ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Reviews

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

4.4 (208)
Write a Review!
Cloud IT Help Desk Software

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(208)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.2/5
Sort by

208 Reviews

Jaime Isai
Jaime Isai
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ServiceDesk Plus ManageEngine

Reviewed on 2022/06/23

Its a great tool, I do really recommend it to every IT organization, it was a great experience to...

Its a great tool, I do really recommend it to every IT organization, it was a great experience to implement and get it full configured, it was a great challenge and learning experience. It's a must on every IT department if you want to improve your IT performance and have your IT department well organized at every single area.

Pros

More than a Service Desk tool or ticketing system tool it is a System that follows the ITIL standards, allowing IT departments to be full organized on resolving issues, following them up, Identifying new problems, having their assets inventory updated and monitored, having additional tools to access them remotely and run TS steps, Having their projects well organized in a Gantt view and well documented, Licensing module and procurement its a plus on this system.

Cons

Its easy to implement, however it requires a previous knowledge of ITIL standards in order to set up the parameters and get it ready to work on your full organization. There is a complete guide to do so, however sometimes would be better to have a local support to help in the implementation process.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Servicedesk Product EVER!

Reviewed on 2020/04/16

I set this up as ticketsystem for our company and users have an easy platform to create tickets...

I set this up as ticketsystem for our company and users have an easy platform to create tickets instead of calling. This works like a charm and even users with little computerexperience can create tickets. Also the solutions part of servicedesk is awesome.
We upgraded our entire IT deaprtment with this product, bye bye shard IT-mailbox!!

Pros

I love the fact that is is simple in use. You can isntall it yourself, you can customise it the way you want and that is all sooo easy. Updating the product is a piece of cake and best part is that you can make the program like you need it.

Cons

Nothing! Only pros pros pros!
Even when there is a issue, the support team is on top of it. WOW!

Alternatives Considered

TOPdesk

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Topdesk is much more complex, updating is hard, more expensive and not as user friendly!
Alex
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Lots of useful features; But counter-intuitive and clunky overall

Reviewed on 2018/10/04

We migrated from Spiceworks - a freeware ticket system to - ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus. While it...

We migrated from Spiceworks - a freeware ticket system to - ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus. While it is better than Spiceworks, I definitely think we bought the wrong solution. Implementing and customizing ServiceDesk took over a year. Support is absolutely terrible, it's all based out of India so there is a timezone difference and a major language barrier. It was very often that they would not reply at all. There are major flaws and shortcomings with the software and the developers are showing no interest in fixing them. The project management piece is an absolute joke. The contracts and purchase orders are very hard to navigate and do not serve as great tools. Asset management also feels very clunky and hard to set up. The helpdesk ticketing module is useful and better than Spiceworks. Wish we would have bought something else.

Pros

Advanced Customization, in-depth reporting, lots of add-on tools (more than just a ticketing system)

Cons

Everything is counter-intuitive and not user friendly. The support is awful. There seems to be no application development to fix their shortcomings and flaws.

pritesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Organization improvement product : ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Reviewed on 2023/03/07

We are really happy with Manageengine servervice desk plus because we get best support and...

We are really happy with Manageengine servervice desk plus because we get best support and succesfully completd our goals with this product.

Pros

This is very useful for formatting reports, as well as best and essential support from the team. For our organization, the alert system and monitoring are the best features.

Cons

API ,agent base scning network . scnnig need to efficetive becuase we face network issue

Ankit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Keep Track of Issues

Reviewed on 2023/11/09

Pros

ServiceDesk Ticketing tool is one of the best that eases the work of the IT Technicians, it is very easy to deploy and Integrate with other applications, it has lot of features which are very useful like Asset Management, Change Management, Problem Management, we can even fetch the reports in an instant.

