Graylog

SIEM Done Right.

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(30)
Value for Money
4,6/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
4,0/5
Customer Support
4,4/5

90%
recommended this app
Sort by

30 Reviews

Chamroeunrith
Chamroeunrith
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Graylog Enterprise Log for Business

Reviewed on 2021/09/12

prevously we using syslog server to centralize log, and when we have more server and network we can...

prevously we using syslog server to centralize log, and when we have more server and network we can not put all those log into syslog server that store data in mysql, it perform slow search and not report correctly,
i have try spend sometime to search and i found graylog, i try to setup a few day until success because its new related to elastic search, but finally i find out and keep using until now, its around 3 years already since i use graylog server to monitor all the network activity, monitoring server with nxlog agent, monitor cisco switch with syslog, linux with syslog, and can monitor the radius authentication log, each time users plug the network or connect wifi log generated and sent to graylog-server, and graylog server create alert message send by telegram to system admin.

Pros

- Graylog is very powerful log, i have search around 50million of record in 3second only, very powerful log because it integrated with elastic search that perform log search very fast.
- Telegram alert notification is what i like, i create the rule to let it send notification to telegram so i know what is going on on the network/server log.
- enterprise license are free for one year, and make sure your traffic log not hit to 5GB/day.
- support various log protocol, nxlog from windows, syslog from linux, and other such as aws. but i use only nxlog and syslog only.

Cons

its perfect already but the dashboard not so nice, not so flexible on the reporting yet.

Tim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great value to cost ratio for a solid log management solution

Reviewed on 2020/11/02

Graylog has been great to work with. Their sidecar implementations make client configuration and...

Graylog has been great to work with. Their sidecar implementations make client configuration and management very easy, and even with the free version, they provide reliable, albeit limited support (I’ve gotten good, live email replies to a couple of questions, versus only allowing you to access forums, etc).

Pros

Very low cost of ownership, particularly if you can get the Community (Free, Open-Source) version to meet your needs. I’ve implemented Graylog at multiple organizations for only the cost of hardware / storage.

Cons

Would love to have more plugins / content packs available in the Graylog Marketplace. With limited hands on a team for a smaller company, there’s often not enough time to write extractors and content packs.

Alternatives Considered

Sumo and Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Choosing Graylog

Cost associated with using the tool, based on data ingestion, was going to substantially increase our expenses to even maintain the solution as it stood. This was the case at multiple organizations, as well.

Switched From

Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Graylog

Again, of note, we didn’t purchase. While there’d be added value to enterprise plugins and support, we are meeting our needs with the Community (F.O.S.S.) version.

Response from Graylog

Hi Tim, Thank you so much for taking time out to write us a review. Glad you are happy with Graylog & the cost savings you are seeing. We have recently launched "Illuminate" which has a lot of ready to use content packs. You can check it out here - https://www.graylog.org/illuminate/illuminate-authentication. You can sign up for our newsletter too to get updated when we launch new content packs - https://www.graylog.org/newsletter .

Thanks again,
Team Graylog

Rahul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Graylog support

Reviewed on 2020/12/24

Pros

Its easy to use and deploy. We have installed it over centos and its easy to deploy and start working on.

Cons

The customer support structure needs to improve, we have been facing unknown issues for which rca was needed however there have been issues. The streams were showing running but they were struck. Also option should be there to easily search logs

Alternatives Considered

Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Graylog

Cost
Adam "Abe"
Adam "Abe"
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

You can’t do better for building a Log Management Ecosystem

Reviewed on 2020/07/05

I’ve recommended it as a solution to many local governments during my conference presentations and...

I’ve recommended it as a solution to many local governments during my conference presentations and they’ve listened.

Pros

Graylog is built on ElasticSearch and extends its functionality out into a great product with the System Administrator in mind.
You stand up the platform, point logs at it and the rest is up to your internal processes.
I also enjoy that the vast majority of intelligence and augmented data is built directly into the platform rather than an outside product.

The community support forums are chock full of helpful folks.

Cons

For a long time the visualizations were quite lacking and we required additional tools to properly tell our data stories but this is improving drastically with each new release.

Reasons for Switching to Graylog

Cost and simplicity. Also, you can leverage any aspect of ElasticSearch that you desire as well making it a very versatile choice.
Remi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very strong on open source on-premise solution

Reviewed on 2020/06/25

Experience has been great, we started by using the free version, it has provided benefits early on...

