Inkscape Reviews

Inkscape

Business Graphics Software

4.4/5 (117 reviews)
Sébastien L.

To Create High-Quality Vector Images for Free, Look No Further Than Inkscape

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/18
Review Source: Capterra

Because Inkscape is able to work with many different image formats, it has enabled me to convert raster images to vectors at work, making it possible to print high quality promotional material. Its ability to open and modify PDF and AI (Adobe Illustrator) files is a real plus, as designers will often send their work in those formats. I have encountered a few frustrations while using it, but my overall experience is definitely positive and I would recommend this software any day of the week to any person getting into vector graphics design. Inkscape is a polished piece of software, working as expected on all major platforms (Windows, MacOS and Linux). For some rare corner cases, it even provides a built-in XML editor, allowing you to edit textually any detail of your creation, which can surprisingly be easier to understand by abstracting away the user interface in a readable format. It can be overwhelming to learn how to use all of its features, but there are great resources available on Internet and in the "Help" menu in Inkscape, including a lengthy manual and tutorials ranging from basic to advanced level.

Pros

One of the features I like the most about Inkscape, apart from the fact that it is an open source (free) software, is its ability to convert bitmap images to vectors, which can be done in a variety of ways depending on the desired result (brightness cutoff, edge detection, color quantization, etc.). The Bezier tool is also very intuitive to use, even more so than in other applications such as GIMP, which doesn't support paths and SVG as well as Inkscape. Using the Bezier, you can either draw an approximate path to be modified later or add precise curves along the way to minimize the work to be done after the path is created. Some tools, like Spray, Eraser and Gradient, provide some handy shortcuts to create absolutely interesting effects without much effort. For instance, Spray can take another object as a selection, the Eraser automatically redraws the modified paths without the erased part and the Gradient tool can take as an argument the average color in a selection. Most of the commonly used tools are present by default, but you can choose to move or remove many of them. Amongst those tools, there are many snapping behaviors available that can be turned on and off quickly along with many more windows that can pop up or be reduced on demand. It takes some time to get used to the way windows can be rearranged, but it provides greater flexibility down the road.

Cons

Inkscape is filled with so many options that the default interface can look like a mess on small resolution screens: hopefully, it is possible to remove less used buttons by customizing the interface. Sometimes, when working with images that render a very high amount of details by applying filters, the software becomes slow and may unexpectedly crash. Unfortunately, it is a hard problem to avoid, the only available choice being to use as few filters as possible until the very end. Without using extensions, it is also hard to position guides according to your needs: you have to do manual calculations to make sure you can properly align guides between them. There are many ways to snap objects together, but it's still tricky to try to center a vertex from one object to the center point between two other points from only a portion of a second object: again, manual calculations need to be involved. On smaller screens of less than 17 inches, many long menus when selecting cover up to the bottom of the screen, making it impossible to read the description for each tool that appears in the bottom part of the main window that stays beneath the menu, leading to forceful experimentation in order to guess what each option does.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Infiyaz K.

The best open source option for creating vector graphics

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/26
Review Source: Capterra

Compared to the minor setbacks, I recommend InkScape for all vector drawings.

Pros

If you're looking to 'create' vector graphics, InkScape is very straightforward and simple to use. It has a well-arranged menu system and it allows you to do any 2D graphic that you'd otherwise create using expensive programs like Illustrator.

It runs on most platforms - for me I need to use it on Windows and Ubuntu and it works without a flaw.

It supports layers but you don't really need it since you can easily re-edit every single object even on the same layer.

The fact that the files created are as SVGs allows the images to be directly opened on all modern web browsers.

I truly admire the work of the developers here as this is a great open source program and you can just download it for free.

Cons

These are the main drawbacks of InkScape:
1. You can only export images as PNG files if you need bitmap exports. Not even JPEG is possible.
2. 3D graphics are not possible.
3. Saving as other formats or importing from AI files is not always great. It seems a little buggy.
4. There is no way to know if your colours are print or screen-friendly. This is something that you find important especially for printing logos and art work.

