IPVanish Reviews

IPVanish

Software to establish and manage virtual private network

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(64)
Value for Money
4,3/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,6/5
Customer Support
4,2/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

64 Reviews

Aatif Khurshaid
Aatif Khurshaid
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

IPVanish, protect your online identity

Reviewed on 2022/05/08

IPVanish is a powerful VPN software that hide your real IP address and let you surf the web...

IPVanish is a powerful VPN software that hide your real IP address and let you surf the web anonymously. I like it for its ease of use and performance consistency.

Pros

IPVanish is a powerful VPN software which very effectively masks your IP address and enables you surf across te internet anonymously. You can us its single subscription to proctect multiple devices at a time. It as a huge number of servers around the globe to give you a fast surfing speed and to enable you to choose a virtual location according to your choice. Apart from masking you IP, you can also use it to unblock apps and websites like Twitter, BBC etx blocked in certain regions. By changing your virtual location, you can also make apps lie Netflix and Prime tohow you content specific to that region. Also it protects your system up to an extent against xyber threats.

Cons

IPVanish makes your internet works a bit slowly, specifically while streaming data. Other than that it works all fine.

Eduardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Affordable, reliable choice for consumer VPN needs

Reviewed on 2021/06/06

Overall, it's a decent choice. The servers are not the fastest, but offers decent speeds for...

Overall, it's a decent choice. The servers are not the fastest, but offers decent speeds for cloud-based workloads.

Pros

It is by far one of the most affordable choices of the longest running VPN providers. The app is easy to install and easy to use. It is quick to deploy to individual users.

Cons

Downside was it did not have a server local to my location. The app also caused issues with the internet connection on one computer, but that may be because we have a custom DNS setup.

Alternatives Considered

NordVPN

Reasons for Choosing IPVanish

Price

Reasons for Switching to IPVanish

There was a good deal for pricing at the time.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

IPVanish protects your privacy, however it tends to drop connections often

Reviewed on 2020/03/03

IT is a solid VPN services, but there are some bugs in their system that made to experience less...

IT is a solid VPN services, but there are some bugs in their system that made to experience less appealing

Pros

IPVanish has a lot of servers all around the world and the connections were fast. They do not keep logs for the connections, protecting your privacy.

Cons

The connections seemed to drop quite often, they have a kill switch that would block all internet access until you reconnected. It was quite annoying.

Ruthis
Ruthis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very fast VPN

Reviewed on 2023/11/13

Pros

This VPN solution offers very fast speed download, and strong security measures.

Cons

It is l'ESS expensive compared to some alternative VPN services

Lawrent
Lawrent
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A great VPN, but based in a questionable country in terms of zero log policy

Reviewed on 2022/05/11

It helped me keep my data and communication safe especially in public spaces. We decided to change...

It helped me keep my data and communication safe especially in public spaces. We decided to change to CYBERGHOST though.

Pros

I like the support options (chat and phone) which I don't remember seeing much with other VPN services (I have not used them though, but it's good to know it's there). IPVANISH has tons of IP addresses. It is very easy to navigate through app and connect to any location.The encryption is standard (AES 256) IPVANISH used to not have WIREGUARD (unlike Cyberghost), and since it's the latest state-of-the-art security protocol, It was a big no for me, but now they integrated it to their VPN. IPVANISH has got the killswitch and an autoconnect options which is great to have to avoid any leak. Streaming services are working great for the programs I want to watch. uploads/downloads are solid even if you connect to a far location (itreally depend on your location in regard to the place you connect to). With the trusted wifi networks I also decide when to connect or not to the VPN (as I travel a lot, I use it a lot)

Cons

The company is in one of the eyes alliances countries and therefore we can question the zero log policy...There are other cheaper VPNs, but IPVANISH is in the usual price range.

Brandi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IPVanish

Reviewed on 2023/07/20

Pros

What I like best about IPVanish is the value you get for the price.