Experience has been great, we started by using the free version, it has provided benefits early on to the dev teams to search through web logs without the need for downloading them and using a log parser application, or committing early to expensive paid tools. Since then we keep adding new sources and are looking at more enterprise features as usage grows.

Pros

Graylog has alot of flexibility and a mature feature set. We use it across all of our Windows as well as Linux servers. It has a strong community and alot of flexibility, does not impose restrictions on our applications, good documentation and generally receives regular updates and features.

Cons

I find some of the latest changes to the GUI (changes happen all the time with Graylog) are less user friendly - functionality to get count tables are still there but it is less dummy proof whereas before a novice user could click around in the side navigation and discover certain features. There are also less cloud offerings for Graylog so it fits more the on-premise model where you manage the graylog server/infrastructure.

Alternatives Considered

Loggly and Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Graylog

We had a senior team member that had experience with Graylog.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Incredibly flexible open source log management tool

Reviewed on 2019/10/07

I am a data analyst so I often deal with large amounts of data that are really complicated to parse...

I am a data analyst so I often deal with large amounts of data that are really complicated to parse and sort through. I used Graylog to aggregate and parse logs which I later analyzed for relevant information.

Pros

Graylog is a fantastic tool to summarize and aggregate data into simple and highly accessible visual depictions and dashboards. Although it is an open source log management solution, it is really flexible and agile, and helps me parse data rapidly and intuitively. I think it's one of the best alternatives to Splunk - and probably is a much better tool even for enterprises.

Cons

Learning curve is a little bit steep. You need a somewhat technical background to learn it, but once you grasp the basics, it is way less cumbersome than others such as Alienvault or Loggly.

Alternatives Considered

Loggly, Splunk Enterprise, USM Anywhere and Mezmo

Reasons for Switching to Graylog

Splunk conduces its searches via a formal query language. Since I didn't know it, it was really hard to extract meaningful insight from aggregated logs that spanned across many different categories.
Ray
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of The Best Log Management Tools in Market

Reviewed on 2020/12/24

Pros

Amazing documentation & really easy deployment made life easier for me. Data search also I found really easy & I have tried multiple products but graylog probably the most easiest one to follow

Cons

Nothing much so far. It has been great for our company

Alternatives Considered

IBM Security QRadar and Splunk Enterprise

Switched From

Elastic Stack

Reasons for Switching to Graylog

Cost & better search. Also i found graylog better integrates with our current infrastructure too
Abel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Logging done right

Reviewed on 2020/06/24

I love the product. I spread the word everywhere I go because I believe it has a future in the...

I love the product. I spread the word everywhere I go because I believe it has a future in the undustry.

Pros

Traditionally every IT/MSP business will use some sort of system to log data from all inputs. What I hated the most about other systems was that they really didn't improve on what was given to them (meaning logs). They either just held the logs or perhaps told me about errors I already knew.

With graylog, we were able to get a wealth of additional info. Sure it requires some work writing extractors or pipelines, but at the end you get exactly what you are looking for. And with the available plugins, you can take what you had and improve. Simple example, in the past I would get an email of all errors but now I can get an email, Slack or push it as a ticket via API.

Another great feature is the side-car addition. No more managing configs individually, you can manage and maintain the configs all from graylog.

My wish is to introduce native plugins for other SaaS products. Recently they added ability to inject Okta logs. How about Cisco Duo or Umbrella. Both are in hot demand right now, might as well get that data too.

Cons

It's great at what it does but it does have some limitations. Dashboards and graphs are not as flexible as lets say Grafana. Not that it should be, but if someone wants a pure dashboard system then this may not be for them.

Marc
Marc
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great piece of software

Reviewed on 2020/09/25

Great piece of software, all our applications and cloud provider logs are being sent to graylog....

Great piece of software, all our applications and cloud provider logs are being sent to graylog. Very easy to filter and review the logs. Their staff is nice, they're always grateful to help with doubts and giving support to OSS contributors.

Pros

All in one product. Lot of inputs available so you can ingest logs from a wide range of applications. Pipelines are a powerful tool to normalize data before indexing.

