145 reviews

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Cloud IT Help Desk Software

4,3 /5 (145 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,3
/
5
Value for Money
4,2
Features
4,3
Ease of Use
4,2
Customer Support
4,1
84% recommended this app
145 reviews
Leia P.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

ManageEngine has Streamlined our Helpdesk!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/02
Review Source: Capterra

We were previously on BMC RemedyForce and it would take me an entire day to configure a simple ticket template. It takes me mere minutes with ManageEngine. Their support staff and developers are the best in the business and I can't say enough good things about my experiences working with them.

Pros

It's easy to use and configure! Their support staff and community are absolutely incredible. They even have FREE master classes to help you learn more about how it works, and user conferences where the actual developers give you hands-on training, so you find out even more about administering it. You get a head's up about new features coming down the pipe. I just can't say enough good things about it!

Cons

The feature requests sometimes take a while to come through, but that you can put them in at all is a definite pro. They listen to their users!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sam L.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Great ticketing system for helpdesk

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/20
Review Source: Capterra

This is a great helpdesk application for most small-to-medium companies who don't need all the extra features that come with Autodesk, connectwise or Salesforce. Worked directly out of the box with minimal configurations needed.

Pros

Ease of use, setup, low resource consumption on server, built-in reporting is enough for my company, Solutions, preventative maintenance tasks, templates, email fetching, user portal, external mobile app.

Cons

Reporting isn't that user friendly, upgrades don't allow skipping of versions, not cumulative. Support isn't that good in resolving issues, so luckily we haven't had many

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mike S.
Industry: Paper & Forest Products
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

ServiceDesk Plus - Manage your Helpdesk with Ease

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/07
Review Source: Capterra

it has been an invaluable tool these past years to keep track of our helpdesk tickets.

Pros

The software is great for tracking our IT helpdesk tickets. It provides easy to configure analysis options. Another plus is the option to keep and manage a knowledgebase of common solutions.

Cons

You have to be careful when assigning tickets from the main menu. I once clicked on the wrong check box when wanting just to select the very first ticket and thereby assigned all open tickets to one technician. Took us a few minutes to get all the tickets reassigned to the correct tech.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mark S.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Basic Helpdesk Application

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

Our company has been using ManageEngine plus ServiceDesk for our IT Helpdesk support system for several years now. Although this application has been reliable and used widely by our IT support team, it is limited on features and functionality. The support for the application from ManageEngine has been somewhat limited as well. If you are looking for a very basic IT support system, then ManageEngine's ServiceDesk might be a good fit. The application is just limited on what it can do and its ability to scale to fit our needs.

Pros

ServiceDesk Plus from ManageEngine is fairly easy to implement and provides the most basic needs of an IT support application.

Cons

ServiceDesk Plus from ManageEngine is very limited in features and functionality. It also has a fairly complex interface that is out of date. Our company has trouble tracking IT support tickets because of this limitation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Tinashe M.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The future of service Desk

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/24
Review Source: Capterra

Great solution to seamlessly manage tickets with reporting that is comprehensive.

Pros

The software is user friend and simplifies the help desk processes. It adheres to the best practice ITSM workflows. It has powerful integration capabilities with majority of data source drivers of many platforms. The reporting is suburb, graphical displays and extensive reporting capabilities. Can be deployed on cloud or on premises

Cons

Hosting on premises a bit more complicated to manage than on cloud otherwise great application to start managing help desk workflows

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mike V.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Best Servicedesk Product EVER!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/04/16
Review Source: Capterra

I set this up as ticketsystem for our company and users have an easy platform to create tickets instead of calling. This works like a charm and even users with little computerexperience can create tickets. Also the solutions part of servicedesk is awesome.
We upgraded our entire IT deaprtment with this product, bye bye shard IT-mailbox!!

Pros

I love the fact that is is simple in use. You can isntall it yourself, you can customise it the way you want and that is all sooo easy. Updating the product is a piece of cake and best part is that you can make the program like you need it.

