25 reviews

Snowflake

Cloud data platform for tech professionals and businesses

4,6 /5 (25 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
25 reviews
Todd G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Snowflake, Unique just like Us

Reviewed on 2019/10/31

My overall experience with Snowflake has been a pleasurable one. Though there have been some frustrations at times I have learned and overcome and become a better programmer, and SQL developer for it. I feel like Snowflake is an old friend now.

Pros

The thing that I like most about this software is really if you can think it you can do it with Snowflake. I mean as long as it deals with data. I first started at my company using oracle and I didn't stick with that for long because we adopted snowflake. When we started using snowflake my knowledge of SQL just jumped sky high. Instead of just selecting from tables, I was using cte's and partitions and all of that fun stuff. Snowflake made it super easy to understand and learn. The ability it has to handle the amount of columns that it does is amazing.

Cons

There is a little bit of a learning curve to get the hang of it. But on the surface it is just like any other sql language and you just have to figure out the different quirks that it has. I wish it could give data instantaneously and read my mind on what I want but that is pretty much impossible so I'm going to stick with what I have.

Tanika S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Save your Data

Reviewed on 2020/07/16

I really like the fact that i can store my data in snowflake and use that to create visualizations in tableau.

Pros

1 - I like the way it stores the big data.
2 - Convenient to connect with tableau for visualizations.

Cons

1 - Costly if data is too big
2 - You can't own the data, you have to depend on the Data Engineering team.

Andrew K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great SQL interface, especially for novice users

Reviewed on 2020/12/01

Overall it's been very easy to get onboarded and up to speed using snowflake. At my last company, their SQL platform was so complicated I was too intimidated to use it, so I would always have to ask analysts for help getting the data I needed. With Snowflake, I feel that everything I need to do is straightforward, or easy to figure out with some trial & error and reading the documentation. I've even gotten several complete SQL-newbie colleagues to begin using Snowflake and they've had a great experience as well.

Pros

Snowflake's Worksheets interface is easy for SQL novices to figure out because it's simple and straightforward, which is exactly the opposite of many competitors. On other platforms, novices are easily intimidated because of the complexity, but Snowflake does a great job of keeping it simple and clean. Their documentation is also good, but it's not as novice-friendly as I would like.

Cons

Script error messages could be more specific and helpful with identifying errors and troubleshooting. For example, linking directly to the relevant section of their documentation, based on the type of error. Again, this is something that advanced users probably wouldn't mind too much, but for novice or even intermediate users, this can be the difference between spending a few minutes troubleshooting versus hours of head-scratching.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Did a proof of concept for my company comparing Snowflake to other databases that we use.

Reviewed on 2017/12/26

Pros

The three features of many great features that stand out are:

-The REAL separation of compute and storage gives the ultimate flexibility. You can match workloads to the proper level of compute without having one workload collide with another. You can optimize what you spend by only using what you need with the ability to change the size of your compute multiple times a day and the ability to stop and resume compute nodes easily.

-No other database I have ever used can handle concurrency like Snowflake. Additional clusters are automatically spun up if a query is queued

-There is no tuning that needs to be done as this is a data warehouse as a service. No other database comes close to the Snowflake performance without additional tuning. I can put in some time and tune my Oracle, Teradata or HANA database to get similar or slightly better performance but the level of DBA needed to do this is costly. This is especially helpful when the query patterns to be run against the database are unknown.

Cons

One of the positives above can also be a negative. Snowflake is a service and not software that you can run in your own data center or your own cloud VPC. This CON can be overcome with end to end encryption where you own the key and other Snowflake features.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best warehouse in the market

Reviewed on 2018/04/05

Pros

It's fast. It's simple. It's scalable. And best of all, we saved forty percent from switching off of redshift.

Cons

You can't connect easily from a sql editor outside of their browser or the command line. That makes it less convenient.

Catherine H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Transition Extremely Difficult

Reviewed on 2020/06/16

The ramp up has been difficult. There are a couple key features missing that might overpower the strengths of the software.

Pros

The interface is very attractive, it is extremely fast to query huge datasets, and there is a strong online community of users to learn from.

Cons

I think it has the possibility to be a great software for querying huge databases, but some of the basic uses of that data are hard to come by - it is difficult to interface with Microsoft products.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Taking Cloud Data Warehousing To Another Level

Reviewed on 2021/04/20

I love Snowflake as they have made data warehousing a very easy activity. Having the ability to use SQL to query huge data sets is revolutionary.

Pros

Big Data with Simple SQL - it is amazing how easy this product is to use but still as the horsepower to process billions of rows of data without a sweat. The separation of storage-compute and cloud provider agnostic environment support is the best.

