Rally

Enterprise-level agile development

Overall rating

4,3 /5
(32)
Value for Money
4,1/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
3,9/5
Customer Support
3,8/5

91%
recommended this app
Sort by

32 Reviews

Kathy
Kathy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Agile Tracking Tool

Reviewed on 2020/12/13

Rally is a great collaborative tool for the whole agile team to use easily and track sprints...

Rally is a great collaborative tool for the whole agile team to use easily and track sprints efficiently. It works really well with other MS products as well for export/import.

Pros

Rally is the best tool I've used for agile development tracking. The UI is the clearest and the layout is the most intuitive I've seen on the market. It's so easy to display all defects or all stories, tasks, etc. I love the export functions and how simply one can customize own reports.

Cons

It is really expensive and hard to customize fields for sub-projects that are different than the parent projects.

santosh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Project Management Platform - Rally

Reviewed on 2022/05/20

The overall experience with Rally is excellent. We use Rally extensively for managing all the...

The overall experience with Rally is excellent. We use Rally extensively for managing all the employees work performance and implementing epics and features to the users with efficient way possible. The timelines could be more clear for anyone looking for quicker updates.

Pros

- The most important feature that we use the on daily cadence is, managing projects, creating features, splitting up user stories for better management, time tracking, task managements for user stories to track the completion of the feature. We also create Dashboards for tracking and managing resources efficiently

Cons

- The support can be more effective for any queries or cases we create.
- There could be more UI features that the Rally product team can bring up for better user experience
- The pricing can be better when purchasing with bundles and packages with heavy user license

Alternatives Considered

Jira

Reasons for Switching to Rally

- The pricing was better than other products available in the market. The support was very much ready for onboard us quickly and help with the setup and go live as soon as possible.
Tal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Agile methodology in the cloud

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

I get things done using rally, took some time to get used to it, but it delivers the Agile way.

I get things done using rally, took some time to get used to it, but it delivers the Agile way.

Pros

It's a great way to communicate company wide, easy to create user stories and breaking them down into tasks, the latest UI upgrade was a big improvment.

Cons

Gets laggy sometimes, can't see attached images properly once there is more than one image,
mostly small quirks, all in all it's a good product.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Ca Agile Central - Central for Agile methodologies

Reviewed on 2019/04/10

We work on development project, We get the work from business in the form of User stories. The user...

We work on development project, We get the work from business in the form of User stories. The user stories and broken down in to Defects and assigned to developers to work. CA agile is tailor made for projects which follow agile methodologies, it has planned set of rules and guidelines that helps. Monitoring and report creation process is simplified. it takes times to get used to the tool, once we are good with the process, it is very easy tool to use. Go for it!

Pros

1. Software is build around agile methodologies , best suited for projects using agile.
2. Easy to use, assign the unit of work to a respective team and resource
3. Tailor made for projects which involves a lot of teams within it.
4. Monitoring,Status of work can be easily determined.
5. Dashboards and reports are inbuilt and can be customized.
6. Separate process for sprint planning tabs are available.
7. Different stages of work flow like Backlog, analysis,development, test readiness and test execution and their count along with customization are really helpful.
8. Integrates well with CICD pipeline tools like Jenkins and Sonar Qube etc.

Cons

1. Very few fields options are available. We were using ALM before moving on Agile central, all the fields in ALM was not mapped to CA agile. It was difficult to map the fields since it has very less field options.
2. Customization and Report creation during the initial phase was very difficult.
3. Need to depend on the Scrum master to make process changes.
4. Iniital setup of the process was difficult and transition of people from water fall to Agile using CA Agile was challenging.

Sachin
Sachin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A useful tool for Agile Project Management

Reviewed on 2019/01/27

I am highly satisfied with Rally. It has helped team plan, groom, execute and track deliverables...

I am highly satisfied with Rally. It has helped team plan, groom, execute and track deliverables efficiently. Unwanted documentation is greatly reduced now.