Cons

I don't think there is anything I don't like about this product. I use it everyday.

William
William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IPVANISH Rocks

Reviewed on 2020/11/10

Amazing service, fast, reliable, and very cheap! It works great for the price you pay and you can...

Amazing service, fast, reliable, and very cheap! It works great for the price you pay and you can browse the internet securely without your ISP monitoring your activity!

Pros

Fast, reliable, easy to use, and the price is amazing! I use it on my phones, pcs, and amazon firesticks! It just simply works. Price compared to other VPN services is hands down the best. I paid $39.99 for a year of service. There are servers all over the world available for use. The speed from being connected is minimally impacted. The service also keeps no record of logs which is what you need when using a VPN service. I highly recommend their service if you're not using it!

Cons

Limited to only so many devices per subscription. That's the only con with the software. But, most competitors are the same way.

Kevin
Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

IPVanish Protects your Anonymity

Reviewed on 2022/10/31

I have been using IPVanish as a VPN to protect my identity for the last 4-5 years and always found...

I have been using IPVanish as a VPN to protect my identity for the last 4-5 years and always found it to be very straightforward to use. It is not the cheapest VPN on the market, however it has more features than many, there are more servers in more countries than most making it easy to surf the web completely anonymously. The company do not retain activity logs, and should the connection be compromised the VPN can be configured to shut off the internet completely until the VPN is re-instated, a very good security feature. I would recommend IPVanish over many of it's cheaper competitors.

Pros

Ease of use, IPVanish is a relatively simple VPN available for the desktop and mobile.

Cons

The mobile version of the product seems to drop out regularly.

Damilola
Damilola
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

IPVanish VPN

Reviewed on 2019/04/26

Pros

Based on my personal and usage test Ipvanish has an excellent reliable speed with 10 simultaneous connections to a subscription, Ipvanish chat and email support plus telephone support are 24/7 available.

I have used Ipvanish on Android, iOs and Windows the security level is high, noIP address leak, Ipvanish has settings that allow user to personalize privacy features and encryption.

Cons

Due to mass surveillance in the United States where Ipvanish is based this is really a major drawback for Ipvanish because US is not the best privacy jurisdiction. Ipavnish is a bit expensive than other quality Vpn in the market.

Roshish
Roshish
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good Overall VPN

Reviewed on 2023/10/22

Pros

IPVanish is a real gem when it comes to internet security. It connects super fast and keeps my online activities private and protected. The fact that they don't log my traffic is a big plus for privacy. It works on all my devices, and the speed is consistently fast. It's also budget-friendly. Setting it up is a breeze, and their support team is top-notch. Whether I'm accessing blocked websites or ensuring my online safety, IPVanish does it all.

Cons

I noticed that certain websites seemed to be blocked during just standard browsing. Another notable issue was the somewhat frequent connection drops. While they do have a kill switch, which is a plus, it could sometimes be an inconvenience as it blocked all internet access until reconnection.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple and cost effective VPN

Reviewed on 2022/12/20

Best for travels for easy of use, connectivity, reliability and affordable.

Best for travels for easy of use, connectivity, reliability and affordable.

Pros

My VPN requirements are simple and occasional. I usually use IPvanish when traveling and hence mainly with public Wi-Fi networks. The VPN connects quickly and is able to encrypt internet connection and protect my anonymity. I have always relied it to protect against personal information and online activities being intercepted. I appreciate the ability to mask IP address and replace it with anonymous address. Additionally, the kill switch is spot on. I have experience enough times when the VPN connection was lost and immediately IPvanish would terminate the internet connection automatically.

Cons

Initially, I would be bothered and frustrated with lost internet connection and VPN kept on dropping or losing connection. However, there has been a great improvement lately and it has been more reliable.

Stacey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IP Vanish helps you protect your privacy online.

Reviewed on 2019/12/12

Prevents tracking based on IP/location for services that may limit connectivity from some locations....