Despite these drawbacks, I always choose it as I find it very comfortable working with it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Nigel masimba R.

Simple, Compact Vector graphics software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/02
Review Source: Capterra

Despite all the cons I love Inkscape and It fits my workflow and office setup. It gives way more value that I could ask for from a free application.

Open source communities are adapting to the rise of cloud-based sass versions of applications and Inkscape will eventually find its place on the cloud too. Unless Inkscape competitors release features that make Inkscape economically unviable I'll be sticking to Inkscape.

Inkscape's not the sharpest tool but it gets the job done!

Pros

It's free and open source. You can use it professionally and not pay a dime!

Inkscape has a low barrier to entry compared to premium vector graphics software like Adobe Illustrator and Corel Draw. The tools are fairly straight forward for a novice to learn and there are lots of resources online if help is needed.

Inkscape is light on system resources so you don't have to worry about Memory or CPU usage.

Inkscape works accross all major desktop operating systems ( Window, Mac and Linux )

Cons

There are no cloud-based services for Inkscape that I know of. This will disadvantage Inkscape users going into the future. Presently, there is no system in place for Inkscape users to collaborate online. There are also no workflow tools for Inkscape, like automatic cloud backup, or revision history.

While Inkscape gets the job done, the variety of advanced tools it has pales in comparison to premium vector graphics applications.

Inkscape usually lags behind in major innovations for vector graphics software. Premium graphics editors often release updates that leave Inkscape users behind for long periods.

It periodically crashes for no apparent reason.

The pagination and layering functions are a bit finicky to use, at least for me.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

Great Free Alternative to Adobe Illustrator

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/06
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, this program is great when paired with a paint program, something to support the vector. Gimp was really good to pair with it. I would definitely recommend

Pros

Inkscape is a vector software that allows you to make clean logos, illustrations, infographics, etc. I only just downloaded this program about a week ago but I've already used it in my freelance illustration job. The other program I had been using was Gimp, another free software. But Gimp wasn't allowing me to create basic shapes. So I was able to save the file I was working on in Gimp as a .pdf file and then bring it over to Inkscape where I added boxes that were perfectly resizeable and did not anchor after you made them. I was able to go back and adjust the color of the boxes and also add and format text within them. It was beautiful.
Inkscape is part of GNU which is the Free Software Movement put in place for just that-- freedom of software, bringing people from all walks of life into an equal platform. So that is why I chose to pair my previous Gimp software with this free Inkscape software as they are part of GNU Systems. Actually, Inkscape borrows some tools and coding from GIMP making it so easy and natural to jump between the two programs in one project. I'd go as far as to say that Inkscape is to Gimp what Adobe Illustrator is to Adobe Photoshop. Each is needed in it's own capacity, each tackle the same job at different angles.

Cons

This is purely asthetic but one thing I was slightly put off by was the white layout. When I first logged into the program, it reminded me of Sticky Notes on my computer. It didn't have that Adobe-esque feel that Gimp had with basically the same dark design. It just didn't feel like it could hold up to creating numerous graphic layers and really tricky tool maneuvers. While obviously it is not Adobe Illustrator, Inkscape seems like it has a lot of essential features to pair up with Gimp, that when these two free programs are paired, the result is very similar to Adobe Suite products. It is a bit different in the tools area as AI. I wasn't able to figure out how to move objects onto different layers. It wasn't as intuitive as AI or Gimp, for that matter.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Arun K.

Inkscape Teached Me The Basics Of Logo Desgning

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/13
Review Source: Capterra

Even you face a little bit of trouble for figuring out the operations in Inkscape, I definitely recommend this for logo designing and vector graphics.Best platform which i used up to date for the same purposes.