Cons

UI used to look "old". Now is getting much better but it still needs more love. The "single" designated master is not very cloud friendly. I'd like some kind of automated cluster management (with quorum to elect the master node) so we don't have to manually set one node as master while keeping our scaling operations.

Response from Graylog

Hi Marc,
Thanks so much for taking time out to leave us a review. Glad you find the variety of inputs useful. We have shared your suggestions with our product team and they will definitely consider them.
Thanks,
Team Graylog

Luís Miguel
Luís Miguel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Windows Servers Events Agreggation

Reviewed on 2020/07/28

My overall experience is very grafull, since i didn´t know anything about Graylog / Elastic Search,...

My overall experience is very grafull, since i didn´t know anything about Graylog / Elastic Search, it´s been an adventures. Tears and Joy, may hours in deep community forum and documentation.
Since then, audit active directory, filesharing, is been very easy to search.

Pros

We use graylog for Windows Server Events (Event Viewer) in one place, it´s very usefull.
The Alert Setup and new features like Pipelines (For disclose unknown error codes) is one plus in the Graylog.
The other Pro is the community forum and support.
Theres a VDA version ready to use. (Ubuntu)
Free Enterprise Licence with Traffic limitation ( normaly for one server / event aggregation)

Cons

If you need to custom setup with several graylog nodes is hard to get it running in the first try.
Some nice features are only available in Enterprise Edition.
No backup for Indexes is available , need to use external options.
Very hard post-config and clean the logs for the right information (need work)

Nathaniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great features and a dedicated staff.

Reviewed on 2020/06/16

I haven't used Graylog for logging of large enterprise systems so I can't how it performs in those...

I haven't used Graylog for logging of large enterprise systems so I can't how it performs in those cases, but I do like the DIY feel for smaller projects. It is very customizable and easy to configure things how you like.

Pros

I like Graylog because of how easy it is to get logs flowing into the platform. Most of my experience has been with the AWS Cloudtrail plugin, but syslog wasn't hard either. The documentation works for most typical cases. I also love the new update! The dashboards are beautiful and it's easy to get any statistic you want. It's come a long way which shows dedication and a want to always be improving.

Cons

Most typical use cases are covered by the documentation, but if it isn't it can take some searching to figure out if there's a way to accomplish your goal. I have no experience with the enterprise or community support so I can't say how much that might help.

Alternatives Considered

Elastic Stack and Splunk Enterprise
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Main features of Grylog

Reviewed on 2020/04/02

test traffic and log DB (eg. MySQL ...)
test all OS Unix/Linux system log and traffic
test log...

test traffic and log DB (eg. MySQL ...)
test all OS Unix/Linux system log and traffic
test log and traffic Firewall fortigate and FortiWeb device
F5 loadbalancer
Docker machine
LXC container
.........

Pros

1- Understand how different equipment, operating systems, databases, services and processes and different teams work in the organization.
2- Detecting security threats (in-depth analysis to find the source of the threat)
3. Dealing with cybercrime, using logs and traces of intrusion
4. Improve the process of managing applications, servers and services in real-time
5. In-depth and accurate checking of incoming and outgoing traffic at the packet level
6. Identify the relationship and correlation between logs and events
7. Identify any anomalies in different layers of IT the organization
8. Automate the process of detecting and reporting errors and anomalies to relevant teams in the organization
9. Perform normalization and immediate correlations of events and traffic
10. Provide real-time field of view and capture Network Flow data events In close proximity to advanced analytics, the service status is revealed
11.Prioritize alerts
12. Excellent speed and quality
13. Ability to write proprietary Content Pack
14. And hundreds more wonderful possibilities
15............

Cons

1-Speed and quality
2-Access to Content Pack
3-Being a user of Friendly
4-Support most softwares and devices
5-Good doc on the main site and internet

Mbonjo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best and most popular open-source log management tool

Reviewed on 2023/03/09

Overall, Graylog is a powerful and an outstanding Software , I recommend it to users

Overall, Graylog is a powerful and an outstanding Software , I recommend it to users

Pros

I love this software for it's amazing performance, Graylog provides real-time log analysis, enabling you to identify and respond to potential issues quickly.

Cons

I haven't encountered any deficiency using Graylog

Sinisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Enterprise grade log management

Reviewed on 2020/06/24

I started with free version several years back and grew the cluster into multiple nodes. Product...