Prevents tracking based on IP/location for services that may limit connectivity from some locations. Ironically, since it allows you to pick where you appear to connect from, you can also use it for testing Geolocation limited features of services. Game or other servers that need to limit access to a country for legal reasons can be tested from a long list of location nodes in the IPVanish network.

Pros

IP Vanish software just works. Simple yet powerful interface. Supports Windows, MacOS, iOS, Android, Fire TV, Linux, and more. You can even install it on your router. Since IPVanish is at core a service, you can configure your system to use the service without using their software. Provides automatic or manual selection of best VPN connection point all over the US and in many countries. IP Vanish allows you to protect your privacy from trackers and Geolocation services providing you with greater peace of mind while you use the internet.

Cons

While you can configure it to pass local LAN traffic it doesn't always seem to work with new connections. If I am connected to a LAN service/server before starting the VPN, then it works, but occasionally doesn't seem to work right if I haven't already established a connection. My local LAN can consist of private IP's and public IPs so that may be where the issue lies.

Jenn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

IPVanish a good buy

Reviewed on 2021/02/20

Great VPN in general and works as it suppose to function.

Great VPN in general and works as it suppose to function.

Pros

What I like most about IpVanish VPN is the fact that you have close to 20 US cities you are able to connect to immediately. I also love the kill switch option, which means if for some reason you become disconnected with the VPN you immediately will not have internet access. That option can be useful in many scenarios for a user.

Cons

The only con I have is when you start the software, it always asks you for permission to launch on your system. I believe that's an unnecessary step for a user to have to go through.

Alternatives Considered

ExpressVPN

Reasons for Switching to IPVanish

They were recommended by someone I trusted.
Theodore
Theodore
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

VPN Me Not

Reviewed on 2019/12/12

No problems were solved. A benefits is that it operates at high speeds. It is easy to install and...

No problems were solved. A benefits is that it operates at high speeds. It is easy to install and manage.
Offers a protective environment keeps nosey nibs from seeing where you are going and what you like to see on the internet.

Pros

We have our own in house product that we use, however we always like to have alternatives. We chose IPVanish product because it offers quick results. The setup is straight forward and the administration follows the ABCD format. We also like the user interface were as the options are listed in a pane on the left side of the screen and depending on what option you select there, a screen contents of that option appears on the right:

__|_______
__| *
__| * * *
|X |

Cons

The only thing that we saw as a hangup was streaming. Keep in mind of a VPN service it seems to clip along at a decent to fairly fast speed, but for actually streaming like for Netflix, seems to get frozen and take a while to load back up.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Aki Hubbard-IPV VPN Review

Reviewed on 2019/11/24

I use IP Vanish VPN at home for privacy and abroad to stream geo-blocked content. In either case,...

I use IP Vanish VPN at home for privacy and abroad to stream geo-blocked content. In either case, I have not experienced a problem with this program and for the price, it is well worth its weight.

Pros

What I like most is the privacy. With IP Vanish activated, I can surf the web, conduct online transactions, and stream content with an added layer of security.

Cons

There's not really much to complain about with using IP Vanish. If I had to choose one thing for them to improve on, it would be to include a tutorial that explains how to manually choose the servers with the best reception.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to Use VPN

Reviewed on 2022/06/29

We have used this software with no major problems with the exception of the Philippines server...

We have used this software with no major problems with the exception of the Philippines server being down (or removed). The pricing for new users is very generous and a bargain compared to other VPNs. The speed is very fast if your internet speed is high speed as well. The app has performed equally well among phones and laptops for us.

Pros

For those who need a VPN to work securely from home or other uses, this must be one of the easiest dashboards to use. From the home screen, you can choose which location you would like to use (i.e. Germany), and make it a favorite. The settings are also easy to understand and you can adapt to your liking. The program usually likes to pick the fastest available servers.

