MATLAB

4,6 (2 063)
Programming and numeric computing platform

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(2 063)
Value for Money
4,2/5
Features
4,6/5
Ease of Use
4,0/5
Customer Support
4,2/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

2062 Reviews

Chiranjib
Chiranjib
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Essential for Engineers

Reviewed on 2019/01/29

I started with matlab from my undergrad days and still use it on daily basis for simulations and...

I started with matlab from my undergrad days and still use it on daily basis for simulations and numerical analysis in my research work. Many industries (like the cellular network industry) heavily rely on Matlab for system level simulations. In my opinion, translating a pseudo code of any given algorithm to a working program is very easy in Matlab.

Pros

Matlab is an essential scientific computing environment. It is a must have for all students studying science and engineering. The pros are--
1. Easy manipulation of matrices. This is actually the main power of matlab.
2. Very intuitive way of writing program with no hassle of bookkeeping about data types, memory management, variable declarations etc which are essential for other programming languages.
3. Debugging tool is very easy to use.
4. One best feature is the GUI window for managing figures. A user can switch between the gui and the underlying code for generating any figures. This unique feature is absent in many of the advanced programming languages (like python or R, at least in the basic setup!)

Cons

The main problem is that it is not free. While the other open source languages have caught up Matlab in terms of ease of usage and availability of packages, Matlab is suffering due to its proprietary nature. A standard distribution of Matlab comes with a set of packages. For the other packages, one has to pay Mathworks for getting access. On the other hand, in Python or R, there are multiple packages available online and everything is free to use. After the recent boom in AI and machine learning, almost everyone has shifted to python to use the popular open source libraries released by several sources. Matlab being a proprietary software is failing to catch up to this fast evolving open source world!

Andualem
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Powerful and Versatile Numerical Computing Software

Reviewed on 2023/03/12

As a user, I have found MATLAB to be an excellent tool for performing complex numerical computations...

As a user, I have found MATLAB to be an excellent tool for performing complex numerical computations and data analysis tasks. Its built-in functions and libraries make it easy to manipulate and visualize data, and the interface is user-friendly and intuitive. However, I did find the learning curve to be steep, and it took some time to get used to the syntax and programming concepts.

Pros

1.MATLAB is a powerful and versatile numerical computing software that allows you to perform a wide range of mathematical operations.2.It has a user-friendly interface and provides easy-to-use functions for data analysis, visualization, and modeling.3.MATLAB has an extensive library of pre-built functions that can save you a lot of time and effort in writing complex algorithms.4.It supports various programming languages such as C++, Java, and Python, making it easy to integrate with other software tools.5.MATLAB has excellent support for parallel computing, which can significantly speed up large-scale computations.

Cons

1.MATLAB can be quite expensive, especially for individual users and small businesses.2.It can be challenging to learn MATLAB programming, especially if you're not familiar with programming concepts and syntax.3.MATLAB can be resource-intensive and requires a powerful computer to run efficiently.4.It is a proprietary software, which means that you are limited to the features and updates provided by the MATLAB company.5.Some users complain that MATLAB is slow compared to other programming languages, such as Python.

Matthew
Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Handy for data scientists - frustrating for developers

Reviewed on 2019/09/15

Pros

For mathematicians and data scientists, MATLAB is easy to pick up and intuitive to use.

Cons

As a developer, I have a few issues with MATLAB.

Its best practices would generally regarded as bad practices in other languages, meaning that experience often doesn't translate.

When developing modular and extensible applications, MATLAB's runtime performance seems to degrade when compared to other languages, despite uitilising Java for a number of backend processes.

Frequently, when working with legacy MATLAB code, I often find myself thinking that a given task could be easier achieved and made more maintainable with Python and its innumerable free packages, in contrast to MATLAB's toolboxes, which tend to require more money.

Rafael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful tool for big data process application

Reviewed on 2024/02/12

Pros

It allows you to download data directly from compressed international repositories to servers with URL access. In addition to processing previous information, downloading avoiding increasing the space occupied for storage.