Pros

* Web based an intuitive
* Supports Scrum, Kanban, Scrumban and other agile frameworks
* Scalable enough to support multiple teams and portfolios
* Backlog creation, Iteration planning, Release Planning, Story creation, Milestone definition, Feature and Initiative (epic) creation, and captures many useful fields that help reduce the elaborate documentation requirements.
* Story dependencies can be tracked easily.
* Discussion tab allows capture useful discussions/ data and helps collaboration on story, feature or initiative.
* Parent - Child relationship can be established between stories
* Multiple reports can be generated that helps team measure performance and productivity.
* Iteration board, Kanban board provide realtime view of team progress.

Cons

* It does not work well with Internet Explorer browser.
* License cost is high as compared to other tools like JIRA

Mahipal Singh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Rally Reivews

Reviewed on 2022/07/30

My overall experience with rally is too good. It is ease to use and helps organization to achieve...

My overall experience with rally is too good. It is ease to use and helps organization to achieve the target in the agile methodology format.

Pros

Project management is the best part of this software. It helps organization to track the project. It gives us feature to divide the project into multiple sub-project in EPICs an L2s. So, team can easily achieve the project delivers by completing the multiple EPIC. It helps team to work in agile methodology and gives exposure to do the continuous deliveries.

Cons

As of now, i don't have anything which i don't like about this software.

Deborah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Rally for Agile Project Management and Portfolio Management

Reviewed on 2017/03/14

Rally has expanded their functionality since Computer Associates purchased Rally . I like the...

Rally has expanded their functionality since Computer Associates purchased Rally . I like the alignment with the Scaled Agile framework. Allowing the roll up of stories to features and capabilities to align with value stream has been instrumental in educating our executive leadership team and prioritizing our portfolio

Pros

Integration and customization support allow us to interface with our internal applications

Cons

Continue to expand the portfolio and program management roll up and reporting features

Imri
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

An ok software, but there are better

Reviewed on 2022/05/23

Rally is good but it has a lot of work to do to be in the same league of Jira or some of those...

Rally is good but it has a lot of work to do to be in the same league of Jira or some of those software.

Pros

I like the dragging option, the fact that it's not 100% customizable which makes it easy, one you learn it, to work with it. It makes tracking tasks and bugs quite easy and clear.

Cons

I'm missing better integration with other services, like GitHub. Also, I wish the UI would get a facelift so it would look better, cleaner and modern. Also, the way of adding user stories and defects takes a learning curve.

Sureshkumar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Rally - Best Agile project management Software

Reviewed on 2021/12/09

Overall experience has been nothing short of great. It is the best software that I have used.

Overall experience has been nothing short of great. It is the best software that I have used.

Pros

Rally GUI is so easy to use and seamless. It is the best software to track the user stories and update comments on it.

Cons

There is nothing to not like about this software. Everything about it is good.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Think Tanks
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Nice tool but still missing key items

Reviewed on 2019/08/12

Pros

Its helping breaking all the User stories into many items and assigned it to the relevant team and putting also the effort , then easily you can extract report

Cons

main item that it doesn't show plan vs actual so it doesnt say anything if you are at 70% than compare to what? reports should be easily change from private to public

Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Rally works, but they need to stop constantly updating the UI, which is overly complex

Reviewed on 2017/05/16

Pros

Tasks link to stories, stories link to features, ways to track everything. Allows you to provide a good amount of detail within the stories and acceptance criteria

Cons

too much effort to link stories to features, too hard to see the details on the features if they are similarly named. task creation and advancing is easy, but the page layout of stories is now convoluted and confusing

Mary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great agile tool!

Reviewed on 2019/01/24

We use the charts and graphs to show management our progress for every iteration.

We use the charts and graphs to show management our progress for every iteration.

Pros

Really helps to manage user stories and planning for iterations. Managing back logs is this tool is helpful, so items are not missed or ignored.

Cons

Learning the tool took a while, training could be better.

Jerry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Agile in the cloud

Reviewed on 2016/01/14

Pros

It is intuitive to create stories, break down to tasks and assign them to the team. The reporting features are very useful for executive summary in my monthly report. Easy to track the progress. It truly has the agile aspects build in for software development environment. The customizable dashboard allows you to track multiple projects and display the most important graphics on one screen.

