37 reviews

Volusion

eCommerce website store & shopping cart software

3,8 /5 (37 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

3,8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
54%
recommended this app
37 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very robust software but an outdated dashboard

Reviewed on 2018/06/08

This site had a lot of features I loved and were automatically included. Multi-level pricing, customer ticketing, ability to receive multiple payments against an invoice. Features that I no longer have on Shopify or have to pay extra for.

Pros

The best thing about Volusion is that many of the features are automatically included in their packages. Unlike Shopify where you have to add other apps to do things you want it to do. We were on Volusion about three years before switching to Shopify and it wasn't our choice to switch.

Cons

It wasn't easy for my staff to learn and the dashboard isn't very user-friendly or aesthetically pleasing like it's competitors. There aren't many free themes that make your site look amazing so you really need to pay for customization unless you know how to do it yourself. Also, downtime. It didn't happen often but when it did, you just have to wait until it comes back up.

Marie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Volusion is good platform for small business.

Reviewed on 2018/06/05

Overall it as been an asset to our business.

Pros

It is easy to set up and get started. You can quickly load products via spread sheets and process orders quickly

Cons

It doesn't offer as many integrations as other similar products. Customizing your design is difficult and it is missing some features that would be nice - such as advance reports and coupon functionality.

Mayra A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to navigate

Reviewed on 2019/01/11

I like how we I can navigate easily and easy to lean the system

Pros

It's people friendly. It's easy to insert notes and fast learning.

Cons

The system is slow sometimes when there is system maintenance

Brien W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Used them for 15 years and thinking about looking for a replacement

Reviewed on 2019/11/12

Over all volusion has been good but year after year I see no real innovations. We are using there V1 version and wanted to try there V2 but they are starting from the bottom up and it lack a lot of the v1 basics. I would tell anyone wait till volusion gets V2 done and has all the features before going with it.

Pros

Stable
WYSIWYG Editor
Easy to embed Youtube videos on product pages
Good customizable Order screen

Cons

There is a Lack of standard features that other shopping carts have already or have as a addon.
NO reorder button for returning customers.
NO full address correction.
NO per item shipping restrictions.
NO built in blog.
Phone order page you can not search for a product and add it you have to enter it all product info.
Can not make custom order status.
NO UPS iGlobal

Roxy P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

They need a long way to go

Reviewed on 2018/02/17

Pros

At first i was excited to hear about volusion, there were compared to shopify.....
who ever made that comparison i wonder if they ever even used either system ????
I did not use volusion for very long because with in the first 20 min of singing up i realized they had nothing i needed, there interrogations were like 4 apps, their customer service was great they did try to help me and followed up with me about what i needed from the site. but they just didnt have what i need. (i sell on multiple platforms) if you are usinsing this for a non ECommerce site,i think this may work for you. I do not recommend this for stores with goods/ selling ect.

Cons

I did not like that customer serivice wanted me to tell they what they need to add to their site..
they also said they did have other apps, but they were not online and we could "talk about them"
not a fan of that.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Love It

Reviewed on 2019/02/19

Pros

I really like the fact that Volusion is very user friendly. Also the customer service is fantastic very friendly and on the ball.

Cons

I like everything about Volusion! Everything is wonderful.

Ryan R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to setup, the worst customer service and support

Reviewed on 2014/08/09

We have been on Volusion for 4 years. A little over a year ago they released AMAZON, EBAY, and GOOGLE STORES integration. For a year now we have had trouble tickets open on ALL 3 integrations. We have logged all the issues and even explained how to resolve them, but they honestly do not care to (this actually came from one of the CS managers.) As long as they continue to sign people up, they do not have to be quick to respond to these issues. BY far the worst customer service experience I've ever had with any similar service. We have been working on re-platforming for 6 months so that we can leave them and never look back. Honestly, STAY AWAY at all costs.

Gavin G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Money Grab

Reviewed on 2017/01/25

Volusion seems okay at first but you slowly find out its a big money grab. They offer very small bandwidth and then charge extreme amounts for overages.

James D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

There are better and worse solutions

Reviewed on 2019/04/26

Pros

This software was in the mid range of costs for hosted eCommerce solution and there are man features and plug ins that can be used with this software.

