Buildern

Construction project management software

Overall rating

4,9 /5
(12)
Value for Money
5/5
Features
4,8/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Customer Support
5/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

12 Reviews

Andre
Andre
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I think this is it.

Reviewed on 2022/01/20

Overall I have been satisfied and truly impressed. Using buildern has improved the customer...

Overall I have been satisfied and truly impressed. Using buildern has improved the customer experience we have been able to provide. It has also helped improved following up with vendors and subs to push them to stick to the schedule.

Pros

The team is amazing. I think this is the first CRM/ Project management tool that has developed what they said they would. When they told me they will roll out with a automated follow up feature in a month they actually did.
The tool they have built out for managing potential projects in the pipeline is great. I think it has helped us better follow up with our customers and sign more jobs possibly.
Different sections pull data as you progress minimizing double entry work. As soon as the contract is signed all the info is pulled into the project and filled out, ready to go.
The budgeting and job costing tool is pretty robust and they have made significant improvements on it over the last few months. Comparing budget to actual is extremely easy to do as well.
I think the biggest advantage is the improved communication this has allowed for between our clients and PM's, we all know communication is key, and we were not the best at it. I still think we have room to improve, the software just makes it easier.

Cons

I think the scheduling tool has room for improvment. I have talked to there dev team and they have mentioned that they are working on a few features, I have not seen anything yet. I will try to update this review once I do. I am personally used to using Microsoft Project, not sure if that makes me biased. I still prefer project for scheduling.

angus
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best All-in-one Construction Estimating & Project Management Software

Reviewed on 2023/11/08

It has been very positive for us to move from Buildertrend over to Buildern and our team all agree....

It has been very positive for us to move from Buildertrend over to Buildern and our team all agree. The development team are very responsive to any suggestions, and they keep you up to speed with what is on the roadmap for Buildern

Pros

It has everything in one software. We have had to use two or more software programs to run our business until we found Buildern.

Cons

A couple of the modules require a few more features to make things more efficient however I believe these are in development now. The mobile App also requires a few more of the Online features and I understand are not far away, however all the on-site required modules are on the Mobile App for our team

Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Buildern is what we have been waiting for

Reviewed on 2023/11/16

Fantastic. Buildern is eager to hear our feedback on functionality and how the software is working...

Fantastic. Buildern is eager to hear our feedback on functionality and how the software is working in the field.

Pros

Buildern allows us to be more transparent with our clients and their estimates by including overheads, insurances, and builder costs as a default, rather than dispersing these genuine business costs somewhere randomly within an estimate.

Buildern's method of creating an assembly is far easier than other programs I have used. The home screen is very easy to navigate. Variations are easy to create and present clearly to the client.

Cons

Some features need to be refined to make them more efficient, such as integrating timesheets into Xero, a dashboard to see the scheduling for multiple projects running simultaneously using the same trades, etc. and hopefully down a CRM.

Alternatives Considered

Buildertrend

Reasons for Choosing Buildern

Buildern developers are truly listening to the industry and designing a platform that will overtake every other construction program

Switched From

Buildxact and Tradify

Reasons for Switching to Buildern

The cost of the alternate products was excessive, and after a demonstration of the software, we could see the powerful tool Buildern was tuning into
Josh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exceeds Buildertrend

Reviewed on 2024/03/07

From the moment I started using Buildern Software, I was impressed by its simplicity and effectivene...

From the moment I started using Buildern Software, I was impressed by its simplicity and effectiveness.

As someone who's been in the construction industry for years, finding a software solution that seamlessly integrates into our workflow was a must.

We have been using Buildertrend for several years, and when I started using Buildern I was amazed at how much better it was than Buildertrend.

No software is perfect, however my favourite thing about Buildern is their ability to genuinely listen to user feedback and quickly implement changes & updates. There has been alot feedback that I have provided to Buildern and they have pretty much implemented nearly every single suggestion I have made which has only made the software better for everyone.

I have tried to provide the same feedback to Buildertrend in the past but it has fallen on deaf ears. Buildertrend seem more focused on building there client base up before trying to actually fix all the things that are wrong with it, whereas its evident that Buildern are trying to get the product working 100% from the start, which honestly is smart because the client base will grow organically once this is achieved.

I really appreciate the Buildern team and have really loved working with them and am happy that we have finally found a complete software solution that actually works!

Pros

A comprehensive project management software that actually does what you need it to do!

Cons

I honestly can't really report anything that I dislike about Buildern. The few little items that I have provided Buildern feedback on have been rectified by them almost immediately!

Tamara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

All-in-one construction project management at its best!

Reviewed on 2023/11/08

Pros

The standout feature for me is undoubtedly their estimation tool. With just a few clicks, I can transform project plans into comprehensive estimates, complete with material and labor costs. What truly sets it apart, though, is how it allows me to personalize these estimates to my clients' specifications with remarkable ease. As for managing my network of subcontractors and suppliers, Buildern centralizes the whole process. Issuing purchase orders is a breeze directly from the central dashboard. And the seamless integration with accounting systems like QuickBooks means financial tracking is no longer a chore but a simple, automated process.

I like how simple and effortless everything becomes with Buildern in my toolkit. It feels like every feature has been designed with user convenience in mind, turning what used to be intricate and time-consuming into straightforward, almost effortless tasks. The results are smoother project flow, clearer communication, and more time to ensure quality workflows.

Cons

If there's one aspect I'm eager to see evolve, it's the range of features within Buildern's mobile application. The current convenience it offers for on-site management is quite remarkable. However, having a more comprehensive set of Buildern's functionalities available on the mobile platform would greatly enhance the flexibility and freedom to manage projects on the move.