Cons

Until about a year ago, you could select the Philippines for a location. You can no longer do that. The last time I emailed customer support, they said they were working on the problem, but it has been about a year and it has not changed.

Rachelle
Rachelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great Service for Unsecured Networks

Reviewed on 2019/10/22

We are able to work without worrying about our secure data being accessed on unknown networks.

We are able to work without worrying about our secure data being accessed on unknown networks.

Pros

We use IPVanish to keep our devices from malicious activity on unsecured networks.

Cons

When traveling in some countries, IPVanish VPN is blocked and we are unable to use the software.

Ed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IPVanish VPN Review

Reviewed on 2022/01/09

Security, privacy and reliable service with simultaneous connections over all devices has been a...

Security, privacy and reliable service with simultaneous connections over all devices has been a great benefit.

Pros

This VPN service offers over a thousand worldwide anonymous servers. They claim to keep no traffic logs, which is great for privacy concerns. It integrates with all devices and provides very fast and reliable speed at a reasonable price.

Cons

I have not found anything to complain about.

Dennis
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Been using it while working in a software development company

Reviewed on 2018/04/26

Pros

I like that its pretty fast to use and it has a large range of countries and cities to connect to and use their IP address, second i like that it has a design that looks nerdy with cool green and black colors, makes you feel like you are doing something complicated but really you are just clicking two buttons.

Cons

I don't like that lately the servers started dropping and its not availlable most of the time to connect to some countries, but this is only occuring for the last 10 days so i wouldn't say its a problem, it can happen to any software.

Eitan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great priced, Fast and secure VPN

Reviewed on 2022/06/22

Pros

IPVanish is one of the most secured VPNs i have used, It's also great priced and really fast

Cons

I think the UI should be redesigned, it looks old.

Silvio
Silvio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A good VPN option

Reviewed on 2020/04/04

I'm satisfied and I will definitely keep using it.

I'm satisfied and I will definitely keep using it.

Pros

What I really like of this software is the fact that it almost has a version for every platform. I got it installed on both mac, pc and android which is nice!

Cons

It would be cool to have the possibility to install it on some of the most common routers to avoid having it on each device

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent laptop VPN

Reviewed on 2018/04/04

Pros

Simplified user interface allows you to select your geographic connection point. Connects fairly quickly and when using the mobile client lets you know when you're on unsecured networks.

Cons

Occasionally on disconnect the software keeps the dns settings and I have had to manually remove the settings in my network configuration

Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Reliable Round-the-clock VPN!

Reviewed on 2019/12/06

IP Vanish gives me complete peace of mind in a hacker environment we call the internet.

IP Vanish gives me complete peace of mind in a hacker environment we call the internet.

Pros

IP Vanish has many reliable hosts around the globe. It's a very reliable VPN and requires very little resources to run.

Cons

Some days I experienced connection delays.

Sometimes the software randomly pops up and interrupts me.

Gilbert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Solid VPN product

Reviewed on 2022/03/10

Generally positive experience overall. Recommended highly for PC platform.

Generally positive experience overall. Recommended highly for PC platform.

Pros

Software interface was easy to navigate, connection speed was great.

Cons

Had some inconsistent performance with the Mac version of the software after an update.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Fast, secure browsing (with caveats!)

Reviewed on 2018/07/13

Pros

Easy to use with no noticeable loss of speed. Fast enough to stream video without a problem (though obviously, certain streaming websites will not allow you access with VPN enabled). Quick to setup and get going.

Cons

(1) Level of troubleshooting required at times: if you exit the program abruptly, it can be difficult to re-login. There is a Fix DNS button that is often needed but this is not obvious to the user and it is difficult to locate. Some broadband companies restrict the use of VPNs unless you call and request that they change your settings.
(2) Limited access to some websites: many financial websites do not allow you to log-in with the VPN enabled. So if you wanted to check your bank or trading accounts from public wifi, you may not be able to do so with VPN protection.