Anki

Learning experience platform for creating flashcards

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(24)
Value for Money
4,6/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,0/5
Customer Support
4,1/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

24 Reviews

Chad
Chad
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Flashcard Software

Reviewed on 2022/06/27

Pros

The spaced repetition and active learning are amongst some of the best learning methods out there. Fortunately Anki applies both of these principles. The ability to share decks is also a plus.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve when it comes to studying certain topics. Creating filtered decks is also a bit tricky. Some of the add ons also cause crashes. The IPhone app is also quite pricey whereas the android app is free.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Anki: a powerful tool for students

Reviewed on 2022/07/02

Pros

Anki’s claim to fame would definitely be promotion of active learning and spaced repetition. One of the best features of Anki, is that it recognizes a user’s weaker topics and repeats various concepts until a marked improvement Is detected. The interface also has various plug ins and powerful tools to ensure that the user meets their goal.

Cons

Anki can be very intimidating and not very user friendly. It definitely took a couple of online tutorials to fully adjust to this app. It was a bit overwhelming at first, but it would be very rewarding once you figure out its functions. Creating decks can be a bit tricky so I do advise starting off with a pre made deck.

Carsyn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Anki helps keep my studying topics organized and is easy to use

Reviewed on 2024/03/29

Pros

I liked the organization of decks most about Anki. As a student in professional school it is easy to lose track of information especially when using flash cards or handwritten materials. Anki helps a lot with keeping my classes organized by semester and making the decks easily accessible so that I can return and review them efficiently.

Cons

I have no complaints. From making your own decks to sharing decks with others, Anki makes the process easy and user friendly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Not having attractive appearance but working well

Reviewed on 2022/11/09

It's cheap to try to set up your personalised sets of flashcards.

It's cheap to try to set up your personalised sets of flashcards.

Pros

It's free to have this application installed in laptop but you need to pay to use it on mobile then everything will be syn and easy to access your lessons anywhere.

Cons

It's complicated to set up at first and the user interface looks so bad.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A nice flashcard application

Reviewed on 2022/12/27

Pros

What I like about Anki is that it has a very straight forward and simple user interface. I'm not a fan of complex, overly modern-ish designs, and I love the old school-kind of vibe the interface is giving. Next is of course, its space repetition feature that allows the users to better learn and memorize any terms they need. Anki is definitely one of my lifesavers when it comes to my term-packed subjects and of course, language learning. Lastly is how users can share their created decks to each other, saving the time of people trying to create the same deck with the same content. This is especially helpful for people learning any languages, as there are already tons of Anki decks available that they can start learning, rather than making.

Cons

Even though the user interface is alright to me, it definitely doesn't hurt to be improved for a little bit. It isn't very beginner friendly to me when I first started, and I think it can definitely be better.

Joshua
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love - Hate

Reviewed on 2023/05/11

This is great, though, and this is the hate, if you are not doing it everyday it piles up massively....

This is great, though, and this is the hate, if you are not doing it everyday it piles up massively. There is no way to set it on "holiday mode" so if you take a break for a week from it there are piles of cards that you need to review again.But without this app I would have to be writing things down and Anki makes remembering it so much easier. This is definitely a must use for remembering vocabulary.

Pros

Anki does such a great job of helping me to remember words from the language i am learning. It has great algorithms (that you can customise if you dare) that help you to remember the words you are having trouble by showing them to you more often while showing less the words you are remembering

Cons

The settings are not super easy to understand. As sometimes you might try to stop new flash cards from displaying from one deck and then realise that deck was in a group and now they all have stopped so you need to work things like that out. its just not always straight forward.

Madden
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

#1 Tool Any Lifelong Learner can Utilize

Reviewed on 2023/04/28

I have used Anki for countless large entrance exams and on a daily basis throughout my graduate...

I have used Anki for countless large entrance exams and on a daily basis throughout my graduate studies. I am excited to see how AI will be integrated into Anki in the near future.

Pros

Anki's open-source nature really allows each individual to customize everything they need it to be for each of their circumstances. I use countless add-ons that allow me to learn best as a dental student.

Cons

Anki can be intimidating for first-time users, many classmates I work with use Quizlet as an alternative given that they just do not know how to get started with Anki.

Hallvard Enger
Hallvard Enger
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Anki - A must have for learning effectively

Reviewed on 2023/02/19

Learning facts like what is A, it is B, is great with Anki! For example learning a new language. My...

Learning facts like what is A, it is B, is great with Anki! For example learning a new language. My experience is that it is easy to use, understand, and if something seems difficult to do like adding a public deck, just google it!