Cons

Snowflake is expensive if used "incorrectly". Users need to be extremely skilled to be able to reduce cost on the platform and use virtual WHs appropriately.

Ju L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fast, easy to set up, and gets better

Reviewed on 2021/01/10

Overall very positive. I love the new features coming out and Snowflake just keeps getting better.

Pros

They just added visualization and it is amazing. Super fast to run queries and extremely easy to use and share.

Cons

Easy to spend way too much money. The compute credits go out fast if you don't monitor them closely.

Emmet M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Skip Redshift, Snowflake scales reliably

Reviewed on 2020/08/25

Snowflake supports both our analytics (dashboards and ad-hoc queries) and machine learning, including PySpark clusters. Our data scientists have found it a pleasure to work with, with rich analytics query support. The cloud-based technical architecture provides significant advantages over other offerings, including the critical ability to segment usage patterns and scale reliably.

Pros

We switched from Redshift to Snowflake for two primary reasons: 1. Snowflake's virtual warehouses allow scaling reliably, whereas Redshift becomes unstable; 2. First-class JSON support.
Having switched to Snowflake, data warehouse administration has gone from nightmare to almost nothing. We continue to scale our data and analytics, and Snowflake handles it easily.

Cons

Snowflake's approach to sales and support is a blend of on-demand cloud offering and enterprise tool. They could improve certain aspects, such as simplifying the set up of Snowpipe to stream data from AWS. But these are minor features involved in initial setup.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Snowflake - Speed in the Cloud!

Reviewed on 2019/11/20

Maintaining on-premise database systems is expensive and maintenance heavy. Moving to a cloud database like Snowflake cuts down costs and is easy to maintain also. Since Snowflake supports a variety of flat file formats as sources, it becomes easier to bulk load data as flat files in storage spaces like AWS S3. Migrating data from cloud storage to Snowflake becomes much more easier.

Pros

Snowflake is a database and a storage warehouse on the cloud. Since it's scalable on demand, retrieving data through Snowflake Warehouses is lighting fast. All the computing power required to run the SQL queries are taken care by the Warehouse size we choose. If a query is taking too long to run a quick switch to a bigger warehouse does wonders. Migrating and loading data into Snowflake is a breeze too via Snowflake Stages and COPY TO commands.

Cons

Snowflake doesn't enforce constraints, especially primary keys. So, care should be taken while doing INSERTs and UPSERTs to maintain data integrity. This lack of this feature is understandable since it's projected more as a storage warehouse.

Joel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Want quick and easy query results? Then yes, Snowflake is correct

Reviewed on 2019/01/26

Pros

Snowflake is a no fluff software that gets you data results FAST. There isn't much you have to worry about or learn to simply start using it.
Since it's cloud based you session is alway saved and you can pick up right where you last started. Love that about it.

Cons

It's very basic, compared to other tools. So if that is what you are looking for then it isn't an issue.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Snowflake Boosted up our performances

Reviewed on 2020/03/23

its quite a good experience, and performance is not a issue anymore

Pros

The computation power and storage capacity in decoupled (pay for what you want)
it provides a good query history and query analysis feature,
and also query metadata help's us in understanding the performance issues if any
the support team responds quick and good,
they have a good web UI workbench to work on and it auto stores our work,
the provide a snowflake outage dashboard which can show the down time of snowflake if any

Cons

some syntax's are different from psql, could have been the same so that the migrations wold have been easier
the web UI workbench is bit slow in initial page load time,
some times we face some issues not frequently , but the support team tries to resolve it immediately,
and the support team notifies us if there are any known outages that are about to happen

Dinesh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Performance & Reliable

Reviewed on 2019/11/10

Very much Satisfied

Pros

I almost used all the OLAP databases but this is what I loved a lot, less in price Great Performance & User Friendly.

Cons

Few features still in queue like explain plan, stored procedures

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Super Scalable

Reviewed on 2018/10/10

Pros

My favorite feature in Snowflake is the ease of use provided by SnowSQL. You can create variables in SQL that you reference throughout your queries. It additionally performs super fast and reduces many management needs.

Cons

Snowflake lacks the ability to create stored procedures, this would add a lot of value and ease of use to the software. While the lack of management is great, I find that it may not always be worth the cost for it. In addition to this, it does not perform well (or at all) as an ETL Tool.

Nick C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Snowflake is a one stop shop for all your warehousing needs

Reviewed on 2020/04/02

Snowflake is a great product and very competitive on pricing.

Pros

Snowflake is amazingly fast, which for all your queries on the data means less time to get business changing data. Snowflake is able to handle mixed data.

Cons

It is quite the process to get all the data sources linked to Snowflake. It wasn't to hard to get them connected but if this is your first experience like it was for me than there is going to be a learning curve.

