MicroStation Reviews

MicroStation

3D architecture software for construction businesses

Overall rating

4,3 /5
(173)
Value for Money
4,1/5
Features
4,2/5
Ease of Use
4,0/5
Customer Support
4,0/5

88%
recommended this app
Sort by

173 Reviews

Natalia
Natalia
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

This software is really a blessing in my work, and it has made my work every time easier for...

Reviewed on 2018/07/13

Pros

Easy to use with the friendly users. It's multiple screens helps the user to copy items and  find stuff on the screen. MicroStation is the best software which allows us to open and convert Autocad files. Dialogue box and reference manager are the great features that this software has. So I would say this is versatile with many functionality.

Cons

If i talk about the cost license of MicroStation is a little high but i also know that is because of its quality.There are no complaints about itself even they are improving and bringing some innovations about 3D packages .

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Can be very cumbersome transitioning from Autodesk products

Reviewed on 2018/01/26

Ease of 3D modeling, ability to handle complicated graphics with little disruption. Access to the...

Ease of 3D modeling, ability to handle complicated graphics with little disruption. Access to the Bentley website and access to product support and training is fantastic. All and all it is a good software package just is cumbersome to get started in.

Pros

Mostly the add on software, Descartes, GeoPac, etc. The 3D modeling is fantastic, if they could apply these concepts to the 2D seeds and access to tools, etc. the software would be much better.

Cons

Text editor is garbage, keyboard shortcuts are very cumbersome, to many options for setting up workspace, almost have to understand programing just to start drafting.

Xinghua
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

interface not as good as autocad

Reviewed on 2019/10/21

it is ok, but it can be better.

it is ok, but it can be better.

Pros

works fine.
1. option to have second widow
2. handy basic tools on the left box
3. google earth connection and locate point

Cons

1. Can't open different file in views at the same time, you can only work on one file at one time, which is inconvenient.
2. the interface is not as good as autoCAD, and the font, functions sign is less beautiful than AutoCAD
3. for most of good functions, it seems like hiding and not easy to dig out, if it makes it more easy to look for and use would be great,
4, the help center would be much more helpful to have videos showing how to use a specific function.
5, the system has glitches from time to time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product for infrastructure design

Reviewed on 2019/12/12

I have been using MicroStation for over 7 years. It is the best drafting software for engineers...

I have been using MicroStation for over 7 years. It is the best drafting software for engineers designing infrastructure.

Pros

MicroStation is the best product for highway and bridge design. It is a very easy software to use and has a minimal learning curve. Overall, I find MicroStation to be much easier to use than AutoCAD. Bentley is improving all of their MicroStation/OpenBridge products and advancing the future of BrIM.

Cons

I have no major criticisms of the software. There are some limitations with creating 3D models, but the product is coming along quickly.

Alexander
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Occasional glitches but effective for my tasks

Reviewed on 2020/08/18

My company is using Microstation combined with Terrascan to visualize lidar data and model...

My company is using Microstation combined with Terrascan to visualize lidar data and model utilities. The software has a lot of functionality and I am learning new abilities weekly.

Pros

Microstation has a a very active set of forums and help where you can generally look for a problem you are having and someone else has already come across the issue and solved it.

Cons

A recent update changed some of the files on my machine, effectively breaking my normal workflow and resetting my machine to a previous version of the software would not fix the issue. Working with customer support we were not able to fix it and I had to find a workaround

Alice
Alice
Overall rating
  • Industry: Staffing & Recruiting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The most user friendly software with excellent visualization.

Reviewed on 2018/12/08

It is really easy to use software. I like all its features as it is making my work easier day by...

It is really easy to use software. I like all its features as it is making my work easier day by day. I would say it is the most preferable software for performing multiple tasks.

Pros

I love everything about MicroStation. Its most interesting features include text styles plus dimension styles as well as references and line styles can be easily controlled through this software. There are fantastic ways of designing highways along with complete construction designs. It is the most reliable and excellent software. The best part of this software is that it never crashes.

Cons

This software works perfectly. I can hardly find cons in it. One of the cons is that MicroStation license is quite expensive but if we look at its quality and output, it surely deserve high price. One thing I want to suggest is that it should include some different line styles as well as font styles.

Neal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Adaptable and powerful software.

Reviewed on 2018/01/29

I am able to model and deliver plansets for roadway designs quickly and efficiently. More so than...

I am able to model and deliver plansets for roadway designs quickly and efficiently. More so than AutoDesk products at this point.

Pros

I like its adaptability and ability to work with other Bentley software packages. Additionally I like the ability to customize it and create macros that speed up the work process.