Cons

It's too heavy a program and uses a lot of team resources. It is a software that can be used only during its processes.

khoubeib
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Matlab use Review

Reviewed on 2021/04/01

i'm satistified in the overall experience but i would appreciate that they add some tools to make...

i'm satistified in the overall experience but i would appreciate that they add some tools to make it more intuitive and easy to use especially for understanding what the problem are and where are they exactly, also their types more intuitive and precise .

Pros

it is a easy use product that you cant use almsot for porjects with teams and it is helping a lot in doing work in distance, we even did exams using this tool so i recommand so much.

Cons

i don't like just one thing about it, it is in the use command interactive menu, for example, there is a lot of tools that we can't use, it's not so intuitive sometimes and most of the time there is some problems to understand what the problem is exactly when you have a code error.

Alternatives Considered

Wing Python IDE

Reasons for Choosing MATLAB

for some projects, python could be more easy to use and having more options and tool that Matlab don't have them or where you can find them in a harder way.

Switched From

CData Drivers and Wing Python IDE

Reasons for Switching to MATLAB

Because it is helpful for distance work with teams when we can't be all present physically we can manipulate our code files from our sides and then get the overall code.
Anand
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Simulation Software Available with Support to all New developments

Reviewed on 2022/12/04

Overall it's an amazing software to work with. We can also simulate software architectures on it...

Overall it's an amazing software to work with. We can also simulate software architectures on it which makes it easier to use.

Pros

The scalability of the software. The software is based on mathematical matrix and with that almost everything is possible. If you want to model a RC equivalent of a battery or you want to use a battery blockset both are possible. We can estimate the modelling and design efficiently and effectively.

Cons

Ease of navigation to certain blocksets is a problem. And i sometimes find it hard and get confused with normal simulink and simscape models... Both are difficult to connect with eachother.

Alternatives Considered

Scilab

Reasons for Switching to MATLAB

Has support and blocksets to different powertrains and I have already worked in the MATLAB environment.
Gisselle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

“Matlab, your best choice for creating models and simulating processes”

Reviewed on 2022/08/03

Matlab is a very useful technical calculation program for engineers and scientists. I use it to...

Matlab is a very useful technical calculation program for engineers and scientists. I use it to solve environmental problems and to simulate processes.

Pros

Matlab is a programming platform for algorithm development, data analysis, visualization and numerical computing. It allows creation of simple models, signal and image processing, process simulation, among others.

Cons

It is a tool that requires a lot of memory space and the cost of the product is high.

Alternatives Considered

FlexSim

Reasons for Switching to MATLAB

It offers many tools for various applications.
RAVEENA
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MATLAB is easy to use and very vast and useful. There's nothing else like it

Reviewed on 2019/08/01

It is indispensable. I can't do any work without it. It has vast number of applications. Been using...

It is indispensable. I can't do any work without it. It has vast number of applications. Been using it for multiple completely different things since 10+ years now.

Pros

Easy to use, Vast, Multiple applications, Efficient, Indispensable

Cons

It is slow, specially if there are long programs.

Alternatives Considered

Wolfram Mathematica

Reasons for Switching to MATLAB

Mathematica cannot do as much as MATLAB. Would definitely pick MATLAB over Mathematica any day.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

The math language!

Reviewed on 2021/05/25

Matlab helped me solve different difficult analysis for my customers. The programming language is...

Matlab helped me solve different difficult analysis for my customers. The programming language is reliable to perform any matemathical and calculous intense task.

Pros

Once mastered the language it becomes an easy and reliable tool to do data analysis and for some programming.

Cons

It is pricey, in my line of work I use also the R statistical programming language that thanks of being free has an amazing comunity that surrounds it. Can't say the same about matlab.

Eutimio
Eutimio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The best tool for learning numerical analysis

Reviewed on 2022/01/12

Matlab allowed me to perform several exercises regarding numerical analysis, some examples of the...

Matlab allowed me to perform several exercises regarding numerical analysis, some examples of the implementations performed in Matlab have been; Lagrange Method, Monty Hall Problem, Gauss-Jordan Elimination, Newton-Raphson method, Newton-Raphson method.

