Qualys Cloud Platform Reviews

Qualys Cloud Platform

Computer and network security software for IT professionals

Overall rating

3,9 /5
(27)
Value for Money
3,8/5
Features
4,0/5
Ease of Use
4,0/5
Customer Support
3,9/5
Sort by

27 Reviews

Gaurav
Gaurav
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Qualys Cloud Platform - A Complete Solution for all your security needs

Reviewed on 2022/11/08

Qualys helps companies discover, design, diagonoze,defend and monitor their business assets and...

Qualys helps companies discover, design, diagonoze,defend and monitor their business assets and corresponding threats .

Pros

The Console . The Qualys console has all the modules like VMDR , PC, SCA, PM , FIM etc. The Same agent can be used to perform all these tasks and scan for vulnerabilities . Its pretty straightforward and easy.

Cons

Reporting format is a bit shaggy if you would ask me ..But having said that , the addition and deletion of controls also has to be more easily doable.

Alternatives Considered

Tenable.io

Reasons for Switching to Qualys Cloud Platform

Ease of Deployment , implementation and configuration . It also helps the users to Integrate Qualys with various other tools and technologies for further enablement.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Qualys VM Review

Reviewed on 2020/03/11

It is one of the better solutions I have worked with. There are false-positives however this is...

It is one of the better solutions I have worked with. There are false-positives however this is common to most vulnerability scanners. This is one of the top 3 vulnerability scanners I would recommend. Take the time to understand what you require from the product and start building your tasks and reporting around it. The product will proof extremely valuable.

Pros

The interface is nice and clean. Free online training with labs aids in understanding the product. Easy deployment of agents on both Windows and Linux endpoints.

Cons

Configuring scans was not the easiest of tasks to perform initially. I recommend doing the free online training first before embarking with the deployment. Reporting needs to be improved especially the look and feel of the .PDF reports. Scheduling tasks I found limited as I wanted a particular scan to run 2 days out of the month and was unable to do so. Instead I had to create 2 tasks. Could not find an option to create custom usernames.

Alternatives Considered

Greenbone

Reasons for Switching to Qualys Cloud Platform

Current Mcafee Vulnerability Product was end-of-life. Pricing and support.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Lots of promises, great marketing. Real quality rather low. Decided to find something better.

Reviewed on 2018/07/21

That was my first contact with vulnerability management. Perhaps it's a good software for start or...

That was my first contact with vulnerability management. Perhaps it's a good software for start or for small companies. I was able to recognize my needs and it helped a lot to find a professional solution.

Pros

Lots of features, agent available, flexible pricing. Software as a service, so you don't need any infrastructure.

Cons

Useless unprofessional support, unable to solve any of my issues. They were closing unresolved issues. Lot of false positives. Support couldn't solve them, I got promises that it will be fixed in next release. Awful and unreliable reporting (errors on dashboards etc.). Very expensive. They're not using real cloud but couple of concentrators in different regions. Not useful for global customers. They promise they don't have access to customer data, but they request that to solve problems.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

In my oppinion, the best vulnerability management solution in the market

Reviewed on 2019/12/05

Pros

From my years of experience with vulnerability management solutions, Qualys is the best one in the market. First, it is really easy to set up, specially the cloud solution. In less than few hours you can start scanning your environment. Second, it's vulnerability database is constantly updated with the latest vulnerabilities. Third, it contains tons of apps that extends its capabilities (e.g. Asset management app, web application scanning, PCI compliance monitoring, etc.) ...

Cons

The price tag is not the cheapest one. Their licensing model is per IP on the scope, not per live IPs. So for example, if you have three /24 networks with one server each, you will be paying to scan 765 IPs (255*3) instead of only 3 IPs.

Alternatives Considered

Nessus and IBM Security QRadar

Reasons for Switching to Qualys Cloud Platform

The implementation time for qualys is way lower than any other tool. Also, the amount of out-of-the-box reports is way higher than any other product, and their vulnerability database is constantly updated.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Vulnerability scanning

Reviewed on 2020/08/05

Overall it has been very positive and we will continue to use it. It has helped us greatly lock...

Overall it has been very positive and we will continue to use it. It has helped us greatly lock down our environment.

Pros

Qualys gives high-quality reports in an easy to read format. The agent has been easy to install and has not caused any issues.

Cons

We have had some instances where scan attempts ended up causing confusion or application outages when they were not designed to handle the scans.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Nice tool for Vulnerability Management.

Reviewed on 2019/01/28

Overall We are happy, Web interface is very interactive and training are awesome.

Overall We are happy, Web interface is very interactive and training are awesome.

