New Relic

Performance testing and monitoring

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(175)
Value for Money
3,9/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,2/5
Customer Support
4,2/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

175 Reviews

Burak
Burak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great monitoring tool

Reviewed on 2022/07/08

We are using New Relic in our services to track errors, bugs and to monitor the overall APIs....

We are using New Relic in our services to track errors, bugs and to monitor the overall APIs. Thanks to New Relic, we can find issues before its late, optimize our queries, slow endpoints and etc... Usage of New Relic One is really diverse in terms of an application and in my opinion it is essential.

Pros

Integration with the services is really easy. You can integrate New Relic to your application written in almost any language for monitoring it.

Cons

The user interface is not that simple and understanding. Thus, full utilization of New Relic One is not that easy for administrators and developers. It has a steep learning curve.

Daniel Mario
Daniel Mario
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good enough monitoring

Reviewed on 2018/12/05

Overall positive, but it could be improved with better and more intuitive configuration and more...

Overall positive, but it could be improved with better and more intuitive configuration and more flexible pricing.

Pros

I like how we can centralize and customize all our monitoring, get alerted when anything goes down, including servers, processes etc. We can also keep an eye on the performance of our web application and detect problems before they become serious. Takes a little setting up but it's very helpful.

Cons

The page where it runs often hangs and needs to be reloaded. The setup can be tricky, removing assets is also kind of complicated and not very intuitive. Seems to me a little bit pricey, I wouldn't mind a base price close to what we pay and then having the ability to add or remove assets easily and for a lower extra price. I currently keep all the testing and staging infrastructure out of this because it would cost too much to have it on.

Srikanth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

A promising product being hampered by frequent bugs and issues

Reviewed on 2020/07/30

Its a very promising product, but the recent issues and the frequency of those issues have ruined...

Its a very promising product, but the recent issues and the frequency of those issues have ruined the overall experience. There are more false alerts than the actual alerts and the team is looking for alternate options now.

Pros

We can have a centralized monitoring of all the apps and hosts.
Ability to develop custom alerts using NRQL.
Helps to identify potential bottlenecks and peaks in the performance.

Cons

Frequent issues/ glitches and downtimes in NewRelic causing false alarms while monitoring.
Lack of default dashboard/UI to see the overall status for a group of apps/ team.
No feature to turn off a alert policy from the UI, we have to start and stop individual alerts.

Dilraj
Dilraj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

System analytics made easy!

Reviewed on 2019/07/20

Overall experience was really good with us identifying the system bottlenecks using New Relic and...

Overall experience was really good with us identifying the system bottlenecks using New Relic and then optimizing those and checking their improved performance in New Relic again.

Pros

New Relic can be used to monitor system performance by integrating it with your system, written in any programming language, so that New Relic can gather variety of system metrics available. The APIs being used in the system can be profiled using New Relic or be it the queries happening on the system database. This analysis can later help in optimising the system performance by making sure all these slow api hits or db queries are working efficiently.

Cons

User interface of New Relic can be enhanced and made more user friendly for new users so that they can start their system analysis straightaway without having to get familiar with the UI first.

Lavish
Lavish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A very good tool to keep an eye over your app health.

Reviewed on 2019/01/27

Pros

It is one of the best tools to check the performance of your app. It can help you in checking the performance of different API's or can even tell that which API is making your system slower and you immediately need to optimize that. It also helps in finding out which front-end page is making your app slow by detecting the load time of that page.

Cons

Bar charts are confusion as no proper definition is given for them.

Josh
Josh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

New Relic is a great way to keep track of website performance

Reviewed on 2022/07/07

It's been really helpful using New Relic to monitor our websites and servers.

It's been really helpful using New Relic to monitor our websites and servers.

Pros

Front and back-end monitoring. Customizable dashboard and alerts.

Cons

Some JS overhead when in use. Can be tricky to focus in on different parts of the site.

Sujeet
Sujeet
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An excellant APM tool for monitoring your web based product

Reviewed on 2018/12/04

New Relic has really helped us come a long way in improving our products performance. Its APM...

New Relic has really helped us come a long way in improving our products performance. Its APM features, Creative Dashboards, Browser data, Insights etc. are a great way to keep tab on your products performance and also, keeps you motivated to improve the performance.

Pros

Excellent on stop tool to monitor your application performance monitoring.

Cons

There is no easy way to tie up the browser traces to the corresponding APM trace or transaction

Luis Felipe
Luis Felipe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Must have to any dev team

Reviewed on 2019/05/23

I love it! Really useful and a must have to any team

I love it! Really useful and a must have to any team

Pros

Know what's happening on your servers, database use and external services
Multiple options to reach every need you have

Cons

Can be a little hard to configure
Not so simple UX

Ryan
Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Love New Relic, but soooo expensive

Reviewed on 2018/02/06

Pros

Love the ability to see under the hood on production products while up and running. There have been countless times where we can pinpoint an issue in production that we couldn't replicate in dev. Great tool.

