Elements XS

GIS-Centric Asset and Work Management Software

Overall rating

4,6 /5
(12)
Value for Money
4,8/5
Features
4,6/5
Ease of Use
4,3/5
Customer Support
4,6/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

12 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Elements XS has rejuvenated our operations

Reviewed on 2022/02/10

Great!

Great!

Pros

It integrates well with other systems. It enables field workers to work in GIS, instead of viewing for reference only.

Cons

There was a little struggle to scope out how we integrated with other systems.

Alternatives Considered

Cityworks and Cartegraph Asset Management

Reasons for Choosing Elements XS

The other product was GIS-centric in name only. The menus were clunky and it was hard to integrate with other systems. Luckily we found Elements, which is the opposite of all of those things.

Reasons for Switching to Elements XS

It just functions better, is more intuitive for end users
Roger
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Asset Management With or Without a Map

Reviewed on 2022/02/18

We use Elements to plan and track maintenance to assets. It helps with coordination and accountabil...

We use Elements to plan and track maintenance to assets. It helps with coordination and accountability. It helps managers see the great work their employees are doing. It helps plan budgets for assets, personnel, and supplies.

Pros

There is a lot I like about this software. After having used it for years, I wish now that I'd done more out-of-the-box configuration than customized workflows. The software is good for mobile devices and was redesigned from its previous version for that purpose. The documentation is getting better, and I hope that more users start using the forums. I like the look and feel of the user side and administration side. Whenever a product allows you to customize more, it becomes more complex, which is no one's fault; it's just a universal law. Thus it is with Elements. It's tricky to build even simple workflows at first because there's so much you _could_ do to make a workflow, so they offer those additional, if ill-used, options all the time. And, over time, we do end up using some of those more complex options.

Cons

In order to avoid reinventing the wheel, Novotx went for a solution that consumed other products to get stuff done. It can use ArcGIS Server, ArcGIS Enterprise, ArcGIS.com, and uses Geocortex Essentials, Reporting, and Workflows to do mapping and customized behavior. As a natural consequence of this, the administrator has to go to a lot of places to make Elements do stuff. Some stuff is done over here, some is done over there, and yet other stuff is done in this other place.

Various UI improvements could be made as well, like which things pop up in other browser tabs versus which things pop up to replace the content I was looking at. Customizing the user experience as an administrator can also be a challenge since it's not all done in one place. And lastly, the word "type" is too frequently and too often for me to full understand what the software wants in parts. Examples in the documentation would be nice.

Lastly, there isn't a great way within the administrative side of the software to document what you're doing, why you set things up this way, or record changes. That has to be done in Google Docs, Word, or whatever other word processor your organization uses.

Alternatives Considered

Cityworks

Reasons for Choosing Elements XS

We switched to Elements so that all of Public Works would have licenses to view each other's data in one system. We wanted to pay maintenance on one product instead of four and spread the cost through the sections. We also liked how, with training and education, we could customize Elements ourselves.

Reasons for Switching to Elements XS

The map was so central to the experience, and yet you can run without one, which one section chose to do. We liked our knowledge of HTML could help us customize the look and feel of pop-up boxes and title cards. A lot of Elements is modified using simple commands like edit boxes, check boxes, drag-and-drop operations, and copy/paste commands. The advanced stuff, however, (workflows) does take some knowledge of VBScript.
Amanda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

West Jackson County Utility District one oldest customers

Reviewed on 2022/02/07

Overall when I first started working with Elements XS, I was extremely disappointed but the program...

Overall when I first started working with Elements XS, I was extremely disappointed but the program is upgrading and increasing capabilities

Pros

ability to make work orders on in the field

Cons

Need to improve communication with customer service which is starting to get better

Rick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Elements XS

Reviewed on 2022/01/28

Novotx was able to import in our spreadsheet of users and other data that we had from previous...

Novotx was able to import in our spreadsheet of users and other data that we had from previous programs.

We first started using ElementsXS for our utility locates (811). Using Elements has helped with this since we are able to see where the locates are needed on the map and it sends the results back to the 811 processing company.

We are able to get a visual view of how our hydrant maintenance is going, since completing tasks in Elements can update an attribute in my GIS map that will change the color of the hydrant. So this provides managers a way to visually see what has and hasn't been done without having to go individually through each task.

I was able to create GIS related dashboard reports that are accessed in Elements that display feature counts and water and sewer line mileage so that users don't have to go get that information from a different web page. Users can stay in the Elements interface to access almost all of the information they need.