Pros

Easy to implement, enabling sensors are not much techie.

Cons

Sometime handling false positive detection are really a tough task.

Safi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Qualys VM

Reviewed on 2019/02/06

They need to make the product better .. Focus ion ease of use. Get a focus group going.

They need to make the product better .. Focus ion ease of use. Get a focus group going.

Pros

Agent deployment is simple. The software offers much if configured right. I dislike the add on services model.

Cons

False positives. If a later software update rectifies an older vulnerability then there is no need to show asset is vulnerable.
Vuln that shows up in Asset View is different in Vuln View.. Why?
Salesperson quit after the sale which sucked. Replacement helped but was not focused on us.

Tejas
Tejas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great cloud based vulnerability scanning tool.

Reviewed on 2018/10/02

Great vulnerability scanner to provide accurate vulnerability findings.

Great vulnerability scanner to provide accurate vulnerability findings.

Pros

Qualysguard performs scan based on IP addresses rather than URL’s.

It easily accessible from anywhere as its as cloud based scanner.

Qualysguard supports scheduling of the scan for target system based on particular time and date and it also acknowledges and share the mail once the scan is completed.

It can also perform the scan and give vulnerabilities as per compliance standards such as PCI DSS.

Cons

Qualysguard doesn’t support scan for URL’s as we only need to provide IP address of the URL to perform the scan.

This tool might be costly for small scale organizations.

Timothy
Timothy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great VM Solution

Reviewed on 2020/08/28

Once you have the software set up, it is wonderful to use. There are improvements that can be made...

Once you have the software set up, it is wonderful to use. There are improvements that can be made but this is a great solution for the money. Happy with the product so far.

Pros

The solution is very detailed in what information it collects. The Cloud agent runs as a service on the endpoints and references back to the cloud periodically (the interval is customizable). The GUI is very nice and they are updating things constantly. It is easy to see our Security stance from the different modules.

Cons

There is no MSI file to deploy the software via GPO! Also, for me, the assetview module shows a different number of assets than the VMDR asset tab. Why there is a difference, I don't know.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Policy
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Useful Vulnerabilty Management option

Reviewed on 2019/03/05

Pros

Detailed explanations and possible resolutions for vulnerabilities that are detected by the Cloud Agents.

Cons

I have used other solutions as well on the same machines and they seem to detect quite a few different vulnerabilities, it seems neither give a rather complete list, so it's a good idea to use multiple solutions from different vendors with a different focus to get a clear insight in the ones that are classified as higher risks.

Héctor Joel
Héctor Joel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Qualys the best vulnerability scanner

Reviewed on 2019/01/08

Based on the experience I have with Qualys, it is very impressive to capture the vulnerabilities,...

Based on the experience I have with Qualys, it is very impressive to capture the vulnerabilities, this compiles a complete report of the risks that your infrastructure has, in addition the patches have very precise information that allows you to carry out the remediation very effectively.

The analyzes are detailed and very complete, it works very well to carry out the compliance stages of PCI, CIS, etc... Providing a great guarantee that periodically your organization has an armored infrastructure.

Pros

In the firts instance we could see its operation inside a beast and we were amazed, its different configurations to make scans allows to obtain much more complete results than other programs. Qualys as a pentesting tool allows you to analyze those areas of greatest risk within your organization to remedy them. The ability to perform scans for a particular plugin is one of the features that other software should envy to Qualys. Your reports have a very detailed information that allows you to quickly identify vulnerabilities.

Cons

I have no negative comments, it has worked very well in the company and with our allies.

Brendon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A great Cyber Security Tool

Reviewed on 2023/10/04

Pros

I love the ease of use especially when you're managing multiple sites. The Qualys dashboard has to be the best hands down

Cons

It gets a bit complicated when it comes to the set up and deployment. And another thing was the delay in endpoint scanning, it takes a while for the update information from the endpoints

Alternatives Considered

Nessus and ITarian
Mohamed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best VM Solution

Reviewed on 2022/11/09

Extremely satisfied

Extremely satisfied

Pros

Full fledged VAGreat suiteFlexible deployment optionsFree updates

Cons

Integration between modulesWeak patch management integration

Tushar
Tushar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best vulnerabilities management tool

Reviewed on 2023/01/13

Pros

Qualys is easily the best VM tool available because of many features like easy deployment, good UI, great customer support and outstanding VM features especially scanning, asset management, reporting etc. Container security and policy compliance modules work like a charm.

Cons

There is no offline deployment in qualys, so for air gapped environments Qualys cannot be used.