Pros

I started to using Inkscape from 2019.Inkscape works really well in making logos and vectors in a simple format.One of the best featurre it provides is called node editing.Its capability of handling node editing impressed me alot.I think Inkscape is the best designing software to start graphic designing , if you are not familiar with any other softwares like adobe illustrator.One of the best speciality of Inkscape is that , it is totally free and it works well in all major operating systeems like windows,mas o.s and linux.If you are running a business , this one is suited for small, medium and also well suited for freelancers .Even i didn't tried much about vector designing in Inkscape, i believe this one helps to learn about basics of vector designing more easily that otheer graphics softwares like corel draw.You can set and edit or convert nodes is the best thing about Inkscape.It also support path simplification with variable threshold, path insetting and outsetting, object creation,bitmap tracing etc.I always like to use the speciality of converting a real picture into good looking and creative logos using Bezier curve tool.If you are looking to learn logo making and digital vectors, i always recommend Inkscape.This one helped me alot to learning in designing some logos.

Cons

If you are dealing with very large projects, it has some tendancy to freeze for sometime and this makes to feel bad while working on projects.It may be difficult to operate atfirst time after installation because of the new tools and features which are unfamiliar to a person who is a novice in digital graphics.So think it will take some time to figure out how Inscape is working.Even they provide tutorials about the working, most of people feel like an alien at the time of first use.Definitely i faced saving my work as in .jpeg or .gif format primarly and also it does not support .ai extension files.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
David I.

Open Source Vector Graphics Software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/07
Review Source: Capterra

I really like it over all you can do everything you need that all of the other paid softwares can do with exception to working with CMYK formats, this software is that good that when they get to integrate the CMYK color format as a printout file, a great majority of the people in the printing industry will switch to it. Is so well thought that is possible to designs faster than illustrator and corel draw, many of the tools make the job easier plus you can give a donation of 30 bucks or 100 bucks or 10 a year depending on you, but you get so much power for every cent or dollar you donate to the inkscape team.

Pros

- The amount of stuff you can do with this Open Source software is outstanding and the quality is superb, you can create all the graphics necessary for your websites, motion graphics, banners, games and animations.
- Also is possible to export to a variety of file formats supported by adobe, save images with transparency and even create DXF files for CNC and G code machine cuts, even use your plotter straight out of the software with a plug in.

Cons

- May have a bit of a steep learning curve since it is open source but there is ton of documentation and videos in youtube to overcome this challenge.
- With heavy graphics the program can crash if you do not save your work on layers so you can turn off finished work and work on layers, but can be overcomed with constant saving.
- It can be confusing when you select graphics because it’s highlighted only with a dotted box.
- Some tools don't work in a logical manner.
- It does not support CMYK colors.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ray A.

Feature-filled, cross-platform stable vector graphics software

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/27
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using Inkscape since 2008 to create drawings, emblems, and documents since 2008. Inkscape's open-source file format and codebase ensure that Inkscape will be around for many years to come. I would venture to guess that Inkscape will someday become an industry accepted format simply because it will be increasingly adopted by citizens, civil society organizations and local governments that support the principles of open-source software

Pros

Interface is quite similar enough to CorelDraw and Illustrator that using Inkscape is quite intuitive.

In the last few years, Inkscape has improved dramatically and it is now able to create complex, very large drawings.

Inkscape is dedicated to open standards to avoid proprietary vendor lock-in. The software is free to download and use- this is essential for grad students working on a budget. Open source software helps ensure that people have access to excellent software tools irrespective of their capability to pay.

Inkscape is cross-platform software- a fact that allows the use of Inkscape on Windows, Mac, or Linux and ensures that Inkscape documents can be opened on all computers. This is useful in organizations where various people must work together on documents, but may be using different operating systems.

Cons

Inskcape cannot flawlessly import CorelDraw documents. This is very much understandable and is mainly the fault of Corel for having proprietary formats that ensure users are locked-in to their product line.

Inkscape currently lacks the ability to create multiple page documents. If it could, I would use it exclusively for layout and typesetting of brochures and posters.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Amanda N.

