Veeam Data Platform Reviews

Veeam Data Platform

Business continuity and backup management software

Overall rating

4,8 /5
(73)
Value for Money
4,5/5
Features
4,7/5
Ease of Use
4,5/5
Customer Support
4,5/5
Sort by

73 Reviews

Taryn
Taryn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Veeam Backup & Replication is our still our go-to backup software in the SMB/SMC customer base.

Reviewed on 2022/02/10

Veeam local support for new business is outstanding.
Renewal support is not local, but is sufficient...

Veeam local support for new business is outstanding.
Renewal support is not local, but is sufficient.
Overall, VBR is a great product, and used in the majority of our customer base.

Pros

Veeam Ent Plus licensing is an end-to-end solution.
Very easy to install, setup and use.
Excellent local support.

Cons

The new licensing model is difficult to migrate to for those customers on STD and ENT existing agreements.
Pricing has increased drastically for the "Per VM" model.
No agent licensing for small sites with standalone servers.

Fernando
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best backup for Virtual Machines system

Reviewed on 2022/08/31

Simple the best backup software for protect Virtual Machines.

Simple the best backup software for protect Virtual Machines.

Pros

Easy to use. Most secure backup software for virtual environment

Cons

Nothing. Absolutally nothing to mentioned.

Reasons for Choosing Veeam Data Platform

Acronis is recommended for phisical machines. Veeam is the best technology for Virtual Machines.

Switched From

Acronis Cyber Backup

Reasons for Switching to Veeam Data Platform

Because the technology that uses is more better than competitive alternatives. Price is no high
Ian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great product for backup with a nice support team

Reviewed on 2023/01/06

Overall, this is a great product that doesn't only provide great backup and support. It also helps...

Overall, this is a great product that doesn't only provide great backup and support. It also helps prevent data loss.

Pros

Veeam makes it simple to back up and replicate data. The support team is incredibly helpful and was always there to assist us when needed.

Cons

Sometimes the database encounters errors when backing up workstations with changed names, requiring manual deletion of entries to fix.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great replication for DR

Reviewed on 2022/08/06

Easy to setup and then it just works. We've not had any issues. Restores are fast and easy to...

Easy to setup and then it just works. We've not had any issues. Restores are fast and easy to complete.

Pros

It is simple to use. The jobs are easy yo manage and in job monitoring and reports are good.

Cons

It is expensive in comparison to others especially for some the advanced features.

Alternatives Considered

VM Backup and Unitrends Backup

Reasons for Switching to Veeam Data Platform

It seemed the most comprehensive and was a recommendation from a VAR.
Craig
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I resisted for a long time... not sure why

Reviewed on 2022/04/11

The pricing (much to my surprise, which is why I resisted for a while) was very good and even...

The pricing (much to my surprise, which is why I resisted for a while) was very good and even better that competitors. I have the "Essentials" licensing pack, which is limited to 50 backup nodes but is very affordable if you can fit within that limitation.

Pros

It work well, is flexible, and offers lots of features

Cons

There are only very small things that I'd like to see changed.

Reasons for Switching to Veeam Data Platform

Reputation, backed up by performance during trial, and price
Chris
Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Backup & DR Software for the Datacenter

Reviewed on 2018/03/06

A great backup system that allows us to recover data when needed and required. It allows us to...

A great backup system that allows us to recover data when needed and required. It allows us to retain backups on-site and offsite for recovery including replicated jobs.

Pros

The current software - Version 9.5 Update 3 covers the needs for any user of the software. You can use the Windows/Linux Agents for physical boxes and manage them directly from the Console now, which includes updating, installing and rebooting of the endpoint.

The software is easy to navigate and set up. While true it is mainly for virtual environments they are making strides to cover physical as well. Storage Integration is a great plus with vendors like HPE Nimble, IBM, and Infinidat but requires the Enterprise Plus license.

When deployed with Proxy Servers you can cut down backup times drastically. What would take more than 10+ hours can be reduced to 4-5 depending on your environment.

The ability to restore to Active Directory, SQL, Exchange is very easy with the software as well as Replication and Recovery Testing with SureBackup.

Be sure to review the licensing models to pick what is best for your organization as they even have a Free Edition with limitations.

Support is top notch with this product and very responsive. Never had a ticket opened that could not be solved or take a long time to resolution.

Cons

The user interface could use some updating to something more modern like some Windows 10 applications.

Joshua
Joshua
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Administration Controls and Improved Linux Operation in Backup & Replication v11

Reviewed on 2021/07/20

I use this to manage backups of office-facing and production servers in a non-profit business. We...