Cons

The UI of the application can be improved so it can become more user friendly

Alternatives Considered

ServiceNow Customer Service Management
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Robust, easy to use, fully-featured IT Help Desk software

Reviewed on 2024/01/28

Pros

The ease of use, both for IT Management (setup) and continual tweaking and adjusting and product improvements is impressive. For support staff, it's easy to use and navigate and has everything at ones fingertips.

Cons

There's some redundancy that seems unnecessary, when entering info into fields that are not customizable. Also, inventory tracking connected to Desktop Central (now Endpoint Central) is hit and miss and when moving from either instance's on-prem to cloud, things break and assets have to be re-entered, but end up having the cloud cutover date, not the original asset acquired date. Something to keep in mind when planning lifecycle.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus (MSP)

Reviewed on 2018/11/19

Pros

Starts at Free......Need I say more? --- I suppose i do, lol.

It was a nightmare to find a ITIL compliant helpdesk software that was easy enough for my users to use, but flexible enough to flex and grow with our needs. With the basic free version covering most of the basics with no user limit, is a pretty good deal.

Cons

Sometimes it can be a pain to work with. Some of the 'workflows' or 'features' don't seem to work properly.

One that sticks out is the 'on behalf of' feature when putting in tickets on behalf of another user for say a password reset. In order to get that particular function working, i actually had to go into the CLI on the host machine and enable it myself. Shouldn't need to do that.

The support and documentation can also be a bit lacking on details.

Nicholas
Nicholas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Service Desk is good

Reviewed on 2018/06/28

Pros

Its good, easy to use, fast, functional.

Cons

Major complaint is every year the price rises substantially. The features are good, but the pricing, theyre pricing themselves out of the market. And its hard to move helpdesk products, because everyone gets used to it. I also dislike they don't have American support.

Carlos
Carlos
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Over 125 users and counting!

Reviewed on 2019/02/19

We are a relatively small operation with 7 Technicians and around 130 users and ServiceDesk Plus...

We are a relatively small operation with 7 Technicians and around 130 users and ServiceDesk Plus fulfill all of our needs in 100% percent. We have been used it now for almost 4 nears and we have never experienced a single downtime on our service.

Pros

I really like the fact that ServiceDesk Plus can be installed on Premises or can be run from the cloud depending customer needs.

Cons

We cant add Video tutorials to our knowledge base

Thomas
Thomas
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Used as the main incident ticketing tool

Reviewed on 2018/04/06

Pros

What I like most about the application is it had customizable fields for ticket input data. Also the application provides details analytics.

Cons

The first issue that pops in my head is the trouble we went through migrating all of our old data from our old ticketing system to the new ticketing system. However, if you are starting from nothing the set up is not complicated.

Raj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Safety
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One stop shop for ITIL based efficient Servicedesk

Reviewed on 2020/03/13

Excellent support tech makes all the difference. Having a dedicated support tech that knows your...

Excellent support tech makes all the difference. Having a dedicated support tech that knows your environment and can assist at all times is a big plus. The team listens to your requirements and release it as features in future releases of the product.

Pros

Setting up the product is very easy. The ability to try modules as we go was an add-on. Endless customization can be done on the software. Having a product that is based on an industry standard ensures that process is followed at all stages.

Cons

Form builder can be improved. Adobe forms is an example of how form builder in servicedesk can be based on.

Basil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Exactly as they advertise. Big 4's are a pain.

Reviewed on 2015/12/03

We used ServiceDesk in the ISP (Internet Service Provider) that I worked for. We nearly lost hope...

We used ServiceDesk in the ISP (Internet Service Provider) that I worked for. We nearly lost hope in finding good helpdesk software with ITIL compliance. We even considered building a home-made application. For two years, BMC Remedy gave us a hard time from a usability and performance perspective, in addition to their highly priced customization bills. Until, one day, a decent consultant forwarded a link to ServiceDesk Plus.

ServiceDesk Plus breaks the myth that 'java server applications are slow' and really shows that a high quality product with good efficiency and performance can be built using Java. It's all up to the engineers (and when it's slow, its all their fault).