Cons

It can be buggy when working with 3D Modelling software and often crashes. Large files take a very long time to load as does switching between drawings with many references.

Mike
Mike
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have enjoyed (and cursed) MicroStation for many years. Since the DOS days, to be specific.

Reviewed on 2018/01/23

It is a very versatile and efficient mapping software.

It is a very versatile and efficient mapping software.

Pros

It is very versatile with a lot of functionality. For just about anything you can think of, there are two or three (or more) ways of doing it. I like that you can build in a virtual real-world environment and that there a lot of tools to help with that.

Cons

Because of its versatility it's also quite complicated. Trying to do something that is not familiar can be quite the challenge.

Veronica
Veronica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Effective Construction Project Management System.

Reviewed on 2022/08/19

The effective CAD functionalities allows easy 3D model designing and modification of other...

The effective CAD functionalities allows easy 3D model designing and modification of other Engineering designs and documents.

Pros

The CAD functionalities on this platform is the best and the data import and export is easy.

MicroStation has multiple Construction project management functionalities and the editing of Engineering drawings is simple and great coordination platform.

Cons

None i can recall, MicroStation is easy to deploy and start manipulating the features.

Alula
Alula
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

very useful

Reviewed on 2019/05/20

pretty awesome love using the software for drawings.

pretty awesome love using the software for drawings.

Pros

this software have a lot of futures that you can use. i love how its ease to move items copy and past, the 3D option of the function is very useful and helpful for drawings.

lots of short cuts that you can use with keyboard and its very helpful once you understand it and master the way how the product work.

Cons

for beginners the software is very complicated and hard to use . need to develop friend user options

Steve
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremely stable CAD platform for professional level production.

Reviewed on 2018/01/23

It's the main platform for our daily production, so it's essential to us getting our work done.

It's the main platform for our daily production, so it's essential to us getting our work done.

Pros

Very stable. Never crashes.
Getting started is easier than some of the competition, you can be up and drawing very quickly.
Some of the features are more intuitive than other software in the same class. You can get your drawing to look how you want it to look more quickly.
Software will let you go as in-depth as you want. If you wish to use it for basic tasks you can, but if you want to dig deep and become a power user, there are many many levels of depth.
Integration with newly acquired technologies, points to a bright future for the Microstation platform.

Cons

Some of the more powerful features of the software require you to spend some time looking under the hood and learning the inner workings.
There is not absolute consistency within every aspect of the GUI. Not every menu etc behaves in the same way, but this is a small nitpick, not a big deal.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Review from a seasoned college graduate.

Reviewed on 2019/10/21

Pros

After a while it becomes second nature to use, and the grid hotkeys are the best setting there is

Cons

When making the transition from autocad to micro station, there is a lot of frustration because some college students come out with decent drafting skills. MA suggestion would be to approach more school and see if they can use micro station next to autocad in the drafting classes.

Patricia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Microstation is much easier to use that autocad. It's less time consuming to use than autocad.

Reviewed on 2018/02/07

It's just easy to use. I use it at my job here and it makes my job easier. I also use AutoCAD but...

It's just easy to use. I use it at my job here and it makes my job easier. I also use AutoCAD but avoid it if I can. Microstation is just much, much better.

Pros

Ease of use. User friendly. Can use two, three screens which make it easy to copy items to find things on the screen easily. Microstation allows you to open and convert autocad files. YOU DON'T HAVE TO SAVE YOUR WORK!! I just love this product.
I can't say enough good things about Microstation by Bentley.

Cons

I do like the tabs that autocad uses so that you don't have to open a file separately.
The cost of a Microstation license is fairly expensive. I'd like to have some different fonts and linestyles given by the manufacturer.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Solid tool suite for multi-discipline integrated design!

Reviewed on 2018/01/26

Pros

Stable platform, excellent visualization and rendering, robust tool set even for just drawing geometry. Discipline BIM tools integrate amongst each other miles beyond the Autodesk realm. All time favorite feature? The reference manager dialog box and using logicals!

Cons

Click heavy, users can develop wrist strain easy if not careful. There is ambiguity about how some features work. For example, is it really necessary to shift the global origin in design files anymore? Why is it that level display settings will carry across reference models, but then become broken? Why not a quick fix button for that?

Chad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Too Expensive

Reviewed on 2023/01/24

Love the software. The support is great. The license management is way to cumbersome and...

Love the software. The support is great. The license management is way to cumbersome and complicated. Way, way too expensive for a small company

Pros

Ease to use. Work with it for over 20 years. Support has always been helpful.

Cons

Way too expensive for a small company. It is a shame becasue I do like the software.

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

30 years experience in Civil roadway design. But 15yrs or so with Inroads, 3yrs with...