I use this to manage backups of office-facing and production servers in a non-profit business. We have less than 10 servers to care for and the free Community Edition is perfect. I have found the features and reporting to be robust. Practicing restores is no trouble. I have never needed vendor support to operate or configure this Veeam Backup & Replication - it works well and has good documentation!

Pros

Before version 11 the features available to manage Linux backups were a subset of the features available to manage Windows backups. Windows only allowed one backup job per Linux Infrastructure Object and I found myself configuring the backup settings from the Linux command line. Now I can make two backup jobs for the Linux box that are completely managed from the Veeam server interface. Many other features are also available now. I have not used the CDP feature for virtual operating systems, yet it is promising.

Cons

There is a module to export a backup and the wizard doesn't let the operator specify the destination of the export. It is sent to the backup repository on which the backups are made for the job. I would like to specify the location during the wizard.

David
David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Semiconductors
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Robust and optimal data backup

Reviewed on 2022/06/20

Pros

Allows backup without any interruption. It successfully simplifies the data recovery process. It has excellent replication, which allows data to be moved and sent from one directory to another. Allows you to compress data while backing up saves time and storage space.

Cons

The initial configuration takes a considerable time, it is necessary to incorporate more documentation to speed up this process. Your license is considerably expensive.

Luke
Luke
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Veeam Availability Suite is a useful software package for Backups and DR that works well.

Reviewed on 2018/01/10

Security and peace of mind for security and retention of data.

Security and peace of mind for security and retention of data.

Pros

The ease of installation and use, easy configuration and minimal setup time makes this software our choice for MSP customers. We have found it to be reliable and consistent, with many different customers all using the software in different setups. Recovery from the file/folder level all the way up to the Entire VM restoration is easy to understand and perform.

Cons

Price tag is a little hefty for some customers, but overall is usually on par with other similar software. However there are options out there from Veeam to help mitigate the cost if needed.

Bjarke
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Top shelf enterprise backup and recovery solution

Reviewed on 2018/02/27

Pros

The ease of use of this product suite is OUTSTANDING. By far the quickest to learn and use of any of the many different solution we have tried out over the years. This one is the keeper.
Scheduling and chaining of jobs works like a charm. So little overhead in managing the backups and recovery.

Cons

If I were to point to anything it would be the lack of integration with Dell SAN systems, but I'm sure that will be sorted in a future release.

Rahul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent backup tool

Reviewed on 2023/03/17

I am using Veeam since from February 2021. It's actually a best software but faced many times...

I am using Veeam since from February 2021. It's actually a best software but faced many times backup issue when Server size were more than 1TB. Otherwise restoration process are good, Instance recovery process are also simple and useful for migration also.it's seriously very good software for full server type backup(Host base backup).

Pros

We can easily download the product from hie official website. Can easily add the cluster, nodes in Veeam tool,. Backup configuration policy is very simple. Restoration process is vary easy. Tool deployment process is vary much easy. Replication is very easy. Instance recovery option is very useful for the server migration.Dashboard GUI is very desirable aslo.

Cons

There are no provision about the job priority. Queued backup jobs will come in running state when once running jobs will get completed. retention points and retention days might have little hard to understand.

Turan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Your Data Backup is Safe!

Reviewed on 2023/01/09

Although the configurations took a long time in the first installation, everything was clear after...

Although the configurations took a long time in the first installation, everything was clear after the installation. In a very short time, we started the instant backup process by integrating our virtual machines. Great performance in replicating data to another medium and sending backups. Thanks to the management of data from a single point, we started to use our processes, lost time and resources more effectively. Moreover, the ability to instantly monitor the errors, reports and logs allows you to have control over all processes.

Pros

Veeam Backup systems take backups of our virtual servers installed in our feature systems and protect them. There is also the ability to do this task without an agency. Its licensing is simple and the standard is very good. It has a structure that can be installed and applied for almost every platform. Its flexibility takes it one step further than other software. It collects and organizes all your systems under one roof. It can perform processes such as backup and reloading from a single point. Ideal for running task creation easily.

Cons

If you do not know the features of the program professionally, typical user error will occur and this will create negative feedback for you. You will get the maximum efficiency when installed together with the consultant.

Sheikh Abdul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best backup application: Veeam backup and restoration

Reviewed on 2022/09/22

A brilliant an easy to use enterprise level product.

A brilliant an easy to use enterprise level product.

Pros

Easy to use, user friendly UI. Support is quick and locally available too. Online help forum is very beneficial.

Cons

Veeam agent for Linux cannot send email alerts for backups. Requested this feature many times but still no update.