Pros

Matlab has many tools and libraries that allow the user to perform exercises based on numerical analysis.

Cons

It takes some time to understand how matlab works, something that is particularly difficult for new users who want to start using this tool, but with some practice and time this complication becomes less complicated.

Aniket
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Matlab: Making Programming Easier

Reviewed on 2021/05/19

I had to switch to Matlab when I had to design machine learning pipelines quickly and had to deploy...

I had to switch to Matlab when I had to design machine learning pipelines quickly and had to deploy them as well. Matlab was very easy to setup, with just one installer doing the heavy lifting to install all the necessary packages and everything. The drag+drop interface is easy to use and understand, and helps in designing the pipelines quickly and efficiently. Matlab also runs faster, making efficient use of the GPU, which all in all is very easy as compared to it's alternatives.

Pros

Toolboxes. There are a lot of toolboxes for each different type of research domain, be it signals, image processing, machine learning, audio and what not. Each tool box is packed with a feature rich library of inbuilt functions for processing and analyzing data. Furthermore, using them is very easy with their drag+drop interface.

Cons

The user interface. I know that Mathworks is working continuously working on the UI, but it is still not at par with the current generation. The IDE looks very outdated with limited configuration. This gives it a whole outdated feel and makes very uncomfortable to use.

Supun
Supun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

MATLAB - Matrix Laboratory

Reviewed on 2019/10/04

I recommend MATLAB if you handle heavy mathematical problems in your career. Otherwise it is not...

I recommend MATLAB if you handle heavy mathematical problems in your career. Otherwise it is not needed for a person who handles complex mathematical problems rarely because of the high cost. This software is especially suitable for engineers, scientists and mathematicians. Since MATLAB is fast, powerful and accurate software, those people can ease their work using MATLAB. MATLAB can be highly recommended for the data analysis purposes because the software gives out very accurate output for the processed raw data. MATLAB is a great tool for the commercial use, but not for the personal use.

Pros

MATLAB is a programming language specially designed for mathematical works. From this software we can interact with complex mathematical problems such as matrix problems, functions, data analysis, plotting graphs, signal processing and much more complex engineering and scientific problems. Lots of mathematical functions are built-in with MATLAB. They can be use directly to solve our problems as our need. If the needed function is not available built-in, we can create one and save it for future use. Special keyword called “help” is designed in MATLAB to find the meaning of unknown keywords and how to use that keyword (i.e. If we want to find the meaning of keyword det, help det shows the meaning of keyword det and what can we done using this keyword. Also it shows how to use this keyword in MATLAB). There is a mobile application developed for MATLAB. We can solve some of the mathematical operations that are not much complex with the use of mobile application also. This option helped me a lot when the PC or laptop is not with me. Another advantage of MATLAB is the advanced user interface comes with software that eases the process of coding and debugging.

Cons

Since MATLAB is used to compute complex mathematical operations, there are many functions, keywords and syntaxes are used in MATLAB. Therefore it is difficult to remember all these functions, keywords and syntaxes in our mind. Much time is required for the installation process of the software even in a high end computer. Same issue happens when executing the program also. We have to wait some time until the MATLAB is loaded before working on it. Also it uses higher amount of RAM. Because of this we cannot run MATLAB smoothly in a low end computer. Since MATLAB is mathematic related software it cannot be used as general purpose programming language. MATLAB is commercial software and the cost for the software also very high. Therefore it is not worthy if we buy it without a proper knowledge on MATLAB and how to get the maximum output from the software.

Caleb
Caleb
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

High quality, but not an automatic buy

Reviewed on 2020/10/10

MATLAB is a high quality and generally valuable for computational science and engineering. ...

MATLAB is a high quality and generally valuable for computational science and engineering. Nevertheless, it is sometimes hard to get MATLAB to do exactly what you need, due to missing features or a confusing programming interface. In the latter connection, its programming interface is sub-par relative to languages like Python and C++.

Large organizations with wide-ranging and intensive computational needs may find it well worth the price. For small organizations, however, I don't think it is an automatic buy -- probably worth giving serious consideration to cheaper or open-source tools first.