Cons

Volusion is not the simplest platform to set-up and configure. There are many steps to do things that big commerce doesn't involve. They also want you to purchase SSL's from them at a huge mark-up.

Michael W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Volusion has given us a great web site

Reviewed on 2019/01/23

We have been using Volusion since 2011. It has never failed us. Never has a customer or a potential customer called with a complaint about any aspect of our web site. We have hundreds of products, and thousands of customers. It is so easy to create new products, new pages, new categories, and arrange them as I wish. Volusion ia also handling our PPC accounts, creating and maintaining ads, with weekly reports. Overall, I would recommend Volusion to anyone looking to create a digital storefront.

Pros

The stability. There's never been an issue with connectivity.

Cons

There are not very many options for offering my customers discounts. Coupon codes are very restricted.

Aaron M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I do not recommend using Volusion

Reviewed on 2018/05/14

Pros

Exporting data out and importing it back in is pretty easy, and pretty fast, but that is the only Pro I can think of...

Cons

It's not free itself, its a hosted, paid solution. You have very little control of the codebase, which highly interferes with customizations and SEO.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

rebuilt our website through volusion website and CRM

Reviewed on 2018/04/18

having the website and CRM in one place made everything extremely easy and streamlined.

Pros

I liked how the website was connected to the CRM system. Made it easy to go to one place to do everything I needed to do and could really calculate conversions

Cons

It was a little difficult to design the website exactly the way we wanted it to be, tho that may have just been my bosses doing.

Sunny F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Volusion for the Workplace

Reviewed on 2019/10/11

Great. It allowed for me to build a sleek and simple trailers site.

Pros

I like Volusion because of how it is set up in the background/Admin area. It is layed out where you can easily find things and keep your website info well organized. I switched to Volusion from Wix, and was able to teach myself how to use it. It allowed for more customizing that Wix did, and the company I work for is currently still using Volusion.

Cons

Sometimes I had to go back in and resave something because it didn't seem to take, but that could have very well been on my computer's end and not at the fault of Volusion.

Kristen M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All-In-One e-Commerce Solution!

Reviewed on 2018/03/20

We did extensive research on an e-commerce platform. Volusion blows competitors out of the water. Easy to use and professional tool.

Pros

Features social media integration, very user friendly, advanced shopping cart features. It is affordable and there are no transaction fees. It is also mobile-friendly! Easy to create a professional, custom design. Special themes cost extra, but even the free themes are great!

Cons

The customer support and support resources are not the most helpful. Sometimes you have to spend some time digging through the support to find your answer. There are also bandwidth overage fees, so make sure to plan for that.

Heather J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Volusion eCommerce

Reviewed on 2019/03/06

I was looking for a new eCommerce platform. I have tried several and had pretty much decided to use Volusion. The software was easy to use, the templates were clean and simple, the overall look was for me. Then, their customer service agents started calling me, emailing me, and texting me NON STOP. I have been receiving communications from them 3-4 time each day since I started my trial period. It is very annoying, disrupted, and time consuming. I am the type of person who will ask for help if I need it. The incessant communications were very disruptive to my schedule. I will not be using this software.

Pros

The software seemed very user friendly. The templates were clean and simple yet eyecatching.

Cons

The software itself did not have any cons for me.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Easy to use ecommerce software with limitations to customization

Reviewed on 2018/04/09

Modern looking website with a simple, easy checkout

Pros

This software is great if you want a quick solution for a modern looking website with ecommerce capability. Easy to set up, not expensive, modern checkout (single page) and mobile friendly. It is also easy to edit the design with direct access to a HTML editor if you wish, or a WYSIWYG if that is easier for you.

Cons

If you have a lot of inventory, or want to customization the products and design, there are limitations to doing so. Also the web interface for customizing products, designing your site, can take awhile to learn and be slightly buggy. Only one person should be logged in and making changes at a time.

Faizan I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Volusion Summary

Reviewed on 2019/12/31

Its an average software and needs improvements to become as popular as BigCommerce and Shopify.

Pros

- Its easy to use and customization is also very easy.
- Its user friendly in building website.
- Its less costly than other paid website builders for beginners.

Cons

- While using card payments you have to pay for SSL.
- Its not open source that's why customization is limited.