A free and standard software for producing Vector art

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/28
Review Source: Capterra

I have really liked using it to produce logos and other vectorized images, since it has quite a lot of options that facilitate work. I would really recommend it to anyone interested in practicing vector art, especially if you cannot afford the more expensive softwares, since this one has all you could need to start.

Pros

It is one of the standard softwares, and this makes it easy to find information and tutorials online, which facilitates understanding how it works. It also provides a few tutorials with the program itself, which is always good to have. It is also free, and open-source, so users can develop and change it if they need to. The webpage has quite a few suggestions regarding tutorials and key-bindings, which is great to have as a new user.

The functionalities are quite extensive and useful, allowing users to produce shapes and lines that can be easily altered using nodes, without losing any of their quality. It has many predetermined shapes, but also has a few tools that allow users to draw the shapes they need. Pre-determined shapes can also be modified by the user to fit what they need. There are also countless options to work with regarding colors, gradients, position changes, grouping, selection, etc. There is even a selection tool that allows the user to select similar objects by their color or shape! It also allows to save the files in standard formats that can later be sent to others, or used in programs like Photoshop, which is a great option to have in case any further modification is needed that cannot be done in Inkscape itself.

Overall, it has great tools that facilitate work quite nicely for users, both regular and new to the software.

Cons

It is not very aesthetic-looking, and it can be a bit difficult to follow the tutorials, since many of its tools seem to have been moved around, and had their key-bindings changed, in later versions. This makes it hard for new users to find the tools or options they need for each piece, and can actually generate a lot of confusing when you start working with it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Very useful tool to create figures and diagrams fast and effectively!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I use this tool regularly at work to help me create visuals for my technical reports, whether it be a free body diagram or an image depicting the layout of my assemblies. Inkscape has many useful features, with my favorite being the "Layer" option which allows you to create layers to draw on that can be above or below the beginning layer. This feature allows you to add in certain figures in the background or foreground without having to restart the entire drawing. Another useful tool is the Grid View which displays the entire sheet in a grid like style. This is preferred to me as my drawings are usually needed to be relatively precise and having the grid style helps to ensure that.

Cons

There is not much I can say negatively about this software. It is open source and there are many tutorials online to help you create figures, making it all around an excellent decision for a drawing tool. It lacks some of the more advanced features you would get in PhotoShop but there are little tricks you can do to get around.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Kenneth B.

THE BEST OPEN SOURCE SOFTWARE FOR GRAPHIC DESIGNING

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Review Source: Capterra

This software has tremendously helped me in my work as a freelance graphic designer,since I have no money to buy Paid software's this is my go to software.

Pros

The overall usability of the software is really good it's very straightforward and you could easily create any logo you want it also has the dark theme mode which is a very good design on the software,its perfect for hobbyists like me.It also is a great alternative to other paid graphic editor sotwares.

Cons

The only issue I encountered is when saving your project in pixel size you want .the first time I used this I had a hard time saving my project in 2440 X 1440 eventually I learned and how to save my project the right way.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Serena L.

A Free Solution For Your Vector Art

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/13
Review Source: Capterra

Nothing to dislike since is open-source.

Pros

One of the main reason why we chose this in the past till today is open-source and free-to-use. Another advantage also is the ability to import, edit popular vector formats like eps and ai files. The workflow is quite similar to adobe illustrator and can be a good replacement for small scale vector art design.

Cons

There's quite abit of learning curve for non-graphic designers who are already familiar with similar software like adobe illustrator or long-time ago macromedia freehand. Another rather annoying thing is the application takes some while to startup and render (many layers/ objects).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Bruno B.

The top free vectoring software!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/24
Review Source: Capterra

I use this software for two years to design all the covers of my books, my Instagram and Facebook post and ads. Also I vectorize all the images for my blogs with ease and excellent results. I would recommend it to people without hesitation, but first you have to invest time in learning via videos that are easily found on the web!

Pros

I like this software. I was looking for a free software to create the covers of my books and vectorize the images for use online. This software has never let me down in this regard. It is very rich in features that are also very easy to handle. It is available in several languages. It is the best software for novices on vectoring software and retouching photos or images.