Nick K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic performance for SQL workloads with huge data sets

Reviewed on 2018/12/19

Pros

Fantastic performance without worrying about tuning or data set size.

Cons

None! Really fantastic experience for our data teams.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast, sleek, sexy

Reviewed on 2020/07/07

Grabbing data from our data warehouse is 10x more effective and way faster than it used to be. Snowflake is awesome.

Pros

Snowflake is a FAST alternative to a software like microsoft sql server. The data is well organized in the cloud, which allows you to pull from it quickly. SQL queries that used to take 20 minutes now only take 10 seconds. The interface is user-friendly and looks great.

Cons

There are a couple of nuances that you need to know when you start using Snowflake. If you have someone to help you learn the few things that are unique about writing code with snowflake, you won't have a problem.

Martin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Think Tanks
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Doing big things

Reviewed on 2019/07/11

Very good.

Pros

A very innovative platform. Very secure. Great interface. Doing great things with Amazon, Google, etc.

Cons

Takes some times to get used to but not a huge deal in the end.

Christopher M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Snowflake

Reviewed on 2020/10/20

Pros

Easy to get started if you are familiar with traditional data warehousing

Cons

It gets expensive as soon as you use the additional functionality

Siddharth ..
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Snowflake

Reviewed on 2018/11/28

Pros

Snowflake db is a cloud based db the most interesting part of this software is that it is cload based and is giving competition to major vandors.

Cons

It's really costlier to buy and one should be specially trained in it

Nathan patrick T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

A Promising Solution Marred by Poor Support and Pricing Structure

Reviewed on 2020/04/30

From the tech support side, some of the engineers did not know the product well. It took several conversations to resolve simple issues.

Pros

The ability to load data in using tools like Alteryx is a major plus. Snowflake also integrated well with our data science platform. The management of users and access was very simple to use and understand.

Cons

Building out incremental loading was difficult and did not save us time in comparison to our incumbent solution. The pricing structure for usage was nebulous. We did not fully understand the pricing model until that renewal period at the end of the year which included fees that were not mentioned during the sales process.

Manas M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cloud based database and warehousing improves performance and reduces cost

Reviewed on 2020/12/19

its a great experience, our API's have become faster in response time, we stoped worrying about storage size and computation power , now its scalable and decoupled

Pros

This is a fully managed cloud data-warehousing solution , or database as a service, the advantage of this with the traditional server based database is the performance boost, here the warehouse or the computing power and data storage is fully decoupled, this means , you can pay for what you need, your warehouse can be in sleep when its not in use so you save money, you can modify the size of warehouse so you get your performance as you want, and it supports the advance queries like 'copy' into local files and s3 etc ..,

coming to the operations, the snowflake has query history well maintained with importance performance metrics , and they have a good support team who responds quick,

they have a web workbench which stores our query on different tabs with different configurations, they have role based authentication for each elements on database,

they have good documentations and community for an help regarding the queries etc..

Cons

we use to have some outages in the past, which was resolved quick, now a days i don't see those that's a good thing, if you are trying to migrate from a psql to snowflake then some query syntaxes will be different

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Snowflake is an affordable solution that enables analysts and non-technical folk to build DWs.

Reviewed on 2018/03/12

We have a lean team of data engineers and as a result cannot automate as many data sources as we'd like. In the interim, our analysts utilize Snowflake to incorporate data into our multifaceted reports.

Pros

We use Snowflake to capture some of our larger third party data exports that won't fit into Google Sheets. The process of uploading data is straightforward and keeps our business reporting streamlined despite lean engineering resources on our end.

There is a SQL interface to make modifications to data before final exports and data viz.

Cons

The UI is clunky and not the most intuitive. The error messages could be more detailed and expanded.

The support for Mac seems to be more limited. Encountered issues with data produced via Mac and support took months to fully resolve.

Dan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Gambling & Casinos
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Snowflake Review

Reviewed on 2019/09/30

We required a cloud based, scaleable data warehouse to replace our on-premise MS SQL stack. So far Snowflake has proved to be the right choice

Pros

Web UI
Virtual Warehouses
Secure Product
Auto-Scaling
S3 integration
Public Cloud Hosting
Forward thinking vendor

Cons

Would be good if there was a RESTful API interface with ability to query tables returning JSON format

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best cloud data warehouse as a service available to date

Reviewed on 2018/02/16

Centralized data.

Pros

Easy setup and configuration.
The Ability to scale up and scale down at needed.
Pay as you go and only for what you use.

Cons

Limited to AWS currently with planned expansion to Azure and GCP.
On-Premise is not an option, but VPC is.