Pros

MATLAB has a wide range of tools and capabilities that are valuable to computational scientists. Many features are general purpose (e.g., standard linear algebra routines, data processing tools, interfacing with other programming languages) and can be adapted to a variety of use cases. So I feel that one can count on it remaining useful even if an organization's computing needs change over time.

It is a standard tool and widely used, so one can count on its reliability and portability. Due to its large userbase, it is also easy to find documentation and help information online (beyond MATLAB's own documentation).

Cons

I find the MATLAB programming language nonintuitive. Some features seem to be optimized for command line execution, i.e. statement-by-statement, and not for writing longer scripts and external dependencies. Someone accustomed to standard object-oriented programming (C++ as an example) may be frustrated programming with MATLAB.

Their graphing and plotting is not bad, but it is does lack some desirable features. It has happened several times that I wanted to configure graphical output in a particular way, and MATLAB simply lacked the capability. So if graphical visualization is extremely important to your use case, I would recommend leaving room in your budget for a separate graphics software.

Alessandro
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One software for everything there is

Reviewed on 2021/12/03

This is a monster software, full of basic functions and useful packages. If you're an engineer or...

This is a monster software, full of basic functions and useful packages. If you're an engineer or are studying to become one, you've almost certainly heard of it at least once. I've used it to simulate complex systems, to solve partial differential equations, linear systems and non linear equations. I've used it for simple coding purpose and a lot more.

Pros

This software is incredibly full of features of every kind... I've used it for some time now, as I'm an engineer student, but I may have not used even a 100th of it's full potential. Matlab is not a simple programming language: it's a complex environment with tons of integrations. You can write some simple code, ok (and by the way if you're familiar with some other basic programming codes, you'll get easily used to it); it's designed to solve primarily linear algebraic systems, but you can also solve partial differential equations, evaluate frequency response functions... if you use the Simulink package, even non linear equations in block diagrams can be solved! Talking about Simulink, which is one of the packages I use more frequently, you can get to study (real) or simulate (yet to be built) very complex systems in a short time thanks to the fact that there are tons of ready to use subsystems (like, just for the purpose of citing one, a DC motor).
As I mentioned, there are many useful integrations but, depending on what you need to do, you wouldn't necessarily need them... for instance using Matlab, some mates of mine from Student Team I'm part of, have developed an algorithm to evaluate the experimental drag coefficient of our prototypes.
One more important thing to cite is the documentation: you don't know something, you're gonna learn it in no time. There is an extended documentation for every command and the software is very well supported by a large community.

Cons

Concerning the price... since I'm a student and, thanks to the welfare politics of my university I have free access to the software, but I've heard that some packages could cost a bit. Anyway this is really one of the most difficult things for me to review... I think you should evaluate for yourself if it's worth the price by downloading the 30 days free trial.
Except for this I can't say that I've really found anything wrong with the program.

Mowshori
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It comes with a lot of helpful information, and the online community is very active and...

Reviewed on 2022/09/18

A tool in MATLAB lets a programmer design a Graphical User Interface (GUI) for his program in an...

A tool in MATLAB lets a programmer design a Graphical User Interface (GUI) for his program in an interactive way. With this ability, the programmer can make sophisticated programs for analyzing data that even people with little experience can use.

Pros

With the built-in integrated development environment and the MATLAB debugger, I can write and change applications. Because the language is so easy to use, it is great for quickly making prototypes of new apps.
Different computer systems can run MATLAB, which gives it a good amount of platform independence. The language is available on Windows 2000/XP/Vista, Linux, different versions of UNIX, and Macintosh. Applications written on any platform will run on any other platform, and information files written on any platform can be read on any other platform, it seems. So, MATLAB programs can be moved to different platforms if the I need change for our research project.

Cons

A full version of MATLAB costs five to ten times as much as a normal C or FORTRAN compiler. This relatively high cost is more than made up for by the shorter amount of time it takes an engineer or scientist to make a program that works. This makes MATLAB a good deal for businesses. But it's too expensive for most people to think about buying.