Reviewed on 2018/01/29

Faster Road design with Inroads running inside of Microstation

Faster Road design with Inroads running inside of Microstation

Pros

Fairly stable platform doesn't crash to often. Nice that there are no large "Ribbons" that crowd the screen. I do like the multiple view tabs changing between them is a snap. Lots of on line video's. Control of Xref's is fantastic.

Cons

Setting up a CAD standard for the office to use is a bit confusing. Need to improve the selection method for selecting multiple objects. Full snap button should include the parallel snap option.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

MicroStation is fairly simple to use and is highly adaptable to our uses (Landscape Architectur...

Reviewed on 2018/01/29

It is easy to learn and works well with State Agencies (DOT, Colleges, Etc).

It is easy to learn and works well with State Agencies (DOT, Colleges, Etc).

Pros

It is built at "actual scale" so scaling onto sheets is very simple. It's well integrated into GIS and most state entities use it. Because the plans are geolocated, if you merge adjacent areas, they fit seamlessly

Cons

Addressing tech issues is extremely burdensome. Most of the first level IT is in the far east and responses can take a day. This means low priority issues can drag on forever.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

basic 2D / 3D advanced drawing program

Reviewed on 2021/02/18

It can be used as a common platform in all engineering areas such as Map, Infrastructure, Architectu...

It can be used as a common platform in all engineering areas such as Map, Infrastructure, Architecture, Construction, Mechanical, Installation, GIS.

Pros

Engineering programs that cannot do 3d modeling but have other advantages connect two programs to each other with an interface developed for microstation.

Cons

There is a problem that the lines drawn in the latest v8 version, but in this version, cannot be opened in the previous versions.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Backbone of our Company Draftsmen

Reviewed on 2019/09/12

A cheaper and more lightweight AutoCAD. If you spend some time with it, you can do anything you...

A cheaper and more lightweight AutoCAD. If you spend some time with it, you can do anything you need to do on AutoCAD with it.

Pros

It uses way less resources than AutoCAD. Microstation has lots of capabilities of custom code and it runs way faster than AutoCAD.

Cons

They keep on trying to force you to update to the newest version however our custom macros will not be supported. They took away our large volume discount after we refused to upgrade.

Shazal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Improvement for Beginner use

Reviewed on 2019/10/21

Pros

Able to get work done. I like it better than other CAD Software.

Cons

Features are not very user-friendly. There is confusion in the beginning. I continue to use what I know, learning new features are time-consuming and not intuitive.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool for 2 & 3 D, versatile and easy to learn and use

Reviewed on 2018/01/23

Is very useful for our CAD/BIM team and for the project that we are working currently, easy to use...

Is very useful for our CAD/BIM team and for the project that we are working currently, easy to use and share between team members, etc.

Pros

Reference & Level Manager and Display, printing settings, Import & Export tools
Compatibility with other CAD software,

Cons

I am not very comfortable with the lack of shortcuts, keyboard commands.
The icon commands are great but still I like more typing my commands.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use and incredibly functional. It has led to significant increased in productivity.

Reviewed on 2018/06/05

Pros

MicroStation has many advanced parametric modeling features we just haven't found anywhere else. Our professionals are presented with lots of data and are easy able to model them. Our workflow has strengthened and our quality of work has increased.

Cons

Any time we bring on new applications, we consider the impact it has on our current workflow. But once we began using MicroStation fully, it became clear that the integration between many specific programs would not be an issue.

Zhi Wei
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Definitely alot more user friendly than AutoCAD

Reviewed on 2018/01/26

Pros

User friendly: the buttons and commands are more accesible to users than AutoCAD
More Reference Control Options: More control over reference eg. overwriting

Cons

Bugs: the software crashes more frequently than AutoCAD
Hatching: the hatching display can vary differently when referencing AutoCAD format files.

Joshua
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Using this CAD system, I have had no issues.

Reviewed on 2018/06/20

Pros

I really like the user interface of this software. There are many options within the program for producing designs and many different features which can be added to models and prints. The level of customization with the design using this program allows it to be an outstanding option when considering a CAD system to use.

Cons

What I like least is that sometimes it can be hard to keep track of all of the little options. While I really liked that so many options for customization of a design exist, I wish that it could be in more of an organize fashioned. It is organized to a degree, but it is not the most intuitive organization.

Billy
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Have used this software for over 20 years and have witnessed it evolve.

Reviewed on 2018/01/24

Pros

the customer support is probably what I like the best, but the software is very reliable and I think
with using it so long it seems to be very easy to use.

Cons

The cost of maintaining with the select subscriber has been going up every year which being a
small shop is of some concern.