Cons

Not enough keyboard shortcuts with this software (which is frustrating to try to do things fast enough). In addition, the software uses a lot of resources, which can have adverse consequences for weak computers.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Emanuele B.

Free (and very effective) alternative to Illustrator and Corel Draw

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This application is easy to learn and to use.
It employes the same mechanism of Corel Draw for modifying form and when I started to use it, this feature was very helpful.
In addition you can install on every operating system.
The web and youtube are full of tutorial to learn it in no time

Cons

The ability to edit a bitmap inside the application (at least basic functions) would be very appreciated.
Now you have to use an external application

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Linos S.

Feels ready to move to a stable release

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/11
Review Source: Capterra

I started using Inkscape years ago, mostly to convert vector graphics and work with them as paths in GIMP. As both the application progressed and I became more experienced with vectors, I can now work from scratch in Inkscape when I need something done that way.

Pros

A cross platform, open source solution, with a helpful community. After a lot of work through more than a decade, Inkscape now feels more stable than ever.

Cons

Developer team have not released Version 1.00 yet, so I guess you could run into trouble with certain issues. Still, it is worth trying, and if anything occurs, just give it another try after it goes full stable.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jose antonio D.

Stop Using Paint

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/03/22
Review Source: Capterra

To me it's the perfect next step for someone who wants to create quality logos, icons or diagrams without a heavy graphic design background.
Before this tool, me and most of the people I have led to use this software were using paint to make their diagrams, cropping and pasting here and there without great yet simple tools like layers, snap grids and trace bitmap.

Pros

This is a free tool that's both easy to use and well documented. Several tutorials in the web help you get a hold of it in mere hours because of its simple controls when compared to other tools like Adobe's Ilustrator or Photoshop.
Also it's great that its free and light, so I can download, install and use it in almost any computer if I don't have mine.

Cons

The same simplicity that makes it great sometimes limits what you can do.
I have experienced problems when windows updates but it gets fixed after I reinstall the application.
I haven't been able to figure out how to export in JPEG, which most of the time I don't use anyway but still.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Rick B.

Difficult to use and Resource Intensive

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

Inkscape has been good to me in the times where I was not able to solve my vector graphic problems with other packages and has helped me out a few times, but generally, I dread the days where I know I am going to have to use it because I'll have to learn it from scratch again.

Pros

What I like the most about Inkscape is it ability to open a wide variety of file types, especially those associated with vector graphics. Inkscape has such a depth of functionality that it becomes difficult to stop using it and not to explore its features further.

Cons

What I like the least about Inkscape is that it is really difficult to learn. It took me a good few hours to figure out what feature was located where and how the different options work. I also don't like the fact that the software is so resource intensive; it is very laggy on a recently formatted, high specification laptop.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Matt M.

Flexible free vector illustration software

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/25
Review Source: Capterra

I have used Inkscape for personal and professional illustrations. I have used it to convert line drawings to vector files for logo and clipart creation. A few hard to open PDFs have even been accessed by Inkscape when I needed to get to something inside.

Pros

I have to admit, open source software is always intriguing to me. When it works well that is all the better.
One of the best features is the conversion tool for taking my black and white line art from a photo and turning it into a quality vector image.

Another great feature is the active blur. With it, I can blur lines and shapes until I get exactly what I want. There is no intermediate step of choosing a number or checking a preview box before applying it.

The software is being actively worked on, and improved. That is a huge plus when looking at open source software of any kind.

Cons

It may be a bit of a bother for some to run it on a Mac. It runs great but it requires Quartz to be installed and then it runs in that. I have used it on Mac PC and Linux with no noticeable differnces.
The interface may be clunky at times, but I'm more concerned with how the tool works than how it looks.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Inkscape for Laser Cutting

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/03
Review Source: Capterra

Been using it to create designs for icons and laser cutting blueprints and images for months and is a great software but if you want to create very precise blueprints Inkscape may not be the best for you as it is mainly a drawing software. Though you should give it a try. The software is compatible with many file formats and you may find tutorials on the web and in the developers website there's a very good guide.