Cons

Nothing! Only pros pros pros!
Even when there is a issue, the support team is on top of it. WOW!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Peter B.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Sevdesk - easy to use bookkeeping software

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/05/27
Review Source: Capterra

It has certainly saved us time on monthly bookkeeping and made a life for our accountant easier. It is a great solution for medium-sized businesses

Pros

It is really easy to use and understand with all the necessary plugins. The linking of documents is really easy with the bank statement import

Cons

There could be additional integrations to CRM systems, such as Hubspot etc. The CRAM is very basic and needs some additional features to be useful

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Raj C.
Industry: Public Safety
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

One stop shop for ITIL based efficient Servicedesk

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/03/13
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent support tech makes all the difference. Having a dedicated support tech that knows your environment and can assist at all times is a big plus. The team listens to your requirements and release it as features in future releases of the product.

Pros

Setting up the product is very easy. The ability to try modules as we go was an add-on. Endless customization can be done on the software. Having a product that is based on an industry standard ensures that process is followed at all stages.

Cons

Form builder can be improved. Adobe forms is an example of how form builder in servicedesk can be based on.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Servicedesk product at an affordable price

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/05/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The product setup & configuration is easy. Offers a good reporting tool. Can use used to connect to Office 365 to generate report for their usage. Reports can be exported into multiple file formats.

Cons

The interface could have been much much better. Adding of extendedattributes could have been made easier.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Brown S.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Good Ticketing System

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like that it is a one-stop shop for ticketing, change management, and inventory.

Cons

Some of the developer features are a bit lacking and hard to grasp.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Basil M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Exactly as they advertise. Big 4's are a pain.

Reviewed on 2015/12/03
Review Source: GetApp

We used ServiceDesk in the ISP (Internet Service Provider) that I worked for. We nearly lost hope in finding good helpdesk software with ITIL compliance. We even considered building a home-made application. For two years, BMC Remedy gave us a hard time from a usability and performance perspective, in addition to their highly priced customization bills. Until, one day, a decent consultant forwarded a link to ServiceDesk Plus.

ServiceDesk Plus breaks the myth that 'java server applications are slow' and really shows that a high quality product with good efficiency and performance can be built using Java. It's all up to the engineers (and when it's slow, its all their fault).

One thing I learned from ServiceDesk; don't blindly trust Gartner reports when searching for good software. At the time of searching, Gartner Quarterly reports listed BMC at the top with no mention whatsoever of ServiceDesk Plus. I'm not blaming Gartner for corrupt information, I'm sure they have their criteria in place, but at the end, they're humans, they have their mistakes, biases, misinformation, etc.

Pros

1. Light-weight and highly responsive. Intuitive interface.
2. Wonderful 'Solutions Knowledge Base' side feature based on articles and with an excellent search functionality. (We no longer use Media Wiki, however I'm doubtful about dropping MediaWiki).
3. The ServiceDesk API gives you unlimited abilities to automate and integrate with other applications. For example, we were able to integrate Nagios Network Monitoring tool so that a high priority alarm could automatically open a ticket on ServiceDesk Plus.

4. I admire the effort they placed on their online documention with their and searchable online you'll hardly need to contact support.

Cons

Nothing major, but would like to see improvements in the following areas:
1. Provide a visual view of all entities in the system. Virtual Machines, Routers, Physical Servers, etc. using graphing tools.
2. Provide a searchable menu. For example, if I type "LDAP Authentication" this would show me the "Domain Controllers" in the setup menu (Similar to CPanel's menu search feature).
3. More help notes & tips on 'what to do next' and on 'keyboard shortcuts'.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Best Service desk Software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

We have implemented ServiceDesk Plus as a part of our customer relationship management. It is also used for internal auditing purpose. ServiceDesk allows managing all the IT services seamlessly. We have been using ServiceDesk for years for all our help desk, facilities, and reporting needs. It also allows to quality management of the help desk agents. Its reporting tool facilitates to monitor and report helpdesk team progress in a visualized way.