Pros

This tools lets the user download publicly available flashcard decks to learn certain subjects, languages etc. One can also create their own.I love how it gives the intervals for when your next revision of a flashcard will be, based on how hard you rate it.

Cons

Not really anything I don't like. The only reason I don't use it for learning everything is lazyness and maybe due to not everything can be put into basic facts.

Beatriz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I like Anki for its ease of use

Reviewed on 2023/06/04

I use it for more than three years, in the memorization of contents. I really like the results it...

I use it for more than three years, in the memorization of contents. I really like the results it provides.

Pros

I like it because it is a system that helps in fixing content from various areas.

Cons

The design of the application should be improved, seeking a more modern appearance.

William
William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Invaluable language learning tool

Reviewed on 2022/04/13

Pros

This software enables users to link to their Duolingo account and download vocabulary as it is learned. This is a huge help in completing my Duolingo Irish lessons.

Cons

Some of it is a bit confusing to use, but that probably says more about me than the software.

Tim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Spaced repetition software for semi-intensive/intensive language learning

Reviewed on 2022/04/03

Pros

Anki has a great community repository of language learning cards for many languages and fact intensive studies (biology etc). These are often taken from syllabuses directly so you can often focus on learning vocabulary for a specific level (Such as A1 French/German/Spanish).
With intensive effort from a student, Anki can help improve student learning by managing what cards students have difficulty on and inserting them into a learning session until a student stops struggling.

Cons

Anki as a tool can be hard for a student to get into and thus might be a difficult process without dedication. Anki requires repetition every day or even a few times per day depending on the dedication of the learner. A casual learner may be better with a tool that focusses on gamification such as Duolingo

Ahmet Fatih
Ahmet Fatih
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Learning made free

Reviewed on 2023/04/12

Smooth and free of charge

Smooth and free of charge

Pros

There are many competitors to Anki but it is free, open source and does almost as good as the paid opponents. I like the way it enables users to create, customize, and study digital flashcards. Spaced repetition algorithm works just fine and it can work as a standalone offline.

Cons

Learning curve can be more difficult in terms of the User Interface. Mobile friendliness can be improved as well because pc version is much more talented.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Flashcard App out there!

Reviewed on 2023/01/16

Pros

It's multiplatform, has so many features for flashcard making(image, voice, plus custom feature with infinite plugins), review according to forgetting curve is really the best way to remember stuff, and the best of all, it's open source!

Cons

Its UI looks a bit old, it can be improved to look more modern

Daniel
Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best flash cards app

Reviewed on 2022/03/24

I really like it onces i use it for sometime because at first it was kind hard to use it.

I really like it onces i use it for sometime because at first it was kind hard to use it.

Pros

I like the system that it use to show the cards at a specific time to make sure that you really learn the content. In addition the fact that it let you copy other users cards so that you don't have to make them is really good if you don't have the time or will to do some of your own. Also all the features and functions that you can use in your card let you overcome the traditional flash card and make some really complex

Cons

One of the main reason i some times dont like to use this app is the overall look. For me is really plain and make it hard to star using it. Also the syncronization with other devices is kinda bad and slow.

Tony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Cute Memory Fresher

Reviewed on 2022/03/17

Pros

Very smal and cute to playing with. Powerful customized item design, content include text formated, pic, voice, video etc, multiple formated content together. Automatically arrange the flash cards for memory test. Interactive with the response from the test, and automatically consolidate the schedule for another test flash show.

Cons

The test response is not very easy to feedback, current it only have options icons, not friendly for pulling or slash on the touch screen.
Most setup GUI is text only, not very interesting and active for focus.

Philasande
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Anki review

Reviewed on 2022/08/31

Pros

You can create decks very easily with this software.

Cons

The design of the app is poor and doesn't convince people about the value they might get from using the software.

César
César
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An indispensable tool for students

Reviewed on 2022/03/31

In my opinion, it is a program that cannot be missing in the life of a student, it is very useful,...

In my opinion, it is a program that cannot be missing in the life of a student, it is very useful, and the extension system is incredible. A very well-thought-out program.

Pros

It's the best flashcard program out there, the spaced repetition is great, the customization of the flashcards is wonderful. A great program.

Cons

It seems to me that the interface does not attract attention and that is important because then you do not want to use the product, however, it is a program with very few weak points.

Marcel
Marcel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A new way of learning

Reviewed on 2022/11/14

Pros

It automatically arranges flash cards. Design of cards can be costumized and information can be stored in differrent formats.

Cons

There is needed a little bit of getting used to it. Not the most intuitive app. Otherwise it's a great tool.

