu bar.

Rachael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Time Saver

Reviewed on 2022/07/27

Charlie has been great and customer service has been very quick in replying and solving questions....

Charlie has been great and customer service has been very quick in replying and solving questions. Approval processing is working well, overall happy.

Pros

The Manager function has worked well for us as we have offices in different locations which has made the approval of invoices more efficient.
Easy to see where the approval process is up to.
Exporting invoices to our accounting system is great.
Also like the audit trail feature.

Cons

We haven't used the PO system yet but looking forward to the enhancements that will suit the way we use them. Yes they have listened to us and adding options to suit our business.

Hajni
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best software

Reviewed on 2024/01/08

Exceptional, the best software that I have worked with over the years.

Exceptional, the best software that I have worked with over the years.

Pros

The implementation of the system was easy with excellent support from the team. It is very user friendly, all approvers have started using it without additional training as it is so straightforward. Processing invoices with Lightyear is super easy and using the system finally allowed us to go totally paperless.

Cons

There is no downside of the system, I cannot mention anything negative about it.

Debra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Game Changer

Reviewed on 2021/11/09

Simplifying the approval process

Simplifying the approval process

Pros

Having data extraction & approval within one system is a game changer for us.
The approval process is simple to use once you spend the time to set it up.
The Keyword feature works really well when working with multiple locations.
The mobile phone app is easy to use and easy to switch between companies.

Cons

No ability on the mobile app to add a note to the receipt/invoice and no feature for multiple page or long receipts / invoices.

Kamil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great product that's getting even better with every update

Reviewed on 2021/06/21

Pros

First of all, Lightyear is a standalone application that you can, but don't have to integrate with your accounting software. Second of all, strightaway you know the costs of adding it to your business. The price list is on their website and it's fair.
The setup did require some thinking about workflows and user experience, so I took my time there.
But once the suppliers and maps are set up and automation rules kick in, the whole AP process becomes much less painful. I almost enjoy it now ;). The most important features like reading the invoices, accurately mapping them, and assigning them to correct approvers work very well. It saves time, effort and annoyances. The Lightear support team is a very helpful and friendly bunch. I even did a small survey among colleagues and asked what they thought of Lightyear. No surprise - everyone likes it. I highly recommend this product!

Cons

No option to add multiple attachments to invoice at once.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Acrobat Sign

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

It's standalone and doesn't need costly integrations with accounting software or involving IT support.
Patrick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremley Powerfull and Efficient Accounts Payable System

Reviewed on 2022/12/19

The experience with Lightyear to date has been exceptional. From initial engagement, implementation,...

The experience with Lightyear to date has been exceptional. From initial engagement, implementation, and ongoing support has been flawless. Guidance and support from [SENSITIVE CONTENT] at Lightyear have been brilliant and I look forward to continuing working with Lightyear and the team on implementing other workstreams coming up (i.e., P/O Processing).

Pros

- Invoice Processing: Significant amount of time saved for me to focus on other aspects of the business, with confidence, knowing that I have accurately captured and processed all invoices.- Security: bank fraud detection is a very powerful feature of the lightyear system as well as its ability to flag duplicate invoices.- Support: the Lightyear team are incredible. From implementation to processing/mapping support, Lightyear are unreal.

Cons

N/A: We have currently used Lightyear for < 6 months but have explored a significant amount of its functionality and capability, which has been an incredibly positive experience for myself and the business.

Alternatives Considered

Tipalti

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Far superior invoice processing functionality and advanced P/O system that could not be matched on quality and price.
Laure
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing tool to process accounts payables

Reviewed on 2021/09/16

Pros

Great value for money, time saving, user friendly, outstanding customer service, provides everything you need to process creditors invoices

Cons

I have never had a bad experience with Lightyear. Whenever something doesn't work (which barely happens), their team is always very responsive and the problem gets solved super quickly

Alternatives Considered

Hubdoc

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Much better product than the other alternatives
Andy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to implement and works very well

Reviewed on 2021/05/28

Has helped modernize the way our company processes and stores invoices, hard to envisage the...

Has helped modernize the way our company processes and stores invoices, hard to envisage the company going back to the way it was before.

Pros

Easy to use and has vastly improved the time to process our payments while providing significantly more oversight for our executive team.

Cons

Integration with existing procedures was very easy but would require the company's accounts/purchasing team to be hands on during the process.

Alternatives Considered

Medius

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Cost and Lightyear took our queries more seriously and responded with much more urgency.
Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Invoice System I have ever used

Reviewed on 2020/05/26

Very positive.

Very positive.

Pros

- So easy to use
- Effortless
- Easy to integrate to accounting software
- Easy to identify working streams via approval tabs
- Easy to find old invoices

Cons

- Nothing ! It is such a good platform. Highly recommend.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great solution for a medium sized enterprise

Reviewed on 2023/01/04

Lightyear has proved to be a great value entry point to accounts payable automation. The team at...

Lightyear has proved to be a great value entry point to accounts payable automation. The team at Lightyear were really helpful getting us setup and used to the system and ongoing support for new supplier setups and invoice layouts is very prompt. The system continues to be developed and has some limitations, but for the money you pay, it is a great value product.