Cons

SOOOOOO expensive. I really wish their pricing model was based on number of transcations, dealing with their sales team has consistently been brutal. There seems to be no logic to their pricing and their sales people have struck me as super slimy, only interested in getting their commission. I would be much happier if they went to an AWS like pay per use model.

Michael
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

New Relic for Monitoring

Reviewed on 2019/01/17

Pros

I LOVE how easy New Relic is for monitoring my system performance. Specifically the Insights portion of the software. For those of us that are non-technical, it is easy to set up a custom dashboard to show me graphs of the information I need to know at a moment's notice.

Cons

I am part of the team that monitors the traffic rather than connects everything. As a result, I have zero dislikes about the software, but am not tied to the back end processes.

Stanislav
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The right APM tool that can save your day

Reviewed on 2021/09/16

Pros

- easy to install and use;
- great APM features, helps a lot with troubleshooting slow transactions with great insights on application traces;
- nicely done alerts system;
- ability to create your own dashboards;
- team is improving UX on a regular basis;
- community support;

Cons

- expensive;
- has some minor bugs on the UI, sometimes pages seem to be unresponsive;
- learning curve could be high for not experienced developers;

Alternatives Considered

Datadog
Niraj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple and intuitive tool with necessary insights for any application

Reviewed on 2018/07/31

Pros

Gives simple and detailed performance insights for each part of your application or environment and that too in real-time! Great that it highlights errors and issues down to the line number in the code. Makes the job really simple to troubleshoot and fix issues. Setting up timely email to get updates about the performance is a good feature for managers to have.

Cons

The paid version is too expensive for a medium scale startup like us. It may be worthwhile when looking to scale things up to a great extent. Also the tool may be overwhelming for a new user since it provides loads of information at once. For the free user there's no one to give an onboarding tour or a demo, so that may turn off some new joinees.

Tarang
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Pros & Cons of New Relic

Reviewed on 2023/02/21

Pros

1. It has a great interface to debug server-side performance issues.2. Since it runs on your server you get accurate real-user page load times.3. It provides the ability to write custom queries also.4. It also provides the ability to customize monitoring parameters.5. It has a fine stacktrace which highlights the faulty code line by line.

Cons

New Relic has some shortfalls:1. Its Python agent has many memory leaks which lead to resource hogging.2. It has very limited support for the Tornado web framework.3. New Relic works best if your app has some kind of web API, otherwise, it's not much of a use.4. Its interface is a bit tricky, so goodbye ease of use.5. It can be sometimes difficult to get your threshold limits correctly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome, well rounded real-time monitoring suite

Reviewed on 2019/03/26

Pros

This software package does it all! I'm mostly using APM, insights and infrastructure functionality. APM is standard APM, works great. Insights are really interesting - you can figure out some weird issues much easier when you have access to a lot of data - and easy way to process/query it. Infrastructure functionality is great for keeping track of all of your servers.

Cons

Not much. There are two views for errors in APM (old and new one). Sometimes it's a pain to switch between those - hopefully they will get merged soon.

Jeffrey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing server and app reporting tools

Reviewed on 2018/05/22

Completely satisfied with this toolset.

Completely satisfied with this toolset.

Pros

Instant alerts on server issues. Performance testing may be performed with analysis of every service running on the environments. System uptime is being reported on daily with the toolset being most easy to use without slowing down performance. Training provided by new relic team was amazing, from our testers to engineers, everyone benefitted from understanding how to use the tool. We are currently running it on our UAT and Prod servers and the information gained has allowed an increase in performance via optimizations and a decrease in debugging.

Cons

Not many cons that i can mention. The tool has been a rather good addition to our tech stack. A strong machine is needed which can be costly if the server will be sitting in the cloud.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great software monitoring

Reviewed on 2019/08/02

Overall new relic has been a very handy monitoring tool, we have it on all the time to keep an eye...

Overall new relic has been a very handy monitoring tool, we have it on all the time to keep an eye on the servers and the alerts are very helpful as well.

Pros

Once set up new relic is easy to log into from anywhere and monitor your various systems, keeping an eye on load times, errors and server health.

Cons

The error logging could sometimes be a bit better with a complicated app, but generally the errors are helpful in at least pointing us in the right direction.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Solid APM capabilities and a cloud-native approach to monitoring

Reviewed on 2019/04/28

APM vendors are a dime a dozen, New Relic is one of the most experienced and it shows in the...