Pros

Inkscape is a great quality design freeware, great for making illustrations in vector format, easy to use very natural commands and intuitive interface it also has the ability to add software modules to make it able to do extra tasks such as output gcode for CNC machines, for example. To make designs for laser cutting you need to draw the vector or convert and image to vector which is easy and then be sure all objects are converted to paths and finally save as dxf, remember to save in another file. All this is very easy to do.

Cons

Mayor complaint is the fact that conversion to dxf file format may have errors in may intricate font types and are needed to be corrected manually.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Free Tool For Vector Art

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

First and foremost, I love that this product has always been free to users. I am a freelance digital artist who is self-taught and this program has been a life-saver. Once you get used to the program, it is so easy to use to create all types of vector art and graphics for your digital art needs. Once you have begun to understand how to use this program, it is definitely worth having around.

Cons

The worst thing about this program is that there is a steep learning curve especially for beginning graphic artists. This program does not come with tutorials to help you to understand how to use the tools within it to create the designs you seek. However, there are a ton of really amazing free tutorials on how to best use this program online.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Does 95% of vector based competitors for FREE

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/21
Review Source: Capterra

I always recommend beginners wanting to learn vector-based software to start with Inkscape because it can do it all and is completely free.

Pros

Inkscape isn't easy to pick up and learn but neither are any of the other vector-based graphic design software programs. For free, Inkscape really can't be beat. If you need to learn how to do something, the community is all over and you can search online with multiple examples displayed by contributors.

Cons

Very seldomly the software would crash when I started up. This seems to have been fixed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Adelyn C.

Generally easy to use

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Inkscape is a lot simpler than other competing products, and it capitalizes on the niche of people who aren't too experienced with using design software. It's generally easy to use and has pretty much all the functions you need for low-level editing, and isn't extremely slow, so you don't need a really heavy-duty computer to run it.

Cons

Although it is true that this software doesn't require a lot of knowledge, you have to take that with a grain of salt because what comes with the little instruction needed is that sometimes you might want to do something that you can't do in Inkscape that you can do in some other software, in which case you'll have to learn how to use other software anyways.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Ken K.

Ease of use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

For free graphics software, this is one of the best. Easy to use, lots of function and add on features. I use the create path function to create dxf and svg files for laser engraving and cutting.

Cons

Not a lot to not like about this software. A better way to control contrast would be nice.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Stefan M.

Inkscape does your vector jobs

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/12
Review Source: Capterra

I have created numerous vector graphics for every possible purpose, illustrations for books, artwork for the web, logos for companies and a lot more. I was even able to establish a CMYK workflow for print.

Pros

Inkscape is the one program for creating and working with vector graphics and since it is free software, it has literally no price tag except your time to make yourself familiar with its workflows and concepts. It opens and works with nearly every vector format out there and is capable of doing the most advanced manipulations and changes to vector graphics.

Cons

Sometimes the program feels a bit laggy, but in the end it always did its job.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Danna H.

Inkscape review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/07
Review Source: Capterra

Very good graphic design software that suits many different projects needs.

Pros

It gives me the opportunity to create stunning vector art that goes beyond expectation.

Cons

I wish each time I try to integrate word into a pattern it would give me error messages then opts out.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Janet D.

Fantastic Free Vector Graphics Software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/04
Review Source: Capterra

This is a powerful software with full functionality. A great, free substitute for Illustrator. It is updated regularly to keep it fresh. Would highly recommend this software, have been using for about 4 years now.

Pros

The ease of use is great. However, it also has a lot of support for the areas that you need help with. It has been around long enough to have extensive tutorials and how tos to learn tons of fun new tricks and applications.

Cons

One of the updates removed a feature that I really liked in an older version and I cannot find it. However, I think that may be a user error and not due to the software's ability.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10