One thing I learned from ServiceDesk; don't blindly trust Gartner reports when searching for good software. At the time of searching, Gartner Quarterly reports listed BMC at the top with no mention whatsoever of ServiceDesk Plus. I'm not blaming Gartner for corrupt information, I'm sure they have their criteria in place, but at the end, they're humans, they have their mistakes, biases, misinformation, etc.

Pros

1. Light-weight and highly responsive. Intuitive interface.
2. Wonderful 'Solutions Knowledge Base' side feature based on articles and with an excellent search functionality. (We no longer use Media Wiki, however I'm doubtful about dropping MediaWiki).
3. The ServiceDesk API gives you unlimited abilities to automate and integrate with other applications. For example, we were able to integrate Nagios Network Monitoring tool so that a high priority alarm could automatically open a ticket on ServiceDesk Plus.

4. I admire the effort they placed on their online documention with their and searchable online you'll hardly need to contact support.

Cons

Nothing major, but would like to see improvements in the following areas:
1. Provide a visual view of all entities in the system. Virtual Machines, Routers, Physical Servers, etc. using graphing tools.
2. Provide a searchable menu. For example, if I type "LDAP Authentication" this would show me the "Domain Controllers" in the setup menu (Similar to CPanel's menu search feature).
3. More help notes & tips on 'what to do next' and on 'keyboard shortcuts'.

Andrew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Life changing

Reviewed on 2020/12/09

My experience of using this software has been amazing. It has been like switching on a light to...

My experience of using this software has been amazing. It has been like switching on a light to dispurse the darkness that has been sat over my work life for so long.

Pros

When I use this software my mind is suddenly fee of clutter, I feel smarter and have to work less.

Cons

The only feature that is missing is the ability to turn back time. With this feature, I would be able to start using Service Desk Plus from the very beginning.

Alternatives Considered

Spiceworks Cloud Help Desk

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] had the final say
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Servicedesk product at an affordable price

Reviewed on 2020/05/24

Pros

The product setup & configuration is easy. Offers a good reporting tool. Can use used to connect to Office 365 to generate report for their usage. Reports can be exported into multiple file formats.

Cons

The interface could have been much much better. Adding of extendedattributes could have been made easier.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Basic Helpdesk Application

Reviewed on 2016/12/05

Our company has been using ManageEngine plus ServiceDesk for our IT Helpdesk support system for...

Our company has been using ManageEngine plus ServiceDesk for our IT Helpdesk support system for several years now. Although this application has been reliable and used widely by our IT support team, it is limited on features and functionality. The support for the application from ManageEngine has been somewhat limited as well. If you are looking for a very basic IT support system, then ManageEngine's ServiceDesk might be a good fit. The application is just limited on what it can do and its ability to scale to fit our needs.

Pros

ServiceDesk Plus from ManageEngine is fairly easy to implement and provides the most basic needs of an IT support application.

Cons

ServiceDesk Plus from ManageEngine is very limited in features and functionality. It also has a fairly complex interface that is out of date. Our company has trouble tracking IT support tickets because of this limitation.

AbdulAleem
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review Manage Engine SDP

Reviewed on 2021/09/28

Pros

Easy to Use
Easy to Setup
customer-centric UI

Cons

Very vast software. It's good for certain companies but for us it makes too many screens to manage.

Alternatives Considered

Jira

Reasons for Switching to ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Arabic language support
Nick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Policy
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

You get what you pay for

Reviewed on 2018/03/13

When we paid for the software (before switching to the free edition), support was very hard to...

When we paid for the software (before switching to the free edition), support was very hard to understand. While SDP is certainly usable, it has been growing increasingly unstable for us. When we have time, we'll likely look into a different solution, like Spiceworks.

Pros

The software is easy to configure. The price is right for a small shop (free for up to five users). If you just need something basic, SDP fulfills the basic needs of a help desk.

