14 reviews

AlternativeSoft

Investment management platform for fund managers

4,6 /5 (14 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
14 reviews
Joe C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Alt Soft Review

Reviewed on 2019/04/02

It has helped tremendously with automating or semi-automating a number of reports. The excel plug in was a fantastic idea and more importantly, works very well. As a comparison tool for screening funds, it's second to none

Pros

Very intuitive, thoughtful UI, powerful backend, great datafeed plug ins, constant evolution

Cons

Too difficult to filter funds you do not want when importing from ODU, leading to reimport of previously deleted assets. I understand the impetus for charging for the cloud option, but with a larger provider it would likely be provided at no additional cost. Morningstar Direct made this available at no extra cost and, given the comparability in cost between the two softwares, it is difficult to justify spending more on a cloud option.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 2019/03/15

Pros

Ease of running reports and updating analyses.

Cons

Wish there were more excel templates that cover a larger spectrum of the software.

Bari A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Gonet Review

Reviewed on 2019/03/14

We were still working with Excel to compute performances... So for us it is a big step and a much higher level of analysis. Even though I know this software is mainly used by fund managers, I am sure it will be fine for our portfolio management.

Pros

Link any sources of data with the program
Flexibility of the programming team
Analysis of the portfolio is very impressive and the live update with time window's adjustments is very important and useful.

Cons

It looks a bit outdated in terms of design but it doesn't matter.
I already used the program so I was familiar with it, but for a beginner, it is not so user-friendly.
In portfolio construction, time-window often is often re-based and adapted to the initial date when reopening a portfolio, and do not save the last time window used. So it makes me often check my weights (model 2) over the time line to see if there is no data missing...

Alex T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

good software fo my purposes

Reviewed on 2019/04/02

portfolio construction / time series analysis

Pros

ease of usage overall- time series management

Cons

stability of system overall- but seems to get better

Daniel I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good tool

Reviewed on 2019/04/08

We use AlternativeSoft for analysing hedge funds and hedge fund portfolios and are quite happy with the flexibility and functionalities.

Pros

Easy to use and easy to customise
Good functions for analysing hedge funds as well as automize reports
Good Excel add-in

Cons

In our version 5.0.3.41311:
Portfolio Management Tool could have more analytics like contributions of assets and strategies
In Database, there should be a good possibility to save user entered fund specific data like in the old "Holdings" tab.
In the Asset Analysis Form it should be easier to compare two Funds agains each user with regards to performance, risk, etc.

Chris A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Hedge Fund Analytics Software

Reviewed on 2019/04/09

While we only use a small portion of the tools AltSoft has (Database, Portfolio Management, Peer Groups), each have been helpful to our reporting processes and portfolio modeling.

Pros

Breadth, ease of use (for those familiar with investment stats), customer service/technical help, and customization.

Cons

Export times take a little bit long on some reports, but it's seconds, not minutes, and it can run in the background while I do something else. Also, would like them to introduce an "undo" feature during performance entry.

Eugenia M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Capital Markets
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

AS Review

Reviewed on 2018/08/03

portfolio monitoring, peer group and watch lists, monthly portfolio reporting to clients

Pros

ease of use, in-depth analyses available

Cons

Many analysis, charts, etc. not available/easily exportable in excel.

Farès J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very satisfied overall. Some features still need to be implemented in our view.

Reviewed on 2018/06/21

Pros

Very dedicated and helpful customer support. The software is quite complete but would need small enhancement to make it fully efficient.

Cons

Some features are missing to reflect our true portfolio. I'm confident that this will be implemented soon by the team.

Matthew B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Extensive Feature Set and Strong Support

Reviewed on 2019/04/02

We use AlternativeSoft to manage a complex hedge fund portfolio, as well as a centralized source of performance and market data.

Pros

Great feature set, very responsive support team, and excellent APIs enable us to build highly customized solutions.

Cons

We've experienced a bit more instability and issues with new version releases. Hope that the quality control of updates will be improved in the future.

Caitlin R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for performance review

Reviewed on 2019/09/17

Pros

Super easy to use and great IT support . We will definitely be continuing to use their performance review software following our free trial.

Cons

No issues have arisen yet, any confusion was cleared up by their support team .

Soon kit T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good software for buy side

Reviewed on 2019/04/03

Pros

Good layout and feature. Good product base for futher extension

Cons

nothing so far. need more GTM positioning and you can increase market share easily

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Fund Manager Analytics Software

Reviewed on 2020/02/11

Overall, I have had a great experience with AlternativeSoft. It has made my job much easier because return data is automatically pulled from our prime broker and I can run reports that give me key insights into our fund performance.

Pros

I enjoy how easy the software is to use. I can easily pull up fund level return data and find key data points, such as correlations and volatility. Also, I can compare easily against key benchmarks and peer groups.

Cons

Sometimes, when using the software it can get a bit laggy when typing in fund information, causing a delay.

Lorenzo W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Logical, intuitive and a sound quantitative tool

Reviewed on 2019/04/03

Good tool for comparing managers’ performances, creating synthetic benchmarks and building portfolios within specified risk boundaries. Help desk team always helpful and knowledgeable. Good value for money.

Pros

Easy to learn. Great support team. Very solid quantitative models behind the tools.

Cons

Not sure. It offers a solid and intuitive portfolio construction method. There is little to fault.

Stefana P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent

Reviewed on 2019/09/03

Very good experience, very happy with this - I think it was a good investment for the company!

Pros

Really good feature set, always available support team and excellent APIs with highly customized solutions.

Cons

Some minor issues with new versions but the support team has sorted that our quickly!