I started with free version several years back and grew the cluster into multiple nodes. Product itself is solid and easy to maintain. Keep the documentation in sync with new features.

Pros

Initial deployment is well documented but after that it's up to the admin to figure out how to utilize the software.

Cons

Complexity grows with deployment size, which is expected from such software. Adding more predefined dashboards would save time for new admins while providing examples how to best utilize graylog.

Viraj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Solution for Log Collection

Reviewed on 2020/12/11

A complete solution when collecting log streams and alerting based on them.

A complete solution when collecting log streams and alerting based on them.

Pros

Its a good solution when comes to log collecting and alerting based on the metrics. It can use for send notifications through mail, slack etc.

Cons

Implementation was hard. There were issues within the log retention setup and sometimes had to rotate manually.

Ashley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Find it, fix it..

Reviewed on 2020/07/23

Pros

Fire as many log files in to Graylog as you can find across your infrastructure, whether it be Linux, Windows or hardware.

Fine grain search, alerts and actions are at your fingertips in milliseconds 😁

Cons

Not really any downsides.. as long as you have enough storage!

Niazuddin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software that keeps improving

Reviewed on 2020/06/24

Pros

Meets all of our logging needs and is very customizable. Community Edition is a great introduction to Graylog.

Cons

Catching up on the latest updates can be a pain.

Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Graylog software review

Reviewed on 2023/04/08

They do have one of the best log data visualization tools

They do have one of the best log data visualization tools

Pros

I can customize the log data that will be visualized the way I want it and the analytics are mostly a true reflection

Cons

It was difficult to get started with Graylog because I mostly use software documentation to set up new software but apart from the basic "how it works", I got a little lost. They should improve on their documentation and provide support

Houcem
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent log management platform

Reviewed on 2020/08/27

Great log management platform, extremely flexible.

Great log management platform, extremely flexible.

Pros

Multiple deployment options
Powerful log parsing and dashboarding features
Open source (for the most part)

Cons

Some great features are exclusive to the paid tier.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Graylog

Reviewed on 2020/07/01

Very good, we needed to collect our application logs for an audit, Graylog does the job perfectly!

Very good, we needed to collect our application logs for an audit, Graylog does the job perfectly!

Pros

Very easy to send logs to Graylog and collect them using sidecar.

Cons

Building dashboards takes some time to understand, check out the marketplace for them

Alternatives Considered

Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Graylog

Splunk was way too expensive
Uthpala
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Graylog used as a platform for performance monitoring

Reviewed on 2020/07/28

Pros

We have integrated graylog with a ES cluster and used beats forwarders to send performance metrics from a server cluster. So from a single interface we were able to setup log settings for multiple inputs. Also the grok patterns were very useful for incoming message processing.

Cons

Would like to have few more dashboard options. Some panels like Kibana dashboards.

Lawrence
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Logging and alerting all in one place

Reviewed on 2019/07/23

Pros

The most that I like about this software is that it keeps all of our application error logging all in one place and we use it to set up alerting policies whenever we get more than 5 errors in a minute or so. This allows us to get our engineers on the problem and fix it as soon as possible instead of waiting until a end-user reports an error which is not proactive.

Cons

The least thing that I liked about the software was the way that it collects the logs, you need to send your logs in a specific format for Graylog to consume so that may take writing a small application or script in the middle to parse and format your logs over to Graylog in the correct format.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good tool for centralizing logs, but difficult to configure

Reviewed on 2019/05/28

Pros

The possibility of centralizing logs, besides being able to create deshboards

Cons

Difficult to configure and manage, confusing

Oguz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good log analysis solution

Reviewed on 2020/12/23

With time, a powerful solution

With time, a powerful solution

Pros

Dashboards and custom fields. Compatible with every system

Cons

Its not easy for beginners , no price list on the website, time consuming installation

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great product but could use some additional documentation and examples

Reviewed on 2019/10/22

Overall the product is great and you can get away with a lot without having to purchase a license.

Overall the product is great and you can get away with a lot without having to purchase a license.

Pros

Open source, scalable, efficient, many powerful features, accepts all sorts of inputs for logs, open marketplace for users to share their content packs

Cons

Large scale deployment documentation is missing (sure they give you ideas but it could really use a how to article or video). Could use some of the features from kibana.