Alternatives Considered

IBM SPSS Statistics
Joseph
Joseph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Agrxis Review on MATLAB

Reviewed on 2023/05/17

My total MATLAB experience has been nothing short of extraordinary. I was awed by MATLAB's potent...

My total MATLAB experience has been nothing short of extraordinary. I was awed by MATLAB's potent capabilities and adaptability as soon as I began using it. As a data scientist, MATLAB has been crucial to my career since it makes it simple for me to analyze and visualize complicated data sets. My productivity and efficiency have significantly increased as a result of the huge array of built-in tools and functionalities, which have allowed me to complete a variety of modeling and data analysis jobs. Code writing and debugging are made simple by the intuitive and user-friendly interface, while learning and troubleshooting are made easier by the vast documentation and online community. Additionally, it has been a seamless addition to my total workflow because to its seamless interface with various programming languages and other platforms. I always have access to the newest features and developments in the industry because to MATLAB's constant updates and improvements.

Pros

I am completely smitten by MATLAB and all of its features. Given my vast experience in the fields of data analysis and numerical computation, MATLAB has grown to be a crucial tool in my line of work. I adore MATLAB's flexibility and strength in tackling challenging mathematical and scientific tasks. MATLAB is a one-stop shop for a variety of activities, from data processing and visualization to algorithm development and simulation, thanks to its enormous array of built-in functions and toolboxes. Because of how simple and natural the MATLAB programming language is to learn, I can easily communicate my thoughts and carry out challenging computations. I enjoy working with MATLAB because of how interactive and dynamic it is since I can see and evaluate my results right away, which speeds up experimentation and iteration. The thorough documentation and supportive online community are outstanding, giving me access to information and direction whenever I run into problems or need ideas for solutions.

Cons

Sincerity be told, I hardly have any complaints regarding MATLAB. But if I had to pick one area for improvement, it would be the price scheme. As a user who heavily utilizes MATLAB in my job, I can attest that the price of obtaining and maintaining a MATLAB license may be extremely exorbitant, particularly for lone users or small businesses.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Numerical computations for engineering analysis becomes very easy for me when I use MATLAB

Reviewed on 2023/06/03

MATLAB is a valuable tool for mechanical engineers like me. Its powerful numerical computing...

MATLAB is a valuable tool for mechanical engineers like me. Its powerful numerical computing capabilities, simulation tools, and data analysis features make it well-suited for a wide range of mechanical engineering tasks. MATLAB provides a convenient environment to develop algorithms, analyze systems, and visualize results.

Pros

MATLAB provides extensive libraries and functions for numerical computations, linear algebra, optimization, and solving complex equations. It allows engineers to perform calculations efficiently and accurately. It offers a wide range of tools and toolboxes for simulation and modeling. Mechanical engineers can create mathematical models, simulate and analyze mechanical systems, and evaluate their behavior under various conditions. It also provides excellent tools for data analysis, processing, and visualization. Engineers can manipulate large data sets, perform statistical analysis, and create meaningful visualizations to interpret and present their findings effectively.

Cons

MATLAB is a commercial software, and obtaining a license can be costly, especially for individual users or small engineering teams. However, academic versions and trial licenses are available for educational purposes. While it is highly capable for many tasks, it may not offer the same performance as lower-level languages like C or Fortran.

Alejandro Daniel
Alejandro Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

MATLAB is the solution to make quickly and powerful programs.

Reviewed on 2018/02/16

Pros

MATLAB is a very complete suite to make programs using a simple language and with an very intuitive workspace. Although is simple, it's very powerful, and have a lot of toolboxes that you can install for specifics themes, like electronic theory, image processing, digital systems, etc.
You can also create Graphic User Interfaces whit the wizard that MATLAB has. This is simple because you don't have to manipulate graphic libraries, and you don't have problems if you change your platform, I mean, you can start a program in OS X and you can open it in a Windows environment.
If you have a little knowledge of C/C++/Java, you can start using MATLAB and write simple programs just with open the app.
Also it has powerful complements like SIMULINK, where you can study the response of electrical circuits by drawing them with boxes and lines, very intuitive.