Pros

So far, this the best ServiceDesk solution in the market. It is bundled with almost everything that can be expected in these kinds of solution. Actually, we have never used some of the features included with this. However, we are privileged to receive updates from the vendor itself. We are extremely satisfied with the overall product capabilities, comparing verdict solutions.

Following are the most impressive features of the Service Desk

+ Easy Cloud integration
+ Best Asset management tools.
+ Best Reporting Tools.
+ Quality management capability of the staff

Cons

+ Hard to implements
+ Lack of administration documentation
+ Quite Expensive( but worth for money)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Aman D.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Easy implementation with highly intuitive configuration set up

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/12/13
Review Source: Capterra

Good overall experience with purchase and implementation of the product. Easy to configure and use for both technicians and users.

Pros

Implementation and configuring was easy. Integration to AD to create user profiles. Intuitiveness of features for both the user community and technicians made it easy for all to use the product. Wholistic list of functionalities and features.

Cons

Apart from minimal verbiage changes that was not allowed in the application, so far most of the things are positive looking. You can submit a feature request for modification to the application.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ryan C.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 51-200 Employees

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus (MSP)

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/19
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Starts at Free......Need I say more? --- I suppose i do, lol.

It was a nightmare to find a ITIL compliant helpdesk software that was easy enough for my users to use, but flexible enough to flex and grow with our needs. With the basic free version covering most of the basics with no user limit, is a pretty good deal.

Cons

Sometimes it can be a pain to work with. Some of the 'workflows' or 'features' don't seem to work properly.

One that sticks out is the 'on behalf of' feature when putting in tickets on behalf of another user for say a password reset. In order to get that particular function working, i actually had to go into the CLI on the host machine and enable it myself. Shouldn't need to do that.

The support and documentation can also be a bit lacking on details.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ryan P.

The product has enabled us to more quickly and seamlessly provide support for our staff.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Workflows for tickets such as automatic approvals for new hires by a hiring manager
Multiple forms of entering a ticket (web, email, keywords in email)
Replying to user within ticket for a seamless end user experience
Separation of tasks within a ticket for different groups
Management of our contracts with automated reminders
Ability to import asset information and create relationships for identifying staff ownership of assets
Easily create solutions that both end users and technicians can refer to
Software is constantly being updated to meet needs of user base

Cons

- Support can take a bit to get back to you on issues
- It would be nice to be able to be able set up different support groups that could have tickets round robin assigned instead of the auto assigning applying to the entire set up technicians.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 201-500 Employees

It´s a great product helps me keep all my issues with customers organized

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/13
Review Source: Capterra

its a very useful tool for ticketing, I have been using it for more than 4 years and its really easy and intuitive

Pros

its really simple, likes that provides reports of technicians, or any other problem, ticket, reports can be customized, tickets can be organized by filters, which are really easy to use, like that gives important statistics on dashboard, it´s well organized on tabs so problems, projects can be found easily.

Cons

maybe more options for tickets can be added, CMDB part its a bit too complicated, it should also be shown as list, notification part after update is not shown in red anymore

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Edgar S.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Awesome Ticketing System

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

Overall this software is a great ticketing system, i would recommend this to my colleagues.

Pros

ManageEngine makes quality products with a bunch of features, you acn configure a wholee bunch of stuff including reply templates, service request categories, SLA's, Asset Management, Change Management, etc. I am actually very surprised with how much you can do with this piece of software. They offer software updates pretty frequently so you're always up to date.

Cons

The software is really robust and offers a lot, i don't have anything to complain about.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Rick S.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

ServiceDesk Plus

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/23
Review Source: Capterra

I've read a lot of reviews where customers complain about ManageEngine's customer service and it really isn't as bad as everyone makes it out to be. Yes, sometimes we need to wait for a solution but we aren't the only customer they have either. They usually get back to us sooner than later and the technicians are friendly and helpful.

