Toonly

Animated video making software

Overall rating

4,3 /5
(31)
Value for Money
4,4/5
Features
3,9/5
Ease of Use
4,2/5
Customer Support
4,4/5

84%
recommended this app
Sort by

31 Reviews

Hossamudin
Hossamudin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The easiest 2D animation software out there.

Reviewed on 2022/05/11

Great!

Great!

Pros

I like how easy it is creating an explainer video for my youtube channel.

Cons

Well, the animations, and characters are limited.

Jyng
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not very stunning, but Toonly can deliver a decent and personalized explainer video.

Reviewed on 2020/12/10

I use Toonly whenever the project I am working on requires more character poses for a target niche....

I use Toonly whenever the project I am working on requires more character poses for a target niche. Toonly truly delivers flexibility and customization.

Pros

The best part of Toonly is its wide selection of character poses even for a standard version. I also love the lipsync feature which is not available on most animations sofware.

Cons

The characters look very simple, flat and outdated.

The software also lags a lot on longer (more than 1 minute) videos which can be time consuming.

Alternatives Considered

Vyond

Reasons for Switching to Toonly

Videoscribe is a a whiteboard video creating software. I needed colored animation software.
Krishnan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

An average product.

Reviewed on 2022/11/18

Pros

Though the software is easy to use, it lacks the additional and critical features required for creating animated videos. Characters are 2D only.

Cons

There are better softwares in the market though they are slightly pricey.

Darlene
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

High Learning Curve and Difficult to Master

Reviewed on 2022/11/18

Initially, I enjoyed using Toonly. I had great ideas and plans for how I could use the cartoon...

Initially, I enjoyed using Toonly. I had great ideas and plans for how I could use the cartoon software in my author/training business. But the more I used it, the more I began to be frustrated with the lack of templates and the gap between what I knew how to do and what I saw the product should be able to do. It was hard to create a product that was not cheap looking, unprofessional, and lacking in style. In order to get an excellent product, too much time was required, but there was no training to help users get that excellent end-product. Most people using the product are trying to start up something, be it a restaurant or some sort of educational training. But the promises of how a Toonly video can help in this start up actually backfire and became detrimental to the start-up because there was no theory-training videos to enable the user to make the product feel and look professional. If it were simply marketed to people trained in design, I wouldn't be here writing this review. I used their sister product Doodly, found out about this, and eagerly bought it as well. I had hoped to include both types in my training videos. In the end, I stopped using both products because it took too much time for the low quality that resulted. Yes, it's that I didn't study design. But it's also because they promoted it to me without giving me the additional tools I needed to make of the videos what I could. To be fair, compared to Doodly, this end product is easier to master.

Pros

The cute videos that can possibly result. It's an amazing idea to be able to animate cartoons to use for business start-ups or education.

Cons

The lack of training in how to create a masterful product as well as the relative lack of template designs to use.

Victor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An impressive 2D animation software for my explainer videos!

Reviewed on 2022/07/19

Toonly is just one of the best 2D video software you can find online!
I own several different...

Toonly is just one of the best 2D video software you can find online!
I own several different video software and among them, I have Doodly as a doodle software and Toonly as a 2D animation software both from Bryxen!

I was looking online for video creating software and I tried many of them and eventually, I kept only the ones I truly found useful and with a great team behind them!

I have Toonly and I love it! I never had even one thought to ask for a refund because it is what I need.

I advise everyone who comes across Toonly just to try it 30 days risk-free (is what I did until I found the good software I needed and the ones I loved I kept) so don't just believe me, go and try it 100% risk-free! They do refund you 100% of your investment if you don't like it, but you WILL!

I have Enterprise Membership for both Doodly and Toonly!

Love it! It is a 5 Star! They constantly work on improvement and periodically release new updates!

Thank you Toonly!

Pros

I like the ease I can animate the characters, props and all elements inside the software. I like the pre-made scenes that I can build my scenes on. I like the multitude of actions that the characters have. I like the fact that it is a drag & drop software and I like the fact that it is super intuitive.

Cons

I really do like everything about Toonly, I really don't find anything to dislike!

Eldar
Eldar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Toonly is a great tool for small business and Individuals who want a animation presentation

Reviewed on 2021/10/07

Pros

Anyone with a basic knowledge of editing can create their own animated presentation, also its the only tool in this category that I found for a one-time payment. The support is great and the team tries to improve the software with updates every few weeks.

I using it to create a marketing videos for my business and also lessons videos for my digital course

It is very useful and gives a low budget solution.

