Virima

Intelligent CMDB automation and complete IT asset management

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(15)
Value for Money
4,9/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,3/5
Customer Support
4,9/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

15 Reviews

Franco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast, Intelligent, Cost Effective ITAM/ITSM Discovery Tool

Reviewed on 2019/05/10

Pros

I like the autonomic socially intelligent automated algorithms that perform discovery. These algorithms and engines are far better than all of the products I’ve ever used. As an industry recognized discovery and ITAM tool expert, and conference speaker, I have spent countless hours evaluating tools for diverse customers. In the end I’ve always needed a socially persistent tool that would continue to create and capture changes within an ecosystem from an inventory asset management perspective while maintaining CI dependencies and interdependencies. I’ve needed a tool that had a separate CMBD to create a baseline and maintain CI data hygiene, a repository that would store the application dependency mappings, business service mappings and views like infrastructure, communication and network topology. Virima does all of this. Reporting is another critical deliverable for my clients and Virima delivers there too. The dashboards, KPI‘s, and reporting capability is very mature and appreciated by all of my clients. I think one of the most important features is outside of the tool...and that is the customer service provided by Virima. If I need support with an issue or if I have questions about custom probes they are always responsive.

Cons

Accessing and managing a Virima instance via a browser takes some getting use to but it is still a value add to be able to manage a customers instance from a phone. Say you forgot to do a scan. You can login on your phone and fire off that scan.

Alternatives Considered

Device42

Switched From

Device42 and BMC Helix ITSM
Taylor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Virima User

Reviewed on 2019/05/07

Very positive.

Very positive.

Pros

Great product; feature rich. Team seems responsive and looking to help us be successful.

Cons

No cons. Feature requests are inevitable, and I have a few. Team seems responsive and open to them; would like some more visibility into the product management space so we can see where things fall.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Virima is an excellent value in the ITSM space

Reviewed on 2022/09/28

Our business relationship with Virima is second to none. When we had to meet a crazy launch...

Our business relationship with Virima is second to none. When we had to meet a crazy launch deadline, the implementation team committed to 30+ days of 12-16 hour a day, 7 days a week work with us. When we were up at 4AM for the second day of our launch window, they were right there with us. They have been one of the few vendors where it really does feel like we're in a partnership.

Pros

We were first attracted to the product for the robust CMDB and discovery toolset. However, once we implemented the product, the part we liked most was the business rules engine. It is flexible, powerful, and rarely have we found a use case that it could not handle. We were even able to sustain the loss of two headcount from our front line in a reduction of force by building ticket routing AI with the business rules engine.

Cons

The forms aren't WYSIWYG, so there is sometimes a bit of shuffling required to get items where you want them on the page.

The system is built with a self-contained design philosophy, so generating emails or alerts to your company email is possible, but not default.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Maritime
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A CMDB for the rest of us

Reviewed on 2022/09/08

We are a mid-size company without in-house skills to build/manage a complex CMDB. We did not want...

We are a mid-size company without in-house skills to build/manage a complex CMDB. We did not want to blow our budget on a single product.
We conducted significant research before selecting Virima as our CMDB provider. We consulted with Gartner, with end users and had presentations/demos from 1/2 dozen players in the field.
Frankly, buying Virima felt risky. Their presence is not huge. Their prices are very reasonable. Their product seemed straightforward. What was the catch? None.
I am moving on to a brand new company needing a greenfield infrastructure build. My choice for their CMDB is simple - Virima.

Pros

Ease of deployment. Virima got us up and running in no time.
Ease of use. The information Virima CMDB provides is easily accessible to the average user. A graduate degree in boolean operators is not required, nor is learning a boatload of arcane report construction techniques.
Excellent technical support. You need help. They are there. Not only are they fast - they go the extra step of making sure you get the help you need. Very impressive.

Cons

None come to mind - seriously. As noted - the application's learning curve was easy.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Virima

Reviewed on 2022/09/21

CMDB discovery has been a huge asset.

CMDB discovery has been a huge asset.

Pros

Business rules, filtering, CMDB and ease of use

Cons

The UI can be difficult at times. Can't customize your width of columns. Can't Administer database and backend stuff through the Application.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Virima is a great ITAM system

Reviewed on 2018/10/29

Virima has helped us understand more of our environment for IT, and helped with Asset, change and...

Virima has helped us understand more of our environment for IT, and helped with Asset, change and Release management.