Pros

Service desk plus is an IT ticketing program. It's fairly intuitive and somewhat easy to use out of the box. It does what it's supposed to do.

Cons

If you have Analytics Plus which provides a lot of information on your ticketing system, it can be difficult to get both Analytics and ServiceDesk to communicate with each other. We requested assistance and it took a while for ManageEngine to get back to us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Billy W.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Among the top

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/07
Review Source: Capterra

Organization is the best benefit that I received from this software. Additionally, maintaining proper process flow and accountability for resolving issues was another.

Pros

Feature rich! Automation ability is great. Affordable if you are going to use the features that it ships with. Additional modules available for additional features.

Cons

Setup is a bit intensive since there are so many pieces parts and features to configure and setup. A bit difficult to navigate at first when everything is enabled.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Bill O.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 201-500 Employees

ServiceDesk Plus brought organization to the chaos that was our ticketing system.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/31
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use, and intuitiveness of the software makes training significantly simplified. Additionally, I enjoy how project management, service catalogs and asset tracking all tie together nicely.

Cons

Cost. As much as we love SDP, some of the features we would like to implement are simply too costly . As mentioned in the "Pros" section, we would love to incorporate CMDB, change management, project management, but the modules are simply too expensive for us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Construction
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Versatile tool with a lot of features

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/06/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We are a small shop and didn't want to spend a lot of money on a ServiceDesk software, but we are growing and need more functionatlity than we have now. We like dhow ServiceDesk bundled together Project management, Contract Management, Tickets, and Change requests all in one project. I have used the Project management the most so far and am impressed with the features it has. I like how you can create tasks and assign them to people outside of the IT department so that if users need to do some testing they can get reminders that we are waiting on them to complete something. The ticketing system has more features than we will likley need to use, but it's nice to have the flexibility.

Cons

Because there are so many modules in this software it leaves a little something to be desired in each module. I think overall there is plenty of functionality, but when you get into the details you might wish for a few more features. The Project Management module works well, but I wish I could email straight to the task items to keep them updated instead of having to go in and add comments directly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great ITSM Software with on-prem and Cloud options!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

ServiceDesk Plus is one of the software I've used with the feature of having on-prem or cloud version as well. It allows the organization to have the data in its own infrastructure or in ManageEngine's cloud. ServiceDesk Plus is ITIL ready with processes as Incident, Problem, Change, Service Catalog, CMDB, etc. Also includes automation features, mobile access, reports configuration, and asset management.

Cons

It's poor in integration variety as integrates mostly with other ManageEngine solutions which I see as barely limitative if you want to expand your approach with other solutions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mrudul T.
Industry: Media Production
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Under Utilization Of Tool And Almost No Support From Vendor

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/04
Review Source: Capterra

The tool provides with various features of which we at our company are using only Incident Management & Change Request Feature, there are other various features which are available like Asset management, but since there is no one from support team working or timely feedback taken from customer for improvement the tool is very much under-utilized.

Pros

Incident management report which is very critical as being part of service delivery

Cons

Product support from vendor is not upto the mark

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Kevin K.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 201-500 Employees

ServiceDesk Plus Works and a great price

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/08
Review Source: Capterra

They are ol' reliable and they get the job done. I'm happy to continue to use them.

Pros

It works great for our help desk needs. There are plenty of other features that we still need to explore such as creating multiple groups to add in departments.

Cons

Some of the features can be a little better such as the contracts section. That being said I haven't found a great contracts section for any of the products I have used.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Miguel N.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I have been using it for the past 8 years

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Very good ITSM software for a low price, alot of features that can be fully customizable, and easy to keep track of what everyone is doing due to an amazing dashboard!

Pros

* Excellent Service Catalog.
* Convertion of Tickets into projects, Problems, Changes.
* Asset Discovery and CMDB
* Lots of addons.
* Integrated chat.

Cons

This is a great software but updating versions can be a pain, due to the confusing documentation on this matter

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10