Cons

There is a nice selection of animations for the characters but not all the characters get all of them, and if you are interested in using a particular character it may not have the animation you need.

Because all creators use the same characters, it may be not unique if they will consider to add a character creation tool it can be great.

Editing the sound on the timeline may feel uncomfortable and inflexible.

James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Basic 2D Character Animations

Reviewed on 2020/07/29

Pros

A fine tool for animation video projects requiring only 2D character animation. Access to time line functionality makes simple animation projects easier than in PowerPoint. Also fun to lip sync characters with a spoken script.

Cons

The learning curve can be a little steep for first time users and the supplied tutorials are very basic. Would love to see far more advanced tutorials to take advantage of all that Toonly has to offer.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good software to make 2D explainer videos

Reviewed on 2022/11/05

When we want to make 2D explainer videos, Toonly is definitely our best tool for them.

When we want to make 2D explainer videos, Toonly is definitely our best tool for them.

Pros

Toonly is so far the best program to make animated explainer videos, with it's price. It is quite easy to use, there is quite a lot ready made backgrounds and learning curve is not too big. Price is right comparing what you get. Lip-sync is very good.

Cons

There could always be more different characters and items, or possibility to buy more personalized ones. There could be more ready made 'templates' or 'stories' which we could use immediately (just change texts and another small things) and we would also learn from them.

ivana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Perfect for a beginner video creator

Reviewed on 2021/06/09

it is very fast and easy to create animated explanatory videos.. there is also included royalty-free...

it is very fast and easy to create animated explanatory videos.. there is also included royalty-free music what is really great value for money - especially when you purchase it while the special promo discount... a big plus is also relatively frequent updates including new objects, characters, animations

Pros

It is really easy to use, even for a person who has never made a video before

Cons

I feel like there is not enough fonts and text animations

Ronald
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Toonly is a ton of fun and a great online tool

Reviewed on 2024/03/08

Pros

Its so much fun using this app to make cartoons and comic type art. You can do more than that, but that is what I like to do with it.

Cons

No cons to list. I am completely satisfied with my purchase

Matt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Beginner's Best Choice. Definitely Get the Job Done.

Reviewed on 2023/01/14

If you get the Enterprise version, which is an upsell option for Toonly, you will have a much more...

If you get the Enterprise version, which is an upsell option for Toonly, you will have a much more complete set of characters to use. I like Toonly with the Enterprise version. I think you can get the job done in a relatively short period of time (within an hour even for beginners). But as you progress, the editing time will definitely be much shorter as you can reuse many assets from scene to scene. Also, the lipsync function is absolutely great...!!

Pros

I recently tried Toonly, an animation creator, and found it to be very easy to use. It had a great user interface and the tutorials were extremely helpful when it came to creating animations. I was able to make some really cool animations with minimal effort. The library of characters and templates makes it easy to customize videos for any project. Overall I am really impressed with the quality of the animations that I created using Toonly and would definitely recommend it.

Cons

If the development team can more "choice of action" for every character, that would be great.

Sebastian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Is agood program, updates missing since change of owners

Reviewed on 2022/11/07

I think is a great tool, worried what the future whit new owners.

I think is a great tool, worried what the future whit new owners.

Pros

Characters are its strong point, a lot of characters, a lot of animations, lipsync synchronization, and facial emotions.

Cons

- Only one style of characters, if you don't like that style you can´t do anything.- Objects and backgrounds, are limited- Is now Nov 2022, they change owners, and since then there are no updates, wondering if at any moment is not profitable to new users and will die, and they don't trust too much this product as they make they promotional videos with other tools, and when they create toonly videos for they own promotion they just look like random animations appearing anywhere.

Joanne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Toonly - make videos easily

Reviewed on 2021/02/23

Toonly has made it easy to make videos to assist with information or marketing purposes for the...

Toonly has made it easy to make videos to assist with information or marketing purposes for the Company.

Pros

Toonly enables you to make a video with sound really, really easily. You don't need any experience at all in making videos. You can put music background, as well as record you speaking.

Cons

There isn't the ability to generate subtitles within Toonly based on what is spoken. This feature you need to use another tool to do on top of your Toonly video.

Andre
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Toonly one of the best and easiest software to use

Reviewed on 2022/12/01

great it extremely affordable easy to use and navigate

great it extremely affordable easy to use and navigate

Pros

the part i liked most is the ease of use and how beginner friendly it was to use with out having prior experience with the software

Cons

i didn't really notice any cons with the software

Dan
Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quick way to explain ideas

Reviewed on 2021/03/04

Used as explainer for new business and to create a promo for a screenplay.