Moaz T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

A solid platform but lacks some major features

Reviewed on 2019/11/08

Pros

Volusion is a solid platform that help you get your ecommerce stores up and running in no time.

Cons

IMO it is getting outdated and they would need a major overhaul if they want to compete in the market. It lacks some of the modern features other platforms offer e.g. cart and checkout APIs for frontend. The templating engine isn't up to date either

Jill T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A nice option for eCommerce Businesses

Reviewed on 2018/08/29

Pros

I like that it is an all inclusive solution for eCommerce Storefronts. You can customize nearly everything from start to finish, which is a very nice feature.

Cons

There is a HUGE learning curve when working on this software. It took quite a long time for me to learn it and become proficient.

Jeff G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great Solution to Start Selling Fast

Reviewed on 2020/01/07

Overall, Volusion is clean, simple and does the job. You can sell a few products or thousands, it will feel just as easy to use. I look forward to whats coming in the next few months.

Pros

Volusion is a great solution for those who want to sell online and use something else other than Shopify. It offers a lot of great functionality and has an easy to use interface.

Cons

More customization and more developer capabilities.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

OK if you aren't looking to do much.

Reviewed on 2018/03/30

Pros

It has built in inventory and purchase orders, so you can get away with just using Shipstation for shipping. If you are selling a small assortment of products on your own site only, this might work for you.

Cons

API is an absolute disaster. You can't find an agency to work with the API because it's proprietary, so you're limited to who is already partnered with Volusion. Do not, under any circumstances, use Volusion's native eBay and Amazon integrations. In fact, if you want to list products on a marketplace, it's best to use any other shopping cart. Parent-child products instead of swatch-linked and organized product variations. Inflexible because there are no metafields that you can create. It's either their predefined fields or nothing at all.

Shayne P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Simplicity doesn't overcome features.

Reviewed on 2019/12/11

Latent with many instances where I was unable to customize my site the way I wanted and was frustrating dealing with Cx and hearing that I had to hire a designer to accomplish simple goals.

Pros

Super simple CRM software that is quick to deploy and set up. It has many tiers of pricing for all budgets, and simple dashboard interface.

Cons

Past the simplicity of it, it doesn't leave much to cater to each businesses unique brand.. It requires a high tier to attain customization levels that meet your standards. And is another solution that doesn't allow you to take your hard work with you should you choose to leave.

Diane T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quick and Easy and Productive eCommerce Platform

Reviewed on 2019/07/20

Pros

The free trial allows users to see how quick and easy this software is to use. It may be better suited to small companies but seems to have enough functionality to be used by larger ecommerce sellers as well. Customer Service is excellent.

Cons

A bit tricky to use while selling on eBay or Amazon.

Maggie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Nice starter for e-commerce or small inventory options

Reviewed on 2020/05/26

Overall experience was middle of the road. If you have a simpler website this will work okay for you, but for the industry I was in it was not able to handle the complexity of variations in the products for sale. When it came time to create a second website our company went with a different e-commerce platform that could handle it with a better user experience (both consumers buying on the website and administrators/customer service processing orders from the website's back-end dashboards).

Pros

I liked that they offered custom website design services so you know their design will work with optimally with their platform. Even though wait time were sometimes long, technical support also helped you with setup and testing different configurations to make sure it was working correctly or in the way you are hoping it to. The ability to mass download and update product information fields, including shipping, SEO, and pricing using Excel files was a huge plus.

Cons

Features for price differences on different options is too linearly set up, and the options show the user the price difference as (+/-)$0.00 to the base price shown, not the actual final price, which is confusing to many users. It was also difficult to create strict multi-variant pricing rules for products in which there was more than one option that effected final price (e.g. size and color).

Ryan S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It's full featured, but has fallen behind to more modern competitors

Reviewed on 2018/06/14

Pros

Very nuanced. Product options, shipping options, categories, etc. provide many options for customizing your store without the need for 3rd party integrations for added cost.

Cons

When issues arise, there is no email support, limited phone support and a live chat window (using Intercom) that just doesn't cut it. When a store goes down or has an issue, it's important to know exactly what the status of that issue is, and a live chat that can sometimes take an hour or more for a reply is insufficient. Also, bandwidth costs are VERY expensive and bills can add up quickly for established stores.