Pros

The system is simple and handles the basics well such as invoice coding and linear approval workflows.Bank account detail changes, duplicate invoice flagging and statement reconciliation are also very clear and useful.The support team both for implementation and ongoing support are responsive and effective.

Cons

The approval workflow for invoices is at the individual supplier level so you can't create an approval chain for a department and attach a group of suppliers to that department. Each supplier is configured individually.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Value for moneySpeed and ease of implementation
Diego
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great AP tool for your business

Reviewed on 2020/05/11

User friendly platform, great support and an outstanding approval options. I recommend Lightyear to...

User friendly platform, great support and an outstanding approval options. I recommend Lightyear to all my clients, specially the ones that requires a complex approval process before the bill is imported to the accounting system.

Pros

The approval options definitely is the differential of Lightyear. From a simple 2 steps approval, to up to 3 executive approval, there are many options that can suit the most complex business.
Another strong point from Lightyear is their support. You usually gets a response on the same day.

Cons

Their subscription is based on the number of transactions, so if your business manages a large quantity of bills, it might become a bit expensive.

Alternatives Considered

Hubdoc and Dext Prepare

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Due to their approval options.

Response from Lightyear

Many thanks for the review. Glad to hear that the approvals are making your life easier.

Evette
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Recommended - A Cost Effective Solution and Amazing Customer Service

Reviewed on 2022/07/22

I wish we had moved to Lightyear a long time ago, it's a simple solution to a time consuming...

I wish we had moved to Lightyear a long time ago, it's a simple solution to a time consuming process.
Customer service has been second to none - from the start of demonstrations to ongoing support (which we rarely use now) the service has been 10/10!

Pros

Complete visibility across supplier invoices either via the dashboard as a quick view or in detail across all stages of approvals. This is especially helpful at the end of the month to see if all invoices have been through the entire approval process and exported to our accounting system before close off.
Search functionality is helpful and shows which stage of the process each invoice is at - search results can be exported.
The audit trails and notes show full history of the life of the invoice and save a lot of external communication and queries.
Implementation was easy after the demonstrations given to us by [SENSITIVE CONTENT] who took the time to understand what we wanted (which was a little bit out of the ordinary!) and configure the settings accordingly. We gained confidence in Lightyear through the demonstration/training process and the additional webinars.

Cons

Looking forward to enhancements to the mobile app to allow more functionality while on site.

John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Lightyear are a true business partner

Reviewed on 2020/05/26

The Lightyear team are an absolute joy to work with, absolutely passionate about their product, and...

The Lightyear team are an absolute joy to work with, absolutely passionate about their product, and absolutely passionate about your customer journey. Lightyear provide fantastic support, with investment in comprehensive system training, onboarding and seamless accounts system integration even before you have committed to buy. The transition from our original processes took approximately one day!

Lightyear have now fully automated our AP function, embedding improved and auditable controls, and is now a fundamental part of our business processes.

Lightyear truly are a business partner in every sense of the word.

Pros

The functionality of Lightyear is incredible. This solution fully incorporates digitisation of all aspects of the AP function including data extraction from invoices, a full invoice depository, approval workflows via email and app, audit trails, seamless integration with our accounting system, automated supplier statement reconciliation, to name but a few. It can even verify supplier invoice line pricing to agreed pricing product price lists!

The system is user intuitive, with the process was so natural that rolling this out across the team was simplicity itself.

And pricing is scalable to usage, providing totally affordable Rolls Royce functionality to any organisation.

Cons

Have found no cons to date! Thee are certain upgrades in the pipeline for approver interface via the app and email which will further enhance the already existing superiority of this product.

Andrei
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Outstanding Product

Reviewed on 2021/03/25

We've been using LightYear for 8 months now. We process 1200 AP bills per month and have found the...

We've been using LightYear for 8 months now. We process 1200 AP bills per month and have found the software to be easy to use, accurate and bug-free. Initial training and implementation was a breeze and we were up and running in a very short time which was excellent. I highly recommend LightYear!

Pros

Easy to use, easy and fast to implement, seamless integration with Xero, outstanding product support and customer service

Cons

We'd like to be able to integrate LightYear with other tools in our stack which is not yet available however the team have assured me this will become available in the not too distant future

Alternatives Considered

Dext Prepare

Reasons for Choosing Lightyear

Switched accounting system to Xero

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

LightYear is a much higher quality product
Melanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Lightyear -very easy to use and saves time and printing . User friendly .

Reviewed on 2021/09/24

Pros

Software is very easy to use and to understand. Screens provide relevant invoice information.
Corrections on invoices can be made easily if required by the user.
Adding notes to invoices is very helpful for future reference.
Looking up archived invoices is also very useful. Creditors statements can also be stored so no need to print them.
Setting up new users is very easy and quick.
Invoices that need to be mapped by Lightyear are mapped in a timely manner .
There are regular improvements and updates on Lightyear which benefit the user.