Francisco
Francisco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Hard to use but handy

Reviewed on 2021/09/14

A very good technique for students but the app is not user-friendly and tricks are not easy to...

A very good technique for students but the app is not user-friendly and tricks are not easy to learn. You definitely need to see tutorials

Pros

This system really helps you memorize while studying. It really works and I recommend this technique to students, however, the app is not easy to use. There are some tricks to really make it work and the UI does not help in doing so

Cons

It is hard to use. You need to see tutorials to make it work as it should

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Lo consiglio a tutti dai tempi del liceo!

Reviewed on 2023/04/01

top, davvero top, tutti quelli a cui l'ho consigliata hanno utilizzato e apprezzato

top, davvero top, tutti quelli a cui l'ho consigliata hanno utilizzato e apprezzato

Pros

è l'unico software che fa bene quello che un app di questo tipo fa. Semplice, intuitivo. L'algoritmo che fa sì che tutto venga appreso con questo software è da 1000/10! Davvero insostituibile, la uso per questioni personali, l'ho usata all'università per dare alcuni esami, prima ancora alle scuole superiori e ora anche per questioni lavorative o di produttività! sinceramente la userei anche se fosse a pagamento per cifre piuttosto alte, data la sua utilità

Cons

bah, io la trovo assolutamente utile così com'è. se volessimo cercare il "pelo nell'uovo" forse graficamente non è il top del top, ma questo lo dico con formazione da grafica quindi è davvero un po' cercare il negativo nel dettaglio. per quanto mi interessa funziona bene.

Daniele
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Base, ma fa il suo lavoro molto bene.

Reviewed on 2023/07/06

Ha aiutato nell'apprendimento di terminologia, in lingue diverse, di alcuni processi di business...

Ha aiutato nell'apprendimento di terminologia, in lingue diverse, di alcuni processi di business che usiamo abitualmente.

Pros

Il metodo di ripetizione mnemonica è ottimo ad esempio per espandere il proprio lessico quando si impara una lingua (è quello per cui lo uso). E' possibile creare flashcard in pochissimi secondi, creare diversi mazzi ed estendere la durata della sessione in pochi clic.

Cons

Un'ottima feature da aggiungere sarebbe anche una funzione 'reverse', ovvero 'invertire' i due lati del mazzo. Questo farebbe sì che l'apprendimento diventasse meno mnemonico e ripetitivo, ma più impegnativo. Anche 'marcare' certe carte insieme (ad esempio in sottocategorie) sarebbe una ottima feature perché permetterebbe di affrontare insieme carte potenzialmente facili da confondere.

erica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MUST-HAVE per lo studio

Reviewed on 2023/02/14

Sono molto soddisfatta, mi ha rivoluzionato il metodo di studio quando ancora non ne avevo uno.

Sono molto soddisfatta, mi ha rivoluzionato il metodo di studio quando ancora non ne avevo uno.

Pros

Anki è unica nel suo genere; è usata da molti studenti di università internazionali ad alti livelli (e.g. Cambridge) non solo per aiutare a passare l'esame, ma anche per costruire una memoria più solida nel tempo. Grazie al suo algoritmo per i giorni di ripetizione (secondo la teoria della "learning timeline"), rende possibile lo storage di un'informazione nella memoria a lungo termine. Così, assicura un apprendimento solido e non solamente finalizzato a diminuire lo stress da performance.

Cons

Su computer è un po' difficile da usare e può richiedere molto tempo per creare le flashcards.

daniele
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Anki per l'apprendimento puro

Reviewed on 2023/02/07

Pros

Ciò che apprezzo di più di anki è la possibilità di fare autoapprendimento. Il mio metodo di studio grazie a quest'app è migliorato tantissimo. All'inizio non riuscivo a trovare nessuna app che mi offrisse una tale possibilità, ma da quando ho conosciuto anki la mia vita è completamente cambiata. Infatti, per me che utilizzo il richiamo attivo con la ripetizone spaziata nel tempo, anki è veramente perfetta

Cons

Aggiungerei dei video, ovvero delle guide per far comprendere meglio l'utilizzo di alcuni aspetti di anki che vanno oltre quelli più semplici come la creazione di mazzi

Lavínia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Avaliação do Anki de uma estudante.

Reviewed on 2023/07/07

Eu amo o anki e me ajuda no meu dia a dia com estudos.

Eu amo o anki e me ajuda no meu dia a dia com estudos.

Pros

Possibilidade de fazer revisões de maneira rápida e fácil.

Cons

A estética do Anki é antiga, e deixa a plataforma menos atraente.