Cons

The QA process is a little bit difficult to use. Since we are using a separate bug reporting system, it doesn't really integrate with it. The process of creating test cases and report defects are way too complicated for our environment. Overall, I don't have too much complaints against Rally.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful Agile Tool

Reviewed on 2021/06/16

Pros

Allows customizable views, as in Kanban, for any needed software development methodology.

Cons

Very expensive software in which utilizing all of the features is definitely a challenge for management.

Sudhakar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Agile Management Tool

Reviewed on 2020/09/22

This is user friendly application and any one new to agile methodology can learn the agile using...

This is user friendly application and any one new to agile methodology can learn the agile using this tool so fast.

Pros

This tool is easy to access and faster in response. GUI is very simple and anyone can understand the functionalities easily

Cons

The application is often down and needs lot of maintenance window as it is down at least two weeks once

Janak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Rally Is not yet mature

Reviewed on 2021/12/21

Pros

The project tracking with features, user stories and tasks are great.

Cons

You can get lost sometimes when you are navigating through things.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

User Stories/ Tasks Review

Reviewed on 2021/04/19

Good product to use with multiple work management features.

Good product to use with multiple work management features.

Pros

- good tool to track day to day work and team's workload.

Cons

- Tasks doesn't reflects under individuals workflow if the main user story is assigned on different user's name
- Teamboard is one of the example for the above.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best Agile Management Tool

Reviewed on 2019/03/07

Pros

Following are best features :
User story management
Burn down/burn up chart
Velocity calculation
Easy Reporting
Agile life cycle management
Distributed team management using KANBAN methodology

Cons

I feel this is a best tool which really can’t be debated

Jetender
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Rally for Agile development and management

Reviewed on 2022/04/05

Easy to use and master

Easy to use and master

Pros

1. Easy to learn
2. Allows to keep track from Epic to task level efficiently
3. Helps in quick standup meeting updates
4. Good reports on project / sprint progress

Cons

There are too many options to achieve same result that often leads to confusion for new users

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Outdated UI with subpar features

Reviewed on 2022/08/08

Pros

Theme, feature, and other deliverable linking is easy. Categories could be customized easily, with some good security controls.

Cons

Outdated UI, search functionality was slow and unreliable, and controls were not easy to use.

Sharique
Sharique
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Rally - Premier Project Management Software for Distributed Agile Teams

Reviewed on 2021/08/30

Great software for modern engineering practices. Very much essential for complex program and...

Great software for modern engineering practices. Very much essential for complex program and project maangement

Pros

It enables you to execute distributed agile and scaled agile frameworks. Removes all the clutter and makes the whole process very streamlined. Data and Dashboards are available very quickly

Cons

Training and online documentation can have some improvements

Jayasimha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Rally Review

Reviewed on 2016/01/26

Pros

Ease of use to manage Agile development process. Easily Manage User Stories, track task progress

Cons

Currently we manage bugs/issues in a separate software tool. We tried managing bugs through this software, din't like how bugs were converted to a User Story, rather than a task under a Story

Dave
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Heavyweight Agile tool

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

Pros

It can do nearly anything an agile team needs to manage process and organization of work

Cons

The UI is very bland and could really use some UX improvements

Joseph
Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Needs improvement

Reviewed on 2021/04/15

I have been using this for a couple months on a critical side project.

I have been using this for a couple months on a critical side project.

Pros

IT is a ticket management software it does that well but thats about all it gets done well. It has many issuse.

Cons

My biggest complaint is that is is overly complicated and buggy. It constantly times you out and returns you to the home page rather than were you left off.

Ogechi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good project management tool

Reviewed on 2021/04/20

My org implemented rally to increase efficiency and collaboration across projects, and so far it...

My org implemented rally to increase efficiency and collaboration across projects, and so far it has been a good experience. It does take more time than what I'm accustomed to enter all the stories and tasks, however my manager finds the tracking capabilities very useful. It has helped encourage an agile mindset within my team.

Pros

Rally allows my team to create user stories, each with several tasks that can be tracked and updated. It helps to estimate timelines and offers a line of sight into each team member's progress.

Cons

The user interface can be confusing, especially when first getting acquainted with the software. I would appreciate a more stream-lined, intuitive interface.