Alternatives Considered

Acronis Cyber Backup

Reasons for Choosing Veeam Data Platform

Difficult to understand UI

Switched From

Commvault Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Veeam Data Platform

Support and experience.
Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It allows us to easily and securely back up any kind of data.

Reviewed on 2023/01/22

Backup is critical, and we must constantly provide backup copies of our data in a safe and easily...

Backup is critical, and we must constantly provide backup copies of our data in a safe and easily accessible place. Veeam has provided us with all the capabilities to help us efficiently manage and organize backup operations.

Pros

Veeam provides sufficient flexibility to perform backup data operations quickly and safely. It can deal with all types of data, works with all kinds of servers efficiently, and thus contributes to making the backup process more stable and effective. Scheduling allows for scheduling backups and repeating them with high quality. It's excellent that Veeam provides everyone, even those who are inexperienced with information technology, to set up backup tasks themselves without the help of any help, as the settings can be easily prepared, the support teams provide the required assistance promptly, and Veeam also provides all the needed instructions with screenshots of all the steps Crunch to perform all functions as required.

Cons

I had difficulty dealing with the user interface at first, but with time and after understanding the method of use correctly, navigating through the dashboard became very simple.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Backup for Virtualize Envoirement

Reviewed on 2022/06/17

I am using Veeam software for long as it is the one of the best and user friendly backup software...

I am using Veeam software for long as it is the one of the best and user friendly backup software available in market. We can modify and customize too much with its built-in option and features.
it has almost all modern features which is required by System Administrator so it suits the best.
I face only issue in troubleshooting as Veeam support is not much good as i faced multiple delays and if you want to search for a random error at forum, then you have to also open a case.

Pros

Full + incremental backup with compression
User Friendly
Easy to configure
Supports all kind of Virtual Environment.
Services based backup which analyze the data and compress/backup accordingly so the data can be restored.
Replication.

Cons

Veeam support is not much good as i faced multiple delays and if you want to search for a random error at forum, then you have to also open a case. Although it is not much issue to open case but why we should go for a case for minor errors. It should be easily available on forums.
Also its error troubleshooting is complicated.

Momen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It saves and retrieves data securely like a real file server.

Reviewed on 2023/03/07

With Veeam, we have effective tools that help us manage data recovery storage without much effort...

With Veeam, we have effective tools that help us manage data recovery storage without much effort and, most importantly, provide us with adequate protection as well as enable us to control data access with high flexibility.

Pros

Veeem is one of the best cloud storage providers because it looks like a real server and works well with all computers, tablets, and mobile devices as well as with all operating systems. Veeem uses a strong encryption system, requires checking and 2FA authentication to enter the data storage area, as well as allows us to organize permissions by adding a password to some files so that we can control those who can recover and modify them. We can schedule data copies to prevent file loss in all cases, as well as synchronize smoothly with all devices associated with Veeem, which enables us to access and share files easily.

Cons

With Veeam, I have not encountered many downsides, as system failures are uncommon and easily remedied when they do occur.

Emil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Excellent backup solution for any SMB

Reviewed on 2017/07/28

Very fast recovery time for any DR solution.

Very fast recovery time for any DR solution.

Pros

The biggest pros of this backup solution is its diversity of platform which it can backup. Based on the license bought you can backup any VmWare or Hyper-V virtual machine but it also features a client that can be installed on any platform and can do the file level backup. The coolest feature is the restore where you can using the client do the restore within the machine itself and go back to all available restore points and have many version of the same file that you want to restore. It supports the backup of the SQL databases within the VM itself and it is also prefer for the backup of Microsoft Exchange as it can pull out for example only the desired email from any specific mailbox which is a big plus.

Cons

The solution it self is not cheap but it is justified with the professional support who, except contacting you via the email, also gives you a phone call if they dont get the replay from you any time soon. Other con is that it really requires a lot of HDD space, but then it is an enterprise level backup solution so this is self understandable.

James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Veeam exceeded my expectations

Reviewed on 2021/06/15

Veeam was easy to setup, it's easy to use, and restoring entire Virtual Machines or even restoring...

Veeam was easy to setup, it's easy to use, and restoring entire Virtual Machines or even restoring things at the file level is very fast and easy to do.

Pros

Veeam is so easy to use that even things that seem abstract or complex are actually fairly simple to setup. I'm using a plugin to interface my Veeam appliance to my physical storage to orchestrate backups, site-to-site replication and also have a virtual tape library setup. I implemented all of this within one day and my backups kicked off and ran flawlessly on the first night.

Cons

It was a bit complicated to emulate an "air gapped" backup process. Using a virtual tape library and unmounting the tapes when done was the best approximation I could implement.