Cons

The page redirects are buggy. Clicking links frequently go 404 at random as it serves a page wrong. Instead of going to http://servername/workorder.do it will instead just try to go to workorder.do and not find the page.

Edgar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awesome Ticketing System

Reviewed on 2019/03/05

Overall this software is a great ticketing system, i would recommend this to my colleagues.

Overall this software is a great ticketing system, i would recommend this to my colleagues.

Pros

ManageEngine makes quality products with a bunch of features, you acn configure a wholee bunch of stuff including reply templates, service request categories, SLA's, Asset Management, Change Management, etc. I am actually very surprised with how much you can do with this piece of software. They offer software updates pretty frequently so you're always up to date.

Cons

The software is really robust and offers a lot, i don't have anything to complain about.

Bill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ServiceDesk Plus brought organization to the chaos that was our ticketing system.

Reviewed on 2018/05/31

Pros

Ease of use, and intuitiveness of the software makes training significantly simplified. Additionally, I enjoy how project management, service catalogs and asset tracking all tie together nicely.

Cons

Cost. As much as we love SDP, some of the features we would like to implement are simply too costly . As mentioned in the "Pros" section, we would love to incorporate CMDB, change management, project management, but the modules are simply too expensive for us.

Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The AIO Servicedesk Solution

Reviewed on 2021/02/04

as the title says "The AIO Servicedesk Solution", the solution has interconnected modules that...

as the title says "The AIO Servicedesk Solution", the solution has interconnected modules that include everything from ticket management, problems, changes and even inventory

Pros

All the modules ready to use since each one of this are out of the box so you can just simply install the SW and start to use.

Cons

Maybe more customization regarding request module, some tabs has no use in our org so we cannot move that

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Useful tool, but not great

Reviewed on 2018/12/09

The experience till now has been good. As it's quiet easy to understand and user friednly, the new...

The experience till now has been good. As it's quiet easy to understand and user friednly, the new members also learn it at a rapid rate.

Pros

The user Interface is pretty straightforward. The ticket raising and ticket addressing are very easy to understand and update from time to time. The in built database of all the assets and their associated unique Ids, is a great help.

Cons

It is providing more and more advanced search options in every upgrade, but the search results don't always bring back the correct results. Their testing team needs to do a more thorough job before putting out a new feature.

Miguel
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have been using it for the past 8 years

Reviewed on 2018/02/21

Very good ITSM software for a low price, alot of features that can be fully customizable, and easy...

Very good ITSM software for a low price, alot of features that can be fully customizable, and easy to keep track of what everyone is doing due to an amazing dashboard!

Pros

* Excellent Service Catalog.
* Convertion of Tickets into projects, Problems, Changes.
* Asset Discovery and CMDB
* Lots of addons.
* Integrated chat.

Cons

This is a great software but updating versions can be a pain, due to the confusing documentation on this matter

Dean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ManageEngine Servicedesk Plus

Reviewed on 2021/04/15

Great for ticketing and asset management.

Great for ticketing and asset management.

Pros

Ticket management is great. Integration with other instances of the app as well using the API to create IT helpdesk tickets automatically from our HR system.

Cons

The archive ticket system isn't updated to use the same views as the live system so it looks out of place. Asset database is too easy to let get outdated.

Herman
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Review

Reviewed on 2022/10/14

We cant run ICT support without this tool, its the core of our support system

We cant run ICT support without this tool, its the core of our support system

Pros

Its very effective in managing ICT support, log, track, CBK of incidents and how it was resolved

Cons

Its more effective working alongside other zoho products which have to be purchased separately

Brett
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Tracking Tool and Self-Service

Reviewed on 2018/02/15

Pros

The software has lots of options for tracking service within the organization. The software has the ability to track SLA and integrate with your organizations ITIL methodologies. A nice self-service feature is available for staff to utilize.

Cons

The software is not the most intuitive and requires some training to really be able to navigate well.