Cons

Hard code description against suppliers when it is always the same description that needs to be entered

Rebecca
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Stop searching this is the product for you

Reviewed on 2020/05/26

We have been with them since the start - and I find it exciting to see the new developments, and...

We have been with them since the start - and I find it exciting to see the new developments, and love the innovation of the team. It has made my workload smaller and aided me in finding invoices that would have long been lost had it not been for lightyear search options.

Pros

The ease of use, and the multi-level permissions. I run three companies using one software.

Cons

every time I find something I don't like customer service solve it within minutes - they have figured workarounds for all the work we complete

Response from Lightyear

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Great to hear our customer service team is going beyond your expectations.

Ankur
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

AP Automation tool ideally suited for SMEs

Reviewed on 2020/02/12

Implementing Lightyear was tricky initially as the software did not have existing integration with...

Implementing Lightyear was tricky initially as the software did not have existing integration with SAP. That's something we had to figure out however the team at Lightyear gave us ample opportunity and support even during the trial phase. Would like to specially mention about [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], our account manager. She is a customer service champ.

Pros

The product gives you good value for money. Its easy to use and implement with excellent customer support.

Cons

Still early days for the software when it comes to integrating with SAP. Would have liked an API that integrates with SAP too. Best works for Xero, MYOB and other finance platforms.

Alternatives Considered

SAP Concur and Medius

Reasons for Switching to Lightyear

Better value for money.

Response from Lightyear

Many thanks for the review Ankur. We are always developing the platform but we will pass on your feedback to the development team. Great to hear the support team have been able to get everything sorted for you in the meantime.

Deborah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, time saving, cost effective product!!!

Reviewed on 2022/10/24

Lightyear saves so much time and paperwork which I find so helpful, and to top it off, if I ever...

Lightyear saves so much time and paperwork which I find so helpful, and to top it off, if I ever get stuck, they are readily available and willing to assist.

Pros

If I have to choose just one favourite thing about lightyear it would be the mapping which saves me so much time, however, I continue to find benefits of this product all the time. From all the automations, to the viewable history, through to the supportive team. I could go on and on

Cons

I love this product for my use, however I am not sure if the department heads/authorisers of the invoices see all the detail I would like them to be checking/confirming as we use job codes as well as ledgers codes.

Nance
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic Product

Reviewed on 2020/04/16

Lightyear saves hours of data entry, allows for multi-level approvals throughout a company and...

Lightyear saves hours of data entry, allows for multi-level approvals throughout a company and exports seamlessly with Xero.

Pros

The ease of set up and use and ability to export automatically to Xero.

Cons

Very little. Initially in the change from Invitbox to Lightyear there were some issues but they have been quickly resolved and in fact Lightyear just gets better and better.

Response from Lightyear

Many thanks for the review Nance. Great to hear how much you are loving Lightyear!!

DONNA
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Time Saving

Reviewed on 2020/08/13

Purchase invoices, time saving

Purchase invoices, time saving

Pros

This is so beneficial for our purchase invoices. Saves so much entry work. Customer service is fast on chat and if need be the issue can be discussed over the phone. Which I find most useful. Customer service always helpful and will fix up the problem via joining your screen if needed

Cons

Credit expiry is not warned when it is coming to an expiry point.

Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremely Capable & Easy to Use

Reviewed on 2019/05/10

We receive between 2,000 to 3,000 invoices per month. Lightyear facilitates auto receiving and...

We receive between 2,000 to 3,000 invoices per month. Lightyear facilitates auto receiving and forwarding to the persons responsible for approving the invoices. It provides a logical and easy to understand workflow and has integration to our Xero aacounting software. Lightyear provided excellent training and their support is 100%

Pros

Quick to Learn
Excellent functionality
Fast and knowledgeable support

Cons

None as most of the things I would like are coming in soon to be released new version

Response from Lightyear

Hi Greg, many thanks for the feedback and delighted we are able to help your team improve their AP processes!

Janelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Lightyear is Great

Reviewed on 2024/02/15

Pros

Lightyear allows for excellent reporting and intelligence

Cons

The delay in mapping new suppliers, although there is an option to speedily approve.

Silvio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MITS review

Reviewed on 2020/05/26

Experience so far has been fantastic. We have had little use, and had to stop during the COVID-19...

Experience so far has been fantastic. We have had little use, and had to stop during the COVID-19 shut down, but from what we have used so far, we can see this saving our venue managers and well as our finance team lots of time in processing and reconciling supplier accounts.

Pros

The ability to set up different team members to approve invoices, as well as keeping all invoices in one central location, uploaded via suppliers. Integration to Xero is also fantastic.

Cons

The learning curve for new users takes some work.

Kenneth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Accounts Payable Invoice Processing and Approval Software

Reviewed on 2020/05/28

Excellent support from their support team
Very user friendly

Excellent support from their support team
Very user friendly

Pros

Layered and tiered approval process
Simple and easy to use, very user friendly
PDF recognition
Progressive software company that looks to continue to develop its product

Cons

Speed of software can be improved
Can improve on recognition of other file formats