APM vendors are a dime a dozen, New Relic is one of the most experienced and it shows in the product and support.

Pros

New Relic has been around for a while, they were founded in 2008. That's over 10+ years in delivering application insights to customers. I started working with New Relic while with VMware, they were overkill for infrastructure but really shone when it came to applications. The ecosystem is active, there are plugins for many popular applications and solutions. They run big data analytics on the backend to provide insights based on patterns observed. Dashboards are easy to setup and customize, and the UI performance is snappy.

Cons

There are a ton of different products within their portfolio so it is somewhat daunting to figure out what works for you. Even worse, pricing varies on multiple factors so it's not straightforward to predict your costs. They do offer a free trial though, like many similar products. While there are many plugins available for New Relic, they are often maintained by partners or other users and are not directly supported by New Relic.

Mugurel
Mugurel
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

New Relic is a very good product if you have the budget for it.

Reviewed on 2018/01/10

Pros

The strongest point of New Relic is the granularity of the information and that it's a very good fit for any Rails app.

Cons

The big issue I have with New Relic (and the one that made switch to a different provider) is that the pricing is outrageous.
Unless you are with a Corporation that does not mind throwing $$$ per month on this service, the free version is barely an good.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great product

Reviewed on 2021/06/25

My experience with this product is amazing and I would definitely recommend it.

My experience with this product is amazing and I would definitely recommend it.

Pros

This product is very easy to integrate with your application and is very easily customizable as well. You can monitor the application health, latency, memory used and so much more and also customize the dashboard according to your needs.

Cons

It is a bit confusing to learn and adapt to it in the starting but once you get the hang of it, it's an amazing product.

Lukasz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

New Relic -cloud concerns

Reviewed on 2020/12/09

Pros

During the time we were using NewRelic we were 100% on-prem environment so for this model, the software met out requirement. It was easy to deploy new checks.

Cons

We were migrating our infrastructure to the cloud (Microsoft Azure) and at the time New Relic could not provide us required checks from Internet, e.g. simulating session for end user to web service. Covering all cloud assets was also not possible.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Application Management and Performance Tracking Tool

Reviewed on 2020/05/29

My overall experience with this product is awesome. This tool has helped my company to save lots of...

My overall experience with this product is awesome. This tool has helped my company to save lots of money on AWS bills. A great analytic tool to get insights on the application data and make the business decisions.

Pros

I love the dashboard feature of the new relic, we can customize the dashboards as per our requirements. It's a great visualization tool, which gives real insights on the application data and helps my company to take the decisions accordingly.

Cons

Documentation for the tool can be improved a lot more. It requires some learning curve to understand and derive insights into the data. Video tutorials could be awesome.

Fernando
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Focus on Ruby on Rails

Reviewed on 2017/01/06

I believe New Relic conquered its space inside the Ruby development community. I am not sure if New...

I believe New Relic conquered its space inside the Ruby development community. I am not sure if New Relic offers the same tools available for Ruby on Rails applications in another programming languages and/or frameworks. The advent of Ruby is losing power and many developers are looking for other technology alternatives to solve their software problems.

shankar
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

awesome monitoring tool for devops engineer

Reviewed on 2018/01/10

easy troubleshooting and monitoring

easy troubleshooting and monitoring

Pros

granular level monitoring will help you to troubleshoot and identify the issue quickly. various pages for server, process, application level. score can be calculated using a metric called apdex

Cons

if they provide download logs through rpm portal it wil be very helpful and handy for operations engineer for investigation

Damon
Damon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Must-have Tool for Site Monitoring

Reviewed on 2020/03/30

Pros

New Relic helps me find the endpoints and backend APIs that are experiencing errors or not performing well. The data collected from New Relic helps the developers tune slow performing requests. The alert/alarming system helps my teams maintain 24/7 support.

Cons

New Relic agents are instantiated by the application which requires binaries be installed thereby increasing the footprint. There are fewer basic features than in earlier versions, requiring a more premium subscription to be adequate for serious debugging.

Arpit
Arpit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful application monitoring tool

Reviewed on 2018/03/13

I have used this application to track my application status on production. It gives us a deep...

I have used this application to track my application status on production. It gives us a deep insight as to what is happening around with the application.

Pros

You can track your application real time using the tool. You can check the errors, load distribution, response time and almost everything that you are concerned about the application that is live on production.
You can deep dive in to the sluggish SQL queries and find out the culprit.
You can track your application all the way from QA environment to Production if you have integrated New relic on all those servers.
It is very powerful and helps you in keeping the application in production up and running smoothly.

Cons

The price. Price is something which can be improved. It is very expensive and the evaluation period is also not sufficient.