Brenten
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simply the Best

Reviewed on 2021/01/15

It has a lot of functionality beyond just backing up like creating virtual labs that you can run...

It has a lot of functionality beyond just backing up like creating virtual labs that you can run experiments on. Every time I needed to get back up and running it did a great job and was seamless. I really like instant restore feature.

Pros

I don’t know where to start, it has amazing tools for gettin files and putting them back whether on exchange or in the directory. The real power is in being able to start up servers/ PCs and run off of them while recovering. Additionally the offsite backup functionality is really impressive. This software can do it all and it never let me down once.

Cons

It’s a little expensive up front for small companies. It’s also a little hard to do offsite backups without enterprise.

Johannes
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I can finally sleep well again

Reviewed on 2019/05/14

Having used several products in the past (NTBackup, Windows Backup, Backup Exec, Acronis, vRanger,...

Having used several products in the past (NTBackup, Windows Backup, Backup Exec, Acronis, vRanger, Networker) I never really had the feeling that one of these products really is there for me when things get really worse. With Veeam I have a feeling that they got my back. I can finally sleep well again when I think about my clients and my data.

Pros

I like very much that Veeam just works. Even when you install it without applying any further configuration (except what you really need, remote server and credentials) you end up with a proper backup. One of the best features is that the backup files are self contained. Even if you recover them from a broken backup server, or if your configuration is not working/readable/available again, you will be able to recover your stuff.
The support is also great. While it could be a bit quicker in responses (for not very important tickets), they are doing a good job. I never had to escalate a ticket, every rep was very capable.

Cons

It is quite bloated. The download has several gigabytes, which is quite big for a backup software in my opinion.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Reliable cloud backup system

Reviewed on 2021/05/24

After suffering from losing information that was in various local backup systems, it was decided to...

After suffering from losing information that was in various local backup systems, it was decided to use this excellent solution in the cloud, which generated significant cost savings and allowed us to recover information when we need it without inconvenience or delay.

Pros

The best thing about the Veem Back Up system in the cloud is that it allows access to them from any device and at any time, only with internet access. In addition, it generates significant cost savings, because local servers with their corresponding maintenance are not required.

Cons

The disadvantage that I can mention is that it does not have a system that optimizes the time necessary for the first data migration. If you have a lot of information, it takes a lot of time. But this is very common in this type of service.

Elaine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Veeam Agent is an excellent backup software

Reviewed on 2023/03/30

We have had a flood and the using Veeam Agent for Back up was critical to recovery.

We have had a flood and the using Veeam Agent for Back up was critical to recovery.

Pros

WE have been using Veeam Agent back up for years. It is reliable and easy to use and understand. Using the software gives us confidence that we can recover what is needed in an emergency.

Cons

I do not know of any con for our business.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast and easy to use. Quick to set up. Update processes are quick and painless.

Reviewed on 2017/10/03

Perfect solution for backing up locally, to tape, to DR, and to Amazon GS.

Perfect solution for backing up locally, to tape, to DR, and to Amazon GS.

Pros

Tech team is knowledgeable and friendly. Quick to respond. Will follow-up on all cases. Software works well, and easy to manage. Clients can be installed for even further management and monitoring capability. Really easy to get a job configured and running.

Cons

About the only issue I have found thus far is how difficult it can be to stop jobs should they ever become stuck. Have to stop the Veeam service, then start it again. Stopping "Gracefully" or "Immediately" will not do anything.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Safety
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Has lots of capabilities

Reviewed on 2020/09/25

The Suite of products from Veeam are great and work well. As we've migrated from mostly in-premise...

The Suite of products from Veeam are great and work well. As we've migrated from mostly in-premise to the cloud, we have continued to use other products in the suite for business continuity and disaster recovery. Veeam has always worked well with multiple products.

Pros

Can backup Office365, Azure, and AWS instances. Very easy to use and setup. Restores are quick and easy to schedule.

Cons

Can only use limited types of storage on the backend. Can be difficult to do the inisital backups, especially if you have a lot of data in the cloud already.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Veeam Backup & Replication Suite is the best backup tool I have ever used hands-down!

Reviewed on 2021/04/29

This is an excellent backup solution. We struggled before this product and are thankful that we...

This is an excellent backup solution. We struggled before this product and are thankful that we found something that is so easy to manage and maintain.

Pros

Veeam is so intuitive, I don't know how to express how simple it is to set up backup jobs that run on a regular basis and GFS backups are now super easy to create and impliment.

Cons

Some of the errors that we get are cryptic from Veeam and I wish that they made a little more sense off the bat when you see them to clearly understand what went wrong, but support is fantastic from veeam, so I can't complain too much here.