Cons

I work a lot by making Graphic User Interfaces, because the independence of any graphic library, but I dislike that when the GUI started to grow up and have a lot of things inside, MATLAB start to work slowly and sometimes, you have to reboot the program.
Also I work a lot with microprocessors, programming in C/C++, and when I have to return to MATLAB, I need to "translate" the C/C++ codes to MATLAB code.
Another thing that I dislike is that you only can have one function per file. I mean, you can't make a library all in one file, and if you have a big project, you have to have a lot of different files and the size of it start to grow quickly.

Thomas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful tool for econometric analysis of panel data!

Reviewed on 2021/03/19

Matlab software is a powerful and essential tool for econometric analysis. Long used by mathematicia...

Matlab software is a powerful and essential tool for econometric analysis. Long used by mathematicians and physicists for simulation calculations, spherical graphs on a plane with more than two dimensions, etc., we currently use it for cross-sectional, time series and especially panel data analysis. Thanks to its functionality of being easily exploitable through scripting, we are able to estimate non-linear economic models (Panel Smoth Threshold Regression: PSTR, Generalized Method of Moments : GMM) and linear models (Least Square Model : LSM, Fixed Effects Model : FEM, Random Effects Model : REM, etc.).

Pros

Matlab is a totally free software to write any type of scripts concerning any type of data estimation models and therefore allows to estimate non-linear econometric models such as PSTR, GMM and linear ones (Fixed Effects Model or the Random Effects Model, OLS, etc.). It also allows you to produce the most optimal and well-designed graphs that few other statistical software can do. On the other hand, it has a better quality-price ratio.

Cons

As disadvantages, the software is too heavy because it occupies a lot of space during its installation (takes about 15,3Gb on the C disk) and can therefore lead to a slowdown of the functionalities of computers with low characteristics (RAM less than 2Gb, processor less than 2.00). It also appears relatively expensive compared to statistical analysis software of lower quality.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

To establish an analogy, this is similar to using a calculator

Reviewed on 2022/11/25

Overall, It makes life so easy for you that it takes you away from the mathematical infrastructure...

Overall, It makes life so easy for you that it takes you away from the mathematical infrastructure and algorithm-based approaches that the engineer is obligatory for. To establish an analogy, this is similar to using a calculator.

Pros

You won't feel the slowness of most of the processes/processes (the situation of the codes running for days is different), on top of that, when you think that hundreds of thousands of lines of code need to be written in order to do the 5-line job in matlab, for example in c, the value of the sublime program is understandable.. almost everything is made possible with its scientific toolbox ( There's also a symbolic toolbox).. The for event is something every matlabist says, but if you're using matlab properly, you don't need to make a for loop in unnecessary places. A good knowledge of linear algebra is very useful in this way.. If you think you've swallowed the matlab a bit, it's not built-in. By looking at the functions (say type) you can see how the fathers of this job avoid the for's, how they use matrices horribly (but they are code written with speed in mind: variable names, indices usage etc. can make your brain watery).. as a bit of tactics, lookfor, helpdesk, keyboard Let me remind you that there are commands like , profile .

Cons

It constantly opens processes on your computer, slows down the computer, and gives a virus warning from time to time. Other than that there is no problem.

Afshin
Afshin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

elegant but pricey computing environment, programming software

Reviewed on 2018/12/21

Pros

Coding in MATLAB is really simple, easy and can be learned fast. Its rich toolboxes and numerous user-provided files (through its file exchange) makes it easy to quickly test and verify ideas.
The one thing I liked most compared to other languages is its gui, visualization of results and the flexibility of editing the figures and plots.
Its rich features from integration with C to parallel/distributed computations makes it appealing even to people who seek a simple coding environment which can yet deliver fast computations (although in terms of computing speed, there are better options).