Pros

It is highly customizable and easy to use. Mapping of open tasks is really useful. Being able to update GIS feature attributes when tasks are completed is awesome to save, for example, the last flush date and chlorine residual of a hydrant, so this can be displayed when they click on the hydrant on the map. I like being able to create custom workflows and forms so the tasks can be processed exactly how we want.

Cons

This isn't really a con of the product, because all software is unfamiliar when you first get it, but there is a learning curve if you want to create custom workflows for the tasks on your own. Novotx can train someone for this and if you have an employee with some programming knowledge then it would be easier, but not entirely necessary, to train.

Alternatives Considered

Cityworks

Reasons for Switching to Elements XS

The capabilities of the system were similar and the price was more affordable. We also saw the potential for the system to be able to do much more because of how customizable it is. We were able to create a ticketing system and construction project inspections system with it that are not "normal" service tasks. So like Novotx says, they give you the lego blocks and you can build almost anything.
Sam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

More than just Asset Mangement

Reviewed on 2022/02/07

Now that we have a easily accesible platfomrm that employees that share information, document work,...

Now that we have a easily accesible platfomrm that employees that share information, document work, and have work order histories at their fingertips , emplyees are more efficient and confident. We are looking to incorporate Recreation into Elements.

Pros

Elements is extremely customizable. It is desinged to work with your existing processes and make them more efficient.

Cons

In the COVID world, timelines are stretched due to unforeseen reasons. We would have liket the implementation completed sooner, but we are understanding of the changes of the timeline and are happy with the finished product.

Alternatives Considered

Cityworks and iWorQ

Reasons for Switching to Elements XS

While all products are great products, Elements came out as more customizable to us and was GIS centric.
Ronald
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Observations

Reviewed on 2022/02/02

Overall, Elements has made a large impact with the efficiency in how we utilize our employee...

Overall, Elements has made a large impact with the efficiency in how we utilize our employee assets. But more importantly, their greatest asset to me is the ease at which I can communicate with them. I know most of their tech support people by first name.

Pros

When we implemented the Elements platform in 2018 we were on the cutting edge of integrating our billing, mapping, asset management, and mobile work order processes into one platform. The Elements implementation team was there for us through the entire process. Their tech teams have continued to be with us to this day with the many changes and upgrades that have occurred. They continue to have a very quick response time to my tech questions.

Cons

The biggest issue I have is that there is no way to create a GPS feature while in the Elements map. I work around this by using my Esri field maps to create the feature and then attach a work order to it. I have to have this function because there are always instances where an unplanned or miscellaneous field event needs to be created.
Also, while using the map, the following and tracking features in the field always seem to be slower as compared to my Esri Field map apps.

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reliable and Productive

Reviewed on 2022/02/02

We have transformed our business processes from paper to digital, enhanced our ability to work on...

We have transformed our business processes from paper to digital, enhanced our ability to work on mobile devices in the field. This has contributed to our overall productivity increases and inventory accuracy. We are operating with the same size crew in the field even though our customer base has grown quickly in the last few years.

Pros

It is easy to use and integrate with our other systems (maps, billing system).

Cons

It would be nice to have a visual representation of tasks that have recurring maintenance. You can look it up but it would be nice to have the icon have a wrench or other visual representation.

Josh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Enterprise Solution

Reviewed on 2022/04/23

Pros

Elements is an easy to use software that provides the flexibility to track the data that you want to track. There are no "modules" that you need to fit your processes and data into. Direct integration with your existing GIS makes use that much easier, no need for another ETL process.

Cons

If you want to build customized reports yourself there is a learning curve but once you feel comfortable the possibilities are endless.

Cora
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Exceptional Tool For Improving Efficiencies & Services

Reviewed on 2022/02/18

I have found the software to be very adaptable to our needs and support response has been prompt...

I have found the software to be very adaptable to our needs and support response has been prompt and efficient. Where it may take time for something to be completed they provide me with ample updates to status of requests.

Pros

The most impactful features for us are the Work Order Management, the GIS Maps and Inventory Management. These features have become essential to our business processes and procedures.

Cons

The reports function, I think can be a bit more user friendly. The ability to export files to xlsx format, but be easier to manipulate is essential to Provo Water Co.

Christi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Still growing

Reviewed on 2022/02/07

Pros

the flexibility for custom forms that pertain to tasks completed in different field application

Cons

still learning and improving the functionality of task forms for field applications, GIS system incorporation, and planning on building out asset management portion soon

Thomas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Elements XS Review

Reviewed on 2022/02/18

Pros

The team. Embedded GIS map. Filters. I am writing this bc value is too short.

Cons

XS4 Admin and Dynamic Data configuration.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 2022/02/09

everyday operations

everyday operations

Pros

easy system to use, great product, great customer service

Cons

like it all.