10 reviews

Trail

Equipment maintenance software with investment planning

4,2 /5 (10 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
10 reviews
Tiny G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Does what it does well

Reviewed on 2020/11/25

I would recommend Trail to any company that wants asset management and maintenance software first and some sales / rental pricing features second. Trail is an asset management platform and as such does this better than the quoting part. Would recommend it over other rental software

Pros

Trail is easy to implement and easy to use. As it is browser/cloud based it is easy to work with on all platforms and therefore the uptake by our employees was good.
The trail team in the 3 department I deal with are all good at keeping their answers concise and referred to others if appropriate but the answers are always swift in coming.
Having Trail relationship manager for our company means are questions are answered or items followed up in context to other discussions.

Cons

Reporting and print out formatting is the one down side of this software. This is handled well by the team writing custom reports so is not a big drawback and the Trail team are open to discussions about why the standard reporting is not applicable.

Response from Trail Systems

Hi Tiny, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Trail! We really appreciate the feedback and happy to hear that Trail is doing well!

Veikko P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User-friendly Asset Management

Reviewed on 2020/11/24

The experience in to the world of asset management has been amazing, thanks to Trail and all of the great guys behind it.

Pros

Multifunctional, easy to use, multi-platform support.

Cons

This one is hard to fill, because Trail does everything I need. Perhaps the mobile app's barcode scanner could be better.

Response from Trail Systems

Hi Veikko, Thank you for taking the time to review Trail! We really appreciate the feedback! User experience is continuously being developed so we'll definitely see how we can improve the barcode scanner.

Marko M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy AV equipment and production management

Reviewed on 2020/11/26

Sibelius Academy has used Trail since 2011. It has evolved quite a bit during that time and we're very happy with the product and support we're receiving.

Pros

Ease of use, new users learn to use Trail very fast. Customer support answers quickly solving most of the cases very fast. Trail Systems is always open to new things like "AV equipment loan equipment locker" that we built together a couple of years ago.

Cons

Implementing custom features is time consuming and expensive. Customers don't always get information about new features delivered for all Trail users for free.

Response from Trail Systems

Hi Marko, thank you for taking the time to review Trail! And happy to hear that You are happy with Trail and the support! We've also recognized the need to inform all users about product improvements better. We'll contact all customers about it shortly!

Simppu S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Trail easy to use mostly

Reviewed on 2020/11/25

Works fine, not mind-blowing software but that gets the job done.

Pros

Fast informative overview on a starting page

Cons

Web-based printing is slow. a hand held printer would be nice option.

Response from Trail Systems

Hi Simppu, and thank you for taking the time to review Trail! We really appreciate the effort and feedback! Excellent comment on the hardware side, we'll definitely take it into account in improving the printing service!

Jonathan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Performing Arts
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Göteborgoperan

Reviewed on 2020/12/04

That has helped us to get a more overlock of ours things in the warehouse.

Pros

The software have so many functionalitys.

Cons

That can be complicated to gets in to the software. That have been mutch of frustration from workpartners how not understand how it works.

Response from Trail Systems

Hi Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to review Trail! We really appreciate the feedback and will definitely continue to focus on the user experience and ease of use.

Kaj W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Keeping track of your gear

Reviewed on 2020/12/01

When you get used to the restrictions and learn some work-arounds it´s quite helpful

Pros

Borrowing out gear for students is quite straight forward.

Cons

The way locations, where the specific piece of gear is situated and where it has been borrowed to is a bit messy to read. You get a list of everything in a specific room at that moment. The next user does not know what is there only temporarily.

Response from Trail Systems

Hi Kaj, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Trail! We're very interested to hear about user experience and based on this, the clarity regarding locations is something that we'll take a close look at. Glad to hear that Trail is being helpful!

Oskar S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Simple, yet effective equipment management

Reviewed on 2020/12/02

My overall experience with Trail is positive, as it has simplified and unified our equipment management and helped with keeping the equipment register up to date. The customer service is swift and polite.

Pros

I like the simplicity of Trail. It is easy to set up and use for the average user. The software is also quite flexible in terms of different types of sectors, users and equipment resulting from this. I like the ability to use the software's core abilities on my smartphone.

Cons

There are some small areas that could be further developed. For example, there is not anyway to have multiple levels of access for the same user. Also some of the features are a bit hard to grasp, mainly because they are used so infrequently.

Response from Trail Systems

Hi Oskar, Thank you for taking the time to review Trail! We're happy to hear that You've had a positive experience with Trail! And thank you for the valuable feedback, it'll be something that we'll definitely take a closer look at.

Heli M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very positive experience!

Reviewed on 2020/11/24

We got a lot of important information, which we need in our organization.

Pros

It is easy to use and there is several useful functions. Reports are able to manage by Excel.

Cons

I have not found such a function which I would not like.

Response from Trail Systems

Hi Heli, we really appreciate you taking the time to review Trail! And what a wonderful review - Thank you!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Trail

Reviewed on 2020/12/01

Pros

Relatively easy to setup. Can be hosted as SaaS. Supports importing from Excel. Have an API for further integration.

Cons

Could have had SSO as a standard solution within the base package

Response from Trail Systems

Thank you for taking the time to review Trail! We really appreciate it! Good to hear about wishes regarding our solution package which is constantly evaluated and developed further.

Juha H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Happy customer since 2015

Reviewed on 2020/11/24

Really nicely developed system to suit our needs. We don't use all of the functions but this gives us room to improve our own work methods to increase for example the service info and interval of our equipment.

Pros

System has brought us control over our equipment management we know exactly where anything is at any given moment. Also the ease of use since it is web based you can access it easily from anywhere and the system is very flexible and customizable to suit our needs. And of course the system is Finnish which is a big plus for us.

Cons

Sometimes we get bugs for example the system returns devices by it self for example if an device has been read out the system returns it immediately after reading it out. And since we have multiple categories that are shared to different departments that causes everyone to see all of reservations and would not be necessary, it is not a big issue and we are sure it could be resolved.

Response from Trail Systems

Hi Juha, Thank you for taking the time to review Trail! We're glad to hear that Trail suits your needs and more. We really appreciate all the feedback and regarding reservations, we will work on improving the user experience.