Cons

1- price: since there are few free opensource programming languages such as python and R with great community behind them and lots of functionalities, sometimes it is difficult to justify the price for someone at the entry level who wants to learn a scientific programming language.
2- Since I personally prefer object oriented programming, sometimes I find it difficult to keep track of all different function names, ... that already exist in MATLAB and its toolboxes. To me, the way python handles the packages is more appealing and helps to avoid confusion (this might be my personal preference and some may like the way the toolboxes work in MATLAB)

Brian
Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for academia, not so great if you have to pay for it

Reviewed on 2020/01/20

I have used MATLAB for a lot of processing of data and data visualization. I have used it to build...

I have used MATLAB for a lot of processing of data and data visualization. I have used it to build packages that process videos (not recommended, MATLAB has some functionality on this front but it isn't by any means thorough) but if used for what it is meant for, namely the manipulation, processing and visualization of data, it works very well.

Pros

The interface, functionality, and storage of data are very useful for doing work on large matrices and datasets. For things like interfacing with external hardware the pre-built packages and functionalities like Simulink work well if you have all the right parts. Even for things like machine learning MATLAB does a great job of making it more accessible while still giving you access to the process. MATLAB also is essentially ready to go right out of install, really no need to setup a specific environment for the program.

Cons

It is definitely proprietary, and though the forums and populated and the documentation is well put together its proprietary nature makes it less ubiquitous, meaning that if you have a sort of "fringy" problem you are trying to solve it is likely that no one has done it before. There are other open source languages that are even more fleshed out but have a longer learning curve than MATLAB because of environment setup.

Anik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best simulation and engineering CAD software in the present era

Reviewed on 2022/07/11

Overall I am using MATLAB since 2010 and still using it for my research and personal works. I could...

Overall I am using MATLAB since 2010 and still using it for my research and personal works. I could not find any alternative rather than it based on the availability of functions and options. It is simply the Best software no doubt.

Pros

I used MATLAB each and every day for my PhD research work. Even I work on it for multiple purposes like simulation, doing data visualization using coding, data analysis and optimization. Simply a best software for engineering students like me.

Cons

It is a very large software like 50 GB plus and it takes a huge memory of my laptop therefore I need to use a great portion of laptop memory in it. It should be compressed. It is also a very costing software for students.

Nicolas
Nicolas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Matlab is indispensable for all STEM careers, it is a complete platform to design and test...

Reviewed on 2018/07/09

This software has helped me a lot in the topic of optimization and repeating algorithms to solve...

This software has helped me a lot in the topic of optimization and repeating algorithms to solve some problem. In addition, the part of data management and complex operations for image processing and systems control.

Pros

It is a tool so universal that in almost all universities it is used, it has an easy-to-understand graphical interface. It contains a basic help menu that can be extended until you see complex examples of what you want. When you want to generate algorithms, it contains a proprietary language that avoids the use of a complex syntax, unlike other programming languages. It contains many functions and pre-made algorithms that allow you to test a concept at a high level, in a few lines of code.

Cons

not having a categorized menu with functions, many times you do not know what is available and you have to resort to the internet to search forums for the available functions, because many times you perform the algorithm from scratch, and then you realize that they had a function For that. In the simulink tool, there is a need for more things to be considered for the electronic part, due to the fact that other branches such as controls and power have enough resources, but the electronics at the level of CMOS transistors do not.

Marco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the most powerful products in engeneering field.

Reviewed on 2020/10/30

I now use Matlab to do all my University projects. I have used it for 4 years. The first impact was...

I now use Matlab to do all my University projects. I have used it for 4 years. The first impact was literally very tough. At the beginning I think you need someone that teaches you to use the program. If not it is very difficult to start. But when you begin using it, after some time you can use it to do whatever project, calculations, program you want.

Pros

This software is so deep that you can do whatever you want with it. I used this product to make projects, models, simulations, programs, calculations during my universtity years.
If you begin trying and learning to use this product the possibilities are endless.
The interface is a little bit confusing at a first use. But with a little bit of training it takes its sense.

Cons

There are mainly two things that I don't really like of this products. The first one is that it is a program a little bit difficult to install and to update to the next release (sometimes I hade to uninstall completely two times the program to succed update it).
The other thing that I don't really like is that the interface is maybe too complicated. You have lots of things that you can need. But when you are working on something specific you don't really need everything. It can be confusing.