Alternatives Considered

Tenable.io
Saumendra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Patching , VAPT , Reporting All-In-One place

Reviewed on 2022/10/27

Its now supper impressive to showcase security matrix reports to management.

Its now supper impressive to showcase security matrix reports to management.

Pros

This product has high quality vulnerability scanner , supper easy to setup and implement in enterprise environment. Saves endpoint from any ransomeware , hack and vulnerabilities by patching them at the right time . Vast database of vulnerability detection and fixing .Reporting & dashboard are of highly professional quality. Its now supper impressive to showcase these reports to management.

Cons

Nothing specific found till date.

Joevanne
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Very outdated user interface

Reviewed on 2017/08/08

Pros

The platform provides pretty up to date scanning capabilities. Reporting contains direct links to available exploits.

Cons

Very out dated user interface. Reporting modules have to be purchase separately along with actual scanners

Manoj
Manoj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Comprehensive Solution for CloudSec Needs

Reviewed on 2023/02/20

Overall, Qualys Cloud Security is a comprehensive and powerful security tool

Overall, Qualys Cloud Security is a comprehensive and powerful security tool

Pros

Comprehensive security coverage, scalability, and ease of use

Cons

Cost can be subjective depending upon the org size. Also configurations are to be done very accurately for getting desired results.

Pal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Easy to use

Reviewed on 2023/02/23

Really happy to use

Really happy to use

Pros

True Positive Report for Vulnerability and VMDR is amazing really happy to use

Cons

Sometime it take like 24 hours for agent to get reflect in the portal

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best paid tool for doing Vulnerability Scans

Reviewed on 2018/08/25

Costly tool but it is worth the money

Costly tool but it is worth the money

Pros

It can scan the systems based on various unique standards like PCI DSS which other scanners by competitors doesn't have .
We can define various scanning profiles for doing vulnerability scans .
It supports scan based on IP rather than URL.
As it is a cloud based scanner it can be accessed from anywhere.
I like the feature that it has option to schedule scans in future.

Cons

It can't perform credentialed based scans for external or public facing IP’s
Does Not support URL based vulnerability scans for application.

Graham
Graham
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Incompetent badly supported rubbish.

Reviewed on 2018/08/24

Pros

Nothing - I hate it.

Cons

Their ridiculous false positives - apparently it's a critical incompliance that certain options aren't set in the gdm config file /etc/gdm.conf.
Fair enough - if gdm was installed. A simple check that the file exists first would eliminate this and (of our 80+ compliance errors) most others. Complaining about mount options on non-existent filesystems, or that /etc/gshadow didn't match a regex - or did, I'm not sure from the report. The file has mode 0000 (so no permissions set at all).
The fix was to chown root:root /etc/gshadow*

Trust these amateurs at your own risk. If they are as incompetent as this, what are they missing?

Tony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Newspapers
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Nice Tool for Security Scanning

Reviewed on 2019/05/01

We used Qualys for performing security scans on all Windows and Linux based servers being prepped...

We used Qualys for performing security scans on all Windows and Linux based servers being prepped for deployment so we had no vulnerabilities on servers being brought onto the production networks. Nice piece of mind and accountability for us as a deployment group.

Pros

convenient web based scanning utility for our enterprise

Cons

frequently had password issues trying to use a group account

Suchibrato
Overall rating
  • Industry: Semiconductors
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Qualys VM review - Analyst perspective

Reviewed on 2020/10/08

Pros

The tool is feature-rich, and managing the software is easy. Scans are easy to initiate and it doesnt cause any hassle for first-timers

Cons

UI is lacklustre. Overall the tool is a bit slower in accessing compared to its competition

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Outsourcing/Offshoring
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Vulnerability Management

Reviewed on 2018/11/21

Pros

Works well and is a trusted source. Their scanning engine gives you some level organization independence (not entirely).

Cons

It is expensive, and you have to open up your organization to their IP's or put an in-house relay server.

Tony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best vulnerability scanning tool out there

Reviewed on 2021/04/24

Pros

Detects the most vulns from a range of scanners tested.

Cons

Reporting needs to be improved. This is a flaw in all VM tools though.

Ramona
Ramona
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Confusing vulnerability scanner/manager

Reviewed on 2019/03/14

We use this to regularly check our most important servers and determine their cybersecurity...

We use this to regularly check our most important servers and determine their cybersecurity maturity.

Pros

Once you get the hang of the interface, it generates results with more depth than most vulnerability assesment tools. Support is quick to respond to any queries, even during a trial period.

Cons

The interface and the amount of options is confusing, to put it mildly. There are many different steps to take and many different, seemingly similar, scan options to choose from. It takes a significant amount of time to set up.