Pros

Ability to scan an internal network and fall all devices on that network. The Business Service Maps are great for finding communication between endpoints.

Cons

The scans can be very slow and can vary in length.

Response from Virima Technologies, Inc.

Thanks for the great review. The discovery scans are carefully designed not to impact network or device performance. The scan periods will vary depending on how much and how deep you choose to scan at one time. Performing deeps scans on hundreds of servers and the underlying network infrastructure might take some time but that enables the awesome Business Service Maps you like.

Elaina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very adaptable!

Reviewed on 2022/09/12

We have had some glitches here an there and Virima support and team have been great working with us...

We have had some glitches here an there and Virima support and team have been great working with us to get these issues resolved. I think Virima support has been very accommodating and helpful.

Pros

We were able to work with our implementation team to set this product up to report and alert on hardware and software end of life dates so we can be more proactive about software and hardware. We can plan purchases of new equipment better knowing when assets need replacing prior to the expiration dates.

Cons

I don't really dislike anything about the software.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ITAM Plus included features that an Enterprise would

Reviewed on 2018/10/25

Excellent professionalism and customer service are part of the Virima package. Couple that with a...

Excellent professionalism and customer service are part of the Virima package. Couple that with a world-class ITAM/ITIL tool and you have a combination that will easily take market share from some of the 'big guns'. Great doing business with them.

Pros

- Very intuitive interface
- Feature rich ITIL-centric solution that handles all change, incident, problem and reporting needs
- Dynamic Business Service Maps show Up and DOWN-stream impact to connections graphically
- Integration with Service-Now and other support tools makes CMDB value immediately visible

Cons

- Minor changes in how our business would like to leverage the tool are being offered up as suggestions but no real deficiencies

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Virima

Reviewed on 2018/11/08

Our experience implementing VIrima in our environment, specifically for ITAM, has been a great...

Our experience implementing VIrima in our environment, specifically for ITAM, has been a great experience. The team at Virima has been very helpful and responsive delivering our requests and working with us.

Pros

Virima is a very comprehensive ITAM/ITSM tools for organizations that follow the ITIL methodology. It is a feature rich offering with very responsive support.

Cons

The software seems to be growing rapidly with new features being added constantly, which seems to cause some instability.

Billie Jo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Virma implementation and use

Reviewed on 2018/11/08

Support has always been helpful and resolved issue quickly.

Support has always been helpful and resolved issue quickly.

Pros

Ease on install and use. Intergration with ServiceNow was quick and easy.

Cons

No being able to monitor legacy intermec scanners. This is due to intermec produce not allowing.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Asset Management software that interfaces with many different systems

Reviewed on 2018/11/08

We are still in the rollout phase with Virima, but their support has been excellent during this...

We are still in the rollout phase with Virima, but their support has been excellent during this time. The reports we are seeing and the information we are able to glean will make the product pay for itself.

Pros

The business map views are really what stand out about the product. You have the ability to see an entire system, with all connections, showing port numbers, and expand that view to several hops. This gives you a dynamic view of business systems that is invaluable when troubleshooting or planning for impact of changes.

Cons

Sometimes the interface can be a bit clunky. A little refining of the look of the product would make the user experience better.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Virima

Reviewed on 2019/05/09

It has been a great product, and they have been a great organization to work with.

It has been a great product, and they have been a great organization to work with.

Pros

It is malleable, and able to adjust to your business's specific needs

Cons

It can have a sharp learning curve at first.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Virima is an excellent ITAM product suite.

Reviewed on 2018/10/29

Knowing the full complement of IT assets and the relationships of those assets to both protect them...

Knowing the full complement of IT assets and the relationships of those assets to both protect them and to make more intelligent decisions in managing those assets.

Pros

Virima's intuitive UI and the business service maps are outstanding. The business service maps are a great visual representation of your CMDB - that was the differentiator for Virima during our POC selection.

Cons

We had a few technical issues to overcome during configuration of our non-windows servers; however, the Virima staff solved all the issues and were great to work with.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great insight to network landscape

Reviewed on 2018/11/09

Pros

The products ability to present graphical business process maps representing relationships between servers is excellent

Cons

It took some additional work to get probes created some of the various OSs

Deven
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Datacenter migration

Reviewed on 2019/03/12

Pros

Ease of use..also project management is excellent

Cons

As we use more, we might be able to come up..