Ruben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Complete Revelation

Reviewed on 2022/01/05

So, guys I really recommend this thing. Even decided to switch to the professional plan. Well, I...

So, guys I really recommend this thing. Even decided to switch to the professional plan. Well, I don't know - the number of clients is increasing, I think we need it already. We'll see...

Pros

Honestly, for me, this software was a complete revelation. 8 months ago my uncle and I started our construction business, and on the advice of his friend we decided to try the Buildern's free package first, and after we switched to Starter Plan.
In general, we are satisfied. Of course, there are still things to be improved, but for now, we are totally OK with this thing. And look at the price! Man, it is a very fine deal compared to the other stuff in the market.

I would mention planning as the best function. The flexibility is a king here, and the interface is simple and clear. Yes, by the way, everything works very fast. I mean - enough fast, Plenty of planning options. If you, like us, just LOVE to plan and prefer to arrange everything carefully, this is for you. We use this function everywhere possible: construction process, job management, sales, invoicing. Runs perfectly!
Communication is also decently organized. We easily connect with the people we want, and the same is true for managing the tasks. As far as I get it, there are constant updates in this direction. Let's say - pretty good, but will be much better!

Cons

Sometimes things get complicated, mostly when it comes to formatting. For sure, I would like to have a much easier approach here. But as I mentioned, it feels like the devs are working on the product and they do follow the feedback. This is very nice news for the users. I hope they will read my review too.

Mari
Mari
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing software!

Reviewed on 2022/01/26

Our small team used Buildern during the pandemic when we worked from home. But as soon as we return...

Our small team used Buildern during the pandemic when we worked from home. But as soon as we return to the office, we continue to use this beast for 100%.

Pros

I really like the scheduling module. I create schedule items very easily, I can change them whenever I want. I also use the Deppendency set function very often when planning, and it seems good to me. But my favorite feature is Bildern's reminders. Through them, I can send notifications to my teammates and subcontractors before starting work.
One of the sexiest options of Buildern is its customizability.
There are so many ways to manipulate and change data. A real dream for PM.
I am very satisfied with the quality of service too. They are constantly updating the system and sharing the expected news.
I learned that the mobile app will be available soon. And not only that, there will be other big thing - a function, when after signing the contract, the system copies into the project the data instead of you. That is, you do not need to fill up the info manually. I am really waiting for that.

Cons

One of the cons is the absence of the mobile app. Well, you know, you don't always have a computer on hand, but it happens that you have to take urgent action. The mobile app is extremely important

Tim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Intuitive, all the right features

Reviewed on 2023/10/10

Buildern is exactly what we've been looking for. All the crucial features required for residential...

Buildern is exactly what we've been looking for. All the crucial features required for residential construction and renovation, easy for everyone to use... Feels like it's been developed by builders who know what we actually need.

Pros

A well organised app with features you actually need. Caters for all my team, from builder and tradies to apprentices. Easy to share relevant information with those who need it - building schedule, plans etc. So far time saved on timesheets and daily briefings. Well done developers, highly recommend.

Cons

I guess the interface could be a little more jazzy but that's splitting hairs.

Tricia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Buildern is great

Reviewed on 2023/10/10

I don't have any problems being resolved at the moment; any minor issues I previously had were...

I don't have any problems being resolved at the moment; any minor issues I previously had were resolved promptly by the developers.

Pros

Buildern incorporates everything to manage a project in to one piece of software. It is easy to use/navigate and is very intuitive. Being able to file all selections for a project is a huge bonus; like photos, spec sheets and weblinks; this makes it easy to share this information with a client.

Cons

Nothing to dislike with Buildern it is continually improving and I am looking forward to seeing new features as they are rolled out.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We use Buildern for sales, estimations, and project management. It is an excellent tool both...

Reviewed on 2022/01/25

Pros

The first thing I really like here is that you can manage existing projects and opportunities.
As soon as the contract is signed, all the info is automatically copied into the project and you don't need to fill up the data manually.
The second cool thing is that you can estimate budgets and actual job costs ․ This is a very important function. Whether there is a change in the material prices or some up and downs within the labor cost, you can see all that impact on the budget at once. Excellent!
And finally, the third big advantage - easy communication. This software is very well designed so that any client or contractor gets emails without logging in and responds to their requests.They like this feature very much. And, in general, the communication with the construction site is also conveniently organized. No special knowledge is needed to set it up.

Cons

The scheduling tool is very functional, but it could be improved.

Angus
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We finally found Buildern

Reviewed on 2023/04/29

We are now fully running our business on Buildern and it is a abreath of fresh air not having to...

We are now fully running our business on Buildern and it is a abreath of fresh air not having to use different Estimating software and project management software.

Pros

Wee've struggled to find an all-in-one Estimating & Project Management Software over the years to run our business on, but we've finally found it

Cons

We would love to have a Take-off tool for our Estimating, and we just found out that the Buildern Developers have this in production

Jordan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Most versatile and complete project management software

Reviewed on 2024/04/10

Pros

The software is highly customizable and systematized to create efficient and quick project setup. Also, the client portal is clean and easy to use. The estimating and takeoff function is unique and very quick and easy to run. The development team is very helpful and open to implementing any changes or suggestions we have.

Cons

It is a young company so I was concerned about it longevity in the industry. A few of the tools still need a little bit more development.

Alternatives Considered

Buildertrend and Hyphen HomeFront

Reasons for Switching to Buildern

The estimating and takeoff function is included and integrates with the project cost.