Used as explainer for new business and to create a promo for a screenplay.

Pros

Ability to buy one-time license for a fixed fee, plus free updates.
Easy to create new comic-book-like stories to explain concepts and ideas.
Large selection of scenes, characters and props.

Cons

Not able to modify actions of characters beyond those shipped with product.

Natalie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Limited Package - Could be better

Reviewed on 2020/06/17

It is good for short videos that are not for a diverse audience but for us it didn't work out so...

It is good for short videos that are not for a diverse audience but for us it didn't work out so well.

Pros

This was advertised on Instagram as a one time fee for the software and it was a great price. We jumped at the chance mainly due to the price offered and on using the software it was as stated easy to use and did what we expected.

Cons

As we got deeper into the software we found that although we had the software the limitations we had on characters/images and sounds made the software lose appeal very swiftly, it almost became a waste of money due to having to not having what we expected from the advertisement. For the people we engage, we need diversity and a good database of characters, this appears that we would have to buy additional features.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Toonly - An Easy To Use, Affordable Cartoon Creation Software

Reviewed on 2022/06/30

I have enjoyed my experience with Toonly.

It gives me another piece of software that I can use to...

I have enjoyed my experience with Toonly.

It gives me another piece of software that I can use to create content for my companies, as well as for my clients.

I think that i got my moneys worth within the first week of owning the software.

Pros

I liked the fact that the software is easy to use and intuitive. You get better working with it as time goes on, but it is quite easy to use "out of the box".

Cons

The range of animations for the characters can be somewhat limiting, depending on what you are trying to do with your videos.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fun tool to get your creative juices flowing

Reviewed on 2022/12/11

Pros

I use Toonly to design training presentations and material for employee engagement. I love that characters are easily created, edited and animated. I can get lost for hours using this tool - it's a lot of fun and creating content no longer feels like a task.

Cons

There are no aspects that I've encountered to date which I wasn't happy with.

Eduardo
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My review of Toonly

Reviewed on 2021/10/20

Very good. I have created videos, some o which I have uploaded on the net and shared), and have not...

Very good. I have created videos, some o which I have uploaded on the net and shared), and have not had to overcome many problems. I believe that as I get more practice, I will improve. The Facebook group that has been opened for Toonly users has proven to be very helpful, too

Pros

Creating videos with voice-over with Toonly id easy. This makes me create videos that can grab the attention of my English as Foreign Language learners (pupils in High School and teachers in Professional DEvelopment workshops I create and facilitate)

Cons

I find it difficult to get the characters to move their lips (yet I guess it is a question of practice)

eli
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Very easy to use.

Reviewed on 2020/07/13

Pros

It is quite easy to use. the interface is user friendly and can be used with very little training.

Cons

The toons and pictures available for use are very limiting i have to import from outside to get work done.

Vivek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Waste of Money

Reviewed on 2020/12/01

Waste of money. And feel hell if you will purchase only basic version.

Waste of money. And feel hell if you will purchase only basic version.

Pros

Pricing of additional features. 'Enterprise version'

Cons

No Updates since purchase. No new text effect.

Kris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quick and Easy to use

Reviewed on 2020/11/24

Great support is available and they even teach how to do advanced actions. I used Toonly to create...

Great support is available and they even teach how to do advanced actions. I used Toonly to create a 3 minute informational presentation that went over very well.

Pros

Very easy to use. It's very easy to move things on the timeline. It's fun to create announcements with this software. I like that I was able to purchase a lifetime update subscription.

Cons

Need more actions on characters. No animals/pets for characters.

Jaycee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Could be great for you

Reviewed on 2020/11/23

Pros

I liked how easy the software is to use.

Cons

I am not sure if this is really a con but the software did not really match my brand.

Alexandru
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent!

Reviewed on 2021/11/08

I created many short movies introducing my webinars for French teachers, New Technologies in...

I created many short movies introducing my webinars for French teachers, New Technologies in Education and Didactic Management.

Pros

It's a work of excellence! Very professional and intuitive!

Cons

I would like to create new characters inside the software and to be able to design other

Lynn
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Thumbs up for Toonly

Reviewed on 2022/12/20

I have loved working with toonly, support was great when I had a question and there are so many...

I have loved working with toonly, support was great when I had a question and there are so many great features

Pros

I really appreciate when software is easy to master and fun to use. Allows presentation to be delivered in a a subtle way

Cons

I would like to see more characters. Scenes and backgrounds and animation for animals and the ability to change colors with more characters.